GF Tickets!!

I was under the impression that ordinary season ticket holders would not have an opportunity to purchase Grand Final tickets, the article suggests otherwise. So much fail from The Herald Sun.

Season ticket holders can still enter the ballot but they will have priority 2, so your still a chance to get a grand final ticket but the odds a very slim.

While I can understand the ruckus, and would hate to miss on a GF ticket I think if you're going to vent the spleen vent it at the AFL.
Why don't the competing clubs get 40,000 GF tickets each solely for members and the AFL get 10-15 thousand for lackeys and hanger-onners?

Why should the members and ex-players of any club not competing get any priority whatsoever?
That is the question.

ps.

Season ticket holders can still enter the ballot but they will have priority 2, so your still a chance to get a grand final ticket but the odds a very slim.
The Collingwood website says otherwise.

Well last year i was a season ticket holder and i got a letter saying that i have priority 2 access in the ballot should we make the granny and that was from the club, it might have changes this year.

It may have changed with the increased number. A few years back, SC level membership got you a guaranteed GF ticket unless we were playing Adelaide or WC.

Only "Full" members with Club Support to the competing team have a guaranteed access to the GF tickets. Any tickets still available are then available to "Full" members of all other clubs.

Collingwood have 6,238 Full AFL Members. (see below)

Silver AFL Members with Club Support to the competing team can go into the clubs membership ballot.

aflmembers2010.jpg

So does that mean I'm virtually guaranteed a GF ticket? Or am I misunderstanding something?

I'm a full AFL Club Support member. Was Silver for 6, have been full for 6.

it is a disgrace that the club is still offering the opportunity to upgrade to a legends m/ship at rnd 19. there was a bit over 6000 legends members at the time of the cocktail party a few weeks back, sounds like there is around 7000 at the moment and i'm sure there'll be quite a few more taking up the chance to upgrade in the next couple of weeks to guarantee a GF ticket if we get there. there will be very few tickets left over for captains members to share let alone standards members the way it's looking. a cut off point is a cut off point and once the m/ship cut off date passed mid season that should have been it for legends m/ships. if they are charging full price for these upgraded packages it is a late season windfall for the club. say an extra 2000 legends upgrades by the end of rnd 22 at $795 each, you start to get the picture

So, wait wait. This is just for AFL members right? I've a legends membership, so I'm still 'guaranteed' ?

I'm a little bit confused.

Legends members are guaranteed first right of refusal to a GF ticket. That is a fact.

My mate and I upgraded to Legends membership after the debacle of 2002/03. We missed out on the ballot, so no GF tickets for us. :mad:

We were absolutely shattered at the time and promised ourselves we would do whatever we could to ensure this does not happen again. That is when we learnt that Legends membership guarantees access to a GF ticket. Sure the cost is $800 (which seems a lot for most people).

We looked at it differently though....you get 18 games in Melbourne every year with a guaranteed reserved seat. Your membership card is transferable to anyone if you can't make a game. We never have to book tickets to home and away matches like Anzac day, blockbusters or Etihad stadium matches. We also have the luxury of turning up to the ground whenever we like.

All up it costs us $44.44 per match to enjoy all these benefits plus the kicker of guaranteed Preliminary & GF tickets. We get almost seven months entertainment for only $800...that to me is an absolute bargain because I LOVE going to the footy to watch the pies.

I ask you..where else can you get that sort of value over nearly seven months?

No doubt it was the best decision we ever made for our memberships and I highly recommend it to anyone that is mad about going to watch the Pies. :thumbsu:

Legends members are guaranteed first right of refusal to a GF ticket. That is a fact.

My mate and I upgraded to Legends membership after the debacle of 2002/03. We missed out on the ballot, so no GF tickets for us. :mad:

We were absolutely shattered at the time and promised ourselves we would do whatever we could to ensure this does not happen again. That is when we learnt that Legends membership guarantees access to a GF ticket. Sure the cost is $800 (which seems a lot for most people).

We looked at it differently though....you get 18 games in Melbourne every year with a guaranteed reserved seat. Your membership card is transferable to anyone if you can't make a game. We never have to book tickets to home and away matches like Anzac day, blockbusters or Etihad stadium matches. We also have the luxury of turning up to the ground whenever we like.

All up it costs us $44.44 per match to enjoy all these benefits plus the kicker of guaranteed Preliminary & GF tickets. We get almost seven months entertainment for only $800...that to me is an absolute bargain because I LOVE going to the footy to watch the pies.

No doubt it was the best decision we ever made for our memberships and I highly recommend it to anyone that is mad about going to watch the Pies. :thumbsu:

Was unaware of this... if that's the case, I may look into it next year. I just can't justify getting a reserved seat for 18 games and leaving it empty for 12-13

I was a legends member from 2005 - 2007 but switched for the 2008 season to an AFL silver member as i thought it offered better value(no guaranteed GF ticket then, just the ballot). I happily paid the difference($300) & upgraded my social club membership(which i've maintained since 2002).

And if we don't make the GF it's a no different to if i had a legends membership since round 1, but if we do i'm not missing out.

Acceptable risk IMHO & much better than having to dish out $1,500+ for a corporate ticket if we do make the GF.

So does that mean I'm virtually guaranteed a GF ticket? Or am I misunderstanding something?

You are "all but" guaranteed a GF ticket.

As a full AFL club support member of a competing side, you get first "crack" at the tickets, usually on the Sunday or Monday after the prelim.

What happens is;

* 13-23,000 seats available in the AFL members area in total (variable)
* Up to 60% of these go on sale to only competing club Full Club Support AFL members
* Whatever is left over after the initial sale date are basically "open slather" for any full AFL member.
* Any Silver AFL club support member who's team is in the GF has to apply through their clubs ballot like a normal member

Hope that helps, for the record I'm a full AFL club support member (Collingwood obviously) and I got bottom level seats for the 02 and 03 GF's.:D

And looking at the table above, the Dogs would be the best option for AFL members for GF day (of the 3 other competitors), as they have the least amount of Full Club Support members. Collingwood vs Dogs GF please.

it is a disgrace that the club is still offering the opportunity to upgrade to a legends m/ship at rnd 19. there was a bit over 6000 legends members at the time of the cocktail party a few weeks back, sounds like there is around 7000 at the moment and i'm sure there'll be quite a few more taking up the chance to upgrade in the next couple of weeks to guarantee a GF ticket if we get there. there will be very few tickets left over for captains members to share let alone standards members the way it's looking. a cut off point is a cut off point and once the m/ship cut off date passed mid season that should have been it for legends m/ships. if they are charging full price for these upgraded packages it is a late season windfall for the club. say an extra 2000 legends upgrades by the end of rnd 22 at $795 each, you start to get the picture

Pretty simply case of opportunity cost, I know what I'd be doing if I was the club as well. A couple of hundred thousand extra dollars for the coffers for those willing to fork out, or a pat on the back for being loyal to the people who aren't willing...

I'm not implying that it's fair or reasonable, but money talks.

That's correct. If Collingwood make the Grand Final you will have access to buy a ticket on the Sunday morning of the Prelim weekend. All other AFL full members not aligned to the two clubs competing will have access from the Monday morning.

For every rich member who upgrades to a legends package, they are reducing the chances of a GF ticket of the other members who cannot afford to do so. Ok to do this at the start of the year, but not as soon as it looks like we have a good chance of finishing on top of the ladder.

What's this rich nonsense? Legends membership is only about $800. If you can't afford $800 in a year you have bigger things to worry about than the grand final.

I agree re buying membership the start of the year though, but that's because I bought mine at the start of the year.

Phew :) I last had a Legends bought for me as a birthday/Christmas pressie back for the 2004 season, what a memorable year that was. :rolleyes:. That game against Carlton when we were 20 odd up at 3qtr time , Leon kicked the first goal of the final term, and then Carlton stormed home. That game always sticks in my mind :rolleyes:

So I decided to join up again earlier this year, and I think I'm going to do it every year from now on. I love going to the footy full stop. I think I've only been to 9 games this year (a couple I was away in Queensland , and was crook for a couple)

I live 2 hours from Melbourne, but my girlfriend lives in Croydon Hills, and works most weekends, so I figured hell, might as well go the whole hog. But I love going to the footy in general. (Been to about 4 non pies games this year)

My only 'gripe' I suppose is that I couldn't convince any family (we're all Pies fan's) or Friends to get into it as well. So I sit 'by myself' every weekend. but still love every second of it, even if we aren't doing to well on the day :)

I haven't upgraded yet but probably will, you pay the difference. So I have already paid for my 18 game season ticket - $305, legends membership is $795, so to upgrade I will have to pay $490.

Anyone that brought legends at the start of the year got a much better deal though because they have had a reserved seat the whole year, I've actually paid more than 305 this year because of games like anzac day where you sill have to buy a seat to get in.

To those complaining about now having a slightly less chance of getting a ticket, well you had a pretty slim chance anyway with the amount of members we have, its not that much different now.

Besides we haven't made it there yet, there's still a chance all these people upgrading are just throwing away 500 bucks, and you can laugh at them/me if that happens.

I haven't upgraded yet but probably will, you pay the difference. So I have already paid for my 18 game season ticket - $305, legends membership is $795, so to upgrade I will have to pay $490.

Anyone that brought legends at the start of the year got a much better deal though because they have had a reserved seat the whole year, I've actually paid more than 305 this year because of games like anzac day where you sill have to buy a seat to get in.

To those complaining about now having a slightly less chance of getting a ticket, well you had a pretty slim chance anyway with the amount of members we have, its not that much different now.

Besides we haven't made it there yet, there's still a chance all these people upgrading are just throwing away 500 bucks, and you can laugh at them/me if that happens.

Yer true its not like the chances have decrease from before at all. I dunno if i should upgrade my social club package to a legends, i am in my final year at high school i have dont have much to spend if i upgraded and we didnt make the grand final il be furious. But i also cant risk and w8 for the ballot.

Yep, pretty much guaranteed SO LONG AS COLLINGWOOD MAKES IT.
Let's just take it one game at a time.

Those investing big dollars in upgraded memberships could be as disappointed as the 1999 Essendon members queueing up on Prelim Final day.

On the whole GF ticket for AFL Full Club Support members issue, I still don't trust anything until I have the ticket in my hand.

What I did in 2002-2003 was go straight after the game into the city (in a state of delirium both times I must admit), walk to the Athenaeum theatre, and put my name on the list for the queue. They take the list for a few hours that night, then arrive early the next morning. People there at 6am get to keep their spot reserved in the queue.

The Athenaeum opens its hall for queueing and you then spend the next 3 hours talking footy with other Magpie nuts getting really excited about the week to come.

At about 8am the rules are read out - basically you get the tickets in a sequential order, no ordering anything as they sell thousands every minute. You get ready with cash to pay for the tickets while you are in the queue so you don't hold people up, and accept what you get.

With 4 cashiers trained and ready, you whip through, where the internet and phone goes CRASH everywhere else.

I've got tickets in both 2002-2003 on level M about 10 rows from the front (almost within touching distance of the cup if you run forward). All the great photos of GF day appear in front of the AFL members on the wing where the players loiter, and often stand on the fence with the cup.

I was devastated in 2002 because I was bang on the wing.

Anyway, that's going to be my strategy again in 2010 if we make it, and I hope to see you there Matty & Spesh as we get the best tickets in the house.

Again, I still get the feeling it's more than presumptuous. I'm thinking St Kilda will win the flag this year only on their form vs other top 4 teams and that the game against us was a complete aberration.

Does anyone know what sort of seats the Legends club allocation gets?

Are they up in the nose bleeds or close to the action?

I upgraded to legends this morning & was told it was bottom level(not exact seats though). Not that i'll use them the next 3 weeks as i have my seats already booked in the AFL members for the last 3 H&A games.
**edit**

Just checked in my members section it's M30 Row B seat 16.

GF Tickets!!