Autopsy Hawfforn too good. Umps agree.

Another umpiring decision that baffled me was the OOF by spicer when it come off his knee. It has to be below the knee.. but we’ll pay out on the full so Hawforn can get another set up entry inside 50.. nice work umps.
Not to mention the contact with the ball happened over the line.

I’m caught somewhere between “jeez, we’re not to far off - we just need to tidy up a couple of things” and “OMG, we’re a basket case”. History tells us that as long as we don’t fold, we will thrive. Hope springs eternal.

If we had Larkey (or Comben or any mobile KPF,) and a coach who knew what to expect when it was windy at Bellerive then things would have been very different. We might not have won but we wouldn't have set up so poorly in the first quarter and struggled to score in the second. If you don't count our first half both sides averaged 9-10 goals per half. It doesn't mean we would have won but obviously Patch's inexperience with the conditions (doesn't matter what someone tells you, sometimes you have to experience things to get what you need to do to deal with them,) made a difference and to his credit he adjusted after half time, both sides only scored 11.6 each after quarter time. I reckon if Patch ever coaches there again on a day like that he will understand what to do from the start.

People have said Clarko wouldn't have made that mistake and he probably wouldn't have, but Adams never will again either.

Honestly, if Patch knew what to expect and Larkey was playing to provide that mobile long option in the second quarter then we'd probably be saying the umpires actually made the difference in that game. Or they tried to and failed.

JHF will have been the best everywhere he has been since he was a kid….winner of every trophy and probably taking every junior team to a flag. Now he’s with a team at the bottom, slagged in the media and caught being a sook. Not every thing is going his way. Let’s just see what happens

I'd like to think that an experienced coach who has spent years developing young talent will know exactly how to relate to JHF and work with him to utilise his strengths and work on his weaknesses. I'm excited for what's to come

Can anyone cut and paste the vision from behind the goals of Gunstons last goal, think about 12 min from the end of the 4th, the one from the boundary. It is a great example of how good and bad aspects of the defence and forward line effect the play.

That was the whole game.

2 sets of interpretations were in place today.

At least we know coathangers are ok, just don’t give the ball back forcefully after them.
Don't get me started Roo. I am likely to lose the plot. There cannot be one single person on earth who thinks the umpires got that right yesterday.

That decision, the fifty afterwards and quite a few others.

I’m caught somewhere between “jeez, we’re not to far off - we just need to tidy up a couple of things” and “OMG, we’re a basket case”. History tells us that as long as we don’t fold, we will thrive. Hope springs eternal.

We’re probably somewhere in between right now.

We were really (really) bad yesterday, the Hawks played OK but seriously we resmebled a VFL team with our skill level and pressure.

I don't think we are a basket case, but I do think we have a long way to go to improve to the level required.

Maybe a Clarko and co can fast track it, but either way we need to be much better, seeing how lazy we are in person off the ball was quite shocking to me.

The fact we have all these crab sideways kicks to mean we resulted in more disposals yet almost half the inside 50s suggests something is majorly wrong.

We were really (really) bad yesterday, the Hawks played OK but seriously we resmebled a VFL team with our skill level and pressure.

I don't think we are a basket case, but I do think we have a long way to go to improve to the level required.

Maybe a Clarko and co can fast track it, but either way we need to be much better, seeing how lazy we are in person off the ball was quite shocking to me.

The fact we have all these crab sideways kicks to mean we resulted in more disposals yet almost half the inside 50s suggests something is majorly wrong.
We've had bad spread from the contest for over a decade now, if you ever sit behind the goals you can really see.

I was directly behind the goals on the Western side of the ground. Our spread was horrendous, it's no wonder we turn it over so much as far too often there is no one to kick to even if we do win the contest!!

We have lacked genuine foot speed for almost 20 years. You need it to make space consistently without always being shut down.

I'm sure i'll get pummelled, but LMac did some extremely dumb shit yesterday.

Like every week he looks great one second, diabolical the next. His decision making is ridiculous with ball in hand.

He defended quite well to his credit, he tries his hardest no doubt and courage is there, but no way is he our next Captain.

I'm sure i'll get pummelled, but LMac did some extremely dumb s**t yesterday.

Like every week he looks great one second, diabolical the next. His decision making is ridiculous with ball in hand.

He defended quite well to his credit, he tries his hardest no doubt and courage is there, but no way is he our next Captain.
Its like that most of the time, he is a pretty good defender now, but his kicking is below standard, and it's predictable too since it takes his so long to wind up.
From what i hear though, he thinks it's really good. That might be part of the issue.

Its like that most of the time, he is a pretty good defender now, but his kicking is below standard, and it's predictable too since it takes his so long to wind up.
From what i hear though, he thinks it's really good. That might be part of the issue.

I'm very aware that LMac thinks LMac is an extremely good footballer.

If we had Larkey (or Comben or any mobile KPF,) and a coach who knew what to expect when it was windy at Bellerive then things would have been very different. We might not have won but we wouldn't have set up so poorly in the first quarter and struggled to score in the second. If you don't count our first half both sides averaged 9-10 goals per half. It doesn't mean we would have won but obviously Patch's inexperience with the conditions (doesn't matter what someone tells you, sometimes you have to experience things to get what you need to do to deal with them,) made a difference and to his credit he adjusted after half time, both sides only scored 11.6 each after quarter time. I reckon if Patch ever coaches there again on a day like that he will understand what to do from the start.

People have said Clarko wouldn't have made that mistake and he probably wouldn't have, but Adams never will again either.

Honestly, if Patch knew what to expect and Larkey was playing to provide that mobile long option in the second quarter then we'd probably be saying the umpires actually made the difference in that game. Or they tried to and failed.
Good take.

With the roof, rare that tossing the coin means that much but it did yesterday.

At quarter time, Mitchell nutted it out. 46 points up. He put an extra in defence and strangled us in the second. He knew if they outscored us in the third quarter with the wind then it was game over. It panned out that way.

We should locked down after they kicked their 4th goal in the first quarter.

I'm sure i'll get pummelled, but LMac did some extremely dumb s**t yesterday.

My most frustrating thing about LMac is that he thinks he is Zurhaar when it comes to breaking tackles. Unfortunately he doesn’t have near the strength or power to get away with this. Take the first option mate.

Or absorb the tackle and cause a ball up. Jy does this too. Same tackles they can break but some they can't.

They need to learn when to break and when to absorb.

1cdec80d-ef60-4fe6-8d27-095d06753e20_text.gif

North Melbourne vs Hawthorn

10 Jack Gunston (HAW)

8 Jai Newcombe (HAW)

3 Blake Hardwick (HAW)

3 Tom Mitchell (HAW)

2 Luke Davies-Uniacke (NMFC)

2 Finn Maginness (HAW)

1 Jaeger O'Meara (HAW)

1 Ned Reeves (HAW)

A key point I really noticed live is just how slow we are to react to a situation that is occurring further afield.

Especially noticeable in the first half when the Hawks were really putting in, was they were always setting up their structure in anticipation of where the ball would be headed next, especially out of the backline - hence the constant outnumbering of our players.

So many of our blokes are walking around or even stationary when the Hawks blokes were busting their guts to get to where they needed to be.

I am not sure if it lazyness, lack of speed or simply poor football awareness (or all three), our ball movement forward is horrific sure - but i'd say our work rate is just as bad (which contributes to the former)

Autopsy Hawfforn too good. Umps agree.