Heathcote District FL

Remember some time back Rowan Warfe as his strong links to Colbo were a hot topic. What's the latest does anyone know when he'll play the first of the 5-6 games he's meant to play for the season.

Doona2 said:
Remember some time back Rowan Warfe as his strong links to Colbo were a hot topic. What's the latest does anyone know when he'll play the first of the 5-6 games he's meant to play for the season.
okay friends of mine, i'm looking to get some odds going for the hdfl. tell me what you think about these round one games and if anyone wants to get on and have a crack with "gamble with the goat''.

Mount Pleasant $1.75
Colbinabbin $1.95

White Hills $1.80
North Bendigo $2.60

Broadford $1.60
Huntly $3.80

Heathcote $1.95
LBU $1.95

looks like being a close round. not much value around is there punters.

The Talking Goat said:
okay friends of mine, i'm looking to get some odds going for the hdfl. tell me what you think about these round one games and if anyone wants to get on and have a crack with "gamble with the goat''.

Mount Pleasant $1.75
Colbinabbin $1.95

White Hills $1.80
North Bendigo $2.60

Broadford $1.60
Huntly $3.80

Heathcote $1.95
LBU $1.95

surely u carnt have locky and heathcote on the same money. from wat ive heard the cote have had a few big loses with peter driscoll and mark emmerson. locky have really only lost troy mitchell but have picked up matty martin, nigial van der boch and adam shawcross. dont really know about heathcore's ins.

hey doona i played against matty coomans last year and i also played inter-leaque with him, absoulte gun i no pioneers had their eye on him till they found out he was a broady boy. is he still at broady and is him and willow still 3rds or will they b movin up (surley play 1s)?

nesko_25 said:
surely u carnt have locky and heathcote on the same money. from wat ive heard the cote have had a few big loses with peter driscoll and mark emmerson. locky have really only lost troy mitchell but have picked up matty martin, nigial van der boch and adam shawcross. dont really know about heathcore's ins.

hey doona i played against matty coomans last year and i also played inter-leaque with him, absoulte gun i no pioneers had their eye on him till they found out he was a broady boy. is he still at broady and is him and willow still 3rds or will they b movin up (surley play 1s)?

Im not involved at BFNC but from what Ive been told Coomans suffered a bad injury over the summer but has been given the all clear to play. Word around town is that Maribyrnong Park were offering $$$ to several local lads to go down and play EDFL 3rds, but Matt aint one of those who have gone and will be running around in the thirds again.

The Talking Goat said:

Mount Pleasant $1.75
Colbinabbin $1.95

White Hills $1.80
North Bendigo $2.60

Broadford $1.60
Huntly $3.80

Heathcote $1.95
LBU $1.95

i'll have to agree with nesko on this one goat boy. really where did u pull these odds from, locky and heathcote at the same money??? and huntly 3.80?? they didnt go to good last year, but they only lost to colbo by a couple of goals a couple weeks back and they look like a better team then last year, i dont think the hawka's should be written off!! i think the colbo game will be the game of the round. should be a good one!

Conrad said:
i'll have to agree with nesko on this one goat boy. really where did u pull these odds from, locky and heathcote at the same money??? and huntly 3.80?? they didnt go to good last year, but they only lost to colbo by a couple of goals a couple weeks back and they look like a better team then last year, i dont think the hawka's should be written off!! i think the colbo game will be the game of the round. should be a good one!
wll put your money on huntly then fella. simple as that. and to that other bloke on this thread, heathcote are going to be a good side this year and i can't split them and locky.
Goat out

The Talking Goat said:
wll put your money on huntly then fella. simple as that. and to that other bloke on this thread, heathcote are going to be a good side this year and i can't split them and locky.
Goat out

I think Heathcote should go in Favourites Goat.
Home ground advantage, 2 quality forwards from Bendigo League and a Big Ruckman & premeirship onballer from Swan Hill plus a few extras from that way ( Central Murray ).
LBU's depth will be tested with at least 5 start up seniors a few weeks away yet.

Lets gets serious now lads, final training runs are now complete, respective sides have been announced . . . . any surprises, who are the recruits or young guns we should watch out for?

Also who are the captains for the HDFL clubs for season 2006? My tips are Mounts, White Hills, Broadford just & Heathcote in a ripper contest.

Best of luck to all your clubs for 2006.

alfie said:
can anyone tell me who jason charles is playing 4 this season? anyone?

Why do keep going on about Charles u parrot they reckon he is a battler on big bulletts! for people paying him they said it's not a game it's a shame!! Couple of people I spoke too reckon he struggled at Serp which a 10 goal less comp in my opinion

Pi$$ poor effort by whoever updates the HDFL official site, why just put the senior results etc in and not the 2's and 3's????

Get with the program . . . .

On The Money said:
Why do keep going on about Charles u parrot they reckon he is a battler on big bulletts! for people paying him they said it's not a game it's a shame!! Couple of people I spoke too reckon he struggled at Serp which a 10 goal less comp in my opinion

Probably trying to talk himself up, which is what quite a few blokes have been doing on here, especially in some of the other leagues.

The_Swifferian said:
Probably trying to talk himself up, which is what quite a few blokes have been doing on here, especially in some of the other leagues.

Ha ha great minds . . . was beginning to think that alfie was Charles himself chasing some self confidence

Noticed the Big Shpinkter Taylor booted 4 for the Broady Magoos yesterday, another big performance at Lockington this week and he'd have to be considered for promotion along with two of the clubs more experienced players in Alwin Neilson and Stuie Denness

:thumbsu: HEY, Doona and troops --- after all the doom and gloom over summer, Walshie and Hillies boys bounced back beautifully.
Big win over North Bgo 1st up. Now b4 u all go coy and say it was only North, let's remember the mantra.
You can only beat who's out on the park on the day.

Jock Clark 2 said:
:thumbsu: HEY, Doona and troops --- after all the doom and gloom over summer, Walshie and Hillies boys bounced back beautifully.
Big win over North Bgo 1st up. Now b4 u all go coy and say it was only North, let's remember the mantra.
You can only beat who's out on the park on the day.

No argument here Jock . . . . it did appear the a$$ coulda easily fallen out of the joint after two heartbreaking granny losses but to the committee must go the credit for being able to weather the storm, appoint a recognised coach and push on and recruit to cover their massive losses as best they can.

On a positive note great to see Jim Angove named best after many of us thought he was jumping ship when a lot of players were leaving.

Do you know if Spikka played Jock and is the Adrian named Dixon named in the best the same guy that woulda played 3rds with Spik around the 92-93 era?

Doona2 said:
Ha ha great minds . . . was beginning to think that alfie was Charles himself chasing some self confidence

Alfie is just a mate of Charles that used to play footy with him and is having a bit of a muck around on here. You are entitled to listen to other peoples opinions on charles, but myself having played in three premierships with the great man know that he is not a battler and is also not on big coin. Fortunately for you he will not be playing in your league this year as it is a certainty that he would rip it up. As for your comment that it is a 10 goal better league, I dont think that you are correct, it is only my opinion though. Cheers.

jimmyboy said:
Doona2 said:

Alfie is just a mate of Charles that used to play footy with him and is having a bit of a muck around on here. You are entitled to listen to other peoples opinions on charles, but myself having played in three premierships with the great man know that he is not a battler and is also not on big coin. Fortunately for you he will not be playing in your league this year as it is a certainty that he would rip it up. As for your comment that it is a 10 goal better league, I dont think that you are correct, it is only my opinion though. Cheers.

Who ya talking to jimmyboy? Never made that comment . . . . scroll up before you quote the wrong person!!!

Interesting game at Mounts on Saturday. The First half was a tight tussle with Mounts going in at half time 2 goals up, Colbo let themselves down in the third with Mounts kicking 8 goals - Colbo ran the game out and got within 4 goals before Mounts steadied and kicked the last three of the game.

Opposition should take note of Mounts Coach Cam Carter. He played a pretty top game, and he's way fitter than last year where he struggled with a bit of a knee injury. He and Lock spent a bit of time on each other and it was a very good contest.

The hoppers should get better as the season progresses.

Colbinabbin v Elmore
North Bendigo v Mount Pleasant
Huntly v White Hills
Lockington Bamawm United v Broadford
Heathcote Bye

My tips for round 2 - havent heard enough about Elmore although expect them to play finals no worries & Colbo were obviously in it a long way against Mounts on Satdy. Mounts easily, White Hills too strong in the local derby and LBU will have little trouble against a Broady side missing Dunne, Fletcher and Finch.

Doona2 said:
Colbinabbin v Elmore
North Bendigo v Mount Pleasant
Huntly v White Hills
Lockington Bamawm United v Broadford
Heathcote Bye

My tips for round 2 - havent heard enough about Elmore although expect them to play finals no worries & Colbo were obviously in it a long way against Mounts on Satdy. Mounts easily, White Hills too strong in the local derby and LBU will have little trouble against a Broady side missing Dunne, Fletcher and Finch.

Dunne & Finch take the set penalty doona?
What has happened to Fletcher ?
Can any confirm that Sammy Hill has done himself some grief, doing a A/C ?

Ykickamoocow said:
Dunne & Finch take the set penalty doona?
What has happened to Fletcher ?
Can any confirm that Sammy Hill has done himself some grief, doing a A/C ?

I believe Chris and Matthew both took one match, Fletcher was a late withdrawl Saturday, and I was told today a few at the club were unhappy with his level of commitment. Daniel has been one of the best performers over the pre-season & arguably the club's best footballer of the past decade so I'd hate to think the knives have come out already . . . he suffered a foot injury a month or so back and when it's right he'll be a huge plus for Farmer Brown and the boys so I hope those mouths keep shut!!!

Waste of a post I know but c'mon lift lads, we cant be seen lingering on page 2!!!