Golf Golf Clubs/Equipment Discussion.

Going to get the second hand driver I purchased re-gripped later today. Anything specific I should consider when choosing a grip? Haven't gotten myself into the habit of wearing a glove all the time yet (only when shit hits the fan or wet weather haha).

The right thickness and ability to grip the club in all conditions.

I have been testing out a Wilson Staff Tour FG F5 driver for the last few rounds and went in for a fitting today at 1pm. It is a 9° driver that can be adjusted down 1° or up 2 degrees in 1° increments. I tried it and a Srixon driver. He didn't worry about Titleist.
The testing showed that the Wilson Staff driver with a stiff shaft was the best fit for me. However, I struggle to get good launch off the tee. Matt, the pro, recommended I get this driver with the 10.5° standard setup and to use it set at 11.5°. Paid $450. He said I can use the one I have been testing while I wait for the new driver.
Matt rang me at 3:30pm and said they don't make the Wilson Staff driver in the 10.5°. However, he could order the 9° driver in with a stiff shaft and I will receive a 15° 3 wood for free because of a deal Wilson Staff is running. I was happy with that. They are also putting a couple of layers of tape under the grip as my hands are quite big.
They arrived this arvo. I have picked them up and am itching for a hack on Saturday.

How do people feel about the newish shirts players like scott rocked today? no collar per se in the traditional sense.

Meh. He's basically a model so why not.

I reckon golf dress regs should be relaxed. Let people where what they want to a degree. Still respectful but not this whole collar tucked in business.

Ok, 11 handicapper here and coming back from back surgery last Dec. I've conveniently discovered a dent in my driver face (oh how I wish it was in the centre!). Anyone have any recommendations?

I've had an R11 for 6 years and it's done ok given there'd be 350-400 rounds played.

Meh. He's basically a model so why not.

I reckon golf dress regs should be relaxed. Let people where what they want to a degree. Still respectful but not this whole collar tucked in business.
*swoons*

dress code is a fascinating debate to be had.

i think what we see at the National is that on course shirts often come out in summer due to heat and oppressive conditions, and you're not near the clubhouse. Once you go in, then shirt in for mine....just my POV. having said that have seen tv personalities wear cargo shorts, camo pants into the restaurant.

i reckon if its worn on the tour (ie scotts collar) then its a precedent for courses worldwide. wear it, own it, rock it.

i love golf clothes!

Ok, 11 handicapper here and coming back from back surgery last Dec. I've conveniently discovered a dent in my driver face (oh how I wish it was in the centre!). Anyone have any recommendations?

I've had an R11 for 6 years and it's done ok given there'd be 350-400 rounds played.
2nd hand SLDR is the way to go

You should be able to get your hands on a 2015-16 M1 or M2 pretty reasonably now the new models are out. I have the M1 and it is MUNT (as the kiwis would say)

I've been looking for a 2016 m1

There still quite rare and the popularity is keeping the price highish

Am hearing the M2 is a bit more forgiving (started asking around). Maybe that is the way to go.

So subjective. I was fitted recently for a 917. I hit the 917 and m1 best. Hit the m2 and epic terribly. If you can manage to test a few out that would be the way to go.

Sounds like a plan. Get off my lazy @r$e and do my own research/testing..

Are they long because they carry with great flight or because they have the loft knocked down a degree on them?

Manufacturers these days are knocking the loft down on their irons so they can use distance as a selling point.

I'm not saying this is the case with the M1/2 as i've only heard good things, but nearly every manufacturer is doing it.

Are they long because they carry with great flight or because they have the loft knocked down a degree on them?

Manufacturers these days are knocking the loft down on their irons so they can use distance as a selling point.

I'm not saying this is the case with the M1/2 as i've only heard good things, but nearly every manufacturer is doing it.

Hi Mate, surprisingly the ball flight is quite high (higher than my previous TM irons), in terms of length I used to hit my PW around 110-115 last week in cold conditions carrying an average 125 swinging within myself. They don't get as much spin on the ball either which is a nice touch for me ( they basically hit, bounce and stop)

A friend I play golf with demo'd a brand new Callaway Epic driver today. I am sure he gained 20 to 30m on his usual distance. The Pro Shop said he could have it for $400. The Pro has been given the boot and finishes up in 3 weeks time. The new Pro doesn't want any of his stock.

Boom and damm

I just bought a new driver. However, I am tempted to ask him if he will order one in. He is the Pro at the rival club (Middle Ridge) but we get on well because his daughter is good friends with my 3 daughters. He has an older daughter in year 12 who is off +2 and just won the Qld Junior Amateurs at Bargara Golf Club. She is looking to get into the US College system for next year.

Caved in and bought some JPX900 Forged irons from golfbox, they have project x LZ shafts and golf pride mid grips with 2 wraps. They are amazing. Having my ankle injury get me down for the last 12 weeks, they've helped me be positive and smash my rehab out. I got fully fitted (which took 3 days itself to make sure everything was 100%) for the first time ever and really confident in the results. They arrived after 3 weeks in the factory this week. They feel like I'm hitting with a block of butter, so soft. Also picked up a M2 hybrid which is money and an OGIO silencer bag. Can't wait for the spring weather to pick up.

Golf Golf Clubs/Equipment Discussion.