Goulburn Valley FL - Part 2

Re: Official GVFL Thread (part 2)

Interesting that you would take Shepp United over Euroa. Personaly I couldnt see either Euroa or Shepp United having a chance of making the finals.
Mooroopna-easly favorites cant see them losing a game P&C too big and strong for most sides, may be pushed but will find enough to win.
Seymour-will finish 2nd in great danger of going out in straight sets, too many outs and I cant se them finding enough form to beat Mooroopna or Rochester.
Rochester-in perfect position to go bang bang into a GF, will be better for them to finish 3rd than 2nd and if they do finish 3rd they will be worth a bet.
Shepp Swans-are falling more and more each week, need to find some form but going on 2nds for they dont have the depth, will slip but not out of the top 5
Echuca-smokies will take 4th spot on the ladder but I dont know if their better than that, will make the prelim
Mansfield-cant see them making the finals but will win a few games, I just think Ky will take their spot.

Kyabram-will win enough games to make finals but then who knows, maybe they can find enough form to be a challenger or maybe not, they do have the talent and the coach to push them.
Euroa-not good enough to seriously challenge the good sides
Shepp United-dito
Benalla-not good enough
Shepparton-dito
Tatura-will be a long year and next
As the ladder stands now. On form Echuca to move up a spot and Swans down. The only other change is for Ky to move in and Mansfield out of the six.
Mooroopna to beat Rochester in a close Grand Final. Will be one of the better GF's for years with plent of hard football. When it comes down to playing for "sheep stations" their the two teams for me but Im not sure about Echuca.
Ringo, u obviously have no idea on GVFL football. There are only 2 teams currently envolved in the GVFL GF. Seymour & Mooroopna.
Seymour-will finish 2nd in great danger of going out in straight sets, too many outs and I cant se them finding enough form to beat Mooroopna or Rochester.
U must realise Seymour has many players out, but u still make the spupid comment (above). Seymour will win the GF against Mooroopna. Echuca.........Wow.....can't wait for the final showdown when the racist, abusive & one eyed team they showed in the last meeting play Seymour once again. They will know that they are in Seymour, both on & off the field. They finally travel down to Seymour after 5 yrs. I hope they know where the town is!!! The reception that u WILL receive will not be good. U only have yourselves to blame!!

Ringo, u obviously have no idea on GVFL football. There are only 2 teams currently envolved in the GVFL GF. Seymour & Mooroopna.
U must realise Seymour has many players out, but u still make the spupid comment (above). Seymour will win the GF against Mooroopna. Echuca.........Wow.....can't wait for the final showdown when the racist, abusive & one eyed team they showed in the last meeting play Seymour once again. They will know that they are in Seymour, both on & off the field. They finally travel down to Seymour after 5 yrs. I hope they know where the town is!!! The reception that u WILL receive will not be good. U only have yourselves to blame!!

Ah mate u might want to read who wrote the above-IT WAS NOT ME it was Bond-I don't mind copping stick but not when I don't write what you are responding to. By the way envolved is spelt INVOLVED so you might want to get the spelling right as well!! :mad: And I'm not in Echuca either!!

surprising this idiot thinks seymour can't beat rochester but have already travelled up there and won comfortably. take half of the mooroopna side out and see how they travel?? some guys are so misinformed!!

Seymour beat Rochy by about 6 goals, but Rochy had Bowen and Whitsed out, and McPhee and Rasmussen were injured in the first quarter. I think Seymour had a few missing too.

Obviously Seymour are the better team and when the game was in the balance, they really took control of the match.

Seymour and Mooroopna are still the two teams to beat.

Seymour beat Rochy by about 6 goals, but Rochy had Bowen and Whitsed out, and McPhee and Rasmussen were injured in the first quarter. I think Seymour had a few missing too.

Obviously Seymour are the better team and when the game was in the balance, they really took control of the match.

yer i agree seymour and mooroopna are the sides to beat dnt think rochy are there just yet maybe next year and swans will be lucky to make 6

Sorry Ringo......My apologies to you.

No worries Bundy:thumbsu: for what its worth I think Seymour will win it and the Swans have been very disappointing-Echuca and swans game will certainly give both teams a pointer to their immediate futures. If Echuca win they have genuine claims to a top 4 finish and if Swans win still a finals contender but can't win it.

Pies turn it on for Watson's 300th
Euroa saluted Scott Watson's 300th game as the Magpies kept its top six hopes alive with a 127-point win against Shepparton United in Goulburn Valley Football League on Saturday.
Euroa led from start to finish and shook off United after quarter-time as it won 28.14 (182) to 8.7 (55).
The win moves Euroa to four wins and six losses in seventh place, but two games off the pace of sixth-placed Mansfield.
Magpies full-forward Mark Jansz cashed in against United's depleted backline with 10 goals, while a bag of five for Scott Grainger and three goals each for Relton Roberts and Craig Bamford aided the rout.
Euroa led by 10 points at quarter-time, but seven goals to a behind in the second term opened a lead it continued to build on for the rest of the afternoon.
Bamford kicked the goal of the day in the second quarter, volleying the ball out of the air to steer through a six-pointer.
Ahead by 83 points at the last change, Euroa coach David Putamorsi threw Watson forward to try to find the 300-gamer a goal in his milestone match.
Watson delivered with two goals in the final term.
``It was good to get back on the winners' list because we need to make a run if we want to finish in the six,'' Putamorsi said.
``Watto was our main focus before the game and the boys made sure they won it for him.
``It was fitting he kicked a goal in the last quarter.''
Putamorsi said the footy smarts of Hayden Lamaro and Shane Clayton had won the midfield duel for his side.
``They both read the play so well, it gave us every opportunity,'' he said.
``We knew United were undermanned in the backline and Mark (Jansz) came up with another quality performance.''
Jye Warren with three goals and Sean Tenace were Shepparton United's best.
Shepparton United now has a three-win and seven-loss record which has it sitting in ninth place on the ladder.

Undefeated run continues
Brad Campbell and Ash Hockey cut loose in the final term as Mooroopna stretched its unbeaten run to 10 with a win against Shepparton.
Mooroopna coach Campbell kicked three goals, while Hockey booted four as the Cats kicked eight goals into the breeze to dispose of the Bears, 20.21 (141) to 11.13 (79), at Deakin Reserve in their Goulburn Valley Football League clash.
Ty Parsons was stretchered from the field in the first quarter with a serious knee injury in a marking contest that wasn't actually during play as the umpire had blown time off.
His absence didn't hurt the Cats too much as they took full advantage of a breeze favouring the Skene St end of the ground in the first quarter to lead by 19 points at quarter-time.
Chris Bell marked a sloppy kick-in close to goal and converted to put Shepparton within 14 points late in the second.
His good work was undone by a costly turnover in the Bears' defensive 50 which resulted in a goal to Craig Whelan as the Cats took a 26-point advantage at the half.
Senior debutant Daniel Knight marked and goaled, and Simon Thorsen kicked another to give Shepparton a sniff late in the third term.
Mooroopna steadied to take a five-goal lead at the final change, but Shepparton still had a winning chance kicking with the breeze in the last.
Campbell stepped up to lead from the front and Hockey showed his class as Mooroopna showed why it is the best side in the competition to run away and win by 61 points.
``Shepp played really well and up until 10 minutes to go in the third quarter were on top of us in a few areas,'' Campbell said.
``They were first into the contests and dominated in the centre square in the clearances.
``A few of our blokes were waiting out for the handball instead of going in and getting it, and we tried to play too cute a style of footy.
``I didn't think they would just go bang, bang, bang and run over the top of us in the last quarter, but I told the boys they had to really knuckle down for half an hour of footy.''
Former Victoria Country representative Hockey finished with six goals in a best afield display, rotating between half-forward and the midfield.
``Ash was injured at the start of the year, but is starting to get a fitness base under him with every game and has been training really well,'' Campbell said.
``He's been playing some good footy of late and I thought a stand-out game was just around the corner.''
Russell Lee had a superb last quarter in the midfield, Simon Russell worked hard on the wing and Kane Boyer racked up plenty of disposals sapping off the contests and filling holes in defence.
Shepparton skipper Nick Allan ran hard all afternoon despite a persistent tag to win a lot of possessions.
Matt Chapman took some strong contested marks and worked hard in the middle, Brad Ridings looked dangerous every time he went near the ball, and Thorsen found plenty of ball in space.

Crossman justifies return to seniors
Leigh Crossman kicked four goals and was one of the best on ground in his return to senior football as Echuca outclassed Tatura by 85 points at Victoria Park.
Below-average form saw Crossman banished to the reserves after round four where he had spent the past five games.
Five goals in a best afield display against Mansfield last week earned him a recall to the senior side, and he didn't disappoint.
He and Brad Smith (five goals) formed a two-pronged attack as Echuca overcame a lacklustre start to defeat the winless Bulldogs, 23.18 (156) to 11.5 (71).
The Murray Bombers kicked the opening goal of the match, but from there on Tatura made all the running to kick the next four and led by three goals at quarter-time.
Crossman was a catalyst in turning the momentum in Echuca's favour with three of his side's 10 second-quarter goals as it erased its deficit and turned it into a 35-point lead by half-time.
It was the beginning of a procession for Echuca as it rammed home a further 11 goals to four in the second half to cruise to its fifth win on end and jump into the top four after Shepparton Swans was thrashed by Mansfield.
``Tatura outplayed us in that first quarter. They beat us to the ball and when we had it we weren't using it well,'' Echuca captain Colin Durie said.
``After that we started winning around the contest and got first use of the ball, and when Tatura had it we locked them down so they kept chipping the ball around.
``We put more pressure on them and got our hands on the ball first, and the scoreboard looked after itself.''
Smith and Crossman were the most productive of 11 individual goal-kickers for Echuca, the consecutive week it has had as many players get their name on the scoring sheet.
Shane Mulladad was Tatura's only multiple goal-kicker with four and leads its goal-kicking for the season with 11 after just three games since joining from Kyabram District league side Girgarre.
Durie and Adrian Dohnt racked up the Sherrin at will in the midfield, Brendan Prendergast was his usual reliable self in defence, and Liam Wilkinson continues to establish himself as a young player on the rise in the competition.
Murray Bushranger Tom Durward, Josh Gledhill and Anthony Poppa were Tatura's best.

In familiar territory
There was touch of deja vu about Mansfield's 115-point romp against Shepparton Swans at Mansfield Recreation Reserve on Saturday.
The victory was the Eagles' biggest in Goulburn Valley Football League since round 15, 2004, when they smashed the same team at the same venue by 165 points, kicking 11.10 in the final quarter.
On Saturday, Mansfield bettered that as it rammed home 15.3 during a flawless half-hour of football to trounce last year's grand final bridesmaid, 23.19 (157) to 6.6 (42).
``It was very important to get back on track after the previous week against Echuca, because it wasn't acceptable,'' Mansfield coach Christian Thomson said.
``We wanted to make amends for that and get the ledger in front in terms of wins and losses, and get a scalp above us on the ladder.
``There's that belief in the group now that if we play like that every week we'll come out in front more often than not and be thereabouts come finals.''
Mansfield registered 24 scoring shots to nine up until three-quarter-time yet kicked an abysmal 8.16 and only led by 35 points.
It didn't matter as the Eagles made full use of the breeze blowing towards the eastern end of the ground in the last, blowing the hapless Swans out of the water.
``I felt we were in control of the game at three-quarter-time and to be brutally honest didn't think the game was in the balance,'' Thomson said.
``We had a lot of opportunities to score up until then and were dominating the possession around the ground.
``Our ball use was on a par to what it had been in the first three quarters and our work rate was the same it was, just all those shots we had missed started going in.''
Youngster Judd Darby led all goal-kickers with five in a floating half-forward role, and Rick Saunders bagged four for Mansfield.
Brett Mahoney kicked three goals and won a ton of contested ball in the midfield and was one of Mansfield's best players along with Murray Bushrangers teammate Adam Boshevski off half-back.
Glenn Dundovic was the Swans' only multiple goal-kicker with three, with Jarrod Sutherland, Jamie Hackett and Mat Hebbard their better players.
Swans coach Peter White didn't wish to discuss where his side's game had broken down in the last quarter.
``There was a few home truths said in the rooms after the game,'' White said.
``We realistically still thought we were a chance of winning at three-quarter-time but didn't get our hands on the footy in the last quarter, and Mansfield's run on was as good as I've seen in football.''
The Swans (6-4) have slipped to fifth spot with their chances of securing a top-two finish now looking slim, but that's the last thing on White's mind.
``We're not even thinking about finals, the only thing we're worried about at the moment is Echuca this week,'' White said.

Looks like it will be a fair old rematch this one, Bundy dont bother having a dig at me, I'm not involved with club. Might be worth the drive from the city though!!

for someone not involved at the club you sure do seam to know whats going on at it, and the echucaboy name well what does that tell us, do drive up for the game it will indeed be a big day out i believe:p.

I obviously grew up there and just like to keep up with the GV because IMO is the best league in Victoria and I like to fill in time at work talking a bit of garbage.....;)

You do it well too!
Underselling yourself though, as you talk a lot of garbage!!!!!!!!!!!!

I go on the amount of negative feedback I get......it seems you have got me covered in that area, so congratulations superstar.

Devastated to hear little Poffa Casey has broke his collarbone was having a good year and now not only can he not play football and can't wipe his own arse either......just shows it does pay to be Ambidextrous......;)

I obviously grew up there and just like to keep up with the GV because IMO is the best league in Victoria and I like to fill in time at work talking a bit of garbage.....;)
the moment i read it i new that cd would be into you, predictable or funny:)

I will agree with the fact that Seymore won the gameagainst Rochy. Jazzy has now place saying Seymore won comfortably. As already said, Rochy had Bowen and Whitsed out, and McPhee and Rasmussen injured. If you havnt played against these boys, Bowen Whitsed and McPhee are their key forwards. They are their 3 talls that Rochy kick to. Its like Ky playing with out Balraj or Newman. They hav very few to kick to when going foward. You can not win a game against Seymore kicking to small forwards, they are too strong. Also Rochy had no bench in the final quarter and if you look at the quater by quater schools it is were they run out of legs. I just hope Rochy can get their full side in as well as Seymore and then i think it will be a bloody good hit out. At Seymore is the next game which will give the lions a bit more confidence but i think you can't make comments about games when both sides have injuries. And key injuries at that.

Please don't mention Balraj in the same breadth as Newman,Bowen and McPhee:mad:

i agree totally. also can't take too much out of the mooroopna/seymour class as not sure about the cats but lions had some big names missing!!

Echucaboy.......Not having a go at you mate......Just those Echuca fans that were at that game!!!

It's very hard to get a gauge on where teams are at this year. Results are all over the shop.

After what I saw of Euroa on the weekend, they are just as good as they were in 2005, once they get going. Have loads more pace then that year. If they can stay fit and play consistant footy, they will go well in the finals. On the other hand shep utd were a rabble. Worst I have seen them in my 5 years of GV footy.

I know it's a long time ago, but just to beat Utd was big scalp, but to flog thepiss out of them:confused:.
So have Euroa had a lot of injuries?
Who are flag Favs now? A month ago it was (according to experts) Swans, Lions with daylight 3rd.:confused:

I know it's a long time ago, but just to beat Utd was big scalp, but to flog thepiss out of them:confused:.
So have Euroa had a lot of injuries?
Who are flag Favs now? A month ago it was (according to experts) Swans, Lions with daylight 3rd.:confused:

They had a few out when they lost a few games in a row, played the swans without grainger and jansz. Which didnt help.
I would say the cats are flag favs with seymour hot on their tails. Then the rest. I would still back Seymour into win the GF though.

Bundyrum it's time someone pulled your head in. The echuca fans at the Echuca v Seymour game ( i was also present) were reacting to a Guy (saad saad) who arrogantly flipped his middle digit up at the crowd after he kicked a goal (in the second qaurter). He incited the tension to start with and when he knocked out Sutton in a GUTLESS act and was sent off he copped it from the crowd (who were in a large tent for Echuca's Sponsors day). When he was sent off the ground he again flipped his middle digit up at the Supporters in the tent and they gave it to him...i don't condone racism but nothing has been said about the ARROGANT act that Saad did to encite all of this. Further to this he then pulls the racism card out of his pocket two only get 2 weeks for knocking Sutton out (Gutless). The tribunal then handed down the softest decision i have seen in 10yrs. It was worth 4-6 weeks. Saad will get his own what for when Echuca does travel down to play the Arrogant sooky lions on their own patch...Echuca will win by 3 goals.
Just thought i would put the real truth out their for those that were not present.

Bundyrum it's time someone pulled your head in. The echuca fans at the Echuca v Seymour game ( i was also present) were reacting to a Guy (saad saad) who arrogantly flipped his middle digit up at the crowd after he kicked a goal (in the second qaurter). He incited the tension to start with and when he knocked out Sutton in a GUTLESS act and was sent off he copped it from the crowd (who were in a large tent for Echuca's Sponsors day). When he was sent off the ground he again flipped his middle digit up at the Supporters in the tent and they gave it to him...i don't condone racism but nothing has been said about the ARROGANT act that Saad did to encite all of this. Further to this he then pulls the racism card out of his pocket two only get 2 weeks for knocking Sutton out (Gutless). The tribunal then handed down the softest decision i have seen in 10yrs. It was worth 4-6 weeks. Saad will get his own what for when Echuca does travel down to play the Arrogant sooky lions on their own patch...Echuca will win by 3 goals.
Just thought i would put the real truth out their for those that were not present.

Sounds like it might be a good day out-might pack up the family,fill the thermos,pack the rug and watch proceedings. When is it?