Gen Y

Sep 8, 2010
What are people's opinions?

My mate has piked again, and my girlfriend doesn't want to go two weeks in a row. :thumbsdown:

(this is one of the areas where following a club with few supporters is a negative)

Theres a huge thread on the mainboard about this i believe, might be interesting reading.

If I lived in melb id have no issue going myself, as it is though Ive been organising road trips with a brissie supporting mate to Launceston when its on and one of our teams plays.

Haha Dan, i listened to the whole clip >.>

Yeah, it's not a pride issue at all (i don't have an issue with going it alone in either context :p), but going to the footy alone looses a fair bit of appeal for some reason.

Once you factor in travel time and eating out, I'm almost tempted to stay home, listen to the radio and get an assignment done =\

I've attended plenty of games solo over the years, and don't mind it at all. Headphones are a must though, as is something to flick through during the breaks. Enjoy it. Get vocal. It's different but can be as good as being with mates, family, the GF etc. High fiving a total stranger as we pile on our 10th goal in a quarter can be a truly fan bonding moment.

You're never alone Gen Y (not that I understand the gen Y set usually). We're one big (unhappy atm and disturbed always) family at North!

Sooooo.... which of us is the uncle that cops a feel and is lucky to not go to gaol?

I'll be heading in tomorrow by meself! still always have a good time (as long as we get up). go for it mate!

I went alone to all bar 2 games last year including the long trip to Geelong. Being a reserved seat helped as I sat with the same people who didn't mind my drinking and cheering :p now I've got my mrs signed up so we "spend some time together" :p

[youtube]xh_9QhRzJEs[/youtube]

Once upon a time, I had a gf to go to the footy with.

Then when she went overseas for a while, I replaced her with the housemate, and we went to the footy together.

Then when the gf got back she didn't appreciate being replaced in more ways than one, and both of them ultimately said 'goodbye'.

Then I went overseas to get away from the b/s.

Now I am going to games alone and I miss both of them.

True story.

:(

Unless you're 8 years old, get along. I tried to fly over for the day (from Launceston) but because of the Easter break there were no flights (less than 300 bucks anyway)

It's alright to go to the footy alone, I go to most of the north games by myself. I sometimes stand in the area of the cheer squad behind the goals and get a good atmosphere that way.

The only game I have attended by myself was last year against the Dees. It was the round 6? game that we won. I had just got off a plane from Sydney after a week long sales conference.* I was heading past Docklands at about 1pm so thought I may as well watch the game despite feeling very tired** and really wanting to go home and go to bed. But the lure of watching the Roos was far too strong.

During half time I fell asleep at the back of level 3 and was only woken by the siren to start the 3rd 1/4. For the rest of the day I was thinking I'd be shown in all the highlight packages as the guy who fell asleep during the game.

* By "sales conference" I really mean "excuse to get out on the piss"

** By "tired" I really mean "extremely hungover"

If North are playing shizen, a 10 metre space manages to magically appear around me, even if I go to the footy with 12 people.

That has nothing to do with North playing shizen.

Going to the footy alone...