News GWS rumours and speculation

Re: GWS after Pendles and Daisy

Don't forget as well, Ablett signed a multi-year deal before he became a star, which Geelong refused to renegotiate due to salary cap issues. Effectively he was being paid well below what he was worth for several years at Geelong, so the GC bonus was in part catch up. Had to be a factor with him and not sure we have the same issue with our players.

This. I like peoples optimism but no matter how much they might like it at Collingwood if they are offered enough money they will leave, nothing surer. Anyone trying to console themselves with lines about WSYD being a bad place to live (Seriously, it's not freaking Mordor out there) or missing the adoration of our supporters :)o) are just fooling themselves.

It would be equally as foolish, to think living in Western Sydney would not be a detraction for any player signing there.

I have a mate who lives in a very nice house there. The issue isn't about thieves breaking in because they'll get in no matter what, it's ensuring you've got keyed locks to get of the house, so you can minimise what they take. It is a very serious problem in Western Sydney.

This. I like peoples optimism but no matter how much they might like it at Collingwood if they are offered enough money they will leave, nothing surer. Anyone trying to console themselves with lines about WSYD being a bad place to live (Seriously, it's not freaking Mordor out there) or missing the adoration of our supporters :)o) are just fooling themselves.
I think people also need to understand there are 16 clubs that GWS can get players from, and that they really are only going to get maybe 1-2 players total at a ridiculous amount, and then they'll get maybe another 10 players that they'll offer overs to. The type of player that usually goes for overs is usually the type of player who isn't strongly linked to the club or has had problems at the club.

So Collingwood really doesn't have to lose anyone. Sounds like GWS are more interested in players like Bartel and Murphy anyway.

I was under the impression Ablett had a pretty iffy relationship with Thompson which would have made it a little easier for him to lose. The main advantage we had over their situation though is timing. Geelong finished a period including 3 grand finals and a prelim. Their list was age-ing and its hard to see them getting up for another shot. Geelong will not win another premiership in Abletts playing career.

Collingwood on the other hand, regardless of what happens in 2011, will have a few years window left. You would hope, and i would imagine for two country vic boys, that would mean a fair bit.

Either way, hope they dont leave, but if they do, all the best. You cant blame someone for leaving for a massive pay increase. team character and loyalty went a long way to our premiership this year.

Tony Shaw sums up the whole situation in regards to Collingwood players and GWS in this article I reckon, everything he says is true.

1. We won't pay "overs" for anyone (see Travis Cloke negotiations)
2. If a player wants to leave, then good riddance, you either want to play for us or not.
3. Our culture and recent success is a main reason why we probably won't lose anyone "big".

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport.../story-e6frepf6-1225969815569?from=public_rss

"As soon as I played in one, I wanted to play in another five.
"I don't think any of them will leave, the way Eddie McGuire has set the place up and how strong the culture is.
"But if anyone wants to pass that up, then good luck to them.
"They can get on their bike and go. It's a great club and you either want to play with us or you don't."

Tony Shaw making sense talking about Collingwood, hmm, what has the world come to.:p:D

I'd be devastated if either of them left. I've grown so attached to them. I could live with losing Swan given his age, but Thomas and Pendlebury still have ten years of football left in them.

Thomas doesn't strike me as the type of guy who would leave though. I'm only basing this feeling on the limited access we have as fans. He strikes me as the loyal type. Don't know about Pendles though. He's less open than Thomas.

Tony Shaw sums up the whole situation in regards to Collingwood players and GWS in this article I reckon, everything he says is true.

1. We won't pay "overs" for anyone (see Travis Cloke negotiations)
2. If a player wants to leave, then good riddance, you either want to play for us or not.
3. Our culture and recent success is a main reason why we probably won't lose anyone "big".

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport.../story-e6frepf6-1225969815569?from=public_rss

Tony Shaw making sense talking about Collingwood, hmm, what has the world come to.:p:D

This is really good to hear, as long as the club also think this way and carry it through.

Otherwise, this GWS thing has the chance to affect us way more than it should.

If we go round giving an extra 30-50% to everyone linked to them, cos we're worried they'll go...what we start with Swanny, then Pendles and Daisy, then Reid and Nate and so on ( depending whose contracts come up I guess)

We'll choke our salary cap and will then have to let important players go.

We'll never match their $ anyway...so why try, if it's going to jeopardise the whole playing list.

Play for the Pies cos you want to, or go with our best wishes, if you don't.

Geoff Walsh didn't seem too worried about it on SEN this morning.

When asked if the GWS thing caused any urgency with negotiations with the above mentioned players he said, "Nope".

He said they're contracted for the year and he'll eventually deal with their new contracts in due course.

Dan Richardson basically said that the player's managers would be mad to sit down with the club until they had spoken to GWS and until after the new EBA is finalised next year, that way they will have more idea of the money that is floating around. He doesn't expect any of the three to leave but was just saying they will maximise their position by waiting until then.

This seems completely reasonable to me as this is their living.

I expect all three to stay but unfortunately we are just going to have to put up with these rumours and stories for some time yet. We know Collingwood sells.

Geoff Walsh didn't seem too worried about it on SEN this morning.

When asked if the GWS thing caused any urgency with negotiations with the above mentioned players he said, "Nope".

He said they're contracted for the year and he'll eventually deal with their new contracts in due course.

Dan Richardson basically said that the player's managers would be mad to sit down with the club until they had spoken to GWS and until after the new EBA is finalised next year, that way they will have more idea of the money that is floating around. He doesn't expect any of the three to leave but was just saying they will maximise their position by waiting until then.

This seems completely reasonable to me as this is their living.

I expect all three to stay but unfortunately we are just going to have to put up with these rumours and stories for some time yet. We know Collingwood sells.

This exactly^^, with a team wanting to make a name for themselves involving collingwood will do that.....
Good post kirby...

Just found this aticle saying that Harry O is also out of contract at the end of next season.

Swan's premiership teammates Scott Pendlebury, Dale Thomas and Harry O'Brien are also out of contract at the end of next season and have attracted the interest of the Giants.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...d-of-gun-swan-20101212-18u0b.html?from=age_sb

What are your thoughts on that?

Just found this aticle saying that Harry O is also out of contract at the end of next season.

Swan's premiership teammates Scott Pendlebury, Dale Thomas and Harry O'Brien are also out of contract at the end of next season and have attracted the interest of the Giants.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...d-of-gun-swan-20101212-18u0b.html?from=age_sb

Every Descent Player who is out of Contract will be Linked to the Giants:rolleyes:

GWS, just like GC before them have to cast a wide net and will be after anyone who can get a game at AFL level, just about everyone who is out of contract is going to be linked and GWS should be talking to just about anyone out of contract.

This, of course GWS will be after Pendles and Daisy and just about every other out of contract player they can try and lure. They have the ability to cast a massive net and see what the can catch.

It's not worth worrying or speculating about really because we simply don't know what the players headspace and priorities are like. People are going to through up Gary Ablett Jnr consistantly to try and say that "money talks" and GWS "will get there man" but it's non-sense. It's not a universal thing and depends on the individual. It seems Gary had some fairly big pluses about moving from Geelong other then money. His brother who was not happy with the limelight of AFL in Geelong is up there and he gets a chance to play with his brother, Gary himself was never a huge fan of the attention and has said he is keen to move out of his father shadow a little. Whislt you can't believe all the spin, I believe a lot of that.

Hopefully the lure of a great legacy at our great club is enough to hold onto the boys, it would be for many, but you don't know how each individual will react to the dollar signs.

Fwiw my day who is a Hawthorn fan has been using this to stir at the moment, his logic being "GC identified they wanted Gary Ablett, they put the bucks on the table till they got the job done" but I don't see how this point works seeing as it was Gaz who initiated the talks with GC first, so of course GC knew they where in the market for him.

If I had to bet on a big name ending up at GWS I would have 50% on me not guessing right, 30% on Buddy and 20% on Cooney.

Don't think we have to worry too much about Harry.......

I agree with other posters - I can't see us losing any of these 3 but like this year I can see us losing a player.

Thomas is just a flashy outside runner who shirks hard contests. He'd be no loss. If any club wants to pay $1,000,000 for him then good luck to them.

Swan gets a heap of the ball, but doesn't hurt teams, doesn't do enough defensively or in attack given the amount of ball he gets, again he'd be no loss given his age and the amount we'd have to give up to keep him. McCarthy could come in a do his role easily provided he was never tagged like Swan - except that McCarthy would probably be slightly neater by foot.

Pendlebury would be the greatest loss, but again, nothing irreplaceable - his major asset is evasiveness and decision making, and is nothing more than a good kick of the footy. He really needs to push forward more and hurt teams offensively before he could be considered in the same mold as Marc Murphy, Ryan Griffan or Justin Sherman. I wouldn't be too sad to see him go, and we have a heap of players who would fill his void straight away in 2012: Fasolo, Young, Wellingham, Sidebottom, Beams, Thomas etc

;)

Don't think we have to worry too much about Harry.......

I agree with other posters - I can't see us losing any of these 3 but like this year I can see us losing a player.
I can see us losing a player in exactly the same circumstances as Josh Fraser.
Not really a great loss, but of a player who did his best but will be surplus to requirements.

The "Marguee" player theory worked well with Gaz because he had a massive media profile for a long time. Swan is no-where near as well recognised publicly, having only been begrudgingly accepted as "elite" by even ardent footy followers outside of Collingwood.
The public in Western Sydney would not even know who he is, unless they are already AFL supporters.
That said if they could generate some controversy, "stealing" Swan or "getting him to roll over" they may get some mileage worth the cash.

Apart from money there is not much which screams "attractive destination" at GWS. Sheedy would be a negative for most players I think and Choco as successor hardly gets the blood going.

Money is only good for so much.

Anyway the club seems to have the issue front of mind and hopefully they all announce they have signed on again in the not too distant future.

Thomas is just a flashy outside runner who shirks hard contests.
Swan gets a heap of the ball, but doesn't hurt teams.

Pendlebury would be the greatest loss, but again, nothing irreplaceable - his major asset is evasiveness and decision making, and is nothing more than a good kick of the footy.

Foxy.

Hopefully they all miss the "key" player....Corrie...He's out of contract isn't he? Not even on the list. They would not even have to pay him that much. Maybe 900,000.:D

I think we will lose someone, but I would be devestated if we lost Penduls, Daisy or Swan. We have deffended them so much and watched them become guns and Scotty and Daisy havnt even reached their best yet, it will make me feel even angrier knowing Sheedy gets one of them. I think Swan will stay, not sure about the other two but I think one of them will leave becuase they will get an offer they cant refuse and I wouldnt blame them one bit for leaving, its the bloody AFLs fault.:mad::mad::(

Tony Shaw is a putz.

He pots the club for ten years, we win a flag and it's "us" again. I noticed how emotional he was after the flag and he clearly loves the club but he's been more against "us" than for "us" in recent years. He is an example of a bitter ex-coach who over-compensates in the media so he doesn't appear bitter. Love what he did for us as a player but not a fan of him as a personality or a Collingwood person.

Doubt these two will leave to be honest. The amount Daisy can supplement his income with media work in Melbourne is huge and that will bring the prospective contracts closer together. Pendles is a future captain who appears flag-driven.

Thomas is just a flashy outside runner who shirks hard contests. He'd be no loss. If any club wants to pay $1,000,000 for him then good luck to them.

Swan gets a heap of the ball, but doesn't hurt teams, doesn't do enough defensively or in attack given the amount of ball he gets, again he'd be no loss given his age and the amount we'd have to give up to keep him. McCarthy could come in a do his role easily provided he was never tagged like Swan - except that McCarthy would probably be slightly neater by foot.

Pendlebury would be the greatest loss, but again, nothing irreplaceable - his major asset is evasiveness and decision making, and is nothing more than a good kick of the footy. He really needs to push forward more and hurt teams offensively before he could be considered in the same mold as Marc Murphy, Ryan Griffan or Justin Sherman. I wouldn't be too sad to see him go, and we have a heap of players who would fill his void straight away in 2012: Fasolo, Young, Wellingham, Sidebottom, Beams, Thomas etc

;)

This post was so good that I had to run it again....and this is from a "supporter"...

Surely the Marc Murphy/Justin Sherman bit made you realize I was being sarcastic? Oh and the big ;) down the bottom?

Tony Shaw is a putz.

He pots the club for ten years, we win a flag and it's "us" again. I noticed how emotional he was after the flag and he clearly loves the club but he's been more against "us" than for "us" in recent years. He is an example of a bitter ex-coach who over-compensates in the media so he doesn't appear bitter. Love what he did for us as a player but not a fan of him as a personality or a Collingwood person.

Doubt these two will leave to be honest. The amount Daisy can supplement his income with media work in Melbourne is huge and that will bring the prospective contracts closer together. Pendles is a future captain who appears flag-driven.

I've been critical of Shaw in the past over how he treats us in the press, but at no point has his love or connection with Collingwood diminished.

He was simply trying to be "impartial" during his career in the media, and by doing so, has gone over the top and become a little bit too critical about Collingwood at times.

Articles like the latest one are the "real Tony Shaw" though, he is still Collingwood through and through, he just needs to show it more often.

News GWS rumours and speculation