GFL U/18's

THE TOP GUN said:
Rid,
After dropping there past two games, which were both winnable its hard to see Lara making a splash come finals time, On the topic of Lara, why are they the most talked about team on here.Why dont the league heavyweights such as South Barwon and Bell Park get more of a mention?

i totally agree..... too much talk about shi*t teams on here. and the teams that have talked it up have shown that they cannot back it up!, talk about the teams that matter!!

ok who does everyone think will win league b&f and who else have chances.
You may include number one chance from every club?

.ruby[\]tiger. said:
ok who does everyone think will win league b&f and who else have chances.
You may include number one chance from every club?

Bell Park - Ronnie Arhfat
Colac - Hugh Douglas
GWSP - Tyson Stott, Aaron Conneley
Grovedale - dont know many groveboys i'd say Dev Eddy or the big Chaf.
Lara - Ricky Joyce, Stevenson.
Leopold - Travis Gavin, David Gray.
Newtown & chillwell - Matt Mcmahon, Jordan Grant
North Shore - Peoples
St.albans - Petrovski
St.Josephs - Messer, kennedy hunt will get a few votes.
St.marys - Backwell, some of the young onballers will poll a few.
South barwon - Mitch McKee, Jesse Mawson, Samuel Green.

From games i have seen i would probably say Mitch Mckee as it would be a lot easier to poll votes in that team than say someone from St.albans. My only concern is that a few South Barwon boys might steal votes from each other.

My other prediction is a South V Bell Park grand final with South going in as favorites but after the last two years i would be a fool to write the dragons off on Grand Final day.

Has Big Ronnie been playing this year? He didnt play when we played BP. Mawson wont stand a chance come B&F, he is one of the softest and cheapest players playing this year. I do have a question for any south people here, how is ash dolley going? and does he have the respect from the south boys.

i agree mawson the softest and cheapest player. do not not rate him at all. no one rates him as much as he rates himself. move on from footy mawson and work on your tan!!!!

i agree with top guns BnFs there mite be a few other players u cud throw in but its hard to tell whos having a killer year.

Wizzfizz said:
bell park can back it up
Bell Park will take some beating at the end of the season. A proven team over the past two seasons that would strike fear into any opposition that faces them in the finals. Comprehensively won the 2004 flag and showed great resolve and grit to take 2005. Looking forward to seeing South Barwon and Bell Park battle it out in the finals this year – both quality teams.

.ruby[\]tiger. said:
i agree mawson the softest and cheapest player. do not not rate him at all. no one rates him as much as he rates himself. move on from footy mawson and work on your tan!!!!

I rekcon you blokes should ease up a bit... the bloke isnt that bad, i dont mind him as a player.... He was down at falcons so some people must think he is alright. I probs would have to say to he sint a soft player at all.

Hey TOP GUN, what about talarico and Hanlon from Bell Park, i would have thought they stand a chance at league B&F...They both find the ball a heap and both are able to kick big goals when they are needed. Also big delaney from Grove, i hear has had a few ripper games this year, so dont count him out either...

THE TOP GUN said:
Big muz,
You wouldn't happen to be Lara's number one tap ruckman would you?
Wizzfizz, i dont think Albans will beat lara but with them as bad as they are and the standard of footy Lara have apparently been playing it might be one hell of an ugly game.

Lara's number one?? you did mean leagues number one??
haha nah mate im the ruckmen for lara, wouldn't say im the number one.

Moss Man said:
Hey TOP GUN, what about talarico and Hanlon from Bell Park, i would have thought they stand a chance at league B&F...They both find the ball a heap and both are able to kick big goals when they are needed.
I agree mate. Hanlon's a star. Bottom age this year and already making a huge impact. Not sure on his chances this year of taking the league best and fairest, but he will poll a good number of votes. Last year he completely obliterated his opponents in the under 16's when they won the premiership and I reckon he'll inflict similar pain this year. Tough to man up on and he's so versatile and durable... you can play him basically anywhere. He is in the eyes of the Falcons, so he's definitely a huge prodigy. Next season he will rip them apart, a class act.

Cerebral Assassin said:
Who are all the under 18's captains in the GFL this year?

Reading all the pages, no one has answered this question, i wouldn't mind finding out who the captains of all the teams are...

By the way, i agree that there is too much talk on here about lara and north shore, i also think that hilly talks too much about newtown and wizzfizz talks bell park up too much, i like the midfield he put in his BP team for next year...i wonder who the ruckrover is in the side?????:rolleyes:

My Top 5 for this year is as follows;

South Barwon (Has to be favourites)
Bell Park (Come finals time could cause major upsets)
Colac (Soft side but its always a hard trip down to colac)
St Mary's (Proved the can mix it with the best teams)
Newtown (Outside chance-with college boys, i wouldnt mind seeing Rockefeller play Gfl again.)

Joeys (unlucky to miss out, but i dont think they can match they other sides)
North Shore (Just too undisaplined...simple as that)
Lara (No chance of finals)

I really dont know who could win the league B&F, but i think it will be someone that not many people think will get it.

One more thing, i see that Nick Scott is now at newtown, what happens if he gets votes for both Leopold and Newtown in the League B&F???? does anyone know what happens....

i wouldnt worry about the lara boys now they are out of finals contention. but wat i would worry about is their new found style of play. smash n bash!!!!! i believe that the loss on the weekend would hav angered them and they are now ready to dish out some punishment!!!!!! Watch out boys

i think its hard to say who will win league b&f this year and i agree that someone will pop up and win who people havnt said much about........not saying he will win but nathen people from north shore will have a good chance i think.
-also i think theres to much talk about bell park on here, yes they are a good side have have a very good chance of going all the way but lets just not single them out all the time and say how good they are
-grovey stryggle as there better players are playing seniors. you only need a couple of big bodies or better players to help your team out and it does alot
- carrying on for what i just worte newtown seem to have alot of college players which i saw and they are all big, so i think they are a good chance to win this week for an upset.....mccather boys especially but they might stay in the reserve i hear so if that rite they will be a big loss?

one team that doesnt get much talk is St Mary's
they are a very good team when they are going and hard to beat, but then a week later they can be totally ****.
So if they hit form and play well every week they will be a reasonable team coming upto the business end of the season.

im a st marys boy and i agree heaps. that is what we are like and we showed sth barwon last week we are a good side. i dont think they respected us at all. it will be tuff for as this week as we have so many missing. thats all im saying about st mary's again coz i dont want to be talking my team up :S

lol thats not talking them up.. Hilly talking newtown up is what u call talking them up.
but i agree u are a close group and play really well together

hilly does talk newtown up.
going back to underrated player newtown do have one guy iv watch twice now and its scott brakley... very hard and if you get hit buy him you will stay hit thats for sure.
bathy for st marys is also underrated
robert sims for west saints is underrated but can only get one a half of good mfooty out of him each week.