Has this board ruined Dream Team - everyone is identical

I think its ok to name your side

But what seperates the good fantasy coachs from the not good ones is

knowing how and when to trade

and having luck with injurys and suspensions

so you can post your teams but if your smart enough to know the things i mentioned you will be right but if someone who wasnt that good copied someone who is good team they will come unstuck with trades and form and so on
Talk about a bump...

I think you won't win if you name your team. The initial draft is worth by far and away the bulk of your points. Trading is important, luck is important, but your original squad is the guts of it.

I dont agree that you wont win if you name your team because if your smart enough to know what your doing and have luck with suspensions,injurys and form you will do alright

If someone was to copy a good side on here and had no idea what they where doing they would eventually stuff it all up because they dont know what to do where as someone experienced wouldnt stuff it all up

Talk about a bump...

I think you won't win if you name your team. The initial draft is worth by far and away the bulk of your points. Trading is important, luck is important, but your original squad is the guts of it.

The number of points your players score won't be affected by you posting your team on BigFooty though. Only players who would be considered a realistic chance of winning from the beginning would have to worry about others dissecting their sides, and even then the difference in skill level will be found in the trading.

For you it would be logical to keep your cards close to your chest until after lockout, for someone like me it isn't really all that important.

I dont agree that you wont win if you name your team because if your smart enough to know what your doing and have luck with suspensions,injurys and form you will do alright

If someone was to copy a good side on here and had no idea what they where doing they would eventually stuff it all up because they dont know what to do where as someone experienced wouldnt stuff it all up

If you are smart enough to know what you are doing you won't post your team. Simply giving away your smokies etc is not necessary.

Also some comments you get may affect your judgement. You may make the right or wrong decision as a consequence, for example trading out a smokie or recruiting a hyped player on the advice of someone you think may know what they are talking about (plus you don;t know their motives - sabotage is possible!). For me DT is about making your own decisions - by all means ask for opinions and have discussions, but I advise not to post your side and ask for comment.

Basically how do you know who is going to win and who isn't at the start of a given season? I know certain players in here have better records than others and you can copy them if you like, but there are still too many intangibles for it to become completely uniform.

However, we wouldn't be having this discussion if they weren't structuring it so every team in your league can have exactly the same players in it.

I don't think BF/FF has ruined DT, it has actually made it more enjoyable. Just look at the NBA fantasy game, there's a number of sites dedicated to just NBA fantasy - some of them are massive sites, rotowire.com is the most prolific. All those sites haven't ruined that game by any stretch of the imagination. The only thing that annoys me about BF is the leechers who don't contribute anything.

Basically how do you know who is going to win and who isn't at the start of a given season? I know certain players in here have better records than others and you can copy them if you like, but there are still too many intangibles for it to become completely uniform.

However, we wouldn't be having this discussion if they weren't structuring it so every team in your league can have exactly the same players in it.

Like PDT? You serious?

That takes all the best factors away and the overall would just go to some guy who registered a league all to himself.

That's right Cartman.

I think if all these forums were shut tomorrow you would still have the teams at the top very similar...doesn't that make sense?

But I do get a bit annoyed by posters whose only contribution is one line of either abuse or a condescending opinion.

If you are smart enough to know what you are doing you won't post your team. Simply giving away your smokies etc is not necessary.

Also some comments you get may affect your judgement. You may make the right or wrong decision as a consequence, for example trading out a smokie or recruiting a hyped player on the advice of someone you think may know what they are talking about (plus you don;t know their motives - sabotage is possible!). For me DT is about making your own decisions - by all means ask for opinions and have discussions, but I advise not to post your side and ask for comment.

That's why people who choose to copy others have no chance of improving.

It's far easier to know where you went wrong if you know why you picked a player rather than trying to figure out why someone else did.

As for the thread as a whole, it's getting to the stage where anyone who reads this board can put together a pretty decent team and go well, although it's pretty easy to spot the teams during the year that have had little or no independent thought put into them. For example, someone will drop a little bit of positive information on a player, and by Friday night their name will be in half a dozen posts in the weekly completed trades thread.

Some of the trades I've seen on this board over the past couple of years have been awful, but the same people who made them have managed to end up with a top 200-500 finish due to nothing more than copying others.

Unfortunately the only way to give teams more variation is to cut a huge chunk out of the salary cap, which obviously won't happen as your average DTer doesn't want to still have the Surjans and Headlands in their team by round 22.

I'm already cringing at the thought of seeing a sea of clone teams being posted in the inevitable post your starting team threads. While having unique players in your team is hugely overrated, it's far more enjoyable than seeing a Gibbs score a 130 knowing that nearly everyone else on here will have them as well.

Haha.. I remember this thread. I think this is the one where that idiot called me a shit DT coach near the start. Ahh memories. Wonder where he finished up last season in the rankings..

Anyway, I'm trying not to read this board too much this year. There's a lot of rubbish on here and (if its anything like last year) a lot of people who like to post as if they were DT gods only to go like absolute crap once the thing actually kicks off.

Don't get me wrong, there's some really good posters too (and working out who they are would be half the trouble for a lot of people) but the ratio of rubbish to gems is way too high for me to be bothered sifting through it all again. I think I'll just see if I can improve on last year without debating the finer points with all and sundry or trying to help people who are genuine but don't have a clue only to be lambasted by other self styled DT experts.

Good luck in 09 everyone. :thumbsu:

Haha.. I remember this thread. I think this is the one where that idiot called me a shit DT coach near the start. Ahh memories. Wonder where he finished up last season in the rankings..

Anyway, I'm trying not to read this board too much this year. There's a lot of rubbish on here and (if its anything like last year) a lot of people who like to post as if they were DT gods only to go like absolute crap once the thing actually kicks off.

Don't get me wrong, there's some really good posters too (and working out who they are would be half the trouble for a lot of people) but the ratio of rubbish to gems is way too high for me to be bothered sifting through it all again. I think I'll just see if I can improve on last year without debating the finer points with all and sundry or trying to help people who are genuine but don't have a clue only to be lambasted by other self styled DT experts.

Good luck in 09 everyone. :thumbsu:

Yep apparently some guru thought it necessary to name some people for whatever reason (Jolldo:confused:). It was probably a troll.

Hopefully you have noticed an improvement this pre-season as everyone seems to be enjoying debating the finer points of DT rather than just lifting information from other posters, and hopefully if everyone maintains this attitude the board will stay in good shape.

Keep posting!

I wonder what percentage of the comp actually know about or read these DT sites and forums?? ( Big footy,FF etc) a lot of people i know play DT each year and have never heard of BF,FF etc:confused: interesting....
And how come i've gone from BF member last week to apprentice,:thumbsdown:

Simply giving away your smokies etc is not necessary. the fantasy freko newsletter already does a good job of that any so it doesnt really matter

in regards to the trading someone out may effect your judgement i dont agree with that because once again if you know what your doing you would know whether or not the persons full of shit or not

the only reason i posted my team was to get some more ideas because i wasnt 100% sure of my team and wanted other peoples opinions on it

Simply giving away your smokies etc is not necessary. the fantasy freko newsletter already does a good job of that any so it doesnt really matter

in regards to the trading someone out may effect your judgement i dont agree with that because once again if you know what your doing you would know whether or not the persons full of shit or not

the only reason i posted my team was to get some more ideas because i wasnt 100% sure of my team and wanted other peoples opinions on it

Maybe I assume that those who post their teams don't know what they are doing...probably an unfair assumption so fair enough. No offence intended.

Anyway I would think it is easier to reserach all the players to see if they can play rather than research all the posters to see if they are full of it or not.

I, as much as most others, hate people who observe at the pure aim of copying others. Although I am one to observe and not post a whole lot but in the end I definately have my own opinions in the end and will pick the side I want not what the majority of bigfooty posters think.

For those wishing to copy teams, they will find it very hard to get teams from those successful coaches as i doubt many would post there entire squads on here.

And although frustrating thinking people copy teams, if someone took all the advice on here they could have had a team consisting of dyson, jones, scott thompson as a starting back etc which would have put them on the back foot from the start.

I think in the end the good advice comes with the bad, being able to pick the good out takes knowledge and individual research so in all i think those who do the work will come out on top majority of the time anyway.

Well put deledio_gun. And also a lot depends on the type of advice you ask. Anyone who in all seriousness says should I get Bartel or Ablett....jeepers, its heads or tails when you put it that way and no one cares what you do really.

Ask for information and guidance that can help YOU make an informed decision...how does Ablett cope with a tag, did you notice whether Goodwin started forward last week - that sort of stuff. Footy heads & DTers enjoy that kind of discussion and will probably impart some decent information when all's said and done. It's simply a matter of getting involved and contributing as well.

Well put deledio_gun. And also a lot depends on the type of advice you ask. Anyone who in all seriousness says should I get Bartel or Ablett....jeepers, its heads or tails when you put it that way and no one cares what you do really.

Ask for information and guidance that can help YOU make an informed decision...how does Ablett cope with a tag, did you notice whether Goodwin started forward last week - that sort of stuff. Footy heads & DTers enjoy that kind of discussion and will probably impart some decent information when all's said and done. It's simply a matter of getting involved and contributing as well.

"no one cares what you do really"

Our of all that, that is what matters most:p

I don't know about that, some of the trade advice given by the Freako newsletter was just plain wrong. And I'm not talking in hindsight, I talking about it suggesting to buy premiums at top dollar later in the season (apparently you "couldn't win without them") when there was much better value around.

WRT the BF preseason ramblings this year, I reckon they're a mile ahead (so far) of the rubbish that went on before last year kicked off. Now, if only we can keep the "here's my team, what do you think I should do" posts to a minimum it might stay that way ;) There's been some excellent "left field" discussion to make you challenge the way you think about DT.

I actually think, that any full teams posted from when DT or SC opens to the start of round 1 should be deleted by any of the BF moderators.
I think its fine to ask advice on 1 or 2 players, yet to post a full list of players is just plain ridiculous. It's time for these individuals to actually make some decisions for themselves.

I don't know if it's a big problem. Those asking for help or looking for smokies on this board will rarely finish around the top.

Anyway, surely it's not too difficult for people to go away and do their own research? Whether it's purchasing the Prospectus and going off that (like I did last year), or researching each and every player (like I'm doing this year), it's not hard to do your own background checks on players.

Trust me on this it doesn't mean a lot. Sure there will be the odd team that is 'stolen' from these boards that does very well but the vast majority of people that 'steal' information from here end up stuffing it up somewhere.

The good players will always be good year in year out and the guys just learning the ropes will always make mistakes.

I don't know about that, some of the trade advice given by the Freako newsletter was just plain wrong. And I'm not talking in hindsight, I talking about it suggesting to buy premiums at top dollar later in the season (apparently you "couldn't win without them") when there was much better value around.

And talking Nathan Jones up as the second coming.

I have posted teams this year, but i have done it before New year time when its usually only the top posters and DT coaches who eaither give you their opinion or just dont care about your side, thus not many before New year would copy a side. One the team will change heaps and 2, there arnt those DT stealers (well not many).

I will not post a side anymore and many of the sides i have posted have simply been "out of the square" ideas with different strategies. I also tend to use players i dont rate when making up these teams, it shows the strategy your using but not the players you are thinking about picking.

As for this season i think their has been very little of those DT copiers but when DT opens so many will come on here and try to copy your sides. As soon as NAB cup starts i think no one should be allowed to post their side, this is the time that the stealers are most frequent.

I also hate those people/posters who give nothing to the DT board (cough JB,A10 cough).

I think trading is also hugely underestimated, its what separates the great from good or the best from the rest. So many posters will come up with similar starting sides but end up completely differently ranked. However alot of people can also trade the similar, when people see a Riewoldt cheap they get him like everyone else that round. If one of the top posters who i very well know who they are or should i say the top DT coaches (Bax, Stormer, SD,DW) - i wouldnt copy their sides even if they did post them, i would only like to take a side in that im happy with not someone else is happy with. Sure if i saw a player that was common amongst the best i would research them and see why they have picked them and if i can find the reason than i would pick them, but i feel that isnt copying.

The DT talk has been a whole lot better than last season and im hoping it has benefited the people who have been heavily involved in it.

I also hate those people/posters who give nothing to the DT board

The concept of NP was to improve the posting quality, lead by example method.
There have been many people that have caught onto this concept outside of NP and this has lead to some amazing analysis. Keep up the good work.

While it is the view that some people give nothing, maybe they just need the tools to be able to analyse the information for themselves. Instead of getting angry with these people, give them the tools and information needed to make their own judgements. Just attempt to not give them simple answers. aka Bartel or Corey - I think you should pick Bartel. This information has not helped him/her in the slightest.

Anyway, keep up the good work and lets attempt to keep this level up in the silly season.

Has this board ruined Dream Team - everyone is identical