Roast Has Opening Round been totally botched?

Doesn't bother me, at least it isn't Richmond Carlton again

I'm happy there is no footy in Melbourne this weekend. Wouldn't look forward to going to the MCG on Saturday afternoon in 39 degree heat.

How is having Victorians filling GC and GWS stadiums growing the game up that way?
Games with bigger crowds generate more money for clubs and attract greater media coverage.

Can you figure out why greater media coverage and more money for GC and GWS helps grow the game in QLD & NSW, or do you need that incredibly obvious thing explained as well?

Games with bigger crowds generate more money for clubs and attract greater media coverage.

Can you figure out why greater media coverage and more money for GC and GWS helps grow the game in QLD & NSW, or do you need that incredibly obvious thing explained as well?
And then the Victorians go home. No amount of shilling will make a four game opening round a good idea.

It looks like all four games are going to sell out (or very close to it) in the three northern markets that the AFL is desperate to expand into and the NRL doesn't get the headstart that they have had in years goneby. The first AFL game in Sydney this year will be played on Thursday night - the first NRL game in Sydney this year will be played on Saturday night. The first AFL game in Brisbane this year will be played on Friday night - the first NRL games in Brisbane this year will be played on Sunday arvo. The first AFL game on the Gold Coast this year will be played on Saturday arvo - the first NRL game on the Gold Coast this year will be played on Saturday night. Level pegging (arguably better time slots for the AFL) at the beginning of the season in all three markets for the first time ever.

How can this be viewed objectively as anything other than a success for the AFL? Just because there are no games in Victoria this weekend doesn't mean it's a flop of a concept.
I get all that but it needed to be an extra full rd.
It’s just got us further away from a fair and equitable fixture

Yeah split round would be okay.

Now we are going to have this annoyance in the ladder of different number of games played until all the byes are caught up.

Given it’s a long weekend this week, could have spread the first round out over the 14 day period and achieved the same thing but would have at least made sense.

Thurs
Frid
Sat
Sun
Mon
Thur
Fri
Sat
Sun

For me, it isn't even a parity issue of teams getting an advantage over teams not playing this weekend.

It's the fact that round 1 should be the most exciting round of the Home and Away season with 9 games of proper football after 5 months off. Having just 8 teams play makes it feel anti-climatic and I would feel the same regardless if those 8 teams were Victorian or not.

The crazy thing to me is that Carlton, Richmond, Collingwood and Sydney will have played twice before 10 other teams play their first game.

How on earth does it make sense to have Carlton and Collingwood travel then play on a 6 day break, and Richmond travel for a 5 day break, when there 10 teams that could slot in there instead?

Both Carlton and Richmond have injury concerns, in part because of a shortened preseason, and are playing extra cautious with the travel as a result and hokding back injured players. This is a huge advantage to home teams Brisbane and GC, particularly given GC have a 7 day break and play at home next week and the Lions have an 8 day rest before travelling to Freo.

Similarly Sydney have a home opener, followed by an 8 day rest before playing against Collingwood who are travelling and have a 6 day break.

Forget the commercial.implications and even the competitive balance - fixtures tend to sort themselves out over time. This is still just utter lunacy in fixturing.

If Richmond vs Carlton had to be Thursday and you wanted big Melbourne clubs this week why not have Essendon replace Richmond, and maybe Hawthorn instead of Carlton. Then play GWS/Collingwood (a replay of a better prelim final anyway) on Friday night instead of Saturday. Hawthorn/Essendon could still be Saturday 1:45 the following week on a 7 day rest... bloody simple really

dont think anyone cares about the games being played outside melbourne, just splitting the round is ridiculous for no sane reason and adds further fixture disparity between the teams
You do realise there are places in Australia where footy is watched not named Melbourne, right? I think they might care. Also I forgot to mention that the mid-season split round would replace the current mid-season bye structure. What I outlined imo, does the opposite of adding "further fixture disparity between the teams"

Not sure why two bottom of the 8 teams from last year are opening the season. Were they just banking on Grundy vs Gawn being worth watching?

Gold Coast v Carlton
Giants v Swans

Edit: That’s a lie. My brain is messing with me.

Happened in 2012 only mate, sorry.

Giants v Swans
Collingwood V Freo and Adel v Ess in 2014 was held a week before the other games.

I remember the Pies getting absolutely smashed!

Roast Has Opening Round been totally botched?