What regular season game has even close to every seat filled? Even Anzac day is normally 5-10,000 under capacity.Yet they were all played with thousands of empty seats visible
Are you new to footy, or just not know what sold out means?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
What regular season game has even close to every seat filled? Even Anzac day is normally 5-10,000 under capacity.Yet they were all played with thousands of empty seats visible
Celebrating a crowd of 20,000 is Rugby League thinking.
I know right! getting a crowd of 22,086 people at a 22,500 capacity venue is pathetic bush league stuff, if they could break all fundamental laws of physics and/or violate every fire safety regulation known to man and squeezed 50k in there, then and only then would I be remotely impressed. Until then they can talk to the hand
??? Should we mock every Hawthorn Tasmanian crowd then? They’ve never drawn more than 22,086 in Tasmania?Which bit of what I said is wrong? Even the Roos get mocked when their crowds are that low.
BTW which ground only holds 22.5k?
Didnt Tassie need to have 30k+ for their licence ?
??? Should we mock every Hawthorn Tasmanian crowd then? They’ve never drawn more than 22,086 in Tasmania?
Would need to add a drink break in the middle of each quarter.Lucky there's none in Adelaide. It's been 40 the last 3 days. Would have been a s**t show.
This awful weather VIC and SA at moment would have meant this week played those states underwhelmingI dont/didn't like it.
Seems stupid we open round 1 with Richmond Carlton 5 days after we've already played and before some clubs have played their first game.
This week just didn't feel like the start of the season because not everyone has played, and the fixture is already uneven.
I bet a lot of people attended and watched though (as they do every year) and so the AFL and media will ram it down our throats how great it was and how we all loved it.
23,000.Didnt Tassie need to have 30k+ for their licence ?
Yo bro just here to make up the numbers ...get with the programGreat to see big crowds for the GC and GWS games.
REALLY should have been a game on today - reckon that was a huge miss.
Also don’t like that my team plays their first game against someone who’s already had a proper run - the 8 round 0 teams should be playing each other in round 1. But hey, that would be more fair and who needs that?
Yeah I loved it. Maybe one game on Sunday instead of the Saturday arvo game. But apart from that I thought it was awesome. Great spotlight on those northern states. Great to see Giants and Suns very well attended with good wins.It was perfect except sydney v melbourne perhaps should have been sunday game instead?
Only one NRL game was played in Sydney over the weekend which drew a crowd of 29k. Swans had 40k. Giants 21k.So this week we have four "pre Round 1" games, all being held in Sydney and Brisbane.
Going back to the first mentions of "Opening Round", it was all about taking advantage of the NRL being in Las Vegas to open their season. So the AFL would strike with four big games in their heartland.
Sounds reasonably logical.
However, Vegas was last weekend, and this week we have NRL Round 1 games in Sydney, Brisbane and Gold Coast.
Is this as simple as... the AFL got the dates wrong?
Surely it should have been last weekend?
Only one NRL game was played in Sydney over the weekend which drew a crowd of 29k. Swans had 40k. Giants 21k.
In Brisbane, NRL had 32k while the AFL had 33k. Gold Coast NRL had 14k while the AFL 22k.
AFL got the dates right it was a success. Maybe the issue for those south of the border is that the northern states have to compete with the NRL. Shying away from the competition proves nothing.