Heathcote District FL

Congratulations to the Hawks, great news a real step forward. Hopefully Billo plays on and helps Shane and the kids :thumbsu:

Discussion at my work this morning amongst the Huntly faithful about the appointment of Hamo to Huntly, the boys here are not happy. Apparently they all wanted someone from outside the club. They dont think he will be able to pull in the vital recruits that they need. Feel that he is a St. Arnaud boy first, wont know enough quality local footballers. Does anyone on here know much more about him??? :(:(:(

I tend to agree they needed someone from the outside. He has spent two years as Assistant Coach their already and was unable to recruit or influence the side to greater things that the horred trend that has been in place for many a year. There admin appears to be a real worry. Anyway nothing personal good luck to him hopefully there is some light at the end of tunnel for Huntly.

I tend to agree they needed someone from the outside. He has spent two years as Assistant Coach their already and was unable to recruit or influence the side to greater things that the horred trend that has been in place for many a year. There admin appears to be a real worry. Anyway nothing personal good luck to him hopefully there is some light at the end of tunnel for Huntly.[/quote

Think you will find that Daniel Geary was assistant coach for the last couple of years. This will be Hammos first afficial role at the the club although he has helped out where he could, he has good contacts and is now able to move on recruitment, he's got a great repore with every one at the club including the commitee. Congrats big fella hope the recruiting goes well, as for young city chicks comment about not every one being happy my guess it's the same ones who don't get involved down there, stand around in the shadows telling every one what the clubs doing wrong and how much better they could do it, get in and have a dip or p.ss off know alls.

27 September 2007
Hamilton to coach Huntly

NEW Huntly coach Shane Hamilton has set a target of six wins for the Hawks in the Heathcote District Football League next season.

Hamilton was appointed coach of the Hawks on Monday night, taking over from Mark Billings, who has stepped down after three years in the job.

Hamilton spent two years previously as the chairman of selectors of the Hawks, while he also has experience coaching Woorinen in what was then the Mid-Murray Football League.

‘‘We’d like to win six games next year, and get the club up and running again, that’s the main thing,’’ Hamilton said yesterday.

‘‘And with winning games, some of the enjoyment comes back into playing footy.’’ Should the Hawks win six games next season, it would be a massive improvement.

Since the start of the 2002 season, Huntly has won just five games, going winless this year.

Hamilton played AFL-VFL football for both Geelong and Brisbane.

He was a member of the Geelong side that lost to Hawthorn by six points in the 1989 grand final.

Hamilton was one of six applicants for the Hawks coaching job.

‘‘We chose Shane because he has obviously had the AFL experience, but he has also done a lot of work with our under-17s over the past couple of years and has a really good rapport with them,’’ Huntly president Allen Dillon said.

‘‘But the most important thing is he really wants to coach the club.

‘‘He understands where we’re at and what we need to do, so we were very happy to appoint Shane.

‘‘We’re hoping that through his past involvement we can retain our younger footballers because of their relationship with him, and also bring other players into the club to make us more competitive.’’ The club remains hopeful Billings will stay on as a player.

as for young city chicks comment about not every one being happy my guess it's the same ones who don't get involved down there, stand around in the shadows telling every one what the clubs doing wrong and how much better they could do it, get in and have a dip or p.ss off know alls.[/quote]

Interesting comment coming from someone who doesnt play anymore, anyway i was talking to a friend who plays netball out at Huntly and she assures me that Hamo will be excellent for the club. She says he is very well liked and will get the support of the committee, new and old.

The boys i was talking to this morning are players, and are entitled to their opinion, especially when he will be coaching them to six wins. LOL

Hamo has the confidence of the committee and supporters, but you need more than that to win some games, you also need to retain the few descent players that they have and you can only do that by building their confidence that Hamo can and will recriut some quality players. Not two or three key players, but a good ten descent footballers, amongst some younger up and coming local boys.

Put that in your pipe and smoke it, old boy!!!;););)

p.s. any truth in the rumour Hamo's brother in law Tracey "Guns" Wilson will be the fitness coach???
He would be an asset, with his experience in footy and athletics.

I tend to agree they needed someone from the outside. He has spent two years as Assistant Coach their already and was unable to recruit or influence the side to greater things that the horred trend that has been in place for many a year. There admin appears to be a real worry. Anyway nothing personal good luck to him hopefully there is some light at the end of tunnel for Huntly.

Originally Posted by youngcitychick
Discussion at my work this morning amongst the Huntly faithful about the appointment of Hamo to Huntly, the boys here are not happy. Apparently they all wanted someone from outside the club. They dont think he will be able to pull in the vital recruits that they need. Feel that he is a St. Arnaud boy first, wont know enough quality local footballers. Does anyone on here know much more about him???

The guy has only had the job for two days, its nearly 6 months before the start of the '08 season so lets at least give him a chance! He was never an assistant coach but he was the chairman of selectors in '06.
Whist I acknowledge what it may seem like from the outside looking in, the facts are the admin department must be as hard working and switched on as you are likely to find, how else do you think the club would stay financial and even be competing at all given the on field performances of the last 5 years??
If the so called "Huntly Faithful" have issues, but, would still like to see the club forge ahead, I think they would be better off airing them with Shane or the Committee rather than around the workplace!

Oh Yeah, Huntly U13.5's went down by 9 points in their big one:(:(:(
Hey there Phantom,
I happened to be at Canterbury Park on Saturday watching my nephew for golden square. Thought i would hang around and watch a bit of the hawks. Phantom did you fail to mention that Huntly have got the next 'Michael Long' playing there.
This kid is the fastest athlete i have seen on a footy field in years. After a bit of investigating, i believe his nickname is 'grover'. This kid is sensational, along with the tall, blonde headed ruckman, those two were stand outs.
Bad luck on losing, things are looking good for Huntly if this is the crop coming on. Oh, and i forgot to mention the fantastic tackles put on the opposition by the young lady. WOW, she makes them pay for it when she catches them.
Keep me posted phantom on Grover, he has AFL written all over him. I heard that AFL draught spotters were at the game??? Is that fair dinkum.[/quote]

Hey YCC you don't miss much!
Young Grover picked up the league B&F in our division as well as the Huntly B&F and yeah he goes alright and is a terrific kid to boot. We got beat on the day but what a good game of footy to watch. The young lady you mention went okay also in what I think was her 62nd or 3rd consecutive game for the club. Another big disappointment on the day came when I heard that comment was allegedly made from a league official on his disapproval of the attire worn by members of the Huntly coaching staff, of which I was one. IF this was the case I think the league needs to look seriously at implementing an internal code of conduct and removing anyone from their ranks that thinks junior country football is about wearing suits on a hot Spring day as these guys do. Anyone else here had bad experiences at local JFL level??

Fantom:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Oh Yeah, Country junior footy is about the kids. Time for a change!!!:(

News this morning that ex Geelong & Brisbane AFL player Shane Hamilton has been appointed non playing coach at Huntly. This is a coup for the Hawks as I believe a couple of other clubs were chasing him as well. He has taken training a few times over the last couple of years and coached a game when Mark Billings was unavailable,the players cant speak highly enough about him.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Good luck to Shane in his new role, seems like a decent fella. Shane took the time last week to speak to the kids the night before their Grand Final and had the kids spellbound whilst relaying his experiences. If he continues this involvement with the kids and the supporters of the club he may very well lead the club on a very successful journey.

Fantom:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Oh Yeah, The J in BJFL doesn't stand for Jurassic (It's time to go .......)

I didn't know my mum knew about big footy. no complaints from me either, i would have loved to have seen all the hdfl pages in colour too, but unfortuntately, the purse strings don't allow it

Just trying giving credit where credit is due. A lot of people on here are quick to bag the Addy (or any country newspaper) but don't seem to praise it too often, even if it does deserve it. But that's the nature of the game - you don't get much thanks, only ever hear about the complaints. You did good. Son! ;)

And congrats to Elmore too. Once the Roo boys were out, I was hoping they would win, they were the best side this season. I was happy for Tony Southcombe, everytime I've spoken to him he's come across as professional and a nice bloke. And I can't say that for all the HDFL coaches.

Young Grover picked up the league B&F in our division as well as the Huntly B&F and yeah he goes alright and is a terrific kid to boot. We got beat on the day but what a good game of footy to watch. The young lady you mention went okay also in what I think was her 62nd or 3rd consecutive game for the club. Another big disappointment on the day came when I heard that comment was allegedly made from a league official on his disapproval of the attire worn by members of the Huntly coaching staff, of which I was one. IF this was the case I think the league needs to look seriously at implementing an internal code of conduct and removing anyone from their ranks that thinks junior country football is about wearing suits on a hot Spring day as these guys do. Anyone else here had bad experiences at local JFL level??

Oh Yeah, Country junior footy is about the kids. Time for a change!!!:([/quote]

You didnt accidently wear your White Hills gear?? That would be enough to get any p****d off:D

You didnt accidently wear your White Hills gear?? That would be enough to get any p****d off:D[/quote]

:DTouche':D

Fantom:thumbsu::thumbsu:[/quote]

Seriously the CCBJFL is in need of a major overhaul:thumbsdown:

Just a note from someone who has played against Shane Hamilton and seen him in action as a coach. I have no doubt that he will draw players ti that club. He was able to draw some excellent talent to Woorinen when he coached there. I think that some of the players who may not be happy with his appointment may be the ones who miss out on a spot next year when some of the recruits he wil bring come into the side. I am not saying that he is a miracle worker and that Huntly will walk into the finals but any side that Hammo has been in charge of has a fair dinkum crack and plays as a team. Good luck to him and i will watch the progress of Huntly with interest

Just a note from someone who has played against Shane Hamilton and seen him in action as a coach. Good luck to him and i will watch the progress of Huntly with interest

Good on you Roota#6 for stepping up and giving us some info from someone who has played against him. I will be watching alson to see his progress. I might nick out to the Huntly Club B&F tomoro nite and see if he is out there. I might just ask him what his plans are...:p

Do that and i am sure you will be impressed. He loves the game and will do a good job.

PS He also did sport one of the great mulletts the AFL has seen when palying in that famous 89 grand final :D

Just a note from someone who has played against Shane Hamilton and seen him in action as a coach. I have no doubt that he will draw players ti that club. He was able to draw some excellent talent to Woorinen when he coached there. I think that some of the players who may not be happy with his appointment may be the ones who miss out on a spot next year when some of the recruits he wil bring come into the side. I am not saying that he is a miracle worker and that Huntly will walk into the finals but any side that Hammo has been in charge of has a fair dinkum crack and plays as a team. Good luck to him and i will watch the progress of Huntly with interest

Go Hawks!! Who do you think will Coach the Mountain Men Roota? and what did you think of your first year in the HDFL? Standard,your own form,better players in the comp etc.

Oh Yeah, Country junior footy is about the kids. Time for a change!!!:(

Thanks Fantom, you know what they say, the girl gets around!!!:thumbsu:
You didnt answer my question mate, was there really afl draft scouts there looking at grover???
What the heck were you fellas wearing, thongs, bluey singlet, and stubby shorts??? It was a really warm day out there, sorry the kids didnt win, they sound like they have worked really hard. which one was your kid, how did they play?
I was also at the QEO on Sunday for the older age divisions and their coaching staff were wearing the normal polo shirts and shorts, saw one runner with thongs on! So not sure what they are complaining about. Good to hear shane Hamilton is soooo involved at the grass roots level. Well done.:)

Just trying giving credit where credit is due. A lot of people on here are quick to bag the Addy (or any country newspaper) but don't seem to praise it too often, even if it does deserve it. But that's the nature of the game - you don't get much thanks, only ever hear about the complaints. You did good. Son! ;)

And congrats to Elmore too. Once the Roo boys were out, I was hoping they would win, they were the best side this season. I was happy for Tony Southcombe, everytime I've spoken to him he's come across as professional and a nice bloke. And I can't say that for all the HDFL coaches.

Asked some bloody decent questions next time :D

Thanks Fantom, you know what they say, the girl gets around!!!:thumbsu:
You didnt answer my question mate, was there really afl draft scouts there looking at grover???
What the heck were you fellas wearing, thongs, bluey singlet, and stubby shorts??? It was a really warm day out there, sorry the kids didnt win, they sound like they have worked really hard. which one was your kid, how did they play?
I was also at the QEO on Sunday for the older age divisions and their coaching staff were wearing the normal polo shirts and shorts, saw one runner with thongs on! So not sure what they are complaining about. Good to hear shane Hamilton is soooo involved at the grass roots level. Well done.:)

YCC
In answer to your question re AFL scouts, If they are checkin out 13 y.o kids Fantom thinks they got nothin better to do. Some of these kids are pretty good but a lot will discover beer n chicks in years to come and football may take a back seat. Which player belonged to me? The pretty girl wearing 25... Apparently one member of our coaching panel wore a tank top which drew some derogatory comments from a particular person. Anyway it could all change next year as word has it that several clubs are now investigating the possibility of forming a break away league.

Fantom:thumbsu:

Tip of the week "If everyone says you're a tosser, chances are you are!"

Thanks for the tip Doona! I'll take that on board! :p

Are you going to the GVFL GF on Sun? Better stay a bit more sober than last year if you are going to try to recruit for season 2008!! lol

Gotta get a job first before I worry about any recruiting. The young bloke's 2nd birthday Sunday so unsure of me movements.

Last year was a ripper day out from memory (which is 1/4 time of the 1s), reckon I thought Id played it by about 10pm that night.

Get on the Lions bandwagon and support Broady boys Inness, Spargo and Tomkins :thumbsu:

right on the money with that one. :D:D:D heard the other day geary wants to return to the bendigo league. anyone heard any news on this:confused:
Gears is staying put, loves it where he is told me theres no way he's leaving the club and that he has had no real chance to accomplish anything playing wise because of injury and all being well will line up for the Hawks early in 08:thumbsu: