Greens try to ruin the Doggies plans

It's always an unfortunate and a nervous time when you lose a job or run out of work with nothing of note booked up in the diary. And I doubt if many of the middle aged or even younger members of the forum have not experienced it, I have a couple of times.
But lets take the emotive stuff out of the argument according to the following article from "the Australian" it was not the Whitten oval development that is the reason for these job losses, nor anything the Western Bulldogs did.

Spot on Acker.

The dogs are not related in the redundancies. This is all Harman. She was planning this for a long time.

I know much more about this but for legal and personal reasons(family and friends in both VU management and NTEU) I cant discuss it, lest I cause unnecessary trouble for myself(thanks for pointing that out yesterday aqua)

One point I'd like to make to a few other posters though. I dont agree with the actions of the greens member. However, the area in which the hawks are developing is not in her electorate. This is why we have been targeted.

The liberals and the ALP pushed this baby through. We have nothing to worry about.:thumbsu:

Its good to see that you've come around Scray.

Remember to empathise instead of arguing in a situation like this next time guys. This rubbish is hard to deal with, and we have to support our fellow members when they are in trouble.

Spot on Acker.

The dogs are not related in the redundancies. This is all Harman. She was planning this for a long time.

I know much more about this but for legal and personal reasons(family and friends in both VU management and NTEU) I cant discuss it, lest I cause unnecessary trouble for myself(thanks for pointing that out yesterday aqua)

One point I'd like to make to a few other posters though. I dont agree with the actions of the greens member. However, the area in which the hawks are developing is not in her electorate. This is why we have been targeted.

The liberals and the ALP will push this baby through. We have nothing to worry about.:thumbsu:

On an ideological level I would agree with this, however part of the capital works forecasts in the VU budget includes the doggies deal. To that end it is part of the conjured cash problem that Harman is peddling as the reason for the sacking. The dogs are not peddling it.

I would be incensed if my club was implied to be involved by these degrees of separation and would be on the offensive, if for any thing, because there are several hundred people looking for targets right now and it puts you folks in the spotlight.

The reality is, that there are better ways to go about these cost saving measures that would peeve a lot less people off and wouldn't bring the bulldogs into question like this.

Clearly this is a community issue with lots of local jobs being jeopardised and old alliances such as this one being tried.

To that end pardon my intrusion onto your board but I feel it is worth letting you folks know that there is a 'community meeting' this week which is being hosted by the NTEU. Please turn up and show your support for the staff and seek the opportunity to clarify what is happening here.

Thursday, 06 NOV 2008
10a Hyde Street (a local church hall)
Footscray, VIC
7.30 p.m.

I would be incensed if my club was implied to be involved by these degrees of separation and would be on the offensive, if for any thing, because there are several hundred people looking for targets right now and it puts you folks in the spotlight.

The reality is, that there are better ways to go about these cost saving measures that would peeve a lot less people off and wouldn't bring the bulldogs into question like this.

I agree absolutely. As dogs supporters we should all come down to show our support for people in our community who have lost their jobs. We should show our anger that the dogs have been implicated in this situation, when they aren't really a part of it. Come in your colours to show that the supporters of our team, the members of our community, don't appreciate the people of the west being shafted like this.

Also, the problem is conjured and even though the management would like people to think that the dogs are at least a small part of the reason for these sackings they aren't. As I said before the blame for this situation rests on Harman. She makes her predecessor(who incidentally was not much loved) look like an excellent vice chancellor by comparison.

I've got one in the NSWTF I know all about the veil of secrecy

Someone should write to Ms Hartland and ask if robbing the Western Suburbs of a much need community facility which will assist in the education of the disadvantaged youth in some of Melbourne's neddiest areas is in keeping with the philosophy of her "socially progressive" political party.

I will be asking more than that

Without the politicians there would be no Whitten Oval redevelopment at all.

Bit too simplistic don't you think?

Howard,Bracks and co didn't wake up one morning and say "Lets give the Dogs some money"

Rose and Smorgon followed due process,filled out the necessary forms,lobbied and were successful in getting the money,any sporting club is free to do it.

And remember the funds given to the clubs are taxpayer dollars.

I am sorry for my comments on the board. Please accept my apologies. Staff at VU are under a lot of pressure at the moment and we are feeling very threatened at the moment from all directions.

After some sleep, I feel I have overreacted in my comments

Thanks for all the comments of support also and putting my head in the right direction.

I will not be resigning from the club on Monday.

The club is bigger than the administration of the club, or the views of an individual or a few different supporters as many of you have pointed out, whatever my own views are about things.

Go Bulldogs.

No need to apologise. Your allowed to be pissed off when your livelihood is threatened - I would be. Good to hear you are sticking with the doggies though.:thumbsu:

Bit too simplistic don't you think?

Howard,Bracks and co didn't wake up one morning and say "Lets give the Dogs some money"

Rose and Smorgon followed due process,filled out the necessary forms,lobbied and were successful in getting the money,any sporting club is free to do it.

And remember the funds given to the clubs are taxpayer dollars.

Easy to say when you see my comments in isolation; which were:

Without the politicians there would be no Whitten Oval redevelopment at all.

But, when viewed in the context they were, which was in response to this:

i hate Politicians !

australia, especially Victoria, is the most over governed, over ruled place in the world ! We have the highest amount of pollies per capita anywhere in the world ! We really have to unite and piss them off !

all they do is crate problems, and spend our wealth ! and situations like them interfering ans sticking their BIG NOSES in the whitten oval re development proves it !:mad:

No, I don't think they were too simplistic.

Easy to say when you see my comments in isolation; which were:

But, when viewed in the context they were, which was in response to this:

No, I don't think they were too simplistic.

Well, like it or not, what i said was true - we are too over governed as a country , and nothing will change my view on that ...

And i really believe that we over complicate things that are quite simple -- That is what has happened with the Whitten Oval Development - Too much crap, and jumping through too many hoops for something relatively simple !

The problem with Australians now is that we want to be too politically correct and we dont want to offend anyone , so everything has to have committees to look into everything etc! All un-nceessary rubbish and a waste of taxpayers money !

Cheers

Unfortunately that is what they did not do, hence the present quagmire.

Then again, If they had followed due process we may never have got the redevelopment in the first place.

I thought we had quite a few people on the payroll under the guise "The Whitten Oval Development Team", including a manager, fianance officer, legal/legislature person, consulting engineer, accountants, administrators, office cleaners, tea lady etc, etc.

They were even asking us to donate money.

What the frig have they been doing ?

Well, like it or not, what i said was true - we are too over governed as a country , and nothing will change my view on that ...

And i really believe that we over complicate things that are quite simple -- That is what has happened with the Whitten Oval Development - Too much crap, and jumping through too many hoops for something relatively simple !

The problem with Australians now is that we want to be too politically correct and we dont want to offend anyone , so everything has to have committees to look into everything etc! All un-nceessary rubbish and a waste of taxpayers money !

Cheers

Exactly this country is screaming out for getting rid of one of the 3 tiers of government.

And the tier in the gun hole is the state government. Even ex deputy Prime Minister Tim Fisher and 5 of the break out groups said that during the Canberra think tank in April.

And if you reckon you have got problems in Victoria, have a look at the problems we have got up here. :(

We are broke and we have fixed term elections, which the next one is not due for another 2 1/2 years.

Exactly this country is screaming out for getting rid of one of the 3 tiers of government.

And the tier in the gun hole is the state government. Even ex deputy Prime Minister Tim Fisher and 5 of the break out groups said that during the Canberra think tank in April.

And if you reckon you have got problems in Victoria, have a look at the problems we have got up here. :(

We are broke and we have fixed term elections, which the next one is not due for another 2 1/2 years.

Agree with u totally mate ! The sooner we get rid of "many" tiers of government ( Starting with the useless state governments ) Namely the Moronic John Brumby and Co - The better we will all be !

An older man about 90 years of age once told me : Governments don't create wealth - They Spend it ! I agree with him totally !

cheers

Unfortunately that is what they did not do, hence the present quagmire.

Then again, If they had followed due process we may never have got the redevelopment in the first place.

What a load of Cr@p!

The club prides itself as a professional organisation, there is more experience and knowledge in the bulldogs management on developments and construction then the whole council put together. The project has followed due process, everybody keeps forgetting that the project committee consisted of council representatives too so if they can’t even follow their own hypocritical process then why point the blame at the dogs solely. I would think that the dogs management should be applauded in keeping this project on track after consistently copping 5yo child style criticism by unprofessional council members and now getting thrown into the mix of blame for forced redundancies at VU all because VU decided to invest 6m into a project that has nothing to do with the current VU situation.

Remember people, the more you try and throw the bulldogs into the VU redundancy plan the more likely you are trying to force VU to revoke its pledge of funds and you know what that will lead to..... absolute financial crisis leading to the death of the dogs. Wake up and smell the coffee, the 6m is a small investment, VU has a operating budget of over 300mil. It’s ok to criticise the bulldogs management now but remember in 3-5 years when the club is in its best financial position in its history and hopefully football wise also, you might understand how much hardwork was done by this management right now. There are things that you and I both don’t know about this project but if you put two and two together you get a state government, federal government, AFL administration and independent investors such as VU all committing their support for the dogs and the project. Now ask yourself, if the dogs had made such a mess of this, then why have none of these organisations who remember know more about what is really going on here, ever criticised the bulldogs role in the project. The only party criticising and making threats on the bulldogs position in the project are the council...... funny that. Now, they are trying their best to still derail the project. Next you will probably see the council holding placcards at student protests trying to put the blame on the dogs again...

What a load of Cr@p!

The club prides itself as a professional organisation, there is more experience and knowledge in the bulldogs management on developments and construction then the whole council put together. The project has followed due process, everybody keeps forgetting that the project committee consisted of council representatives too so if they can’t even follow their own hypocritical process then why point the blame at the dogs solely. I would think that the dogs management should be applauded in keeping this project on track after consistently copping 5yo child style criticism by unprofessional council members and now getting thrown into the mix of blame for forced redundancies at VU all because VU decided to invest 6m into a project that has nothing to do with the current VU situation.

Remember people, the more you try and throw the bulldogs into the VU redundancy plan the more likely you are trying to force VU to revoke its pledge of funds and you know what that will lead to..... absolute financial crisis leading to the death of the dogs. Wake up and smell the coffee, the 6m is a small investment, VU has a operating budget of over 300mil. It’s ok to criticise the bulldogs management now but remember in 3-5 years when the club is in its best financial position in its history and hopefully football wise also, you might understand how much hardwork was done by this management right now. There are things that you and I both don’t know about this project but if you put two and two together you get a state government, federal government, AFL administration and independent investors such as VU all committing their support for the dogs and the project. Now ask yourself, if the dogs had made such a mess of this, then why have none of these organisations who remember know more about what is really going on here, ever criticised the bulldogs role in the project. The only party criticising and making threats on the bulldogs position in the project are the council...... funny that. Now, they are trying their best to still derail the project. Next you will probably see the council holding placcards at student protests trying to put the blame on the dogs again...

great points ;)- The fact is , this project should have been finished well and truly by now ! But of course, due process must take place hey ! lol !

I visited the WO yesterday and you are now able to walk out onto the field and get a good close up look of how it's all going. The Gent Stand is now just a complete shell and is being totally rebuilt. It all looks a bit weird but no doubt VU have committed the funds and the work is going ahead. The pokies have been moved to the south brick building where the Bistro used to be located. Sorry I didn't take a camera with me so there are no photos.

A recent newspaper article I saw, stated that VU were committing $68m to a sports science centre at Footscray Park and $38m to a new health teaching facility at Sunshine. The $8m WO investment is relatively small bikkies in comparison.

Councillor Cummings to her credit was recently quoted in a local newpaper that she didn't support Hartland's disallowance motion and that the club and council were working to resolve the issues. Let's hope there's goodwill now from all parties and the project can be completed and us members and all residents of the West have a facility that we can be all be proud, which substantially improves our finances and which regenerates a rundown area.

Agree with u totally mate ! The sooner we get rid of "many" tiers of government ( Starting with the useless state governments ) Namely the Moronic John Brumby and Co - The better we will all be !

An older man about 90 years of age once told me : Governments don't create wealth - They Spend it ! I agree with him totally !

cheers

Yeah the moronic John Brumby just probably saved our club:rolleyes::rolleyes:Ahhh the greens let me say if it was some hairy armpitted arts grant there wouldn't be an issue. A 130 y/o sporting institution lets send it to the wall,but it's all about having room at the W/o for the womens league. Hmmm the Maribrynong council let's make up some flimsy reason {car parking space] to withdraw funding. Just out of interest how many Uni students have their licence or can afford a motor vehicle.

Two thumbs up if anyone can answer these questions.

Was it the car parking?

Was it that the Bulldogs didn't hand in forms on time?

Did the Bulldogs ever commit to letting local clubs play there?

Was not letting the local teams in the reason the reason the Greens took it further? (are we not letting them in?)

Was it the pokies on site that conflicted with the Uni. If so, is it the Uni that cares or the 'local government'?

Was it the car parking?

Was not letting the local teams in the reason the reason the Greens took it further? (are we not letting them in?)

Was it the pokies on site that conflicted with the Uni. If so, is it the Uni that cares or the 'local government'?

hey, can i ask you a question:p?
is it possible to go have a kick on the whitten oval whenever you want? I REALLY WANT TO KNOW

Was it the car parking?

this may sound a bit like sour grapes, but in all seriousness, if it was a redevelopment for carlton's optus oval, windy hill at essendon, or the lexus centre for the pies, it would have been signed off and sealed and done months ago !:thumbsdown:

cheers

Yeah the moronic John Brumby just probably saved our club:rolleyes::rolleyes:Ahhh the greens let me say if it was some hairy armpitted arts grant there wouldn't be an issue. A 130 y/o sporting institution lets send it to the wall,but it's all about having room at the W/o for the womens league. Hmmm the Maribrynong council let's make up some flimsy reason {car parking space] to withdraw funding. Just out of interest how many Uni students have their licence or can afford a motor vehicle.

Got a Greens policy leaflet in the mail today.
Wiped my backside with it and flushed it.
Last on the ballot from me for ever from now on.

Greens try to ruin the Doggies plans