Gippsland Cricket Thread Part 3

Thought I would go down and check Sale captain in action last night. Really led by the front, lost his wicket early and cheap again and Sale looked to be heading towards a 60-70 score. They were rescued to some degree by their pom who finally made some runs and hit the ball well, not sure what Lynch made but he stuck around with Roberts and to ticked the score along and hit one of the better sixes I've seen, not often you see Stu Anderson cover driven for 6. Hope the drug testers were around , He usually can't hit off the square so something is going on there.

Sale scrapped to 120 which was about 50 too short against College.

Nathan King, Anderson and Wells were clinical and made the run chase a walk over, King in particular really hit the ball around the park and belted it.

Bodie came crashing back to earth, you may sneak a wicket in here and there champ or on wickets like Rosedale but against the big boys you are cannon fodder. The kid needs an attitude adjustment, very cocky kid.

The highlight was the Sale skipper carrying on like a pork chop towards the end of the game ( sore loser anyone?) and again led from the front for his young side setting an example on how to behave for his young team

Thought I would go down and check Sale captain in action last night. Really led by the front, lost his wicket early and cheap again and Sale looked to be heading towards a 60-70 score. They were rescued to some degree by their pom who finally made some runs and hit the ball well, not sure what Lynch made but he stuck around with Roberts and to ticked the score along and hit one of the better sixes I've seen, not often you see Stu Anderson cover driven for 6. Hope the drug testers were around , He usually can't hit off the square so something is going on there.

Nathan King, Anderson and Wells were clinical and made the run chase a walk over, King in particular really hit the ball around the park and belted it.

Bodie came crashing back to earth, you may sneak a wicket in here and there champ or on wickets like Rosedale but against the big boys you are cannon fodder. The kid needs an attitude adjustment, very cocky kid.

The highlight was the Sale skipper carrying on like a pork chop towards the end of the game ( sore loser anyone?) and again led from the front for his young side setting an example on how to behave for his young team

Couple of things to say here

1. Stop hiding behind a computer with a username that is trying to make you look like you are a certain Maffra Footballer who wears the number 77 when it is clearly not him. Maybe there is a reason why you hide and that's because your afraid your skills and stats don't back up your mouth and you don't want to look like the ******** you are.

2. It's Bohdi and he is doing a great job, he is 14 years old , he is bowling well and once his body developes and he gets more pace he will trouble good batsmen regulary. There's no shame in getting made to look as you say cannon fodder to Anderson and King those blokes make 90 percent of the competition look like that regardless of how old they are.

3. John is doing a great job, the vibe at the club is great and on the way up with a young team

PM me if you would like my mobile number, happy to discuss any of this garbage with you in person. As per Lynchy's reply, if you are that gutless that you have to anonymously have a go at a 14 year old kid on a public forum, then I'm not going to spend all day arguing back and forth with you on a forum.

In relation to the game, well done to College. We didn't get enough runs and they controlled the chase very well.

welcome to bigfooty eagle, thanks for taking the heat of me, you've received a few bites i see, bit harsh on the kid i reckon, but your not scared to speak your mind. who's fired you up?

Only have yourself to blame for that Robbie!!!

why's that?

Well you said Eagle has taken the heat off you, but your the one that brings it upon yourself by stirring the pot. Can't expect a non reaction to some of the stuff that you have said.

No country week this year??

Well you said Eagle has taken the heat off you, but your the one that brings it upon yourself by stirring the pot. Can't expect a non reaction to some of the stuff that you have said.

No country week this year??

just an opinon, i don't agree with everything you & your mates say.
no country week, good guess on inbox too, try again

Haha yeah righto, it was a VERY good guess!

Why would you say that I was wrong now, you never have said anything about when we were all trying to establish who you were before?

I understand it is your opinion but surely you don't believe some of the stuff that comes out on your posts!

Haha yeah righto, it was a VERY good guess!

Why would you say that I was wrong now, you never have said anything about when we were all trying to establish who you were before?

I understand it is your opinion but surely you don't believe some of the stuff that comes out on your posts!

been working away for 3 months, just spotted your message last week, i've been called Ray, now this, keep guessing

Hahaha righto mate...thats a lie! You can check when people have last been on here and you have been on here regularly for a while.

Anyway Robbie, any pearls of wisdom or opinions today or just general chit chat?

Hahaha righto mate...thats a lie! You can check when people have last been on here and you have been on here regularly for a while.

Anyway Robbie, any pearls of wisdom or opinions today or just general chit chat?

i'm hear for another week before i head off again, just checking any movements in footy and checking the local cricket out, love eagleeye77,
he's not scared

I am not just trying to stir the pot, I am merely stating facts and my opinion on players who are not up to it but have the arrogance like they are.

I may have singled out a few players from Sale but here you go I won't leve anyone out this time, this is why they are the worst team I have ever seen/played against in my life in 1st XI cricket.

John Mayman- a slogger, does not lead by example , overweight unfit, incosistant and it's pretty disgracefull the way he gets out when he is supposed to be setting an example for his young team. More worried about starting arguments with players out in the middle. In a decent side he would be maybe the 10th or 11th player picked in a first side, not one of the first picked.

Nick Grainger- Looks like an up and coming player, will be a decent bat, needs to work on glovework but should not be playing 1sts at this stage.

Shaun Anderson- terrible batsmen, when he bats anywhere above 9 your in trouble and he has been at the top of the order. Pedestrian bowler who gets lucky wickets, every know and then he gets the ball to swing around but is a 2s bowler at best.

Pete Roberts- import who never stands up, for a paid player his results have been nothing short of a disgrace.

Brad Lynch- good driver of the ball, but can't hook,pull or cut and gets found out in 1sts cricket. As a junior at Heyfield was one of " the next best things" in terms of pace bowlers, as soon as he moved to Sale his bowling was wasted, never seemed to bowl much if at all and has gone backwards from a good bowling all arounder to an average batsmen. Is a Paul Collingwood type , scratches around , hard to get out but won't hurt you on the scoreboard and again is at best a 2nd grade batsman now. Has signed to play at Heyfield next year So won't be at the club.

Matt Jackson- was one of the best keepers In the comp and a promising batsmen, uni life and the booze got to him and is now a sub standard batsmen, again another 2nd grade batsman playing A grade cricket. His bowling is more effective than his batting these days.

Brett Hudson- cross bat hacker, looks to be picked as a fielder because he can't bat and can't bowl , does not even look comfortable in the 2nd division

Layton Armstrong - Getting old, lost his pace, still a cagey bowler though, Sales best player and one of the only guys who is a genuine 1sts player, will be at Merliu next year with his good mate Dean Thatcher , another blow for Sale.

Mick Bennett- young left arm bowler , too slow, does not swing the ball or move it off the seam, may have potential to be a good cricketer in the future but he should not be anywhere near a first side at the moment

Bodie Walker- another young kid , has potential but so much arrogance , may develope into a handy player but he will get torn apart by good players here because it's hard on a kid with no pace to consistently get wickets . Should spend the next 2-3 years getting bags of wickets in the 2nds

Other guys they have used this season have been Col Anderson, John Hepworth, Josh Benson, Chris Hudson, Craig Barter, Adam Jackson, another import from England, Harley Kenney, Greg Carmody.

The only guys from that list that should be playing 1st grade are Armstrong, Carmody, Benson, Roberts and the pom who returned home, the rest are 2nd and 3rd grade players.

That club is in a lot of trouble , Heyfield and Sale City would easily account for them and I would have thought they would struggle against Stratford, Maffra and Bundys 2s. On form they should be going out and get Heyfield or City in to strengthen the league up

I am not just trying to stir the pot, I am merely stating facts and my opinion on players who are not up to it but have the arrogance like they are.

I may have singled out a few players from Sale but here you go I won't leve anyone out this time, this is why they are the worst team I have ever seen/played against in my life in 1st XI cricket.

John Mayman- a slogger, does not lead by example , overweight unfit, incosistant and it's pretty disgracefull the way he gets out when he is supposed to be setting an example for his young team. More worried about starting arguments with players out in the middle. In a decent side he would be maybe the 10th or 11th player picked in a first side, not one of the first picked.

Nick Grainger- Looks like an up and coming player, will be a decent bat, needs to work on glovework but should not be playing 1sts at this stage.

Shaun Anderson- terrible batsmen, when he bats anywhere above 9 your in trouble and he has been at the top of the order. Pedestrian bowler who gets lucky wickets, every know and then he gets the ball to swing around but is a 2s bowler at best.

Pete Roberts- import who never stands up, for a paid player his results have been nothing short of a disgrace.

Brad Lynch- good driver of the ball, but can't hook,pull or cut and gets found out in 1sts cricket. As a junior at Heyfield was one of " the next best things" in terms of pace bowlers, as soon as he moved to Sale his bowling was wasted, never seemed to bowl much if at all and has gone backwards from a good bowling all arounder to an average batsmen. Is a Paul Collingwood type , scratches around , hard to get out but won't hurt you on the scoreboard and again is at best a 2nd grade batsman now. Has signed to play at Heyfield next year So won't be at the club.

Matt Jackson- was one of the best keepers In the comp and a promising batsmen, uni life and the booze got to him and is now a sub standard batsmen, again another 2nd grade batsman playing A grade cricket. His bowling is more effective than his batting these days.

Brett Hudson- cross bat hacker, looks to be picked as a fielder because he can't bat and can't bowl , does not even look comfortable in the 2nd division

Layton Armstrong - Getting old, lost his pace, still a cagey bowler though, Sales best player and one of the only guys who is a genuine 1sts player, will be at Merliu next year with his good mate Dean Thatcher , another blow for Sale.

Mick Bennett- young left arm bowler , too slow, does not swing the ball or move it off the seam, may have potential to be a good cricketer in the future but he should not be anywhere near a first side at the moment

Bodie Walker- another young kid , has potential but so much arrogance , may develope into a handy player but he will get torn apart by good players here because it's hard on a kid with no pace to consistently get wickets . Should spend the next 2-3 years getting bags of wickets in the 2nds

Other guys they have used this season have been Col Anderson, John Hepworth, Josh Benson, Chris Hudson, Craig Barter, Adam Jackson, another import from England, Harley Kenney, Greg Carmody.

The only guys from that list that should be playing 1st grade are Armstrong, Carmody, Benson, Roberts and the pom who returned home, the rest are 2nd and 3rd grade players.

That club is in a lot of trouble , Heyfield and Sale City would easily account for them and I would have thought they would struggle against Stratford, Maffra and Bundys 2s. On form they should be going out and get Heyfield or City in to strengthen the league up

Come on mate, you are anonymous, have a go at Layton as well, no need to be scared of him, none of us know who you are. No point in having a go at 10 of us, might as well have a crack at all 11.

While we are criticising people, you state in the first line that you are stating facts, lets get this straight, you are not stating facts in most instances, you are stating opinions, which you are entitled to. But, lets not let your ego get so overinflated that you confused your own opinions with fact.

If you are not attempting to stir the pot, but everything that you are saying is factual, then I assume that you would be happy to discuss these facts with the individuals, so, in that instance, as per earlier comments, why don't you give me a call and we can discuss this, some of your expert analysis and some ideas on how we can improve as a club would probably be of great assistance to a bunch of battlers like us???

No point in us arguing all the time Eagleeye, you seem to know everything about local cricket, so why don't you analyse the 3 premiership favs for the season, Maffra, Stratford and College?? Surely with all your knowledge you can give a good account of their gamebreakers and also tell us who will win the big one?

Just having a flick through the Country Week results, and I think there is a pretty strong case to make that Gippsland is the strongest cricketing "region" in Victoria. Basically, there is SMCA, TDCA and now Leongatha in Provincial division of Country Week, with B'dale and Warragul featuring in Division 2. I understand that the next 2 aren't in the Gippsland region, however Ferntree Gully and West Gippsland also feature in Division 2. I would imagine that no other region can boast 3 sides in Provincial division, and 5 in the top 2. Pretty impressive, I believe.

The under 21 gippsland team won the Victorian country final on the weekend.
A great achievement bad luck they don't get any publicity.

well done to all involved

Just having a flick through the Country Week results, and I think there is a pretty strong case to make that Gippsland is the strongest cricketing "region" in Victoria. Basically, there is SMCA, TDCA and now Leongatha in Provincial division of Country Week, with B'dale and Warragul featuring in Division 2. I understand that the next 2 aren't in the Gippsland region, however Ferntree Gully and West Gippsland also feature in Division 2. I would imagine that no other region can boast 3 sides in Provincial division, and 5 in the top 2. Pretty impressive, I believe.

Even though they arent in the GCL, West Gippy are obviously a Gippsland league as well so 6 sides in the top 2 divisions is a good effort

while this thread is on Gippsland Cricket as a whole, who are the teams that will take some stopping in each league this year. In Sale/Maffra looks like Stratty and College and in Traralgon the Top four look very close. What is happening in the west gippy, leongatha, alberton, central gippy, warragul and Bairnsdale comps. Who are the players that are going to do it for their teams?

Heard that on Saturday before the A grade game at Kilmany, Rosedale players were told that there club is in the process of applying to join the TDCA next season after a dispute has erupted from Rosedale-Kilmany wanting to play a player who has moved back to the area, who was deemed to be not allowed to play.

The players were told that the club is willing to hear concerns or suggestions before the meeting is held this week.

On a side note was at College to watch Maffra v College and a question popped in to my head, what do maffra do if they win the grand final match this year?

I presume that after Adrian Burgiel comes back to the club, that he is the man that would want to lead the club but if Brett Lanigans side managed to win the flag they are presented with a situation that not many clubs have, who to lead there side?

It is very interesting, definitely a favurable position for the club to have two great leaders at there disposal!!

Heard that on Saturday before the A grade game at Kilmany, Rosedale players were told that there club is in the process of applying to join the TDCA next season after a dispute has erupted from Rosedale-Kilmany wanting to play a player who has moved back to the area, who was deemed to be not allowed to play.

The players were told that the club is willing to hear concerns or suggestions before the meeting is held this week.

On a side note was at College to watch Maffra v College and a question popped in to my head, what do maffra do if they win the grand final match this year?

I presume that after Adrian Burgiel comes back to the club, that he is the man that would want to lead the club but if Brett Lanigans side managed to win the flag they are presented with a situation that not many clubs have, who to lead there side?

It is very interesting, definitely a favurable position for the club to have two great leaders at there disposal!!

Be interesting to see what happens on both fronts.

I would think that whether this rumor has any truth to it or not, we will see R-K playing in the SMCA next season.

In relation to the leadership position at Maffra, that is also an interesting one, and as you say, tough call to make. With Brett being the current SMCA captain and Maffra CC premiership captain, it would be tough to see him being displaced, however, we all know the brilliance of Burgs, and his ability to lead. As you say, great position for Maffra to be in, interesting to see how it pans out!

With quite a few different outcomes available in the games at the moment, there are a number of different possibilities as far as who finishes where on the ladder.

If the most likely outcomes occur, ie. Maffra beats College on first innings, R-K wins on first innings against Stratford and Bundy beats Briag on first innings, then, the ladder will look like this:

Maffra
Stratford/Bundy (depending on amount of bonus points gained in the second innings of either game, more than likely Stratford on top unless Bundy can bowl Briag out cheap and then make some quick runs/take 5 or 6 second innings wickets)
College

If R-K manage to win outright, then College miss out, and R-K slide in. If College manage to somehow beat Maffra, then they could finish on top if they manage to take enough wickets in the second innings. Maffra can possible then miss out if R-K win outright against Stratty. Very interesting finish, with the only side assured of a spot Stratford. Should be a close finish and an interesting finals series.

Good luck to all involved.

you might be onto something here Eagle eye, opened up the local paper to see Sale have been outrighted by Wurruk, what the hell is going on there?? Couldn't amagine Col Carmody & Dean Benson being to happy with this Mayhem!

2 points:

a) thank you for using a capital M in Mayhem, I appreciate it greatly.

b) it is imagine, not amagine.