Roast Has Opening Round been totally botched?

Opening Round never been held before? Well if a News Corp reporter says it, then it must be true.

Oh wait, turns out the AFL has explicitly used that branding since 2011:

View attachment 1921282
Fox likes their simple things.
NRL for northern states and AFL for the rest.

So there are games of NRL on in Syd/bris this weekend? Wasn't that the whole point?
A gather round across the 2 states last weekend would have made more sense.

It looks like all four games are going to sell out (or very close to it) in the three northern markets that the AFL is desperate to expand into and the NRL doesn't get the headstart that they have had in years goneby. The first AFL game in Sydney this year will be played on Thursday night - the first NRL game in Sydney this year will be played on Saturday night. The first AFL game in Brisbane this year will be played on Friday night - the first NRL games in Brisbane this year will be played on Sunday arvo. The first AFL game on the Gold Coast this year will be played on Saturday arvo - the first NRL game on the Gold Coast this year will be played on Saturday night. Level pegging (arguably better time slots for the AFL) at the beginning of the season in all three markets for the first time ever.

How can this be viewed objectively as anything other than a success for the AFL? Just because there are no games in Victoria this weekend doesn't mean it's a flop of a concept.
I'm with you. I think it's great.

Just a shame we had to add in random be rather than just add a round

It looks like all four games are going to sell out (or very close to it) in the three northern markets that the AFL is desperate to expand into and the NRL doesn't get the headstart that they have had in years goneby. The first AFL game in Sydney this year will be played on Thursday night - the first NRL game in Sydney this year will be played on Saturday night. The first AFL game in Brisbane this year will be played on Friday night - the first NRL games in Brisbane this year will be played on Sunday arvo. The first AFL game on the Gold Coast this year will be played on Saturday arvo - the first NRL game on the Gold Coast this year will be played on Saturday night. Level pegging (arguably better time slots for the AFL) at the beginning of the season in all three markets for the first time ever.

How can this be viewed objectively as anything other than a success for the AFL? Just because there are no games in Victoria this weekend doesn't mean it's a flop of a concept.
I think alot more promotion could have been done. Seems like the AFL are just playing catch-up with the NRL.

Out of interest, are you aware of corporate AFL lunches/functions this week in Sydney and Brisbane leading up to this round?

Not sure what it’s been like in Sydney and Brisbane, but I was surprised the 1st game of the season is actually on tonight.

Opening round should be national round.
2 games in qld, 2 in nsw, 2 in SA, 2 in wa, 1 in tassie
Could have been instead Round 1 - No Victorian games

2 in NSW
2 in QLD
2 in WA
2 in SA
1 in TAS (North vs Hawthorn)

Yep. Doesn't change any of the exposure for the Northern states. Gives exposure to the other states, and then we resume normal functioning Round 1.

Wouldn't have a problem at all with that.

Yep. Doesn't change any of the exposure for the Northern states. Gives exposure to the other states, and then we resume normal functioning Round 1.

Wouldn't have a problem at all with that.

Let's face it though, this game is set up around the big 4 clubs, the rest of us are just guests for them

AFL has botched this. Melbourne vs Sydney is a bit of a meh beginning to the year. Richmond gets a 5 day break to then play Carlton next Thursday.

The other thing is that the Suns and Melbourne play clubs that didn't play in the Opening Round. We have seen that playing off the bye is almost a guaranteed loss and they have been given an almost guaranteed win against actual competition (GWS is playing North but only the most staunch North supporter would think they have a chance). The Suns would be fighting Adelaide for a top 8 as would Melbourne and the Dogs.

The fact that we have only some teams playing is a disgrace.

The fact that we have Robbo et al sooking because the opener isn't in Melbourne is an even bigger disgrace. Victorians seriously sook worse than interstaters and for less. It's embarrassing.

Im all for opening the season in Sydney or Brisbane but have 9 games ffs.

It's less about promotion in and of itself but more ensuring that 4 of the 44 home games that have to be played in the northern states are given every chance of success.

GWS's average crowd figures and revenue (therefore dependency on AFL handouts will be reduced) at the end of the year will basically be bumped something like 5% simply by virtue of this game alone.

I get some of the fixturing is dumb and imbalanced, but similar to the academies, initiatives like these are necessary if the northern teams are going to exist at all. If the AFL half-asses GWS, either they have to fund them even more money, or they shouldn't exist at all.

AFL has botched this. Melbourne vs Sydney is a bit of a meh beginning to the year. Richmond gets a 5 day break to then play Carlton next Thursday.

The other thing is that the Suns and Melbourne play clubs that didn't play in the Opening Round. We have seen that playing off the bye is almost a guaranteed loss and they have been given an almost guaranteed win against actual competition (GWS is playing North but only the most staunch North supporter would think they have a chance). The Suns would be fighting Adelaide for a top 8 as would Melbourne and the Dogs.
I think the afl picked the right teams for an opening game. It'll be high quality and the odds are reasonably close

I’m not really getting the sooking. It looks like a really good opening round - all interesting games this weekend and pretty good the following week. Can’t wait.

Why is Melbourne/Sydney a meh game? Both sides look like they’ll be playing finals and pushing top 4

I love the idea people have that Melbourne/Sydney is a meh game, as if Carlton/Richmond hasn't been the most meh faceoff over the past decade or so.

3 of the 4 games are real interesting and even the 4th (Richmond/Gold Coast) has some interest over the whole Dimma paradigm.

I will watch all games anyway as I have missed footy.

Sydney vs Melbourne - on paper to me is a boring opening game

Brisbane vs Carlton - Brisbane should win Carlton are the media darlings so it will be insufferable coverage.

Gold Coast vs Richmond - Don't care about the Dimma playing old team thing.

GWS vs Collingwood - Will be the best game and I'm looking forward to this one.

Roast Has Opening Round been totally botched?