Surely no one would be looking at him??
no surprises that he made first contact...
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Surely no one would be looking at him??
nothin but a flat track bully, kicks bags of goals against the sh*t sides and goes missing when the game is half competitiveI would hope that whatever club it is has the sense to say "thanks but no thanks". Sure the man could play footy, and from memory had a reasonable year at Ky (i think it was) but the way he moves from club to club and even mid season is absolutely ridiculous
Every year we waste time talking about this guy and he is the type of player that is the root of all evil in country footy..Next!So who had their Ball tonight
Mooroopna had their ball Saturday night, Not sure if this is where he was heading though?So who had their Ball tonight
What about the suggestion of having a Top 8 finals Series in the GVFL for a 12 team league ?. Personally, that idea is about as daft as having a Premiership for those who finished 7-12 in the Seniors.
If that were to happen, you would have a situation of having finals teams losing more games in than winning in the regular season and getting into the finals by beating up on the weaker teams.
Finals are supposed to be an achievement, and having a Top 8 is just a "every child wins a prize" idea that belongs in the junior ranks, not a Major League.
I don't know why the GVFL hasn't thought about having a Top 5 Finals Series, because out of all the Finals Systems concieved, the Page/McIntyre Final 5 (brought into the VFL in 1972) is the fairest way to determine a winner because it gives the Top side the week off and it gives teams 2 & 3 the double chance, and it still gives some hope to Teams 4 & 5 that have snuck in.
I have been told The AFL final 8 system is working well in the Ovens and King League (14 teams). I suggest the 8 team finals system would work better than the bottom 6 Ure Cup proposal that got knocked on the head. There is a GVFL meeting soon to discuss the 8 team finals format. It will create extra finals and venues so more revenue....and as shown in the AFL, Only Adelaide in 1998 has been the team to win outside of the top 4 in a final 8 system that has been running in the AFL since 1994 but and that was the old McIntyre system which stopped in 1999. That was 1v8, 2v7 etc....The current AFL 8 system works well in my opinion and should be used in all VCFL leagues that have 12 teams or more.I personally am not in favour of finals systems where more than half the teams in the comp make the finals, be it a final 8 in a 12 team comp or a final 5 in an 8 team comp. You want teams having to strive to make it and it is actually an acheivement to get in to the finals. It then means that the sides that making it may actually be some chance of causing upsets. The final 5 system mentioned above is jus about the ideal finals set up I reckon. If 4 and 5 play well enough they are a chance to win it as happened in our league (Central Murray) last season
I have been told The AFL final 8 system is working well in the Ovens and King League (14 teams). I suggest the 8 team finals system would work better than the bottom 6 Ure Cup proposal that got knocked on the head. There is a GVFL meeting soon to discuss the 8 team finals format. It will create extra finals and venues so more revenue....and as shown in the AFL, Only Adelaide in 1998 has been the team to win outside of the top 4 in a final 8 system that has been running in the AFL since 1994 but and that was the old McIntyre system which stopped in 1999. That was 1v8, 2v7 etc....The current AFL 8 system works well in my opinion and should be used in all VCFL leagues that have 12 teams or more.
Fair point Ringo but it would still be better than the Ure proposal which could have a team that finished 10th win a cup after winning only 2 H&A games but the team that finished 6th win 12 H&A games and would probably get nothing. That's why that proposal got knocked on the head....I thought the Benalla and District having a final 4 with only 5 teams in their last few seasons of existence was rewarding mediocre teams too but it worked for them and having more finals is still a good way to raising money for clubs and give more players the experience of playing in finals matches with higher intensity.Sorry mate but can't agree. Why reward mediocre teams that finish 7 or 8? Even over the past few seasons 5th and 6th have had no impact. Clubs need to strive to get into the top 3 or 4 and not the top 7 or 8.
Should be Final 5. Why can't you have a final 5 with a 12 team comp, think KDL has 13 teams and is a final 5. Been no talk of going to 6 or 8 for them and neither should there be.Fair point Ringo but it would still be better than the Ure proposal which could have a team that finished 10th win a cup after winning only 2 H&A games but the team that finished 6th win 12 H&A games and would probably get nothing. That's why that proposal got knocked on the head....I thought the Benalla and District having a final 4 with only 5 teams in their last few seasons of existence was rewarding mediocre teams too but it worked for them and having more finals is still a good way to raising money for clubs and give more players the experience of playing in finals matches with higher intensity.
I don't like the current final 6 system in how the 3rd team can get eliminated first final unlike the final 5 or final 8 system. So I think that a final 5 for leagues with less than 12 teams and final 8 for 12 or more would be better. In the final 8 the top 4 teams all get a second chance.
Should be Final 5. Why can't you have a final 5 with a 12 team comp, think KDL has 13 teams and is a final 5. Been no talk of going to 6 or 8 for them and neither should there be.
Looking forward to seeing Rochy first hand V Echuca this week. I'm sure that they will bounce back. It is between 4 sides and they are certainly in the mix. Perry would have been a bonus and lets hope its not serious. United looking ominous?disappointed with Rochy after being rolled by United. Even game throughout but when your 2 guns in Bowen and Campbell kick 9 points from 25+ metres its not going to win games. Weather was ordinary but you are expected to win games when you get that many chances in front of goal.
PS all the best to Perry oliver and hope its not the knee again. didnt look good and was almost as if he was walking off and let go? Anyone know a diagnosis?
Looking forward to seeing Rochy first hand V Echuca this week. I'm sure that they will bounce back. It is between 4 sides and they are certainly in the mix. Perry would have been a bonus and lets hope its not serious. United looking ominous?
disappointed with Rochy after being rolled by United. Even game throughout but when your 2 guns in Bowen and Campbell kick 9 points from 25+ metres its not going to win games. Weather was ordinary but you are expected to win games when you get that many chances in front of goal.
PS all the best to Perry oliver and hope its not the knee again. didnt look good and was almost as if he was walking off and let go? Anyone know a diagnosis?
Went and watched Tat v Mooroopna on the weekend and Tat look the goods. Very sloppy conditions but Tat were too good in the end. Looks like Tat & United for mine at this stage.Rochy being behind by 10 pts from memory at half time, kicked the first 2 goals in 2 minutes and didnt kick another goals for the game, had all the play in the first 15 minutes but missed key shots at goal. looby banged home a goal from outside 50 in the pouring rain to get one back against the flow and from then on united dominated the quarter to lead by 8 at the final and change. Edwards dominated the ruck in the final quarter and United ran away with it. Shaun Huy was huge in the 2nd half. the cream really rises to the top. Was a really competitive game with both sides treating it like a mini final for tht prized 3rd spot. if Rochy had of won would have gone 8 pts ahead of United but now from here on in it will be a dog fight for tht 3rd spot.
disappointed with Rochy after being rolled by United. Even game throughout but when your 2 guns in Bowen and Campbell kick 9 points from 25+ metres its not going to win games. Weather was ordinary but you are expected to win games when you get that many chances in front of goal.
Yep Tat has won 11 straight since rd 1 loss at Mooroopna and United has won 9 straight since Tat beat them at Deakin in Rd 3. Looking forward to this big Game sat week at Tat!Went and watched Tat v Mooroopna on the weekend and Tat look the goods. Very sloppy conditions but Tat were too good in the end. Looks like Tat & United for mine at this stage.
Not good news at all. I enjoy watching Perry Oliver play. He is one of the best few players in the GVFL when in full fitness. Rochy have not had him in the seniors for over 12 months so shouldn't impact their attempt for this years flag.Perry to get a full reco again - not the news Perry (or Rochy) wanted to hear... another 12 months out.