Golden Rivers FL

The moula recruits will stick around. Even though where not where we thought we would be at this point of the season, the feeling around the club is great. You have to remember we have not won this many games in a season since 2003, and it will only get better, we are finally starting to get a bit of stabillity around the club, with same people sticking around not only on the field but on the board. It is also the first time since Alex Buckley coached in 95, 96 that we have had the same senior coach for two years in a row. :thumbsu:

Paul "Rocket" Jones? geez you blokes trying to forget him that much. No doubt Trav will stick around for another couple.

The feeling around the club is that we are going to keep what we have got and build on it... I still think we are heading in the right direction. Don't write us off yet.. you wouldn't want a few of us swannies on here shoving all this back in your face would we!

Dear Mr GASTEV GOES BANG

I hope all the Moulanese are well rested and freshened up after last weeks debarcle!!! Not sure how many of the boys have been in cotton wool for the past few weeks but are they right to go for the biggest game of the Year for the Swannies???

Maroons to rebound at Home by 14 goals
Murrabit by 6 goals over the Bombers
Quamby should win! but watch out Saints in NSW
and the Winner is
The HAWKS on current form but will be close, whoever wins on Saturday will play off in the finals! Does it get any bigger for the Swannies and Hawks?

My Tips for this round.
Nully V Ultima: Glenn Smith’s boys to bounce back. Smith obviously well held last weekend around the centre as he didn’t rate a mention in the best players, yet slotted home 5? Ultima will be looking to coach Condely to take Atkin, and big Macca in the ruck needs to have one of his usual hard fought games. The Roos have proved they can go with teams for 3 quarters, but expect it close until a last quarter blowout Nully by 7 goals

Wakool V Moulanese: Probably the match that complete the top 4. Wakool have proved that they are a potent force with Harvey and Kearney playing some extroadinary footy 2getha, kicking majority of Wakools score! Big Chubs Evans will have to stand up 2morra as well as the Caldwell boys, but as Moula haven’t been in such a position for a long time now, will trip @ the final hurdle. Wakool by 2 goals

Murrabit V Wandella: Could well be the GF preview! Wandella will be looking for its runners in Bott, McNeil and Laidlaw to go with the likes of the Heins and Simon Morton. Dual of the year would have to be out of Chum Chamberlain & Justin Rooney I would think. The only game Murrabit will loose 4 the rest of the year will be the granny, therefore will back the blues by 4 goals

Hay V Quamby: Quamby, enough said

Maroons to rebound at Home by 14 goals
Murrabit by 6 goals over the Bombers
Quamby should win! but watch out Saints in NSW
and the Winner is
The HAWKS on current form but will be close, whoever wins on Saturday will play off in the finals! Does it get any bigger for the Swannies and Hawks?

Murrabit by 26pts
Nully by 50pts
Quamby by 104pts
Wakool to make Gastevs bubble go BANG by 33pts

Tips for tomorrows games!

Wakool easily over moulamein to finally end their season.
murrabit just over the bombers
nullawil too strong for ultima
quamby to get a good % booster against hay

So Footy Pie, who's going to win the flag? If you know Murrabit is going to lose the granny, you must know who is going to win it

I'd say either Wakool, Wandella or Nully mate, cant see Murrabit winning it!! Surely have to come unstuck @ some stage, but dont think they'll loose a game til then!!

Just out of interest, what makes you say that? are they renound for choking? Their depth is pretty good

Nah Mildred must be mistaking Murrabit for Wandella, they are the only ones renound for choking in grand finals of recent years...:)
If Murrabit are to drop a game before the finals maybe it would be this week, but i don't think it will alter the top two, these two should finish top two and have the second chance.
Nully and Wakool to fill up the four.

Interesting to note Wandella's team for saturday will have a similar list to that of their 2005 granny side, exciting times out at bomber land.

Interesting reading in the Northern times today. With 2 huge matches (one a top of the table clash, and the other a do or die encounter that will largely decide the top four), they decided to focus on Macorna.... who have the bye.

This follows up last weeks piece that spoke about how ultima were going to cause some real problems for the top 4.... despite coming off a 20 goal hiding from the top team.

One wonders what goes on in that place?:thumbsdown:

Interesting reading in the Northern times today. With 2 huge matches (one a top of the table clash, and the other a do or die encounter that will largely decide the top four), they decided to focus on Macorna.... who have the bye.

This follows up last weeks piece that spoke about how ultima were going to cause some real problems for the top 4.... despite coming off a 20 goal hiding from the top team.

One wonders what goes on in that place?:thumbsdown:

Ben Carter is a moron, its as simple as that!!!

here here. who is he anyway. he has no concept of what is going on in the league at all.

No idea wat he looks like, but can just picture a lil dork that has no idea on football @ all as he was more into reading the lord of the rings on a satdy arvo rather than play footy!! Fair dinkum, the bloke has no idea wats happening in the GRFL

One would say historically Murrabit was the most successful GRFL/KDFL team in history... if they hadn't choked as poorly as Collingwood during the Dietrich era they may have been even more successful... money can't buy you everything though!

GRFL needs to readmit Lakes, Appin and Rovers and get the old tradition back. There was nothing like ripping your knees open on the bike track at Alexandra Park or freezing to death at Mystic Park.
And who could forget the odd cow pad out at lakes eh those were the days

No idea wat he looks like, but can just picture a lil dork that has no idea on football @ all as he was more into reading the lord of the rings on a satdy arvo rather than play footy!! Fair dinkum, the bloke has no idea wats happening in the GRFL

Don't under estimate Ben Carter as a journalist though! He may have no idea about footy but still manages to take quotes out of context. Early on in the season he was doing an interview with Glenn Smith after Nully played Quamby (rd. 3) and smithy told him (concerning the up-coming game with Ultima) "The roos aren't the strongest team going around this season, but they always save their best footy for Nully...."

Quote appears in the paper on the friday arvo Glenn Smith says "Ultima aren't the strongest team"

Made Glenn look like a dill. Evil man that carter

Good round of footy, closer games than expected. Appears Moula's season is over, unfortunately.
About the only way moul will stay in the race is to win every thing on the home run possible plus can't see Wakool beating any top sides in their last couple games moul also require the assistance of macorna to beat wakool should happen but we all seem to have forgot about the saints choppers boys have found their feet and are kicken butt it's still anyones race as yet should be an interesting couple of weeks ahead. :rolleyes:

overheard an interesting conversation from a credible source at the exchange last night, apparently wandella holding commitee meeting concerning assist coach dean howards future.

is his performance matching his price tag?? cant think what else it would be about. surely they wouldny sack him...

About the only way moul will stay in the race is to win every thing on the home run possible plus can't see Wakool beating any top sides in their last couple games moul also require the assistance of macorna to beat wakool should happen but we all seem to have forgot about the saints choppers boys have found their feet and are kicken butt it's still anyones race as yet should be an interesting couple of weeks ahead. :rolleyes:

The season is not over yet football fans!!! Swannies have fallen over of late but have a good run home, Tiggies are still in the hunt and the Saints are comming with a run, go you good things:thumbsu: The Hawks are not out of the woods just yet! They need to beat the Tiggies in two weeks unless the others fall over themselves? Will be an interesting round comming up with the top three taking on the next three! Can anyone cause an upset to put themselves back in the hunt??? What do we think sports fans???

overheard an interesting conversation from a credible source at the exchange last night, apparently wandella holding commitee meeting concerning assist coach dean howards future.

is his performance matching his price tag?? cant think what else it would be about. surely they wouldny sack him...
no meeting in place you must know some one very high up at wandella or be talking shit?maybe if a meeting is held it would be to resign him club very happy from what i hear!