• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Heathcote District FL

You wright they were too quick & too polished. I quoted after the North Bendigo game if they played like that against Colbo they would go down by 10 gaols.Not far wrong it was 7 and by the way now after 4 rounds have been played i will stick my neck and say the top 3 sides at the end of the year not in this order will be Elmore. Colbo & Mounts 4&5 who care's they will not beat these side's in the final's.I rumour going around Heathcote that Conheady may be returning

agree and disagree. colbo will be top two, should find out just how good elmore are in round 6 and 8. they look to be top 2 material aswell. mounts, heathcote and locky will fight out 3rd spot. i genuinly believe locky could match it with colbo and mounts when they have their best team in(if that ever happens), could be a while though with injuries. locky may be the darkhorse come finals time..
nesko, locky are also getting new rooms. extending from the visitors rooms towards the gate. new visitors rooms and toilet block and knocking out the wall between original home and away rooms to make home rooms rather large. saw plans the other day. will be "very nice, hi 5!" may even rival mounts' visitors rooms:D

You wright they were too quick & too polished. I quoted after the North Bendigo game if they played like that against Colbo they would go down by 10 gaols.Not far wrong it was 7 and by the way now after 4 rounds have been played i will stick my neck and say the top 3 sides at the end of the year not in this order will be Elmore. Colbo & Mounts 4&5 who care's they will not beat these side's in the final's.I rumour going around Heathcote that Conheady may be returning

dont write heathcote off just yet. they did play poorly against colbo on saturday. however they also played very well in patches also. their young kids will gain confidence as the year progresses and they will perform better in the bigger games.

Just to respond to a few comments re: White Hills non-post game attendence on the weekend, Im more than happy to put my hand up on behalf of the club and admit it wasnt a great effort from us, and one that has and will be brought up and improved upon over the coming weeks.

BUT...that being said, I can guarentee you the majority of our senior players were pretty embarrassed about our efforts on the park, and for any one of the readers out there who have been on the end of a 17 goal pumping (something I doubt many Mounts people would be familiar with) you will probably agree its not all that easy to find the enthusiasm to go and have a drink with the blokes who have made you look pretty ordinary!

In all honesty I think most of us just wanted to get home and forget about the previous 2 hours!!! (Once again, not trying to make any excuses, just hoping some of those who have been quick to jump all over the club will take a step back and look at it from our perspective.)

Full credit to the Mounts boys, they were a class or 2 above, and would be hard to split them or Elmore at present having now played the both (although Colbo are flying and will take some beating with such a quality m/field and front 6)

Finally, to all those people out there having a crack at Jim Angove, claiming he is arrogant and a sore loser. First of all, you could not be further from the truth. One of the toughest competitors going round, but also a genuine and honest bloke aswell. While Im sure its easy to get on here and gob off from behind the safety of a keyboard and computer screen, unless you actually know the bloke (and not just basing your opinions on what someone else told you) then you shouldnt throw around bullshit accusations like some of the worldbeaters on here have been.

I just wonder how much self satisfaction some of the heroes on here get out of taking pot shots at people in the knowledge they will never have to back them up?? Ayway, hope thats the last we hear of the subject, and that we can all get back to taking about footy

Just to respond to a few comments re: White Hills non-post game attendence on the weekend, Im more than happy to put my hand up on behalf of the club and admit it wasnt a great effort from us, and one that has and will be brought up and improved upon over the coming weeks.

BUT...that being said, I can guarentee you the majority of our senior players were pretty embarrassed about our efforts on the park, and for any one of the readers out there who have been on the end of a 17 goal pumping (something I doubt many Mounts people would be familiar with) you will probably agree its not all that easy to find the enthusiasm to go and have a drink with the blokes who have made you look pretty ordinary!

In all honesty I think most of us just wanted to get home and forget about the previous 2 hours!!! (Once again, not trying to make any excuses, just hoping some of those who have been quick to jump all over the club will take a step back and look at it from our perspective.)

Full credit to the Mounts boys, they were a class or 2 above, and would be hard to split them or Elmore at present having now played the both (although Colbo are flying and will take some beating with such a quality m/field and front 6)

Finally, to all those people out there having a crack at Jim Angove, claiming he is arrogant and a sore loser. First of all, you could not be further from the truth. One of the toughest competitors going round, but also a genuine and honest bloke aswell. While Im sure its easy to get on here and gob off from behind the safety of a keyboard and computer screen, unless you actually know the bloke (and not just basing your opinions on what someone else told you) then you shouldnt throw around bullshit accusations like some of the worldbeaters on here have been.

I just wonder how much self satisfaction some of the heroes on here get out of taking pot shots at people in the knowledge they will never have to back them up?? Ayway, hope thats the last we hear of the subject, and that we can all get back to taking about footy

Having played all of my footy at Lalbert mate i have been on the end of many 17+ goal hidings over the past couple of years and i can honestly say that each and every one of the players that played in those games made it in to the opposition rooms for a beer. Its not about the margin its about getting together getting to know people and enjoying country footy. I am sure that blokes gain a lot more respect by fronting up and having a drink or two after a game then they do disappearing home

Roota, couldnt agree with you more. The thing is not many of our blokes have been on the end of such a hiding and as a result didnt know the best way to react to it.

Its nothing personal bewteen the two clubs Im sure, I personally have never had a problem with any of the lads from Mounts (other than scoreboard related problems of course ;)) but after the match I would have found it abit of a battle being social with a bunch of blokes that had mate us look 2nd rate. And Im not trying to make excuses here Roots, but all in all we are a pretty proud club down here at Scott Street and we were pretty embarassed about Saturdays effort. Probably as a result we responded in a poor way, but its happened now....not much we can do about it other than be better next time. I also think we are looking to gain more respect for exploits on the ground, not off it!

But like I said, after game activities have been mentioned to all players, and with some hard work and a few changed attitudes around the place hopefully wont happen again.

gday nesko yeah seen the plans first hand today down at meridian oval after playing gods greatest game they should rival any facility in country vic if all goes ahead and i believe the money has been granted. using te rooms today they are fairly poor but in relation to the tin shed visitors rooms white hills have a five star rating

Whats the go with the rooms, are the going up during footy season or during the cricket? I'm guessing they would go in the same place as the rooms are now.

Shouldn't you be out doing something constructive during work hours Big Ump??

Unfortunately it's not going to be the last Brentmeister because it has happened not just once to the Heathcote boys(the great man Angove walking off the ground), but on several occasions and that includes after the Hills beat Heathcote by nine points at Meridian Oval two years ago. I don't think that the Heathcote people had been ringing his family gloating over the fact that they hadn't beaten White Hills for a couple of seasons, so why in bush footy do you do stuff like that. Bad form. The trouble with White Hills is when you have a little bit of success for a couple of seasons you run around thinking that you are the almighty if the comp (as was heard the same day at Meridian Oval when a certain woman in the canteen yelled out to the Heathcote boys, and I quote, "See your'e still down the bottom of the ladder Heathcote where you belong." Hold the phone, coming for a White Hills supporter. Sort of the pot calling the kettle black isn't it, like I know that you have a great record since you come into the comp 25 years ago. How about you blokes take a leaf out of the Mounts boys, the Colbo boys, the Huntly Hawks, the Gees, the Tobins, the Neilsons of this great league of ours, eat some humble pie and do what every other footballer does at the end of the game and what every club strives to do, have a beer and a chat in the clubrooms. Believe me, try it, you'll probably find out that it's not so bad.

Well im shocked..... mounts ringing people after a grand final win and mouthing off !!! not once but twice sorry red white and black thats not a book anyone should be taking a leaf out of.

knew you would pop up here bloodhound. its football for god sake. its a pack of blokes running around in the HDFL, everyone mouths off so get over it. i know the mounts boys got a good laugh last week when chris dunne walked past them after the game and said "bford beat mounts and they didnt even have Dunn in." he thought he was alright and mouthed off a bit and they had a laugh at him.

you elmore people love bagging mounts and that fine, we love to bag to bag you back, but youll always look stupid cos it footy and we win the flags. so give up. and when elmore people go and write a massive go bloods signs across the main street of goornong and then loose the flag the next day and now have a sweet reminder of the one that got away everytime they drive to training i think they deserve some stick.

Angove what a p#le smoker. One of the worst sports i have had the displeasure of playing against. What a pity, as he is one of the classiest footballers i have seen in the league and as you said brent, tries his heart out. Must be getting to old WALSHY too. Blind in puggs saturday night describing his side as quote "weak, sheep dog soft c#*ks." Maybe meridian needs more changes than new clubrooms!!!

knew you would pop up here bloodhound. its football for god sake. its a pack of blokes running around in the HDFL, everyone mouths off so get over it. i know the mounts boys got a good laugh last week when chris dunne walked past them after the game and said "bford beat mounts and they didnt even have Dunn in." he thought he was alright and mouthed off a bit and they had a laugh at him.

you elmore people love bagging mounts and that fine, we love to bag to bag you back, but youll always look stupid cos it footy and we win the flags. so give up. and when elmore people go and write a massive go bloods signs across the main street of goornong and then loose the flag the next day and now have a sweet reminder of the one that got away everytime they drive to training i think they deserve some stick.

Umm righto champ what exactly do you want us to give up?? That sign was acutally written by an ex players mrs just to clarify.

I think there is a difference between walking past a group of people and saying something to their face after a home and away win that sounds like it was said in jest and ringing up and abusing someones parents or grand parents and ringing up and mouthing an opposition player after winning a grand final. The argument here is about sportsmanship and behaviour of people after the game. There is nothing wrong with rivalry but in good spirit and these are examples of bad spotsmanship. When stuff like this happens eg, abusive phone calls, non shaking of hands, people not heading into opposition club rooms, they are detrimental to the commaraderie of our league and good will between clubs. Rivalry is great but you have to draw the line somewhere.

I was implying the way they stick around and have a drink. If you go back through what I have written I don't think you will find that I have condoned those actions by any stretch of the imagination. How's the great man Jeff Trewick travelling?

Umm righto champ what exactly do you want us to give up?? That sign was acutally written by an ex players mrs just to clarify.

I think there is a difference between walking past a group of people and saying something to their face after a home and away win that sounds like it was said in jest and ringing up and abusing someones parents or grand parents and ringing up and mouthing an opposition player after winning a grand final. The argument here is about sportsmanship and behaviour of people after the game. There is nothing wrong with rivalry but in good spirit and these are examples of bad spotsmanship. When stuff like this happens eg, abusive phone calls, non shaking of hands, people not heading into opposition club rooms, they are detrimental to the commaraderie of our league and good will between clubs. Rivalry is great but you have to draw the line somewhere.

What, no expletives Hound? :confused:

I agree with you nevertheless :thumbsu:

Hey Brent or Andy, whats the go with The Dobsters finger. My little girl copped a glance of it as he came off and she said it weren't pretty. How long is he likely to be missing?

Just my two cents on the Jim Angove issue: During the game he laid a late one on one of the Mounters which didn't look intentional but happens in footy (I have seen Jim cop more than his fair share). The fella that wore it wasn't to happy and had a bit of a scuffle with the Bartman as I think he thought he did it. Any way what I then saw was Jim appearing to apologise for this indiscretion and give the guy a pat on the buttocks (looked to me like good sportsmanship, well done!).

Hey Roota, You went good on the day,well done.

And Finally to the ghost who walks ... Check out my photo! ;)

Fantom:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Roota, couldnt agree with you more. The thing is not many of our blokes have been on the end of such a hiding and as a result didnt know the best way to react to it.

Its nothing personal bewteen the two clubs Im sure, I personally have never had a problem with any of the lads from Mounts (other than scoreboard related problems of course ;)) but after the match I would have found it abit of a battle being social with a bunch of blokes that had mate us look 2nd rate. And Im not trying to make excuses here Roots, but all in all we are a pretty proud club down here at Scott Street and we were pretty embarassed about Saturdays effort. Probably as a result we responded in a poor way, but its happened now....not much we can do about it other than be better next time. I also think we are looking to gain more respect for exploits on the ground, not off it!

But like I said, after game activities have been mentioned to all players, and with some hard work and a few changed attitudes around the place hopefully wont happen again.

Fair enough Meister, I hope to have a few beers with the Hillies at Scott Street after our next clash later in the year. As i said earlier i am new to the league and I am interested to meet all the blokes and learn a little about the proud histories of all the clubs in the league :thumbsu:

Hey Brent or Andy, whats the go with The Dobsters finger. My little girl copped a glance of it as he came off and she said it weren't pretty. How long is he likely to be missing?

Just my two cents on the Jim Angove issue: During the game he laid a late one on one of the Mounters which didn't look intentional but happens in footy (I have seen Jim cop more than his fair share). The fella that wore it wasn't to happy and had a bit of a scuffle with the Bartman as I think he thought he did it. Any way what I then saw was Jim appearing to apologise for this indiscretion and give the guy a pat on the buttocks (looked to me like good sportsmanship, well done!).

Hey Roota, You went good on the day,well done.

And Finally to the ghost who walks ... Check out my photo! ;)

Fantom:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Thanks Fantom, have still got a lot of work to do though :thumbsu:

There seems to be some pretty fierce rivalries around the league which is fantastic. It adds that little bit extra to each game and makes any win just a little bit sweeter and any loss a litter more bitter as many of us have said lets keep it out on the park then get together of it, have a beer and talk about the good old days

Can anyone inform me how Brock Ezard is going at Huntly or if going at all? A homing pigeon dropped a note by last week saying that he wasn't happy with the footy and wanted out back to the saints? ( ST.ARNAUD )

Whats the go with the rooms, are the going up during footy season or during the cricket? I'm guessing they would go in the same place as the rooms are now.

Looking at the plans nesko it looks as if they are adding to thier and refurbing the existing building and the addition and what looked like a super box on the roof with full facilities . Could not see it being started until late this year but the hill boys could probably start in september because i think the will have some spare time

Angove what a p#le smoker. One of the worst sports i have had the displeasure of playing against. What a pity, as he is one of the classiest footballers i have seen in the league and as you said brent, tries his heart out. Must be getting to old WALSHY too. Blind in puggs saturday night describing his side as quote "weak, sheep dog soft c#*ks." Maybe meridian needs more changes than new clubrooms!!!

Ahh....just another typical b/s comment from someone who Ive no doubt would probably be considered a dead set oxygen thief! Lets all get this clear....Jim Angove didnt shake the coach of Heathcote's hand 2 years ago after witnessing the same bloke make a pretty gutless and cowardly effort off the ball towards a teammate at the time in Shannon Hayes. In fact the coach of Heathcote, knowing that he had overstepped the line, called Jimmy the folowing day to apologise, all sorted. No bad blood there as far as I know of.

As for Saturday, and ROOBOY I hope your reading this you clown, go and ask Trev Douglas or Rob Rojoweski (just to name a couple) if Jimmy spoke to them after the game and shook there hands. Think you'll find a much different answer there.