Club Focus GWS Giants 2021 - Brander, Callaghan, Aleer, Fahey

AFL Club Focus

6/8/19 for 2/13?

Would do.

Most probably not. You can trade 19 for the equivalent of a future first equivalent to around pick 15 possibly.

So 6+8+Future 15 for 2+13

That's very close to two of Gibcus/Ward/Erasmus/Johnson/Amiss/Hobbs/Andrew for Callaghan.

That lot after pick 2 and the bid players seems pretty even.

Most probably not. You can trade 19 for the equivalent of a future first equivalent to around pick 15 possibly.

That's very close to two of Gibcus/Ward/Erasmus/Johnson/Amiss/Hobbs/Andrew for Callaghan.

2&13 for your 6/8/FF?

Also, would do.

I don't think we trade it unless GWS really thinks someone like Rachelle is almost as good a player as Callaghan.
If freo had pick 2, would you trade it to gold coast for 3, 2 2022r2's? That is what we would ask for from Gold Coast I would hope.

I think 2 for 6,8 won't happen. Maybe 2+2022r2 for 4,8 if that trade of 4,33 for 6,19 between Adelaide and freo happened first.

I don't think we trade it unless GWS really thinks someone like Rachelle is almost as good a player as Callaghan.
If freo had pick 2, would you trade it to gold coast for 3, 2 2022r2's? That is what we would ask for from Gold Coast I would hope.

I think 2 for 6,8 won't happen. Maybe 2+2022r2 for 4,8 if that trade of 4,33 for 6,19 between Adelaide and freo happened first.

That last deal values Callaghan +afuture 2nd as picks 6+8+late Future 2022 1st.

That's the kind of stuff the Roos were offered for JHF.

GWS can ask for whatever they like but if that's the price then you'd better be all in on Callaghan yourselves.

That last deal values Callaghan +afuture 2nd as picks 6+8+late Future 2022 1st.

That's the kind of stuff the Roos were offered for JHF.

GWS can ask for whatever they like but if that's the price then you'd better be all in on Callaghan yourselves.
That’s not the issue. We could choose Shane Mumford with Pick 2 if we thought he was the best available at that pick.
It’s not about Callaghan. At all.
It’s about what Pick 2 can do for other teams and what they’re willing to pay to get their hands on it.

That’s not the issue. We could choose Shane Mumford with Pick 2 if we thought he was the best available at that pick.
It’s not about Callaghan. At all.
It’s about what Pick 2 can do for other teams and what they’re willing to pay to get their hands on it.

Of course it's got to do with what GWS would do with the pick. That completely dictates its value to you. I did have a laugh about the blue ring octopus antivenom analogy in this thread. That only works if you've been stung as well. What GWS can do with the pick is super relevant.

The extortionate deals you're talking about are based on Callaghan being significantly ahead of the next pack.

If GWS keep it and take Gibcus for example, who they could have got with a later pick, I'll have a laugh. They would have blown an opportunity.

Of course it's got to do with what GWS would do with the pick. That completely dictates its value to you. I did have a laugh about the blue ring octopus antivenom analogy in this thread. That only works if you've been stung as well. What GWS can do with the pick is super relevant.

The extortionate deals you're talking about are based on Callaghan being significantly ahead of the next pack.

If GWS keep it and take Gibcus for example, who they could have got with a later pick, I'll have a laugh. They would have blown an opportunity.
Of course it only works if you’ve been stung. That’s the whole point of the comparison.

If a club out there thinks Callaghan is the ‘white whale’ then they would be prepared to stump up an exorbitant amount to land him.

And that’s what it should be. A heavily skewed trade in our favour. Not a fair trade. Not a trade that many fans of many clubs here would agree with (because it’s too high a price)

That is precisely my point bud.

And, no. If the club believe Gibcus or Andrew or Mumford is the best player for our list at #2 then guess what? The people that get paid to make those decisions have made that decision.

We’ve had plenty of busts before in drafts, what we do here isn’t a lock.

If GWS, Gold Coast, Stkilda and Fremantle dont take all of Amiss, Mac Andrew or Gibcus then i can see them still available at pick 13/14

Which is Essendons and Ports pick

If GWS rate those guys a fair way ahead of Van Rooyen i suspect they like a few other sides after a tall (Gold Coast, Freo, Richmond, North, GWS) would look at moving upto pick 13 or 14 to get an (Amiss, Gibcus or Mac Andrew)

If im to believe the most recent info from draft gurus and news writers then it seems theyll just take Callaghan and take whoever of Gibcus, Andrew, Amiss or Van Rooyen is left at 15. Just that maybe only Van Rooyen is left and most have him a class below the other 3

If GWS, Gold Coast, Stkilda and Fremantle dont take all of Amiss, Mac Andrew or Gibcus then i can see them still available at pick 13/14

Which is Essendons and Ports pick

If GWS rate those guys a fair way ahead of Van Rooyen i suspect they like a few other sides after a tall (Gold Coast, Freo, Richmond, North, GWS) would look at moving upto pick 13 or 14 to get an (Amiss, Gibcus or Mac Andrew)

Amiss shouldnt get past freo.

Andrew wont get past richmond and if he does either freo or st kilda would take him i reckon.

Gibcus is the one that might get to gws second pick if port dont want a tall.

Of course it only works if you’ve been stung. That’s the whole point of the comparison.

If a club out there thinks Callaghan is the ‘white whale’ then they would be prepared to stump up an exorbitant amount to land him.

And that’s what it should be. A heavily skewed trade in our favour. Not a fair trade. Not a trade that many fans of many clubs here would agree with (because it’s too high a price)

That is precisely my point bud.

And, no. If the club believe Gibcus or Andrew or Mumford is the best player for our list at #2 then guess what? The people that get paid to make those decisions have made that decision.

We’ve had plenty of busts before in drafts, what we do here isn’t a lock.

Like I said, GWS is likely to keep the pick and likely rank Callaghan highly but 'white whale'?

What does that make Daicos, Darcy and JHF? We're talking about the consensus fourth rated player on the draft.

Amiss shouldnt get past freo.

Andrew wont get past richmond and if he does either freo or st kilda would take him i reckon.

Gibcus is the one that might get to gws second pick if port dont want a tall.
I doubt freo take both Amiss and Andrew

Richmond are every chance to take the best mid at 9 as much as they are to take Mac Andrew, they need both but what do they prioritise and think they can get later on

Port i doubt are interested in a tall when Clurey cant get a game. If port are interested then even more interest in pick 13

Like I said, GWS is likely to keep the pick and likely rank Callaghan highly but 'white whale'?

What does that make Daicos, Darcy and JHF? We're talking about the consensus fourth rated player on the draft.

That comment proves to me you are blowing this situation well out if proportion.
Not really. I’m talking about the pick. Not the player. I’m not short changing those players at all. That’s your doing.
Kangas were offered an amazing bounty for #1 & they knocked it back.

If the Giants were offered that and we knocked it back I’d be flat.

The GWS pick 2 I think holds the key to the first round and the domino effect of unexpected players available/sliding is huge.

Do they go the predictable bid/bid/Callaghan best available or do they go slightly left field and take an Andrew, Gibcus or trade back. If any of those happen the predicted order and club picks get really shaken up and clubs will get some unexpected sliders and need to make some tough decisions.

Not really. I’m talking about the pick. Not the player. I’m not short changing those players at all. That’s your doing.
Kangas were offered an amazing bounty for #1 & they knocked it back.

If the Giants were offered that and we knocked it back I’d be flat.
There is zero chance you'll get an offer of that magnitude... Horne had runs on the board through two + seasons and is seen as a transcendent talent and from a marketing perspective he was the Crows dream. Callaghan's stocks are rising but given the offers to date seen to be in the area of a 2nd rounder attached to the clubs high first a 1st round 2022 swap would likely be as much as is offered. Maybe clubs up the ante on Wed night.. It's all very well saying well GWS don't do that deal but if they prefer Andrew to start with and are worried about Calla being a flight risk then they likely accept a GC offer.
Safe money is on GWS taking Callaghan now, and Andrew going to GC, but maybe its a ruse.

There is zero chance you'll get an offer of that magnitude... Horne had runs on the board through two + seasons and is seen as a transcendent talent and from a marketing perspective he was the Crows dream. Callaghan's stocks are rising but given the offers to date seen to be in the area of a 2nd rounder attached to the clubs high first a 1st round 2022 swap would likely be as much as is offered. Maybe clubs up the ante on Wed night.. It's all very well saying well GWS don't do that deal but if they prefer Andrew to start with and are worried about Calla being a flight risk then they likely accept a GC offer.
Safe money is on GWS taking Callaghan now, and Andrew going to GC, but maybe its a ruse.
I know we won’t get an offer of that magnitude. Nor am I expecting one. What they were offered was way overs and if I’m a North supporter, I’m flat that we didn’t take it.

The “offers to date” re: Giants pick 2, well; I haven’t seen any actual reported offers. I hear guys like Twomey (that little twat) who have a heavily-biased VFL output to their work spruiking what you have mentioned; but that’s where your opinion fails.

You’re putting faith in talking heads like that little flea who try and drive agenda through shitty, ill-formed biased opinion.

A 1st round swap with a second coming our way is horrendous unders.

I know we won’t get an offer of that magnitude. Nor am I expecting one. What they were offered was way overs and if I’m a North supporter, I’m flat that we didn’t take it.

The “offers to date” re: Giants pick 2, well; I haven’t seen any actual reported offers. I hear guys like Twomey (that little twat) who have a heavily-biased VFL output to their work spruiking what you have mentioned; but that’s where your opinion fails.

You’re putting faith in talking heads like that little flea who try and drive agenda through shitty, ill-formed biased opinion.

I'll agree with you on the Twomey opinion, he is a little twat.

tiss the silly season for sure..why on earth would GWS give pick 2 to another side for a fair deal..it would at the least have to involve trading down for a high 2021 1st and at worst a swap of 1sts next year with a side that GWS would reasonably feel will be a bottom 6 side. Talk of a just gaining a 2nd rounder seems ...well.. silly

Spot on mate. Fair trades are thrown out the window now. We’ve got something “you” want, guess what “you” have to pay a maximum for it.

Fair trades are reserved for actual players who want to move for various reasons not for commodity picks.

What if they prefer taking a player over taking Callaghan? For list fit, from a retention perspective or for potential. Not saying this is the case, but perhaps they think Andrew could be a player that gives them a better shot at long term success, maybe they think he can be the next Buddy or Nic Nat. Then they are silly if they don't take an offer from GC.

Club Focus GWS Giants 2021 - Brander, Callaghan, Aleer, Fahey