Goulburn Valley FL - Part 4

looks like we might have to find a few more recruits......:D

I would have thought you guys had recruited more than enough mate. How many new guys have you actually signed for this year that didn't play last year. Very impressive pre season for you guys and even better that the majority are returning locals.

Still a couple more to come, but we need to be careful as we may lose some young guys to uni. Signed 7 so should strengthen us to have a tilt at finals. Nevertheless, the league appears to be at its strongest for some time so who knows. Yes 5 of the 7 are locals and Joel Perry will be working here on a regular basis so all good. Axel Childs,Al Evans and Dave Ismail are all taking a 'gap' year so that helps.

At the Goullburn Valley Football League's most recent Board Meeting held on Wednesday 9th December - Ian McDONALD has been re-appointed as Chairman of the League to take the GVFL into season 2010. The league can progress with confidence and excitement as it certainly appears at this early stage that we are going to have a very strong influx of quality players come into our League. The G.V.F.L. remains exactly the same as the past season with Ian FITZSIMMONS re-appointed as Deputy Chairman and each of the current Board Members being re-elected at the League's A.G.M. on 25th November.
Fortunately for the G.V.F.L., Mr Keith WELLMAN has agreed to continue on as the General Manager for another season. The current Board are all very experienced football men and all very keen to roll the sleeves up again. They are :- Mick WILLIAMS, Freddo McMAHON, Trevor POLLARD, Norm GILLESPIE and Robert BELL.
At the Board meeting held on 9th December, it was decided by the Board that admission into GVFL games in 2010 will be raised up to $10 for an Adult and $5 for Aged and Invalid Pensions and Students (upon production of the relevant identification) - children under the age of 14 are admitted free of charge. The Week Ender magazine will remain at $3 per copy.

pettifer is playing at kyabram
pettifer will not be playin gfooty at all in 2010...because he was injured while playing on richmonds list he gets a massive pay out as long as he stays out of footy..its like work cover..if he plays next year he loses that payout...$200,000 pay out would keep anyone out for a year

It seems like a confusing situation. Yarrawonga have been closely linked to him as has Kyabram. How sure are you of this Sizzled?? Surely he would of signed with one of them by now if he was playing:confused:

Well he was in the pre season draft Ringo which was only held this week. You wouldn't go signing with anyone before you knew the outcome of that. I'm pretty sure you will see him in the red & black next year.

Merlo back with Bombers
Riverine Herald
By Chris Cavanagh
Friday, December 18, 2009

Echuca midfielder Kade Merlo has re-signed with the Murray Bombers ahead of season 2010, in the hope the side can push for a premiership next year.
Merlo, who polled three votes in the league Morison Medal and was regularly named in the Bombers' best last season, will be another of the Bombers' commuters from Melbourne.
Having finished a mechanical engineering degree at Melbourne University this year, he has spent the past five months working for BRT Consulting in the state capital.
Merlo said he was pleased to be going around with the club again next year.
''Yeah, stoked,'' he said.
''I'm pretty happy about some of the recruits that we have got and the ex-players that are coming back.''
The 24-year-old said his decision to play for the club again this year was based around the fun he had with the side last year, his first year back with the Bombers since 2003.
''I really enjoyed it last year, getting back to the home club,'' he said.
''There is a fair buzz around the club and everyone has high hopes for a reasonably successful year.'' Merlo, who won best and fairest awards with Echuca at under 14, 16 and 18 level, played with Melbourne Uni Blues in 2004 and Melbourne Uni Black from 2005 to 2008 after leaving Echuca to study.

Well he was in the pre season draft Ringo which was only held this week. You wouldn't go signing with anyone before you knew the outcome of that. I'm pretty sure you will see him in the red & black next year.

is the x pres still putting his hand in his pocket ? mj

heard a rumour from that grapevine that sheppartons bears wingman rohan hiscock has gone to congupna? that true? if so cant help with the losses of feltmann, maddison, marx, dudgeon, mason, mcmullan all gone to dookie i think and then big jonny walker to where ever he has wondered off to....

john walker to wodonga

wheres mason going

High-flying Robbo to be a Swan in 2010
Like a confident poker player holding all the chips, Shepparton Swans coach Perry Meka continues to raise the stakes this off-season.
Former Melbourne star Russell Robertson confirmed months of speculation after signing with the Swans on Saturday.
Robertson was delisted by Melbourne at the end of this season after kicking 428 goals in 228 AFL games.
The popular 31-year-old joins long-time friend and Demons teammate Adem Yze at Princess Park after being overlooked for an AFL lifeline in the national, pre-season and rookie drafts.
``To his credit, he always said if he didn't get drafted he wants to play with Adem and me,'' Meka said.
``He kept to his word and that's the sort of character and bloke he is.
``There wouldn't be a club outside the AFL in the whole of Australia that didn't ring him, so it's a massive coup for our club.''
Robertson will juggle media commitments for Melbourne radio station Triple M with playing for the Swans.
``I said to him I'll be happy if you commit to half a season and he said `no way, if I play I'm going to play every game','' Meka said.
``He's doing special comments for Triple M and if we play on Saturday he'll do radio on Sunday (and vice versa).''
Robertson's other passion _ music _ was crucial in his deal with the Swans.
``He loves music and his band and he'll do a lot of corporate functions with my business (Global Group of Companies),'' Meka said.
``As an AFL footballer he came off the rookie list and really had to earn his stripes. Now he doesn't have to do that.
``It's all about trying to help his career outside football. With his band he'll help our company and help himself.''
Meka said Robertson and Yze's talent and experience would be invaluable to the Swans' youth.
``You can't just throw a whole team of juniors out there because they won't learn anything,'' Meka said.
``The thing about Adem and Robbo is they're good blokes. They're not idiots. They're not here to just chase money and go home.
``The experience they bring to our young kids and having them around the club after games is going to be massive.''
Robertson and Yze will co-ordinate training for the Swans' Melbourne-based group.
Meka said Robertson's signing was not based on money.
``There's no point bringing in 15 blokes from Melbourne on big amounts of money because in two years' time you have nothing again,'' Meka said.
``We want to put something in place to develop our younger guys into 200-game senior players for our club. That's over 10 years, not two years.
``We've picked quality over quantity to help with that.''
Large sums of money or not, it's clear the Swans are making a big play to dominate the poker table that is the Goulburn Valley Football League

he going to strathy......and hiscock most likely go
shepp are losing a far few of its younger locals.......

Was always gunna happen with warby coachin. He was the messiah after about 8 rounds last year, now I reckon he's lost a fair bit of respect.