List Mgmt. Hawthorn Trade and FA news discussion NO OPPOSITION SUPPORTERS

The state of the list and avg age has obviously impacted our ability to get players in . If we can maintain a high level next year with improvement again from Sicily, burton, hardwick, worpel and Morrison who we all think are our next stars, as well as getting guys at boxhill pushing out the old boys we will become attractive again.

What concerns me is the likely hood of us winning a flag will be 3-4 years away and we will be going through a similar stage as we are now where we see Stratton, smith,gunston and bruest nearing or at the end.

Exactly we are in no mans land. We either cough up and pay what's required to add quality free agents/ trades or we take the long haul approach bottom out and hit the draft. I have no interest in being stuck in midtable for a decade.

To be fair, the Dons have nabbed Smith, Saad, Shiel and Stringer in the last 2 years. We’ve got Impey.

What does that tell you in terms of where players see our list vs theirs??

We’re seen as a club who has 8 blokes over 30. Fact.

As much as it kills me to say this. But we’re no longer seen as a destination club by the industry.

Seen as? I doubt prospective player would go through the list date by date but if they did they wouldn't find "8 Blokes" maybe 7 in December when Izzy is 30.
There's also a good chance a prospective player would have been personally out run by that old geezer (Izzy)

Id be more worried that none of the seven is being moved on, not that we can't compete in salary and picks.

Exactly we are in no mans land. We either cough up and pay what's required to add quality free agents/ trades or we take the long haul approach bottom out and hit the draft. I have no interest in being stuck in midtable for a decade.

The need to 'bottom out' in oder to improve, with the only other option being stuck midtable for year, has no basis in fact whatsoever.

In fact, apart from us 2004-2008...when has it ever happened at all?

The need to 'bottom out' in oder to improve, with the only other option being stuck midtable for year, has no basis in fact whatsoever.

That period for us was a huge cornerstone in our decade of dominance.

We're still a destination club, we have to be. We have the best coach in the business by far and one of the best of all time. He's just signed another deal. We are the most successful club of the last 60 years, most successful club of the AFL era. We have MASSIVE recent success, success that virtually every other club can only dream about in their wildest fantasies. We are highly financial, have among the most members and are about to move to state of the art new facilities.

I think it all comes down to money. Other clubs throw big cash at x player and we refuse to match it. And I reckon this may be what helps make us a great club. I reckon a simplified version of what goes down would be this....

"This is our offer."
"X club has offered more."
"That's too much for one player."
"Ok, I'm going to x club."
"No worries, seeya later, we'll develop our own thanks."

I hope this is a bit of a wake up call for the club, the goal posts have changed and we need to become more dynamic and progressive in our approach. I can't stand how people sugar coat it, we went all in with our 2 main targets and we weren't considered the best option, why is that? There's a reason, and if it's money then it's an easy fix. We have 8 days to save us becoming an irrelevant player in the off-season market for the 2nd year in a row.
Not so easy. We don’t have attractive draft picks and we don’t have attractive players that we’re willing to trade. I would trade the likes of Schoey and TOB in a heartbeat but who wants them? Even our VFL players don’t offer much value. It’s likely we’ll end up with no one of value and we’ll just have to suck it up. And I wouldn’t be happy throwing a ridiculous sum of money on one player either.

Firstly... for what other teams has 'bottoming out' worked and become the cornerstone of success. None

Secondly. Our team this year had 15 wins, and finished entrenched in the finals (lucky to be top 4, but whatever). People can say what they like about 'lucky' or any other negative spin, but we performed better than 14 other teams

Our 2004 team NEEDED complete rebilding because we were Carlton levels of ineptitude. This one doesn't.

We didn't set out to bottom out. Nor should we. and even then we didn't tank, didn't come last even though we probably should have. All our talls had careers cut short.

We should not bottom out by design. No guarantees we rise again

it's all about sustainable success and managing your list towards achieving that. this won't happen if you sell the farm to obtain just 1 player. you may get a short splurge of success but it won't last.

Why the media going with the line that Essendon offer was the lowest $$$ out of all of it? Surely they were not offering less than the $800k we were?

They are gullible fools. By repeating that they are saying he took a pay cut to leave GWS AND went to the club which will give GWS the best trade

In hindsight perhaps it would have been better to have bombed out the season at rd 18 or so and finish around 10th to gain a better draft pick. But no.....we had to finish the season strongly and make top 4 only to get bowled out in straight sets in the finals. Yeah, that was certainly great experience for our younger blokes but has done us no favours now. Can’t have it both ways.

We're still a destination club, we have to be. We have the best coach in the business by far and one of the best of all time. He's just signed another deal. We are the most successful club of the last 60 years, most successful club of the AFL era. We have MASSIVE recent success, success that virtually every other club can only dream about in their wildest fantasies. We are highly financial, have among the most members and are about to move to state of the art new facilities.

I think it all comes down to money. Other clubs throw big cash at x player and we refuse to match it. And I reckon this may be what helps make us a great club. I reckon a simplified version of what goes down would be this....

"This is our offer."
"X club has offered more."
"That's too much for one player."
"Ok, I'm going to x club."
"No worries, seeya later, we'll develop our own thanks."

Seriously mate you need to move with the times. The nature of the game has changed and you can’t stay at the top forever. Shiel choose Essendon for the money and he feels that they have a better list.

TL chose Richmond as he felt that they had a better list - we actually offered more money

We are still a destination club but not like we were 3 years ago. We have gaping holes in our list which need to filled fast.

We just lost the best fitness coach in the business. We will be still up there next year but need to pull a rabbit out of hat this draft to contend next year

Richmond bottoming out from 1983-2016 worked well.

People here should stop potting one another. We got played by Shiel and Connors.

I think this is a pretty big assumption.

If Shiel was always 100% committed to us he wouldn't have entertained other clubs. No matter what so many on here wanted to say about it. If Shiel was determined to get to HFC, he would have. GWS would have had no other bidders.

As such, if Shiel wasn't 100% committed the onus was always on us to convince him. Neither Shiel or Connors should be thought of negatively for taking perhaps a far longer term, more lucrative offer. He was never ours to have and he only needs to answer to himself and his family.

Many on here are pissed at Shiel and Connors primarily because some on here tried to convince the majority it was a done deal. It wasn't.

I love the club and in all honesty I'm not too fussed we have missed on Shiel when the bidding got to insane amounts.

However, you do have to wonder if we ****ed this up with a 'wait and see approach to Lynch' or a temptation with 'the Chad'.

Perhaps two weeks ago we had him at 800k a year and then we started thinking we could get a hotter bird, before ultimately coming crawling back at 1am drunk on the dance floor.