GF umpires thread

Re: The downfield free kick was clearly correct

THis thread just shows how little idea you all have. Not even going to bother commenting.
Learn the F**ing rules.

I agree, anyone with a little knowledge knows that the free should have been to Ling who was the receiver of the handball. The Ump got it wrong because he thought that Ablett was dealt with well after Ling had kicked it, when he was not!
Listen to the audio, and you will hear the ump say this, but unfortunately he was wrong with his timing of when Ling had kicked it. Ling had kicked it well after Mitchell's illegal tackle had finished on Ablett.

I agree, anyone with a little knowledge knows that the free should have been to Ling who was the receiver of the handball. The Ump got it wrong because he thought that Ablett was dealt with well after Ling had kicked it, when he was not!
Listen to the audio, and you will hear the ump say this, but unfortunately he was wrong with his timing of when Ling had kicked it. Ling had kicked it well after Mitchell's illegal tackle had finished on Ablett.

Thankyou. You have re-invigorated my hopes that people on BF actually DO know some football rules and not just make it up as they go along to suit their team.

If it was a 50 meter penalty then Ablett would have been the player to take the kick and Mitchell would have been the player to man the mark as he was the infringing player.

Unfortunately not.

A player can give away a 50 mtr penalty and not be the player to take the kick, as they are behind the ball when the incident happened.

If the umpire has given a downfield free kick (as has been mentioned, we didn't have the commentary on at our party so didn't hear that - ), then he has made a mistake in interpretation but the correct outcome - the free kick should have been taken 50 mtr downfield from the handball.

Re: Worst umpiring all year!

Umpiring on the whole was quite good today, if only a little whistle happy on occasions. This was consistent throughout the game. Isn't that what the BF posters want? Consistency? You certainly got it today with the free kick interpretations.

IMO most of the decisions were warranted but on the soft side. Don't forget it is not only the players who get nervous before that one day in September.
These umpires have done more grand finals then the players have been in i think.

Its not only today but everyone saw them and it gives a clear reflection on how umpires are like. These are supposed to be our best umpires, clearly something is wrong. They probably just want in on being the heroes or something, they mostly need to stay out of the game and make clear decisions. If its 50/50 don't blow ur whistle let it go on.

The best thing is to let it go on because you let the better team deal with it themselves instead of relying on umpires. Some players fall down with a soft bump in an attempt to get a 50m or free. Umpires should reward strength and determination not acting and weakness.

Re: The Hawks Are Being 'Ripped Off By The Umps

Geelong very umpire friendly team.

What about when the geelong runner 'blocked' hawthorns counter attack from back line? Where was the free there?

Mate, I hate the arrogant Cats as much as the next person.

Tell me, do you think that head-high tackles after giving off a handball should just be a 5 mtr downfield penalty?

Head high tackles after giving a handball off (or any other infringement of that nature): The free kick is taken where the ball is at the time or where the incident occurred, whichever is the greater penalty against the team offended against.

Make of it what you will. That's what you will find as the rule in the AFL Law book.

It's not a 50m penalty UNTIL it was a free kick first. The 50m penalty is applied when a player encroaches over the mark or delays play after a mark or free kick is awarded. Another instance for 50m penalties is an incident occurs AFTER the initial free kick, the mark is advanced 50m from that spot or to where the ball is at the time, whichever is the greater advantage of the team offended against.

To my recollection, the Ablett incident occurred BEFORE the kick, therefore the free kick should have been taken where Ling was.

These umpires have done more grand finals then the players have been in i think.

Its not only today but everyone saw them and it gives a clear reflection on how umpires are like. These are supposed to be our best umpires, clearly something is wrong. They probably just want in on being the heroes or something, they mostly need to stay out of the game and make clear decisions. If its 50/50 don't blow ur whistle let it go on.

The best thing is to let it go on because you let the better team deal with it themselves instead of relying on umpires. Some players fall down with a soft bump in an attempt to get a 50m or free. Umpires should reward strength and determination not acting and weakness.

With regards to your first comment: (I agree with everything else)

Players are FULL TIME PROFESSIONALS. They should be able to cope with the pressure as well as the umpires. I can tell you if you are worried about this crop of umpires at present, wait ten to twenty years. The standard will be much worse then as it is now because of the lack of numbers coming through due to forums like this one and a culture where the umpire is not respected. No one wants to umpire anymore because of these type of forums which unfairly abuse and criticise umpires more than the players because it is the easy thing to do.

With regards to your first comment: (I agree with everything else)

Players are FULL TIME PROFESSIONALS. They should be able to cope with the pressure as well as the umpires. I can tell you if you are worried about this crop of umpires at present, wait ten to twenty years. The standard will be much worse then as it is now because of the lack of numbers coming through due to forums like this one and a culture where the umpire is not respected. No one wants to umpire anymore because of these type of forums which unfairly abuse and criticise umpires more than the players because it is the easy thing to do.
Sure but some like Ellis, who played very well but hasn't played very long either and umpires have been around for ages so they should be able to deal with pressure easier.

Umpires have always coped shit and AFL has protected them a lot in past few years. Honestly the worst place to umpire would probably be at local football level because you can hear the direct insults and the crowd is worse and you don't have the experience to deal with threats easily.

I doubt this forum really has stopped anyone from being an umpire. Its probably the people that yell at them when they do things wrong and never get praised when they do things right. Unlike players and coaches who get worshiped when they win a grand final or a game.

More of the criticism should go to the rules committee and players who dive.

Who actually kicked the goal after this incident, by the way?

I don't seem to recall.

Edit: Found it - Steve Johnson.

McClaren should have joined poser Goldstink in the motorcade. What a flog he was when he passed the Hawks cheersquad.

Very proud of our boys tonight!!

I was watching the game live on the big screen in a pub... nearly threw my pint at the screen on that downfield decision... held my nerves...just as the boys did... AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

they definately played a few ticky touch soft ones.. but most of the time they let it go

at least it had no bearing on the outcome

the better team on the day one

I was watching on TV with my youngest brother who did not grow up watching AFL (was very young when parents left Melbourne). He's come to enjoy AFL thru TV & has a bit of trouble figuring out how the rules are interpretted by the umpires. Occasionally, he asks me questions about umpiring decisions. He had a lot of questions on Saturday. (I think everyone did!) And like everyone else, I didn't have a lot of answers for him besides "I have no idea!"
I was trying to watch without being one-eyed & gave the benefit of the doubt to Geelong on some of the early calls against the Hawks. I was expecting the game to be called tightly and the iffy frees & fifties to go both ways. But they never went the other way. Scarlett seemed free to abuse Buddy with more indiscretion than Hawks players were allowed to exhibit. By the time Franklin & Roughead were whistled for unseen fouls, I began to wonder when the calls were going to go both ways. When the downfield free was given to Johnson while Ling had the ball in hand, I was sure the Hawks were suffering from umpire incompetence.
I'm glad to know the questions on a lot of these decisions were real and also noted by unbiased eyes which support other clubs. I was hoping I wasn't in the early stages of a metamorphasis into one of the bogans - wearing his(or her) size M jumper over his(or her) size XXL torso - that stands up at a game, firmly grasps his(or her) beer, gets filthy, alternately shakes his(or her) finger & fist (on the hand not grasping the beer), and spews incomprehensible showers of garble and spit at the umpires. I am sooooo relieved!

The umpiring makes the Hawks win look even better - they had more than one opponent. We had a GF party at our house, all non Hawks people, and all spluttering about biased umpiring.

Well done Hawthorn :thumbsu:

Mate forget the hawks [or the Cats] being ripped off its us who are being ripped off. Our great game has been stolen from right under our noses. Some appalling decisions, how does this happen, who said it was ok to turn our game into a parody of its former self?

SACK , VOZZO , McLAREN and the ump selectors

An inquiry has to be held into the ump selectors and the umpires .

It was biased towards the Cats and it ruined the game yesterday .

The Hawks were so cool and collected under adverse umpiring , it was amazing .

Well done Hawks .

The AFL commission cant ignore what happened or were they part of a conspiracy ?

Re: SACK , VOZZO , McLAREN and the ump selectors

I thought it was shit and kept telling dad this is the worst GF I have seen Umpired.

Could of knew Geelong would get a go anyway.
The first free went their way and it was soft as butter.

Slightly incorrect - it was given as 50 metres from the Ablett incident, not downfield.

No it wasnt otherwise scarlett would have had the kick, it the kick was taken about about 80 metres from where the free kick happened.

Re: Merged GF umpire thread

Down field free was WRONG. - Should have been taken by Ling.
If you don't know that you don't know the rules of the game and really can't comment in this thread since Umpires employ the rules.
It's not a 50M Penalty (WTFF?? srsly learn rules)

Hawthorn were robbed (yet again) by all 3 Umpires.
Couldn't believe our hard tackling wasn't being rewarded when it was clearly holding the ball. If you take them on your GONE. Alot of players where given long enough.
Really appalling (Hodge Pined for HOB - Arguable if is or not I think it is & said to dad as long as they pay it both ways... They DIDN'T) then moments later I think Stokes takes them on, tackled by two hawthorn players and NOT pinned.

And to that moron Cat fan in front picking to fight with to older blokes who were harmless **** YOU HANDBAGER.

Gary Ablett

Well I was there at the game and the umpires gave them 4 Goals from free kicks and in my veiw one was there. In the middle of the MCG Gary Ablett got way to many frees and only once he got court Holding the ball by the umpire (Ryan). My point is he gets way to many frees and takes people-on and hardly gets called holding the ball its just the usual play-on. I know for a fact that Hawthron didn't get a fair go by the umpires. Anyway the the Giech picked the wrong umpires for the grand final in my veiw the panel should of been
FIELD- 3 MCBURNEY, 7 KENNEDY, 8 ROSEBURY EM 25 RYAN
Boundarys and goalies were great and many claps for them.

At least the best team won!
GO HAWKS!!!!

GF umpires thread