Hardwick quits

Because the job was NOT done. He quit mid-season & mid-contract. And we just made some very brazen deals to support a "win now" mentality.

He quit. Gave us some valid reasons of needing a break. Then 3 weeks later, was planting the seed for a comeback & a few weeks after that - this happens.

It reeks of a handshake "wink-wink" arrangement was made between himself and the Suns, while he was still coaching OUR club, & under contract for the medium term. We, affectively, owned him as an asset - under contract. And we had made moves in our recent preseason under the impressions that would continue to be the case - at least until the end of the contract.

If we sacked him before the end of that contract, it would be scandalous - yet you all think him quitting to take another job for the Gold Coast ******* Suns - literally the AFLS anus - the same AFL that just murdered our club for 2 years.... means nothing because he "earned the right" to do so?

No ******* one is bigger than the Club. He will always be a Hall of Famer for what he achieved - but there is no reason we have to smile so hard while he is screwing us in the ass
So you know 100% he was offered the suns job while still coaching Richmond and thus quit?
No possibility at all that he did quit because he needed a break, and while he is know seen as available the suns pulled the trigger on an underforning coach who has been there for 6 years with poor results?
We don’t ever know if he’s even spoken to the suns as yet, it’s all media speculation this far.

The timing of your re-surfacing onto bigfooty is always impeccable

Um, i. was back on the weekend after our great win against the Swans, wrote a bunch of post. You reckon i have such close intel that i came in here a few days early just to find my feet to launch off about "Dew Sacking / Dimma Returning"?

News Flash Salted Frecklejuice, the reason I keep talking about Dimma, is because he just keeps being ****ing news. You will be utterly surprised how little difference me being here or commenting makes to his decision to do what he does. He keeps getting talked about - because thats what he is wanting. :straining:

So you know 100% he was offered the suns job while still coaching Richmond and thus quit?
No possibility at all that he did quit because he needed a break, and while he is know seen as available the suns pulled the trigger on an underforning coach who has been there for 6 years with poor results?
We don’t ever know if he’s even spoken to the suns as yet, it’s all media speculation this far.

Want to bet on it? Because i am REALLY REALLY feeling my form atm.

If you wouldn't bet against him going to the Suns - then stop trying to write it off as just mere speculation. You can see the smoke from North Korea -& its just not the lit Northern Lights Dimma is roasting

It is the worst marketing and club i have seen created in the entire world over the past 40 years

Seriously a team called themselves the Pelicans and its cool as s*t compared to the orange corporate logo "Suns". Its ****** awful.

Why they didn;t go with the Sharks and tie it with Southport was beyond me. Or even named them "The Pirates" - Something you can market to Gold Coast locals & kids. The logo looks like its for "Sports Tonight" or something.
plaguerised the name even ,the Townsville Suns made the NBL finals a few times there in the 90's

Y
You see I don’t mind if you say he’s a s**t coach etc.
But the haters seem to make up stories just to paper over their own errors of judgement.
You’ve always hated him, bagged him all the way until premiership cups choked in your throat and drowned out your protests.
Same with TI and RJK, you just start yapping again when on field performance starts to wane, which was inevitable after shut a long period of consistent success.
Get over it. He was the architect of a dynasty that was unimaginable until after it happened.
Yeah I’m sorry, Hardwick family member, but let it sink in.
He was burnt out, lost the passion, whatever way you spin it to walk out on what you think is the best job in football to coach the Suns?
Yeah mate, the head chef of Vue De Monde, Luci, Miznon walks out to take a job at McDonalds.
Keep believing the nonsense 👍

they were haphazard interviews,he was clearly dishevelled,Gale did him n everyone a favour,no disrespect,timing was right ,Benny knows
Dimmas Dissections were the best. They stopped doing them about eight rounds in bc they all sounded the same with no knowledge of what he was doing let alone saying. I think they’ve permanently scrapped them off the website bc I can’t find them anymore.

Reckon Dimma is smart enough to sniff the winds of change...rumours of Dewy going down...may have had Dimma licking his lips and putting two and two together! ;):cool:

How many coaches has won Premierships with more than one club?

The one’s I can think of are; Matthews, Malthouse, Parkin, Barrassi and Jeans. Anyone else?

Wouldn’t mind seeing Hardwick join such an elite group. As long his first agenda is changing Gold Coast horrible jumpers…

Good post,Wouldn’t always believe what you hear within the media, all speculation until told otherwise from either Dimma, Richmond or GC. It was clear though we needed change and that was the right result.

IMG_5084.png

Because the job was NOT done. He quit mid-season & mid-contract. And we just made some very brazen deals to support a "win now" mentality.

He quit. Gave us some valid reasons of needing a break. Then 3 weeks later, was planting the seed for a comeback & a few weeks after that - this happens.

It reeks of a handshake "wink-wink" arrangement was made between himself and the Suns, while he was still coaching OUR club, & under contract for the medium term. We, affectively, owned him as an asset - under contract. And we had made moves in our recent preseason under the impressions that would continue to be the case - at least until the end of the contract.

If we sacked him before the end of that contract, it would be scandalous - yet you all think him quitting to take another job for the Gold Coast ******* Suns - literally the AFLS anus - the same AFL that just murdered our club for 2 years.... means nothing because he "earned the right" to do so?

No ******* one is bigger than the Club. He will always be a Hall of Famer for what he achieved - but there is no reason we have to smile so hard while he is screwing us in the ass

I mean, it has worked out pretty amazing for him & the AFL seem keen AF to go with the narrative "he is coming".... For all his richmond Heroics in the past, in 2023 - Dimma kinda ****ed us. Its hard to ignore unless you are a total sub cuck
The job was done, he took us from a basket case when he was appointed to the most dominant team in the competition from 2017-2020. Along the way he helped foster the new culture that made our club a destination club where big name recruits wanted to go.

As far as owning him, we didn't own him at all, he was an employee of the club, who had an agreement with the CEO that when he felt he was unable to give 100% to the job he'd walk, who then lived up to that agreement when he knew he wasn't able to be at his best and give everything he had to doing the job. Again he did the right thing by the club and us supporters, yet people like you still get upset.

Maybe you'd have preferred that he stayed until the end of his contract and traded away more of our future chasing one last shot at glory, much like what Clarkson did at Hawthorn, where he kept chasing top up players to land that one last flag. If he did that then you'd have a reason to be so pissed off, but he didn't he actually did the right thing by the club, yet you are unable to see that for whatever reason.

We need change, so wouldn’t want him back. Him leaving was the best thing to happen so far this year.
I don't necessarily disagree with the outcome but i do disagree with the process.

Quitting after a 1 point loss, saying you're burned out then suddenly not being burned out anymore. That's dishonest.

Isn't the contract void the moment he resigned effective immediately though? Even if he wanted to, I don’t think it’ll happen tbh. They’d probably draft a new contract if that were to happen, and I don’t see us willing to do that.

My issue is you're either burnt out with coaching or you're not. And if you are, well do the dignified thing and stay out until your original contract would have expired.

And if you're just temporarily burnt out, then do what Dusty did, step out until your heads right, get fresh and come back.

That's what a richmond man would do. Unless it was all bullshit too.

I don't necessarily disagree with the outcome but i do disagree with the process.

Quitting after a 1 point loss, saying you're burned out then suddenly not being burned out anymore. That's dishonest.
You can be burnt out in your current job, but become quite enthusiastic about a new challenge. Did you expect Hardwick to become a hermit and just hide away in a cave for 12-18 months before taking up a new job?

In my correct job for 12years, got tiring after awhile so I moved elsewhere within the same company/industry. Change is always a good thing. The same applies with Dimma and Richmond, we will become better for it.

I don’t really think so
It’s effectively been two months and he was away for the first month
Ive suffered burnout at my job and even just a week away can make a massive difference, it was never Just burnout either

It was burnout combined with the fact he didn’t feel he could push our group to get results anymore because he had been with them for an extended period of time and that also makes sense

Most of our list have only ever had him as a coach and know all of his motivators, heard his sprays, know his anecdotes and in terms of coaching “tricks” our group know all of his (reference to 100 ways to make a sausage but couldn’t find 101

So essentially even if he wasn’t burnt out and he was still at his best I don’t think the group was responding to him anymore so the burnout is just one of the factors not the only factor contributing to him leaving

Hell even if it is just some big back room deal to get him to the suns
Honestly who cares
Our group are seeming to play better footy and our leaders like older players actually look more engaged (just look at some of the vision of Dusty post the swans win) and the club has an opportunity to start the next chapter

Why try and sour something that has been a positive for the club and presents fantastic opportunities for its future into something negative

People are acting like 16 year olds trying to recover from a first heartbreak by going scorched earth, trying to discredit the ex girlfriend, but still drunkenly calling them on a Saturday night because they saw them with another guy after drinking a bottle of straight Bacardi listening to inxs acting like they aren’t allowed to move on when the relationship had just ran its course (like the relationship between Dimma and the tigers)