Leon

Jan 13, 2004
Bound for Germany 2006!
Harry's Heroes
**Had a quick search to see if there was a thread on this already and couldn't see one - apologies if there is one, please merge**

I got my tickets for this today! Really looking forward to it.

Is anyone else going? The last one was a ripper, the club does functions really well I reckon.

Johnson and West would have to be shoe ins for inductions - any others come to mind?

By far the best Football function I've ever been to and I've been to a couple of Brownlows and AFL Hall of Fames.
Johnson hasn't been retired for the mandatory 2 years yet to be eligible.

The club runs fantastic nights at Crown Palladium. The 54/04 and inaugural hall of Fame nights were ripping events and I can't wait to see who the club inducts this time around.

The programs etc on the night are really collectable items and they generally provide a space to get autographs from current players in attendance and Hall of Famers.

The Hall of Fame booklet from the inaugural induction was a beauty...hoping they produce another one this time. I'll be getting the set of medallions featuring our HOF Legends as well.

So far, inducted tonight:

Scott West
Scott Wynd
Peter Gordon (past president)
Brian Royal
George Bisset
Herb Henderson
Wally Donald
Roy Russell (former club chief in the 40's and 50's)
First ever final in 1938
Joe Ryan

So far, inducted tonight:
Herb Henderson

I had the great pleasure of meeting Herb at a Bulldogs Footy Show ten years ago during my first visit back to Melbourne. I had a great talk with him and his lovely wife. He even gave me an autographed photo of himself which he had brought with to the show to give to some people. He had one left and I was the lucky recipient that night.

Great addition to our Hall of Fame.

Peter Gordon spoke so well at the dinner and said that he deeply regretted that he sacked Terry Wheeler as he now thinks that they could have led us to the ultimate success.
Also every inductee from George Bisset on thanked Terry Wheeler first. Bisset Royal Wynd and then West

Rapt Brian Royal got the nod. My favourite player as a kid. 199 games and 299 goals, they should have sent him out on crutches to get that last game and goal.

sensational night, just as good as the first one, great video interview with Jim Miller the only living member of the 1938 first finals team, Tony Liberatore spoke at the beginning , Peter Gordon spoke well saying that he was proud of the board in 1996, in 1989 the dogs had the media and public suppoer in 1996 no one wanted the dogs. West has 4 boys , Wynd 4 girls , all the players semed to be there, Daryl Braithwaite performed in the middle of the night and some band was on at the end,

Congrats John Schultz you were a ripper a hard working tap ruckman, who was thought very highly of by the great Polly Farmer in his book.

For those to young to remember i had the pleasure of seeing him play he was strong a good tap ruckman who could go all day long.
While not the best mark he never let his side down and was a gentleman and a very fair player. Apart from a day at Victoria park when Des Tuddenham king hit EJ and John chased him around all day.

Also very happy about Wee Georgie Bissett a great player in a weak side who roved with great aplomb and also kicked goals often winning the goal kicking at years end.

Cheers Algy:D

I had the great pleasure of meeting Herb at a Bulldogs Footy Show ten years ago during my first visit back to Melbourne. I had a great talk with him and his lovely wife. He even gave me an autographed photo of himself which he had brought with to the show to give to some people. He had one left and I was the lucky recipient that night.

Great addition to our Hall of Fame.

They were talking about great defenders on SEN today and a caller said Herb never had more than 3 kicked on him by the great John Coleman! That was a hell of an effort against one of the greatest players ever.

Hall of Fame Dinner