Hawthorn's AGM- Will you attend and are you willing to vote against any further Tassie games

mchawk

Suspended
May 3, 2010
Pretty straight forward questions.

The other side we have quite a bit of support. I was interested in numbers

Yes i will be there in support of Jeff Kennett and congratulate him and the Board of the Hawthorn Football Club in securing our next 5 years with a fantastic sponsorship that will retain Hawthorn as a power club of the AFL

Well done Jeff.

Yes i will be there in support of Jeff Kennett and congratulate him and the Board of the Hawthorn Football Club in securing our next 5 years with a fantastic sponsorship that will retain Hawthorn as a power club of the AFL

Well done Jeff.

Make sure to wipe your chin, mate.

Its too late for that.

It might be prudent to just 'formalise' than no more than 4-5 can be taken outside melbourne in the articles.

We did the same for the name and the jumper after 1996

Well done Jeff.
We are not a power club. Collingwood is a power club, hence the AFL gives them the world - 18 games in Melbourne a year. We are financially secure, but we are relying on a deal that could quite easily get swept out from underneath us should Lennon lose the next Tasmanian election.

Secondly, surely it is the responsibility of the board to assess other options that both secure our viability whilst refocusing the club's vision towards our core constituency.

Once again a distorted question and not the full facts reported so obviously it's going to be one sided by the way the question has been forwarded.
Well you would say that wouldn't you!

The question was pretty clear

And the result is pretty clear.

You forgot to mention there is a poll on bigfooty as well;

56 voted no to 5 games

5 voted for 5 games (yes thats correct, 5)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=775614

Once again a distorted question and not the full facts reported so obviously it's going to be one sided by the way the question has been forwarded.

Well you would say that wouldn't you!

The question was pretty clear

And the result is pretty clear.

In excess of 1100 people who viewed the thread did not bother to vote.

Actually that doesn't show that at all.

Each time anybody views the thread it registers as being viewed - thing is you can only vote once.

I must have viewed it myself at least 4 or 5 times ;)!

We are not a power club. Collingwood is a power club, hence the AFL gives them the world - 18 games in Melbourne a year. We are financially secure, but we are relying on a deal that could quite easily get swept out from underneath us should Lennon lose the next Tasmanian election.

Secondly, surely it is the responsibility of the board to assess other options that both secure our viability whilst refocusing the club's vision towards our core constituency.

Yes of course, if that Kangaroo-supporting idiot Bartlett gets in who knows what might happen. :confused:

I want MY club to be successful, onfield and off, without relying on the whims of the AFL for survival. I don't want MY club to be the Kangaroos/Dogs/Demons, hell even the Tigers.

I want to support a club that has the financial clout to compete with the likes of Collingwood and West Coast. If MY club isn't 'favoured' by those in power, I'm happy for MY club to do whatever necessary to attain the same level.

If you want a repeat of 94-2003, then by all means return games to Melbourne, but expect to make losses, have to cut staff, reduce the size of the club, etc - whilst becoming reliant on the AFL for survival - need I point out this is the very organisation that appears to have gone out of it's way to eliminate us over the last 25 years.

Don't confuse public rhetoric and use (abuse?) of primary figures which are rubbery at best, with the actual net economic benefits of replacing low-drawing, loss-making games, with highly profitable ones.

15k in Tassie = >40k at MCG, sellout at Etihad. That's BEFORE the naming rights sponsorship is included. (It's a package deal of course, but they do split it up for whatever reason).

Put the good of the club beyond your own needs. If you want to follow a local side, then follow Box Hill, don't turn Hawthorn into a wiki article.

Well done Jeff.

BTW, Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, Carlton (power clubs) fans would not settle for their clubs playing so many games in another state in a deal that goes for half a decade and will probably be extended after 2016.

Quite obviuosly we haven't the amount of supporters as those four clubs who have been around since the year dot.

Correct me if i'm wrong but didn't Richmond also try to get in down at Tassie ?

I don't blame them as they could see the financial rewards that the Hawks are reaping.

Yes of course, if that Kangaroo-supporting idiot Bartlett gets in who knows what might happen. :confused:

I want MY club to be successful, onfield and off, without relying on the whims of the AFL for survival. I don't want MY club to be the Kangaroos/Dogs/Demons, hell even the Tigers.

I want to support a club that has the financial clout to compete with the likes of Collingwood and West Coast. If MY club isn't 'favoured' by those in power, I'm happy for MY club to do whatever necessary to attain the same level.

If you want a repeat of 94-2003 then by all means return games to Melbourne, but expect to make losses, have to cut staff, reduce the size of the club, etc - whilst becoming reliant on the AFL for survival - need I point out this is the very organisation that appears to have gone out of it's way to eliminate us over the last 25 years.

Don't confuse public rhetoric and use (abuse?) of primary figures which are rubbery at best, with the actual net economic benefits of replacing low-drawing, loss-making games, with highly profitable ones.

15k in Tassie = >40k at MCG, sellout at Etihad. That's BEFORE the naming rights sponsorship is included. (It's a package deal of course, but they do split it up for whatever reason).

Put the good of the club beyond your own needs. If you want to follow a local side, then follow Box Hill, don't turn Hawthorn into a wiki article.
Probably the most inaccurate post I think I have ever read on this topic!

I don't know where to start so I won't - done it too many times before.

For interest sakes, were the real facts canvased on HHQ (i.e. 5 games only in 24+ game season) or misleading like lots of other conversations on forums?

JMTC

You're grasping at straws (and you know it).

Everybody that voted on big footy knew what the question was - it doesn't matter whether there are 22 or 24 games a year - hawk posters don't want 5 games played there.

And BTW why are we giving the game away - for nothing?

And why is the deal at worse terms for the 4 games than we negotiated 5 years ago?

Is kennett trying to say there is less money in football now? I don't think so!

You're grasping at straws (and you know it).

Everybody that voted on big footy knew what the question was - it doesn't matter whether there are 22 or 24 games a year - hawk posters don't want 5 games played there.

And BTW why are we giving the game away - for nothing?

And why is the deal at worse terms for the 4 games than we negotiated 5 years ago?

Is kennett trying to say there is less money in football now? I don't think so!
Haha. Good tactic. You in politics?

No, most were talking about 5 in tassie, 6 in melbourne, and 11 away games. Thats wrong.

We didn't give the game away for nothing, we gave it away in order to hang onto the all important "clean stadium" rights.

There is less money in some parts of footy. That extra game we will make 200k+ in not losing money in hosting the Suns or the Giants at the G (assuming there is a 22 game season).

And most people won't care about the 5th game as they all told me (when they were fearmongering that the 5 games were for a 22 game season) that there is no way the AFL are going to go to a 24 game season! So whats everyone worrying about?

Hawthorn's AGM- Will you attend and are you willing to vote against any further Tassie games