Hawks Can't pull a crowd on their own

hawks ain't blockbuster material - never have been - never will be. only 3 of them - blooz, dons and us. we are the club that gives pov clubs a chance to experience the blockbuster atmosphere every now and then. you should all show your appreciation much more than you do!
You must have missed Hawks V Cats games in the last 10 years.
Imagine if Carlton Essendon & Pies got to actually see quality. Then you would get some big crowds.

Is the point of this thread that Hawthorn crowds have dropped off now that they suck, or that they don't draw big crowds without Victorian opposition?

Neither is exactly a revelation, or Hawthorn specific.

"big 4"

Collingwood 33k vs Brisbane
Essendon 34k vs Port
Carlton 23k vs GWS
Richmond 31k vs Freo

Freo are averaging 32.5k at home, West Coast 38.5k, Adelaide 46.5k, Port 42k, Sydney 31k. About what you'd expect with Freo and Sydney struggling.

Masturbating over Victorian crowds gets more and more boring each year.

Is the point of this thread that Hawthorn crowds have dropped off now that they suck, or that they don't draw big crowds without Victorian opposition?

"big 4"

Essendon 34k vs Port
Carlton 23k vs GWS
Richmond 31k vs Freo

Freo are averaging 32.5k at home, West Coast 38.5k, Adelaide 46.5k, Port 42k, Sydney 31k. About what you'd expect with Freo and Sydney struggling.

I agree it's a boring argument but I'm not sure comparing smallest crowds of Vic clubs vs the avg crowd of interstate clubs works? Dons Avg 56k at home and Pies 52k.

"big 4"

Essendon 34k vs Port
Carlton 23k vs GWS
Richmond 31k vs Freo

Perth is a one dimensional country town compared to Melbourne. I see people wearing their footy gear in SA and WA during the week. There's no competition over there.We have 9 teams in this huge multicultural city competing against anything and everything for a market share. I wouldn't go masturbating over the crowd figures of pseudo state teams in footy obsessed cities. The big 4 are big fish in a big ocean.

I agree it's a boring argument but I'm not sure comparing smallest crowds of Vic clubs vs the avg crowd of interstate clubs works? Dons Avg 56k at home and Pies 52k.

Dons average 56k including games against other Vic sides. Their two home crowds against non-Vic opposition have been 34k and 36k.

That's the point of the comparison. People like to think AFL crowds are comparable to the Premier League etc. when the AFL is a manufactured competition designed to maximise attendances. If ANZAC Day is a Collingwood home game and Essendon get Gold Coast at home instead of a reverse fixture with Collingwood that will bring down their annual home attendance by about 70k.

Perth is a one dimensional country town compared to Melbourne. I see people wearing their footy gear in SA and WA during the week. There's no competition over there.We have 9 teams in this huge multicultural city competing against anything and everything for a market share. I wouldn't go masturbating over the crowd figures of pseudo state teams in footy obsessed cities. The big 4 are big fish in a big ocean.

LOL. No one cares about the big 4. One flag between them this millennium.

Also no one really cares about attendances in WA. Our clubs are viable without opposition fans padding out the gate.

That isn't quite true. Richmond fans still seem quite obsessed with the mythical "Big 4". Everybody else has moved on.

Dons average 56k including games against other Vic sides. Their two home crowds against non-Vic opposition have been 34k and 36k.

That's the point of the comparison. People like to think AFL crowds are comparable to the Premier League etc. when the AFL is a manufactured competition designed to maximise attendances. If ANZAC Day is a Collingwood home game and Essendon get Gold Coast at home instead of a reverse fixture with Collingwood that will bring down their annual home attendance by about 70k.

You're not wrong - I definitely agree to an extent. I think one thing that is overlooked here though is that for the clubs outside of Victoria you generally get a game once every 2 weeks and they are pretty much always against an interstate side. I think this helps to keep your crowds a lot more consistent as you wouldn't necessarily think "doesn't matter if I miss this week I'll go next" or "I'll miss the game against the lions and go to the Carlton game instead".

It's also a lot harder to gain access to a game in Perth or Adelaide which helps because it's a bit more of a luxury to go whereas here you can generally get in pretty easily to at least 2 and sometimes up to 4 games in a weekend. I think this actually helps the Perth and Adelaide crowds in kind of a keeping up with the jones' sort of theory.

I know a lot the non vic clubs think that the crowds against other Melbourne sides are all like Derbies and showdowns where there is a huge demand for tickets and it brings out a big showing from both teams but generally the home team will make up about 75-80% of the crowd unless its one of the small clubs playing home to one of the bigger ones.

It's weird and I don't think we can really compare the crowds between states because of all of the different factors.

Y

It's also a lot harder to gain access to a game in Perth or Adelaide which helps because it's a bit more of a luxury to go whereas here you can generally get in pretty easily to at least 2 and sometimes up to 4 games in a weekend. I think this actually helps the Perth and Adelaide crowds in kind of a keeping up with the jones' sort of theory.

Once the new Stadium is complete we'll have a better idea. It's worthwhile to note that while Eagles crowds sometimes dip it's usually more of a reflection of members not turning up (due to poor form etc) but the seats themselves are spoken for. The Stadium has been sold out for almost 2 decades now - it's likely that given population growth the average attendance would otherwise be much higher.

And still the Big 4. Always gonna be viable.
Eagles will always be a massive team mate... they don't need to rely on any opposition clubs to boost their attendance. It wouldn't matter if they won 10 spooons in a row, as of next year their average crowd attendance numbers will blow out any "Big 4" attendance averages without fail, no Matter how many Dreamtime/Anzac/Opening game freebies the AFL want to give to keep historic clubs relevant.

Once the new Stadium is complete we'll have a better idea. It's worthwhile to note that while Eagles crowds sometimes dip it's usually more of a reflection of members not turning up (due to poor form etc) but the seats themselves are spoken for. The Stadium has been sold out for almost 2 decades now - it's likely that given population growth the average attendance would otherwise be much higher.

Absolutely, I fully expect West Coast to have the highest home average in the league once the new stadium is completed. I also expect it to die down after 5 or 6 seasons though once the stadium hype falls. Kind of like what's happened with Etihad stadium - In saying that though it'll still be in the top 2 or 3 in the league.

Yep, our crowds are boosted by there only being 2 teams in WA and 22 opportunities to attend footy in Perth, and by the fact that our stadium only holds 40k people. But by the same token Vic footy fans will swear black and blue there aren't too many teams in Melbourne and that we have 'franchises' and Melbourne is the home of footy tribalism etc. If you make your decision on when to go to the footy based on time slot, opponent, likely atmosphere etc. then I hate to break it to you but you aren't a loyal footy tribalist. There seems to be a bit of a perception that everyone with a passing interest in footy in WA has a WC or Freo membership but that really isn't the case. Plenty of people go once in a while if they can and will continue to at the new stadium.

Most fixtures in Melbourne aren't derbies that generate huge interest, but all Melbourne clubs benefit from prime time slots, neutrals and AFL/MCC members inflating attendances to a degree. We sell out our memberships anyway so attendances don't mean anything, but so far we've had 5 home games and 5 completely different time slots and attendances have ranged from 37k to 40k. If we don't get a home game against Collingwood or Essendon or even Freo it won't make a big difference. Collingwood on the other hand had 87k against Essendon and 33k against Brisbane.

Attendances like memberships all come down to dollars. Good for dick measuring contests but you're better off with a strong base of reserved seat ticket holders than you are with an extra few thousand members who don't contribute anything financially or a bunch of MCC members deciding to turn up to your game because it's on a Friday.

Eagles will always be a massive team mate... they don't need to rely on any opposition clubs to boost their attendance. It wouldn't matter if they won 10 spooons in a row, as of next year their average crowd attendance numbers will blow out any "Big 4" attendance averages without fail, no Matter how many Dreamtime/Anzac/Opening game freebies the AFL want to give to keep historic clubs relevant.

Sure thing champ. Let's revisit this in the future especially after the novelty of the new stadium wears off and see if you really are a Nostradamus or just a flog talking shit. Bookmarked for future reference.

Haha calm down Rezza no need to start flipping your lid. You have no clue how big the eagles are its classic.

Richmond fans are special.

I'm not "defending" anything. We're getting 38k a game this year. Some years it's 40k, some years 30k. Who cares?

If we start getting 30k a game next year then we get 60k for the derby then all that means is 30k Freo fans bought tickets so good on them. It doesn't mean much.
At least quote me if youre going to reply to something I said.

And I ask again, if 'no one cares' why are you in here posting, doing research on numbers and making long winded posts, look I couldn't care about crowd numbers, doesn't mean I'm going to enter a thread and make fun of others who want to discuss it, if you don't care, don't engage in the posting trying to belittle others who do actually care.

"big 4"

Essendon 34k vs Port
Carlton 23k vs GWS
Richmond 31k vs Freo

Must say was little disappointed with the crowd on Saturday night I was expecting at least 40+

Why is that a bad thing?

It's called an economy of scale, there are ADVANTAGES of having more clubs in one place, and this is one of them.

It also allows us to afford a 100K stadium (We can even have a 50K stadium as well....Without the government buying it for us).

Why is that a bad thing?

It's called an economy of scale, there are ADVANTAGES of having more clubs in one place, and this is one of them.

It also allows us to afford a 100K stadium (We can even have a 50K stadium as well....Without the government buying it for us).

What is you guys' obsession with good and bad? Getting 85k or however many it was to Melbourne vs Richmond is great, but stadium economics don't work so well if it's 85k one week and 20k the next.

The main "ADVANTAGE" to having so many clubs in Melbourne is to the AFL rather than the clubs. They fixture games to drive attendances, TV audiences etc. that benefit central revenues.

And LOL at being able to afford a 100k stadium without the government.

Hawks Can't pull a crowd on their own