• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Heathcote District FL

whats everyones thoughts on the proposed rule change for the thirds.
the move is to save boundary umpires being required , free kick being paid to the opposition team when the ball is ruled out of bounds, although you can not kick directly for goal from the free kick. thoughts????

whats everyones thoughts on the proposed rule change for the thirds.
the move is to save boundary umpires being required , free kick being paid to the opposition team when the ball is ruled out of bounds, although you can not kick directly for goal from the free kick. thoughts????

I wouldnt like to see a free kick paid to the opposition side any time the ball goes out of bounds then have to worry about not being able to kick for goal i think thats ordinary and very amateur. I think the better idea is to have the central umpire ball it up 5-10 meters inside the boundary when the ball goes out of bounds as its more consistent with the "throw in" concept that kids will have to get used to when the step up ou of the 17's. Why over complicate things?

Exactly!! Why change the rules all the time???

fair suggestion hound, i would be up for something like you said, there are lenty of loopholes, whats to stop someone playing on and trying to kick it, just not much to like about it, im with you, i think they should ball her up 10-15 metres in from the boundary

B&S, I agree with you, pre-season should start as early as late Jan. I dont see the point of starting now because no doubt people will find it hard to keep up the running over x-mas and new years so by the time they start training again they are back to square 1. Also I think players may burn out by round 1 and not have the hunger, they just get sick of footy.

The club should maybe have a few get to gethers just to introduce new players and asses where the club is at and maybe who they can recruit but nothing to strenuous. After all most footy players would also have a go at cricket, which isnt as demanding as footy but a good work out.

Not sure what cricket you play but I know cricket training in Bendigo league is just as demanding as footy training.

Players who are fair dinkum about footy, should be able to have the initiative and self-discipline to keep themselves fit over summer.

Mounts don't usually start proper training until mid-late January each year, with maybe one run before christmas for a family/meet the coaches day, so I think that's a pretty good guide.

@nesko - perhaps your quote outlines the thinking at LBU......
"Also I think players may burn out by round 1 and not have the hunger, they just get sick of footy. " ;)

Not sure what cricket you play but I know cricket training in Bendigo league is just as demanding as footy training.

You must play at a really low level football league, at a very slack football club, or a very high standard of cricket, or all of the above to say that.

I don't know about that. The first time I trained with a Bendigo based cricket club (as opposed to a club in the sticks) all we did all night was field & run. Got nowhere near the nets for the night.
I may have just got them on a bad night though...
At home it's bat, bbq & beers!

I don't know about that. The first time I trained with a Bendigo based cricket club (as opposed to a club in the sticks) all we did all night was field & run. Got nowhere near the nets for the night.
I may have just got them on a bad night though...
At home it's bat, bbq & beers!

There you have it mate "the first time" you did it which means you dont run every night.
This really is a stupid debate started by a stupid comment, you cant compare the training regimes of two completly different sports that require two completely different levels of fitness. There is no comparison

You mustn't have played high level cricket then hound, or don't follow the game. I know that where JGraf plays cricket, they train for 2 hours twice a week. The stupid comment tag is a bit over the top, and I know for a fact you can expect some retribution from JGraf.

If you are a fast bowler and have to bowl 20 overs in a day, I know I would rather play a game of footy, than be in the field for 5 hours in 40 degree heat, and have to come back on at 5.30 in the arvo, when the other team are 3 fa 300 on a flat deck. This is the reason I gave cricket up.

You mustn't have played high level cricket then hound, or don't follow the game. I know that where JGraf plays cricket, they train for 2 hours twice a week. The stupid comment tag is a bit over the top, and I know for a fact you can expect some retribution from JGraf.

If you are a fast bowler and have to bowl 20 overs in a day, I know I would rather play a game of footy, than be in the field for 5 hours in 40 degree heat, and have to come back on at 5.30 in the arvo, when the other team are 3 fa 300 on a flat deck. This is the reason I gave cricket up.

I played cricket in bendigo and training is a walk in the park compared with footy training!

Cricket is a great sport, nobody likes to stand in the field for hours in the heat when the other team is making a truck load of runs, thats why you try and get a few wickets! when you are getting flogged on the footy field do you just give up? you sound pretty soft to me emu.

Silly trying to compare footy with cricket anyway.

"RETRIBUTION" Gee that does sound serious, im not in an episode of the sopranos am I?..........NO im on an internet chatroom so as scary as that all sounds emu i think il be able to cope with whatever "retribution" Jgraf brutally types out to me!!
Seriously tho Truth Hurts is right Cricket is a walk in the park (and yes i have played both) compared to footy training and playing, yes the heat is a factor but you get alot of rest time in between deliveries, overs, runs, wickets, tea breaks, shots, so again you really should not be comparing the two sports. As i said they require 2 very different levels of fitness.

Guys from an outside point of view the reason a team which finished bottom or close to would start training so early is to build team morale for coming season.They would have any new players they have signed in attendance and hope that the addition of new players would help the exisiting players to improve.It can all go pear shaped with a poor attendance so for the clubs sake i hope it goes well.
Had a bit to do with them when they amalgamated with Provincial and remember in our first year we started in December, went from the bottom to 5th that year and would have made the finals but hit badly by injuries.
Hope that they do improve next year.

You must play at a really low level football league, at a very slack football club, or a very high standard of cricket, or all of the above to say that.

If you call this league low level then fair enough!!! And I do play a high standard of cricket.

bloodhounds or bigton, is there any truth to that rumour, andy grant was offered the flat job at any stage???

I havnt spoken to andy and the only place i have heard that rumour is on this thread but it does seem to be gaining some momentum. When it first got put on i was told it was not true but who knows the rumour may have given the flat board an idea!! But i would be very surprised if he left elmore at this stage.

I played cricket in bendigo and training is a walk in the park compared with footy training!

Cricket is a great sport, nobody likes to stand in the field for hours in the heat when the other team is making a truck load of runs, thats why you try and get a few wickets! when you are getting flogged on the footy field do you just give up? you sound pretty soft to me emu.

Silly trying to compare footy with cricket anyway.

Soft? That's a big call over the internet mate. Keep hiding behind your keyboard. Who did you play cricket with? Huntly/Nth Bendigo or Sandhurst. OR did you just play in the Emu Valley league?

Also, I gave up cricket because I got bored with it, not because I am soft.

And where do you play footy?

@ hound "yes the heat is a factor but you get alot of rest time in between deliveries, overs, runs, wickets, tea breaks, shots, so again you really should not be comparing the two sports. As i said they require 2 very different levels of fitness."

When you play footy you get plenty of rest also. And it only goes for 25 minutes at a time. When you play cricket, you should be continually walking in with the bowler, walking back to your spot, running to your position between overs. You obviously haven't batted all day or had to bowl more than 5 overs in a day either mate.

Back to the footy gents, has the league held the AGM and if so was there much introduced or discussed for 2007 :thumbsu:

Soft? That's a big call over the internet mate. Keep hiding behind your keyboard. Who did you play cricket with? Huntly/Nth Bendigo or Sandhurst. OR did you just play in the Emu Valley league?

@ hound "yes the heat is a factor but you get alot of rest time in between deliveries, overs, runs, wickets, tea breaks, shots, so again you really should not be comparing the two sports. As i said they require 2 very different levels of fitness."

When you play footy you get plenty of rest also. And it only goes for 25 minutes at a time. When you play cricket, you should be continually walking in with the bowler, walking back to your spot, running to your position between overs. You obviously haven't batted all day or had to bowl more than 5 overs in a day either mate.

"I know I would rather play a game of footy, than be in the field for 5 hours in 40 degree heat, and have to come back on at 5.30 in the arvo, when the other team are 3 fa 300 on a flat deck. This is the reason I gave cricket up."

Keep hiding behind my keyboard? ha ha good one. It crazy to compare these two sports in terms of fitness levels! then again you did quit cricket because it was too hot!

Who do you play footy for? and who did you play cricket with?

OK I concede emu i had forgotten how physically intense walking was........what do you weigh mate coz i reckon that would be why you quit cricket if walking was getting too physically demanding:D
I was actually a keeper but i did have a bowl occasionally and because i wasnt an opener i didnt bat all day. GET ON THE TREADMILL EMU!!

anyway thats enough of that fun and games whats happening in the footy world?? Anybody started training yet?

OK I concede emu i had forgotten how physically intense walking was........what do you weigh mate coz i reckon that would be why you quit cricket if walking was getting too physically demanding:D

Anybody who knows me understands my fluctuating weight over the years but that hasn't stopped me bowling spells in the SDCA comp (and walking around the field ;) )- two different types of fitness guys, I love me cricket but couldn't play footy these days at 120kgs

Broady training commence on December 6th and our ground is currently green and full of good grass cover :thumbsu: