Heathcote District FL

Doona2 said:
Waste of a post I know but c'mon lift lads, we cant be seen lingering on page 2!!!

Ok Doona I will help out, Looking at Heathcote's side for the season they have a large amount of new names and should be a better side than last season after they settle together. Ruckman Conheady looks good everyone knows what Waters can do while Burke is the geniuene rover type with good skills. How does everyone reckon they will go this season?

On The Money said:
Ok Doona I will help out, Looking at Heathcote's side for the season they have a large amount of new names and should be a better side than last season after they settle together. Ruckman Conheady looks good everyone knows what Waters can do while Burke is the geniuene rover type with good skills. How does everyone reckon they will go this season?

The way I see it apart from White Hills the who may have lost a little bit of ground, the top 5 from last season have all added to their lists. Colbo's return of many experienced premiership players no doubt have em in the mix fo rthe 4th to 6th, similar with Broadford who have added Dunne, Fletcher, Finch to a relatively young list.

Talking to a few around the traps many believe it could well b LBU's year, with Mounts, Heathcote, then Elmore knocking on the door, with the Hillie's, Colbo, Broady and possibly Huntly fighting out the last spot. North Bendigo for me dont seem to threatening.

Doona2 said:
The way I see it apart from White Hills the who may have lost a little bit of ground, the top 5 from last season have all added to their lists. Colbo's return of many experienced premiership players no doubt have em in the mix fo rthe 4th to 6th, similar with Broadford who have added Dunne, Fletcher, Finch to a relatively young list.

Talking to a few around the traps many believe it could well b LBU's year, with Mounts, Heathcote, then Elmore knocking on the door, with the Hillie's, Colbo, Broady and possibly Huntly fighting out the last spot. North Bendigo for me dont seem to threatening.

Yer that would seem to be a fair assessment. North were confident that they could prove talk of them being a bottom side wrong.

On The Money said:
Yer that would seem to be a fair assessment. North were confident that they could prove talk of them being a bottom side wrong.

Aint gunna happen, too big a turnover in personal, always large numbers of ins and outs at North - I reckon they need to consolidate a list and then add to it, not lose 50% and replace it as seemed to be the case in recent times.

Ykickamoocow said:
Dunne & Finch take the set penalty doona?
What has happened to Fletcher ?
Can any confirm that Sammy Hill has done himself some grief, doing a A/C ?

Sammy was a late withdrawal on Saturday with that shoulder problem, which he hurt in practice match vs Wedderburn. Possibly related to having to carry suitcases around all the time.

Are one care to give there tips for Round 2?
I'll have a crack.

Elmore to beat Colbinabbin by 10 points.
Huntly to beat White Hills by 13 points.
Lockington to beat Broadford by 51 points.
Mt.Pleasant to beat North Bendigo by 32 points.

Picked two winners, guess I know bugger all about HDFL . . .

Colbinabbin 11.13 (79) lost to Elmore 14.19 (103)
North Bendigo 14.8 (92) lost to Mount Pleasant 20.15 (135)
Huntly 17.9 (111) def. White Hills 12.7 (79)
Lockington Bamawm United 25.11 (161) def. Broadford 12.8 (80)

Got along to the LBU/Broady clash and must say I was mighty impressed with LBU's first half. Game was over at half time 13 goals to 3, before it appeared LBU just eased off a little. After a goal less first term Matt Martin finished with 9 goals in a dominant performance, Sammy Newth jagged a lazy 5 whilst I had Mick Dobson down for 26 touches (8 clearances). For the Roos Nick Redenbach had 27 touches (10 marks), Ray Rowbotham 26, Mick Edwards 22 with youngsters Clint Moran & Wearne more than competitive in the ruck dept & Glen Rowbotham played 4 good quarters.

The young Roos desperation after half time evened up the clearances 21/19, but it was direct turnovers by foot (25 to 10) that told the tale, 8 resulting in goals to LBU. Added frustation was the at times over umpiring resulting in a 34 all free kick count.

Mick Giorgianni and Blair Suffolk??? played well in the LBU magoo's, and it would be fair to say Roos coach Peter Brown cant wait to get Dunne & Finch (both susp), Lorry Angwin, Eddie Neilson & Joel Brown (all inj) back a.s.a.p. as the young Roos at times lacked some experienced heads but must be applauded for their enthusiasm. Another bad note was the report of Jai Heers for striking, from I was sitting it didnt look all that good.

Did hear today that reigning B & F Bernie Hourigan may have left the Roos, but talks are underway to sign a new ruckman with apparent GV experience this week.

shoulda been three Doona - the grasshoppers were terrible after half time against the bloods. They had full control of the game in the first half but 3 injuries (therefore no bench) and a 10 minute laps allowed the bloods to rebound well. I can understand that Colbo are a young side and will take a little while to gel, however after looking like winners it was ultra disappointing to let the game slip away.

Elmore looked sluggish to start but finished well with the slippery conditions suiting their big body players in bottling up the game. Favaleaki got better as the game wore on, and the old saying that big players dont get any shorter was true testimony with Ryan Hayes taking some important grabs at CHF in the last quarter.

good positives for Colbo was Sammy Hill's 5 goals and Locky's game in midfield. He did get a little frustrated with a couple of silly indiscretions in the last quarter but he was only trying to keep his team in the contest....

Doona2 said:
Another bad note was the report of Jai Heers for striking, from I was sitting it didnt look all that good.

Three reports for striking in the opening 2 games for Broady is not a good start to the season.

Have they fogotton about the supposed 'good behaviour bond' which was to be in place after troubles of 2004, or has the HDFL????

Not wanting to trod down on broady so early into the season, but hopefully the HDFL will show some spine and act on the situation otherwise the whole episode which they went thru back at the end of 2004 is a complete waste of time......

HJ32 said:
Three reports for striking in the opening 2 games for Broady is not a good start to the season.

Have they fogotton about the supposed 'good behaviour bond' which was to be in place after troubles of 2004, or has the HDFL????

Not wanting to trod down on broady so early into the season, but hopefully the HDFL will show some spine and act on the situation otherwise the whole episode which they went thru back at the end of 2004 is a complete waste of time......

There have had three reports but Dunne and Finch only got one each so there has been no Baker 11 weeks and Tilley 18 months incidents. I'm not sure the league could do much with the season already started anyway.
How has the new Coach been received Doona? You would have heard him speak and seen him in action on saty.

i'm with you hj, i think its a shame that some players from the broadford club have reverted back to old ways, i am in no way ridiculing the majority of the club but these players are showing the league and there club utter disrespect. from being kicked out of the league, to returning on a bond for the previous season, surely they would have learned for this season. as for the comment about tilley and baker, they were just cowardly shots as far as im concerned and were dealt in a very fair manner by the leagues tribunal. im not condemning the broadford football club in any way shape or form. i actually sympathise with them, as the name of the club is continually dragged through the mud by players who cant control there aggression

Having been witness to all of the above mentioned incidents involving Broadford players incurring suspensions it troubles me that the umpires seem to be singling out broadford players. Finch and Dunne were merly retaliating to being struck first and Heers was flying the flag for a felled teammate. I'm not denying the penalties given out were justified it would just be nice if all the parties involved were treated equally, all were hardly incidents worthy of suspending the club from the league. Talk about wipping a dead horse.........Surely you've all got something better to discuss with your time???

blackbeard said:
Having been witness to all of the above mentioned incidents involving Broadford players incurring suspensions it troubles me that the umpires seem to be singling out broadford players. Finch and Dunne were merly retaliating to being struck first and Heers was flying the flag for a felled teammate. I'm not denying the penalties given out were justified it would just be nice if all the parties involved were treated equally, all were hardly incidents worthy of suspending the club from the league. Talk about wipping a dead horse.........Surely you've all got something better to discuss with your time???

For once I agree (not entirely) with the beard, although I do believe a Huntly player also received a one match suspension for his part in one of the alledged altercations. And andy which players have reverted to "old ways"???

Agree Heers did front last season but Dunne had an unblemished record prior to his round 1 report & Finch has returned to the club after 4 seasons at Yea, meaning he was never part of the days that continue to be mentioned thru these pages.

Facts are facts and yes HJ32 is correct in saying what he did, the HDFL did state they were keeping a watchful eye on the Roos but I dont think any of these cases need to have the warning lights at HDFL house going off.

By the way Blackbeard, it appears you made that ridiculously long trek to LBU on Saturday, what were your thoughts on the Roos. Did you see it the same as me in that LBU took the foot off the pedal at half time, and the Roos need Angwin, Dunne, Finch & E. Neilson back a.s.a.p???

my apologies doona, you are correct. i referred to players going back to there old ways, and you are correct those players that incured suspension with the exception of heers have a clean record, so my apologies, was very narrow minded of me to put it in those terms.

andypipkin said:
my apologies doona, you are correct. i referred to players going back to there old ways, and you are correct those players that incured suspension with the exception of heers have a clean record, so my apologies, was very narrow minded of me to put it in those terms.

Dont apologise andy, Im not directly involved at BFNC at the moment, just flying the flag for a couple of mates thats all. With all the interest in the boys from the south which club are you involved with?

and blackbeard, as a footballer and supporter as im sure you obviously are, and not wanting to flog a dead horse anymore like you said. but so many times in football, its not the instigator that gets caught, more times than not, it is the retaliator that is the one who cops the brunt of the umpires law. most player learn from a young age not to retaliate, but maybe some of broadfords players do, if they were only retaliating or sticking up for team mates, retaliation does not necessarily mean belting an opponent

andypipkin said:
and blackbeard, as a footballer and supporter as im sure you obviously are, and not wanting to flog a dead horse anymore like you said. but so many times in football, its not the instigator that gets caught, more times than not, it is the retaliator that is the one who cops the brunt of the umpires law. most player learn from a young age not to retaliate, but maybe some of broadfords players do, if they were only retaliating or sticking up for team mates, retaliation does not necessarily mean belting an opponent

The Blackbeard I once played alongside was a big advocate on the rough stuff as many former HDFL forwards of the mid to late 90's would atest to. Something tells me this aint the Beard that is now located along the Mornington Peninsula but a mere imposter!!! Do you even play at Broadford Blackbeard2 or are you stirring things up a wee bit?

dunno about flogging a dead horse - I think it's an interesting discussion point and one that may continue to bob up with various players going in the book throughout the season.

huge blow for Mounts on the weekend with Damien Webb breaking his arm badly.

Doona2 said:
By the way Blackbeard, it appears you made that ridiculously long trek to LBU on Saturday, what were your thoughts on the Roos. Did you see it the same as me in that LBU took the foot off the pedal at half time, and the Roos need Angwin, Dunne, Finch & E. Neilson back a.s.a.p???

Might be a silly question but im from another league, is that lawrence Angwin, no reason just interested.

Being a huge fan of the origional beard I simply used his tag as my front on this forum, Doona. Knowing full well that it was one of many names the Wiz was known as during his playing days I am sure he would not mind.

Having been at Locky I would have to agree that Broadford struggled and did not look anything like the side they need to be to play HDFL finals this year. As has been the case for a few seasons now Broady tend to cop a bit of a touch up each time they take the long trek up to LBU. Not sure if its the big groud or Deep Vein Thrombosis from the car ride that affects the players. Lockington have also shown that they don't play as good a footy away from home and I would expect a much closer contest next time the two teams meet at the bean.
Going back to saturday, broadford lacked stock. With six changes to the side that played huntly it was alsways going to be tough. Dunne, Angwin, Finch, and Neilson will help to give the side a bit of structure and class and hopefully reduce the sloppy errors and turnovers that were seen all to frequently on Saturday. fletcher will be better for the run and will hopefully put in a 4 quarter performance with the other players in their to help him.

andypipkin said:

I agree andy, a few of the players need to learn to control their aggression and channel it into more positive avenues. But lets be honest were not all Jesus Chirst and we are playing country football. When you get clipped over the beak your first reaction is naturally to square the ledger. I'm not nessisarily agreeing with, it's just the way it is.

blackbeard said:
Being a huge fan of the origional beard I simply used his tag as my front on this forum, Doona. Knowing full well that it was one of many names the Wiz was known as during his playing days I am sure he would not mind.

Having been at Locky I would have to agree that Broadford struggled and did not look anything like the side they need to be to play HDFL finals this year. As has been the case for a few seasons now Broady tend to cop a bit of a touch up each time they take the long trek up to LBU. Not sure if its the big groud or Deep Vein Thrombosis from the car ride that affects the players. Lockington have also shown that they don't play as good a footy away from home and I would expect a much closer contest next time the two teams meet at the bean.
Going back to saturday, broadford lacked stock. With six changes to the side that played huntly it was alsways going to be tough. Dunne, Angwin, Finch, and Neilson will help to give the side a bit of structure and class and hopefully reduce the sloppy errors and turnovers that were seen all to frequently on Saturday. fletcher will be better for the run and will hopefully put in a 4 quarter performance with the other players in their to help him.

For the Roos to seriously contest finals for me they need defenders, a strong CHB and a back flanker who can carry the footy. Dunne, Angwin, Finchy and Eddie will no doubt bolster things but I reckon theyre 2 more experienced players away I reckon. Newth, Mundie and Dobson did as they pleased - Neilson maybe on Newth but the other 2 I culdnt see a suitable match.

I notice the "Big Sphink" Taylor has been coming outa the square in the two's, maybe he could slip down back and push for a senior berth alongside brother Sam "Turn it over . . . but I 4got me boots these are Azza's" Taylor

Doona2 said:
For the Roos to seriously contest finals for me they need defenders, a strong CHB and a back flanker who can carry the footy. Dunne, Angwin, Finchy and Eddie will no doubt bolster things but I reckon theyre 2 more experienced players away I reckon. Newth, Mundie and Dobson did as they pleased - Neilson maybe on Newth but the other 2 I culdnt see a suitable match.

I notice the "Big Sphink" Taylor has been coming outa the square in the two's, maybe he could slip down back and push for a senior berth alongside brother Sam "Turn it over . . . but I 4got me boots these are Azza's" Taylor

Steady on their doona2. I thought young Sam T held his own in a backline that was under constant attack from a far superior Lockington outfit, the first quarter scoreline would have been much uglier had it not been for a few timely No.8 grabs. Turnovers did cost broady, but to single out one player seems a little unfair. As for the 'Sphink' heading down back in the 1's, well, I believed you to be a more astute judge of footballing talent to suggest such a move. I think A.T would be a good 2 or 3 YEARS off pulling the boots on in the 2 o'clock game.