Goulburn Valley FL U/18's - Part 2

Mellington (ex congupna) to Tocumal which is a fact and another dude Jimmy Cullum (not sure where he palyed) who won the best ad fairest to Tallygaroopna? Both chasing the $$$

Not bagging any clubs, just making comments about kids in today's footy and generally in life. To some its only about the $$$ and it is hard for clubs in any region to build loyalty. It is certainly the case where I live in Melbourne now.

Fully agree with you about the difficulty of building loyalty, its pretty hard when you up against the dollar. Players don't even play for a club even if their parents played. They tend to go with the mates because its easier and safer that way. Mellington, actually was recruited from Ardmona boys and is going to Toc for dollars and the chance to play with a cousin and his sister's boyfriend. Cullum was recruited from Maguire under 16's and is playing for Tally ahgain for dollars. A lot of work was put into these boys in their development and it is frustrating to see 18 year olds leaving to get dollars. However there is no rule to say that they have to stay. All in all United haven't done too bad with retaining 3rds this year. They keep about 12 for the senior squad, 3 have gone to Melb for school and work, 1 to Bendigo Bombers, 1 to Bulldogs, 2 not playing at all, Donovan moved to Geelong, Handley to Shepp East, Mello to Toc and Cullum to Tally. not bad although it would be great for clubs if they could retain all their thirds for the seniors.[/quote]

Now for the record Jimmy Cullum went out to Tally with about 4 of his mates and if the united heiracy hadn't have abused the crap out of him for his decision then he may well of gone back in years to come.

Some people like the current united coach seem to have a very short memory as i can recall him poaching young players from picola united a few years back and offering them money. Seems he is a little hipocritical.

Fully agree with you about the difficulty of building loyalty, its pretty hard when you up against the dollar. Players don't even play for a club even if their parents played. They tend to go with the mates because its easier and safer that way. Mellington, actually was recruited from Ardmona boys and is going to Toc for dollars and the chance to play with a cousin and his sister's boyfriend. Cullum was recruited from Maguire under 16's and is playing for Tally ahgain for dollars. A lot of work was put into these boys in their development and it is frustrating to see 18 year olds leaving to get dollars. However there is no rule to say that they have to stay. All in all United haven't done too bad with retaining 3rds this year. They keep about 12 for the senior squad, 3 have gone to Melb for school and work, 1 to Bendigo Bombers, 1 to Bulldogs, 2 not playing at all, Donovan moved to Geelong, Handley to Shepp East, Mello to Toc and Cullum to Tally. not bad although it would be great for clubs if they could retain all their thirds for the seniors.

Now for the record Jimmy Cullum went out to Tally with about 4 of his mates and if the united heiracy hadn't have abused the crap out of him for his decision then he may well of gone back in years to come.

Some people like the current united coach seem to have a very short memory as i can recall him poaching young players from picola united a few years back and offering them money. Seems he is a little hipocritical.[/quote]
I was involved in the meeting with James and I can assure you that he was not abused in anyway. United put a case forward as to why it was better for his football to remain at the club and pointed out the positives and negatives of staying and going. It was a sensible discussion with James also having input. Its amazing how stories or recollections change from the reality. At one stage the story was that he left because United had not even spoken to him. We will see what happens at the end of the year as James told the club that he was only going for one year then returning. I'm not holding my breath as I don't know what to believe anymore.

Would echuca be favourites to go back to bacK?

Was out in echuca last fri night an talkin to one of the thirds players he was sayin that if there seniors stay in there current situation that they are in now, then probly at least five 3rds players a week will b playin ones regulary. As well as these 5 players another 3 players will b with pioneers. Neither pioneers or echcua 1's will make finals so if the 3rds manage to scrape into finals then they will b a force and will push back 2 backs

dunno bud .... c what happends ay ... no one will no who gonna make anything untill the first 5 rounds i rekon ... who do u play for and what do u think ul go :thumbsu:

I rekon the ladder will b like this just as prediction:

swans
united
seymoure
mooropna
euroa
ky
echcua
mansfield
bears
rochy
benella
tat

I rekon the ladder will b like this just as prediction:

swans
united
seymoure
mooropna
euroa
ky
echcua
mansfield
bears
rochy
benella
tat

big calls here bud. you have echuca not in the final 6!
they will have some young recruits and there top age kids this year will be very experienced from previous years. swans for sure, uniteds a bit high. like 3 or 4 spaces to high.
bit generous towards the bears though i reckon haha :)

big calls here bud. you have echuca not in the final 6!
they will have some young recruits and there top age kids this year will be very experienced from previous years. swans for sure, uniteds a bit high. like 3 or 4 spaces to high.
bit generous towards the bears though i reckon haha :)

that is a bit of furphy, barassi 31 since you are a united player!!! reckon united will be pretty tought to beat again this year, they have recruited well. why do you have such a high wrap on the swans?

dunno bud .... c what happends ay ... no one will no who gonna make anything untill the first 5 rounds i rekon ... who do u play for and what do u think ul go :thumbsu:
haha what a read....i think this year league powerhouse should be swans as most of there team from last year was made up of bottom aged players who have stayed with ....bears a little stronger and united has lost many of gun players due to them being overage...

that is a bit of furphy, barassi 31 since you are a united player!!! reckon united will be pretty tought to beat again this year, they have recruited well. why do you have such a high wrap on the swans?

why wouldnt i have high wraps for the swans? they will be the team to beat. made finals with about 6 top age players last year, so they lose six, so what about the other 24 they had? they will be a force. and never underestimate ky and echuca. very good clubs. hahah furphy.

The record books shown Swans had 17 top age players last year. Dont know a lot about the recruits as not many have been processed.

United have picked a top age kids in Robinson, Wagdin, Powell, Mellino who alll played in a premiership last year. This will add strength to the 14 bottom age players moving up this year. Have also got Towers, Spencer and Duff according to clearance web site. Tall, strong and fast with a good coach. Keeping a lid on it are we?

lol well im not as u say a "big unit" but i played for tally last year cam third in the b and f but also came third in the league b and f ... played interleugue both year i played for 2 interleague medals ..... we will just have 2 see if any of u gv boys have the legs 2 run with me ay
mate u are the biggest ****ing joke ive ever heard off
i just cant wait to see how u go with the big boys in GV bruz
:thumbsu:

firstly kdlf thirds isnt div 2 ... seondly i played kdlf thirds and then seniors everyweek.... thirdly i cam 3rd and the league b and f .... and forthly .. who r u and do u play ?

Talk it up united09, you played a handfull of senior games before the the coaches out there dropped you. Maybe if you pulled your head in and played footy you might actully go ok. If you are as good as you say then why didn't you win the b&f, nobody cares about 3rd!!!!!!!!!

firstly kdlf thirds isnt div 2 ... seondly i played kdlf thirds and then seniors everyweek.... thirdly i cam 3rd and the league b and f .... and forthly .. who r u and do u play ?
fifthly, its not hard to stand out in a very depleted tally thirds side, if you got ten kicks you would get seen. sixthly being selected to play seniors after your third's game is no real acheivment blokes do it all the time in the KDFL and its not like tally seniors were are hard side to break into. seventhly dont get me started on the league medal, coming third what an acheivment haha. eighthly, united09 you have a lot of good footy you will have to play this year to back up how good you say you are. let your footy do the talking for you and throw away some of the tickets you have on yourself hey.

euroa in top six?, training well and lots of numbers. would be good to see. what about bears ? heard they wont be much chop!!? and what about tat? why rated so low?? dont know much about there numbers etc?????

righto boys..
ill give u the lowdown on the swanny boys this year
new recruits are nathan reid, max thomson, hayden sellers, kyle tapscot, mitch bell, daniel timothee, adrian antenello,andrew renato, trent nicholson, and maybe liam sabri and ant haysom
Look out for jeremy fraser from united also, ive played some footy with the kid and he has talent, one of the best left foots in the business, if hes 10m out from goal.. can run a hundred in less than 20 seconds, and has been known to do a beep test of 10.6!
Look out for the SWANNIE BOYSTHIS YEAR!!!!!!

righto boys..
ill give u the lowdown on the swanny boys this year
new recruits are nathan reid, max thomson, hayden sellers, kyle tapscot, mitch bell, daniel timothee, adrian antenello,andrew renato, trent nicholson, and maybe liam sabri and ant haysom
Look out for jeremy fraser from united also, ive played some footy with the kid and he has talent, one of the best left foots in the business, if hes 10m out from goal.. can run a hundred in less than 20 seconds, and has been known to do a beep test of 10.6!
Look out for the SWANNIE BOYSTHIS YEAR!!!!!!

Can any of em play? Names dont mean much unless they can get the footy.