heartbreak games

For strictly home and away games mine was probably a game not many others would remember, the Cats coming of a PF in 2004 and up against the Dees early (maybe Rd 1?) in 2005.

Went in the MCC members with my footy captain at the time and his dad (Dees supporters). Thought 2005 was Geelong's big chance to get back to a grand final for the first time in ten years. Then the game started and Melbourne smashed us...it was unbelievable. This was the year Cam Bruce was favourite for the Brownlow for the first month of the year. Bruce, Green, Robbo...they ran riot. Sitting in the Members just made it worse, I wonder if anyone has torn up an MCC membership after a tough loss before...?

I'm sure if I'd been at the Collingwood demolitions of 2006/2008 (especially 2006), they would have been bitter losses as well, but that Melbourne game just sticks out for me as a time when I really thought..."S**t, I might never see my team win a flag."

If you're adding finals, you can say two names for Geelong fans: Nick Davis and Leigh Colbert.

Today was pretty bad. But nothing in my mind compares to that game against Port Adelaide in tassie back in 2007. The Power needed 2 goals in one minute and guess what they did?

Very heartbreaking.

Yes, cost us top 4.

I smashed the remote, and left the house (and i'm actually very even tempered)

1) 2nd Showdown in 97 - 5 goals up at 3/4 time. Adelaide kicking wit a gale behind them in the last. I said to my Crow mate 'Crows will win this' at 3/4 time...he called me an idiot. They did. Bucketed down all day. Cost us a spot in the finals in our first year in the AFL.

) Kangaroos @ MCG in 99 - Epic battle all day which saw Port lead by 4-5 goals at 1/4 time. Was a see-sawing battle after that. The lead changed about 8 times in the last quarter and the game was won due to a bullshit free kick pulled out of the colon of the umpire with 30 seconds left. Nearly broke my hand in anger.

3) Kangaroos @ Manuka in 05 - something like 50 points up during the 3rd quarter. North get up and win. Summed up our year in 05

From a Hawks perspective i think i can safely say that we've been on the good end of a lot of these close ones. A couple of recent ones that come to mind are:

- The 2007 elimination final vs Adelaide.
- Dixon's after the siren kick in RD.17 2001 vs the blues.
- vs Essendon RD.5 2007.
- RD 12 vs Adelaide 2008

Lets not forget also that we have also inflected plenty of heartbreak on the Cats over the journey. Including:

- '89 Grand Final Hawks hold off fast-finishing cats
- RD.1 1992 (Dunstall inspired hawks overhaul 38point lead)
- 2000 Elimination Final Hawks in 8th spot knock of Cats in 5th bundling them out of the finals
- RD 4 2007 Lowly ranked hawks come from behind to pip the cats just before the final siren
- 2008 GF Hawks surge in 3rd qtr to defeat unbackable favourites Geelong in the big one.

In fairness, as much as today stung, in a world of karma we were probably due that one.

Lets face it these scenarios are why we love the game so much. The bitter pain when you're on the wrong end of the stick in contrast to the unbridled delight when you're on the other.

'87 Prelim vs Hawks for me. Very young but to think we were going to the GF for big Jim to then run over the mark.

Then the '00 GF vs Dons... horrible day.

From a Hawks perspective i think i can safely say that we've been on the good end of a lot of these close ones. A couple of recent ones that come to mind are:

- vs Essendon RD.5 2007.
- RD 12 vs Adelaide 2008

Lets not forget also that we have also inflected plenty of heartbreak on the Cats over the journey. Including:

- 2000 Elimination Final Hawks in 8th spot knock of Cats in 5th bundling them out of the finals
- RD 4 2007 Lowly ranked hawks come from behind to pip the cats just before the final siren
- 2008 GF Hawks surge in 3rd qtr to defeat unbackable favourites Geelong in the big one.

In fairness, as much as today stung, in a world of karma we were probably due that one.

Lets face it these scenarios are why we love the game so much. The bitter pain when you're on the wrong end of the stick in contrast to the unbridled delight when you're on the other.

Wow, way to completely mess up the thread. Should we all start bragging about good wins now?

Home and away season? Possibly one when Alessio kicked the winning goal with about three seconds left. It was back when Essendon were almost unbeatable (2001 I think) and we threw away a decent lead

Oh man that game.... And Paul Kelly kicking it into the man on the mark in the last qtr 30m out. Probably would have stitched the game had he kicked it.

Home & Away: Hird and Sheedy's final game vs West Coast Rnd 2007. We were down by 7 goals in the 4th quarter i think and we got within 2 points but we just couldn't win it.

Other: 2001 GF

Great game that one though. Thought Lucas was going to drag your lot over the line. how many did he kick in the last qtr? 6 or so wasn't it?

Forgetting about finals, the one that sticks out in recent memory is the loss to Brisbane last year at AAMI in round 4.

We were comfortably up well into the 3rd quarter, something like 7 or 8 goals. All of a sudden the heavens open, it's pouring, and our team forgets to switch to wet weather football mode. Brisbane run over us in the last quarter as I sit there in the rain. Probably the beginning of the up and down for over the past couple of years for us as well.

Finals wise - no brainer..... 94 prelim against the cats !! Hard to even talk about!
H&A - 2001 comeback game against the bombers, lol 69 points up and lost!

I didn't go, but the St Kilda v Essendon game in Round 22 last year for me.

Crows had to beat Bulldogs in Round 22 Sunday arvo to sneak in to 4th spot, ahead of St Kilda on percentage. We did so, in a heart-attack style game. For 3 hours we were 4th, heading to the 'G to play Geelong in a Qualifying Final (to get smashed, but to get a double chance).

St Kilda had to beat Essendon by 106 points or more to sneak ahead of the Crows and take 4th. Essendon comprehensively rolled over and quite happily took it up the date, allowing St Kilda to sneak in to 4th.

Cheers, Essendon (y)

The cats probably owe us a bit, we've had a lot of close wins against them the last 20 years, and some coming in finals.....

The crows in the early 90s got us a couple of times, 17 points up in the wet at waverly with 3 minutes left and they kicked 3 arsey goals to steal it by a point. And another when we led at footy park all night, 5 goals up at 3 qtr time. A young Andrew Mcleod (might have been his first game) kicked goal of the year in the dying seconds to win the game.

- vs Essendon RD.5 2007.
- RD 12 vs Adelaide 2008

we also had a few close wins at kardinia park when we were terrible in the late 90s. Also the 1991 second semi we won by 2 points, not to mention the 89 GF

2006 AFL Grand Final. If the game went for another minute we probably would have won. Same could be said for West Coast in 2005 as well. The team that lost each GF had the momentum.

EDIT: When Corey Jones? kicked the winner against Sydney at the SCG on a Saturday Night. I can't remember the year but I was pissed we lost.

Most Swans games are thrillers so lots of heartbreaking results occur, think it was two seasons ago one happened against WC in the normal season.

Heartbreak In 2006. Hell I watch the replay and still cry.

But H&A I was pretty gutted this year we lost to Fremantle (enough said) but for me it was worse as it was Kirks and Boltons milestone..

But for my whole AFL watching I always get angry when we lose I can't help it.. Can't name any in particular

heartbreak games