Goulburn Valley FL 2019

Kyabram have to be worried. Not s**tting themselves, but more wary than would have been a month or so ago. They are still the ones in the box seat and Echuca have another tough two games of footy if they are likely to get another crack at them.

Don't support either team, but could be argued Echuca played the better footy for three quarters. They should have been three goals up at quarter time, and then had a woeful second quarter (only scoring two behinds, possibly?). 38 points down at one stage and then losing by 17. Yes, Kyabram has absorbed pressure and blown teams away during lapses for years now, but something seemed different today - possibly that exposure to run and carry.

Could be argued that Ky had players down, but so too did Echuca. Some big names barely seen.

Moral victory for Echuca today.

Have to agree with that summary. Not sure how happy the Ky camp is atm wth Sheldon not having his coaching contract renewed and him and Newman having a fall out. If it’s not right then plenty of people are on the wrong tram as it was mentioned by a lot of people today.Echuca need to be very careful next week against whoever they play. Can’t afford a let down.

Cracking contest between Ky and Echuca. Tough and hard football player in the right spirit. Echuca will take a heap of positives out of the contest as Ky are gettable especially if it’s a warm hot day. Echuca’s run and pace seemed to unsettle Ky. However whoever meets them in the GF will need to make all of the big moments count.The season has opened up a bit now and if Shep win tonight I wouldn’t discount them next week.

Did Elliot Stewart go to Lochie Smith again Ringo and if so how did he go please?
A couple of people have mentioned players from both teams were down, obviously dropping intensity for a quarter has cost Echuca. What was the tackling pressure from Echuca like?
Pretty sure your rumour about Sam Sheldon falling out with Paulo is well off the mark.

Have to agree with that summary. Not sure how happy the Ky camp is atm wth Sheldon not having his coaching contract renewed and him and Newman having a fall out. If it’s not right then plenty of people are on the wrong tram as it was mentioned by a lot of people today.Echuca need to be very careful next week against whoever they play. Can’t afford a let down.

Reckon you’d be the only bloke on here swoopin that doesn’t like reporting rumours. 98% of the stuff on here is just that! 😂
The comment above is well and truly part of the 98% that Thirdmanup mentioned. Did you have your coaching cap on when you posted that Ringo or just your Echuca one?

Gee that’s ordinary from you Ringo. I thought you might get some facts behind a story before running with it on here. That could not be further from the truth. Sam had the job but decided not to do it as he felt he couldn’t commit time wise as he works in barham. Nice try though, you wouldn’t meet a closer bunch of blokes than this Ky group. You don’t do what they have done without being united.
They were pushed today by a good side, it’s a final you expect that. There hasn’t been many blowouts in any of there finals over the last 4 years. At the end of the day they got the Win with plenty of players down.
One thing for sure is I hope there are better umpires out there than the ones at rochy today. The game was completely over umpired with plenty of mind boggling decisions.

Did Elliot Stewart go to Lochie Smith again Ringo and if so how did he go please?
A couple of people have mentioned players from both teams were down, obviously dropping intensity for a quarter has cost Echuca. What was the tackling pressure from Echuca like?
Pretty sure your rumour about Sam Sheldon falling out with Paulo is well off the mark.

Yes mate he did and Smith’s influence quelled again. Echuca’s second 1/4 was ordinary but credit to Ky to stop their run. Echuca really dished it up to Ky physically after 1/2 time. Byrne’s hit on Sam Sheldon was a highlight. Echuca’s better players came to life after 1/2 time and worked hard in and around the contest. The rumour is that Sheldon applies for the job again it was told he won’t be reappointed and thathimnand Paulo aren’t seeing eye to eye. I’m only conveying what I heard from a lot of people today.

Gee that’s ordinary from you Ringo. I thought you might get some facts behind a story before running with it on here. That could not be further from the truth. Sam had the job but decided not to do it as he felt he couldn’t commit time wise as he works in barham. Nice try though, you wouldn’t meet a closer bunch of blokes than this Ky group. You don’t do what they have done without being united.
They were pushed today by a good side, it’s a final you expect that. There hasn’t been many blowouts in any of there finals over the last 4 years. At the end of the day they got the Win with plenty of players down.
One thing for sure is I hope there are better umpires out there than the ones at rochy today. The game was completely over umpired with plenty of mind boggling decisions.
Mate why is that ordinary? I was told that by numerous people today. As I stated it is worth bringing up as a discussion point. The facts are up for discussion. Would not of raised it unless I wasn told that by a number of people. It would be fair to say that if that’s the case then it’s fair to raise it on here. I don’t particularly care if it’s wrong or right but as you have done above you have rebuffed it. I haven’t just made it up mate. One thing I will agre with was the number of dubious decisions paid or not paid at critical times but that’s football.

I certainly one not to bash umpires but as just an onlooker today. The standard certainly wasn’t flash all.
They seem to guess a lot of what was going to happen instead of actually umpiring what actually happened

Mate why is that ordinary? I was told that by numerous people today. As I stated it is worth bringing up as a discussion point. The facts are up for discussion. Would not of raised it unless I wasn told that by a number of people. It would be fair to say that if that’s the case then it’s fair to raise it on here. I don’t particularly care if it’s wrong or right but as you have done above you have rebuffed it. I haven’t just made it up mate. One thing I will agre with was the number of dubious decisions paid or not paid at critical times but that’s football.

No doubt it was started by echuca people. Sam and Paul are very close. It’s just really ordinary how these things start than people run with it without having any idea about the situation. I love footy rumours like everybody else but when it’s based on complete lies and aimed negatively towards people and clubs than I just find it week. Whatever floats peoples boats I suppose.

As stated mate you have your chance to rebuff it on here and you have. Better to have the chance to do that than not do it !

Pretty good game at Mooroopna tonight. Close all the way till the end.

Not disappointed with the Bulldogs effort tonight.

I think the Final series is going to be closer than what people think. Good Luck to all team left in the final.

Yes some baffles from the umps
Both sides coped it and benefited from some
Was a good hard game with players in and out of doing well
Can only think that ky will be better next week
With a couple of good ones to be considered

As stated mate you have your chance to rebuff it on here and you have. Better to have the chance to do that than not do it !
ringo what was the reason on the late withdrawal of Cameron Valentine was it soft tissue or sickness !!!

He injured his calf v Benalla a few weeks back and was a bit tight in it after training Thursday. He should be right this week. Echuca super impressive yesterday but will need to play well over the next two weeks to get another crack. I can’t discount Shepparton as they have some genuine A Graders in their line up

I think we all need to dip our hats to Rochy to see them win a final considering the start they had to the year. Pretty sure even die hard Tigers like Roar and Silver wouldn’t have expected this. Sent from my iPhone using BigFooty.com
I think we all need to dip our hats to Rochy to see them win a final considering the start they had to the year. Pretty sure even die hard Tigers like Roar and Silver wouldn’t have expected this.
Echuca will need to be at their best next week.

Tigers got today in s scrappy affair.

The highlight being one of the cleanest bumps I see. The Seymour player was lights out before he hit the ground unfortunately and played no further part in the game.

The strange thing was.
The clash was with an Umpire.
Both never saw either coming.

That was bizzare. Hope the Seymour bloke is OK as he looked quite crook at the time.

Seymour should have been well in front at half time. Wasteful in front of goal in the second term.

The possession count of Keogh must have been huge. He & Cole were massive.

Rochy had less passengers. Will eat my words about Free. Great game.

Did anybody else listen to the radio broadcast? Not mentioning any names, but a very pro Seymour call. Could go on, but won’t.

Conditions were horrible for the final three quarters.

That was bizzare. Hope the Seymour bloke is OK as he looked quite crook at the time.

Seymour should have been well in front at half time. Wasteful in front of goal in the second term.

Did anybody else listen to the radio broadcast? Not mentioning any names, but a very pro Seymour call. Could go on, but won’t.

Yes mate I tuned into the radio broadcast and totally agree. Whenever there was no mention of who was actually winning the game for an extended period I figured it must be Rochy. Have been critical of Free myself so sounds like he has found some confidence up forward.

In response to bootz's suggestion about expecting a win I must say I was surprised they beat Benalla at Benalla to make the finals! A good effort by the Tigers but Echuca might be a bridge too far next Sunday.

That said, Rochy have a better form line at Benalla over the past three weeks!😉😎

Free’s best game by far. And good to see he’s having a good run of form

Free is no 'mug' ! Was on the radar of recruiters in his top age year as an U/18. Strong hands and excellent on the lead.Consistent performances have eluded him, however at 22 could be maturing. Will be a handful for Echuca if he gets enough supply.

Development coach at North Melbourne and then 5 years as Werribee senior coach Just had a look at some of his pre and post game speeches if he can coach as well as talks he’ll be a great get Well done cats 🐱
This should be massive for the Cats Swoop. Just checked out their points situation and played with 37/44 in Round 18 which is not ideal. One would assume they might get a 44 point max again in 2020 but should have plenty of $$. Surely no chance they could have been paying anywhere near the cap for the past few years. With some list management and his networks they could bring in 2-3 'A' graders! Good for Mooroopna and the competition.

The annoying thing for me is they may have to offload some district players who have come into the GV, to fit more highly rated VFL players into the side. It hardly helps a struggling side. Some might say a 44 point cap limit is enough compared to the standard 40 points, but the ladder would suggest otherwise.