GFL U/18's

look out for these college players to come into the newtown the side this week.

1. James McArthur- around 185cm/ about 90kg (CHF/HF) will be a huge gain!... and will be the biggest bloke in GFL, hes a tank! goes in hard, and has good foot skills. could probs play falcons. will be extremely hard to match up on!

2. Andrew McArthur- around 182cm/ about 90kg (CHB/FB) massive like his twin brother.... probably the 2 biggest boys in GFL. will beat 'any!!' foward in GFL

3. Steen Balodis- around 180cm/about 75 kg (Rover) about 75 kg very good hands and could even be down at falcons, from Ammo's last season, will be one of the better on-ballers in the leauge. playing with mcmahon, mclure, grant. will be a very good engine room

4. Tom Steinfort- around 190cm/ about 90kg (Ruck/FF) another big boy, will be a very good ruckman in GFL, clean pair of hands and takes big pack marks. struggles with his kicking but will be a huge bonus to the side.

5. Cam Russell- around 185cm/ about 85kg (FF) very very good hands, son of ex geelong footballer glen russell, will probs be the best FF in the league but his kicking in front of goal is very inaccurate so might not be as dangerous on the goalkicking ladder.

6. Ben McClure- around 182 cm around 82kg (Rover) coming off a foot injury but has played the last 4 games with college. very hard at it. good footskills on both feet, playing in the U/16 Vic team he will be one of the best on-ballers in the leauge.

7. Will Schofield- around 194cm/ around 75kg (CHB/ Ruck) has played falcons games earlier this year but with the recent sucsess of the falcons it will be hard for him to make it back into the side.big 196 cm. also played in the U/16 Vic metro side.will dominate GFL if he plays!

8. Micheal Rockefeller- around 180 cm/around 80kg (Rover) Very very doubtful he will play because he should be back at falcons as he started on the ball for the 1st 3 games this year. avg of about 25 disp for falcons, has been asked about seniors but if he plays for 18's will easily get 40 disp a game.

hilly21 said:
mate college is apart of our team!! wat are you talking about?? boner got dropped this week!!

yeah u still rely on them so much you are the only team in the league who has to rely on players from a different club and league (APS). You dont see any other gfl club waiting on college players to come back to their side. Just the fact that boner could get a run in your side is ridiculus. he couldnt get a run with Nelson parks 3rd 22.

Wizzfizz said:
stevo is overwieght and is extremly slow at for a CHF and if he comes up agaisnt a decent defender he will be easily shutdown. the on-ballers at lara would not match any other on-ballers for other sides in gfl except for maybe st albans or leopold. but even those sides have decent on ballers. luke willis is hard at it but does not do much when he has the footy and john doolan should be playing U/16's with his size.

Mate stevo is not chf he is ff put him in the goal square he will outmark anyone, I would have thought Benny Capra from joeys was a handy defender. My mate from Lara told me Stevo wiped the floor with him in the second quarter of that game a couple of weeks ago. Anyway hilly how is Big Bona going at the eagles this year does he get a run? do the boys like him?

THE TOP GUN said:
Mate stevo is not chf he is ff put him in the goal square he will outmark anyone, I would have thought Benny Capra from joeys was a handy defender. My mate from Lara told me Stevo wiped the floor with him in the second quarter of that game a couple of weeks ago. Anyway hilly how is Big Bona going at the eagles this year does he get a run? do the boys like him?
yer mate ronza likes it at newtown.... the boys find him a good bloke!!!!! he is a good bloke!! yer he gets a run but college are playin this week so i dont know if he is playing or not!!

THE TOP GUN said:

Top GUn i herd the same about stevo against Joeys they ended up playing 3 or 4 differents blokes on him he beat them all. I saw him against Colac when he kicked 5 same again mate could not be beaten. Not only good in the lead and one on one he finishes well wen roving his own crumbs. #1 Goal kicker in my books

The next up coming 4 weeks or so are extreamly important for particular clubs in the GFL U/18's that are looking to make the top 5, come that special time in September.
Starting off this week at Central Reserve, Gravesend Street, Colac. When the Seaguls make there trip up to Colac. This will be a very interesting match and could see the Seaguls taking another 4 points, providing they do not loose there temper (which seems to be a bad habit for these young boys). Although, Colac seem quite determained to make it all the way and they do have what it takes to keep a secure position in the top 5. This match could be the match of the round!

Also this week St.Mary's Take on The Lara Cats at the snake pit. This game is crucial for both clubs striving to make that top 5 spot. St.Mary's are wanting to get up on Lara as last season the cats knocked them off on a sunday game at Kardinia Park West, Latrobe Terrace, Geelong apparently after the Lara boys had a big night on the alcohol! This game could make or break these 2 sides. The question is can Lara continue to keep up there previous 3 week winning streak or will the Mary's boys put an end to it and step that 1 step closer to finals!

I agree with all you lads out there that Newtown without college are a very basic side and without collge have no chance of making finals. I've herd around the traps that the big fella "nashy" is out nmassive loss to newtown and without him are simply no good

Gday Again,
Just wondering about the defenders in the competition anyone got any ideas on the best defenders in the league and afew from each club?
Maybe the best run with defenders sacrificing their own game for the team and then afew run off type defenders who set alot of play up off the backline? Let me Know

Wizzfizz said:
stevo is overwieght and is extremly slow at for a CHF and if he comes up agaisnt a decent defender he will be easily shutdown. the on-ballers at lara would not match any other on-ballers for other sides in gfl except for maybe st albans or leopold. but even those sides have decent on ballers. luke willis is hard at it but does not do much when he has the footy and john doolan should be playing U/16's with his size.

Wizzfizz what are you talking about. I have a few mates that play for lara and from what iv been told Stevo has killed who ever he plays on. I also have seen him play twice this season and he was to big and to strong for his opponents. Its simple who ever he plays on he destroys.

FF then.... there are no good full backs in the GFL thats why stevo kicks goals. if u think stevo is a good full-foward think again.

Mustang00 said:
I agree with all you lads out there that Newtown without college are a very basic side and without collge have no chance of making finals. I've herd around the traps that the big fella "nashy" is out nmassive loss to newtown and without him are simply no good

i definatly agree with you mate but without thier college players they have managed to get a few wins on the board and that is all they have to do whilst they dont have college playing for them. if they can win games without them they will easily be in with a shot for finals

Wizzfizz said:
look out for these college players to come into the newtown the side this week.

1. James McArthur- around 185cm/ about 90kg (CHF/HF) will be a huge gain!... and will be the biggest bloke in GFL, hes a tank! goes in hard, and has good foot skills. could probs play falcons. will be extremely hard to match up on!

2. Andrew McArthur- around 182cm/ about 90kg (CHB/FB) massive like his twin brother.... probably the 2 biggest boys in GFL. will beat 'any!!' foward in GFL

3. Steen Balodis- around 180cm/about 75 kg (Rover) about 75 kg very good hands and could even be down at falcons, from Ammo's last season, will be one of the better on-ballers in the leauge. playing with mcmahon, mclure, grant. will be a very good engine room

4. Tom Steinfort- around 190cm/ about 90kg (Ruck/FF) another big boy, will be a very good ruckman in GFL, clean pair of hands and takes big pack marks. struggles with his kicking but will be a huge bonus to the side.

5. Cam Russell- around 185cm/ about 85kg (FF) very very good hands, son of ex geelong footballer glen russell, will probs be the best FF in the league but his kicking in front of goal is very inaccurate so might not be as dangerous on the goalkicking ladder.

6. Ben McClure- around 182 cm around 82kg (Rover) coming off a foot injury but has played the last 4 games with college. very hard at it. good footskills on both feet, playing in the U/16 Vic team he will be one of the best on-ballers in the leauge.

7. Will Schofield- around 194cm/ around 75kg (CHB/ Ruck) has played falcons games earlier this year but with the recent sucsess of the falcons it will be hard for him to make it back into the side.big 196 cm. also played in the U/16 Vic metro side.will dominate GFL if he plays!

8. Micheal Rockefeller- around 180 cm/around 80kg (Rover) Very very doubtful he will play because he should be back at falcons as he started on the ball for the 1st 3 games this year. avg of about 25 disp for falcons, has been asked about seniors but if he plays for 18's will easily get 40 disp a game.

Who thinks wizzfizz has a pull over all these blokes? lol
u must be real close to no all this info about these blokes are you a towner ?????????

Wizzfizz said:
FF then.... there are no good full backs in the GFL thats why stevo kicks goals. if u think stevo is a good full-foward think again.

I thought be cappra was meant to be good? wasnt he down at the falcs?
Anyone who can outplay 4 different backman in one match is decent.

Mustang00 said:
Gday Again,
Just wondering about the defenders in the competition anyone got any ideas on the best defenders in the league and afew from each club?
Maybe the best run with defenders sacrificing their own game for the team and then afew run off type defenders who set alot of play up off the backline? Let me Know

I heard lara have a few good backman and connoly from west isnt too bad either i dont really no of any other good backman but.

spudda said:
Who thinks wizzfizz has a pull over all these blokes? lol
u must be real close to no all this info about these blokes are you a towner ?????????

no im not a towner, never will be!

Mustang00 said:
Gday Again,

Even norbury (BP), Keiran woods (BP), Calvin Hillear (BP), Tory Liuzzi (lara), Sam Green ( Sth. B), Jack Chaffer (Grvd).... bout all i can think of that actually run off and create play. most GFL defenders wont run-off.

Wizzfizz said:
Even norbury (BP), Keiran woods (BP), Calvin Hillear (BP), Tory Liuzzi (lara), Sam Green ( Sth. B), Jack Chaffer (Grvd).... bout all i can think of that actually run off and create play. most GFL defenders wont run-off.
chaffer plays on ball!

does he..... i knew he would but i just thought he would have played backline aswell

Who would have the best midfield in the comp? Played agaisnt gwsp probly the most under rated midfield in the competion have some very handy players in there that win alot of centre clerences.

DINGERS said:
Who would have the best midfield in the comp? Played agaisnt gwsp probly the most under rated midfield in the competion have some very handy players in there that win alot of centre clerences.
newtown at full strength i think have the best midfield!

Well this year looks to be defintly exciting wouldn't you say boys? From Newtown relying on it's "College" boys to a few certain teams who rely on too much on select players and do not commit enough to good old team work. Tut tut Boner, at least your still trying mate for that i give you some credit but at Newtown i'm not too sure about that. Looking at joeys performances i have to say without they're falcons players they have little heart and don't go in for the ball very hard. On the other hand i'm not playing in the ones this year and i was able to go and watch the lara versus grovedale match and i have to say even though lara don't have their "star" players they work as a team and are a good unit. They have some excellent backmen such as the skipper Torz Liuzzi who is a champion half back, he alone holds the defense in check and week in week out can be seen dodging players and breaking tackles to do his bit for the team. You also have Ricky "fatty" Joyce and a under rated full back by the name of Jason Hall. This defender is a unknown but week in week out takes on the on of the best forward and is seen spoiling 9/10 of the marks in the defensive 50. Onto the midfield, i have to admit there is no extrodianry talent but with the height of Matt "muzzer" Maray there is hope for futere generations. Now into the forawrd line, you have a few forawrds with average talent but then you have the big man Michael "stevo" Stevenson, when his on fire he will beat any man one on one in the square, kicks dead straight and can lead hard and fast. All in all Lara will be pushing hard for finals this year, all they need is the hunger for the football and based on the last 2 games i can see it and they want it bad. My bet this year is for joeys to be competing with lara for 5th spot due to joey's seemingly bullcrap attitude towards it's football and how they play it.

hilly21 said:
newtown at full strength i think have the best midfield!

come now hilly "at full strengh" you can't include college players in your full strength side when they really arent part of the team.

ridmania said:
come now hilly "at full strengh" you can't include college players in your full strength side when they really arent part of the team.
OF COURSE THERE APART OF OUR TEAM!!!! HOW ARE THEY NOT?? look in the record mate!!

hilly21 said:
OF COURSE THERE APART OF OUR TEAM!!!! HOW ARE THEY NOT?? look in the record mate!!

now now Mr Hill control your anger, do not let it overcome your feelings and judgement we both know deep down although they may be in the record they hardly play with you. They only play for you when they're not playing "college" football. You should just hope you have them in your side near the finals otherwise you may as well give up and start getting ready for next season.