Hawthorn’s 2019 Trade/FA - Targets/Incoming players discussion only

where would they be with Whitfield?
So your rebuttal is posing a question that we can’t possibly know the outcome to? Well played.

My view is the Hawks need many pieces to fill out the team. They need more mids, they need an elite KPB and they need an elite KPF. And all of these pieces are hard to find - so we better start looking.

Also some of these pieces are expensive, so the Hawks need to be careful how they spend their cap and how they use their assets.

My view of where the Hawks are currently at is that the midfield is too thin and the backline is not elite either or too old.

Clarko overcomes this with his press and by sending numbers back to shore things up. This has the negative effect that Hawthorn rarely have many players forward of the ball and that is why the forward entries are so poor and why scoring is so low. Entries simply come from too deep - often from around the centre line which means they are high and slow, and there are very few Hawthorn forwards actually in the forward line which means they are often outnumbered.

So it is my view that until Hawthorn fix their defensive deficiencies and strengthen their midfield there is no point adding expensive finishing pieces because they will make little difference - hence my reference to Freo - Hill is playing awesome - as good as he could play - and they are still 11th.

I am also concerned that the Hawks list is reverting back to the 00's - a list of flankers and wings. It is a road to nowhere.

Hill is awesome - but go get him in 2-3 years when the Hawks are ready for him.

Whitfield is obviously the superior player, would love to hear some news we are actively pursuing.
It's not impossible to get Patton, Cogs and Whitfield this year. But highly improbable.

I'm happy to get him next year as a FA and keep our first rounder/trade for Hill

And both from the same team.

No one has yet told me of an occasion where two of the best players from the same contending side left for another club. It's simply unprecedented.

Obviously we all hope it happens, but a situation like that has never occurred.

No one can tell you an occasion where the two of the best players from a club have left to another club because I don't think it's ever happened before.

Step 1 is to obviously get Coniglio as a free agent and once he is signed sealed and delivered I guess we'll have to wait and see what Lachie and his manager do in the trade period shortly after. Surely GWS would know of Lachie's further intentions and you'd think that with all the rumblings going on that they'll have a game plan on how to handle it all… OR they have no idea whatsoever and after we get Coniglio and the ink is dry on his signature then Lachie and is manager ask for a trade to us leaving GWS with a choice to make. Hold Lachie to his contract for another season or let him go for a bigger return this offseason. The idea of one clubs 2 better players leaving to another club at the same time in unprecedented but that's what the HFC does better than anyone else.

I find it amusing that 90 per cent of the media are convinced we will end up with Greenwood and Patton only this trade period and the only reason we're getting them is because of the opportunity to play consistent footy in a team that will struggle for a few years. In their minds you are crazy to pick Hawthorn over anyone bar Gold Coast because there irrelevant now. Not even trying to hide the bias anymore. Hawks are playing them like a fiddle ATM from what I'm hearing I suggest people grab the popcorn.

All about selling their brand.
If they're right, they get 3 months of "hopeless hawks" headlines during the preseason.
If they're wrong, they go with the "how can they be so stupid?"

Its a win win for them

Glad your insults are drawn from the same decade as your expectations on outside midfielders.
Outside mids have always been icing, some are plain sugar and water and some are top self cream cheese frosting but I have seldom seen outside mids win games without players with ball winning ability feeding them, hence cake. This debate should be if our cake has risen to CWA standard (Cogs injured, not ours yet & Mich recovering) and is now ready for some frosting or are we still going to be battling with a half baked home economics class cake on which even sugar icing is wasted.

And now I want some cake. You bastard.

No one can tell you an occasion where the two of the best players from a club have left to another club because I don't think it's ever happened before.

Step 1 is to obviously get Coniglio as a free agent and once he is signed sealed and delivered I guess we'll have to wait and see what Lachie and his manager do in the trade period shortly after. Surely GWS would know of Lachie's further intentions and you'd think that with all the rumblings going on that they'll have a game plan on how to handle it all… OR they have no idea whatsoever and after we get Coniglio and the ink is dry on his signature then Lachie and is manager ask for a trade to us leaving GWS with a choice to make. Hold Lachie to his contract for another season or let him go for a bigger return this offseason. The idea of one clubs 2 better players leaving to another club at the same time in unprecedented but that's what the HFC does better than anyone else.

If Whitfield asks for a trade then I imagine multiple clubs would be keen. They'd be stupid not to be.

However if we can satisfy GWS with their demands then they would be the stupid ones not to take it. I just wonder whether emotion would come in to the decision making process on their end, due to the 'look' of the player movements in total. Would they really treat the deal in isolation, or factor in that we had just poached one of their other best players?

I'm sure the AFL would really hate it too.

I'm not saying it can't be done, just pointing out that it would be an unprecedented situation.

If Whitfield asks for a trade then I imagine multiple clubs would be keen. They'd be stupid not to be.

However if we can satisfy GWS with their demands then they would be the stupid ones not to take it. I just wonder whether emotion would come in to the decision making process on their end, due to the 'look' of the player movements in total. Would they really treat the deal in isolation, or factor in that we had just poached one of their other best players?

I'm sure the AFL would really hate it too.

I'm not saying it can't be done, just pointing out that it would be an unprecedented situation.
Oh I agree with you mate. It's really just sit and watch what happens type stuff and you'd assume a lot will depend on what Lachie and his manager do / say. GWS hold all the cards and have every right to hold him to his contract. All I know is if we snag them both in one offseason then I wholeheartedly apologise to the guy I heaped shit on that first mentioned the story of a drunk Lachie saying he and Coniglio would be Hawks by 2020. I reckon one of these days when / if both are at the Hawks then someone needs to interview Lachie about that :)

Soo is there any news on Cogs? Or any other trades/ FA?

Or just pages talking about the JOM.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Last week Cogs was hawthorn bound... this week he is going to Carlton.... next week he will be staying... rinse & repeat.

Image result for rollercoaster gif

JOM stuff has been moved.

Let's stick to the rollercoaster.

Please stop, been a massive Knicks fan my entire life, and Jim Dolan and his to day to day handling of the Knicks is borderline misconduct. Sell the team
He'll get Kevin on to ya, how do you like watching from home.

Sell the team Jim

Stevo on 7 news still has the Blues in front. Him and Tom Browne playing from the same book. Get it through your heads guys Carlton needs to get a coach first before someone like Cogs entertains the idea of going there.
Did anyone watch ch 7 news tonight? Did they say carlton is ahead or he has nominated them..i missed it