Heathcote District FL

I am gonna throw something in here and find any one elses thoughts in reference to huntly I believe that it is time that a new committee right from the top with maybe a few members take the club over they have not responded to the direction they tried for a number of years and trying only the young locals there recruitment has been terrible if it means the coaching staff as well so bit if there in charge of recruiting that needs a change they must have a fair bit of coin so get out there and recruiting not in a stupid way of giving money to any one who says they are worth that much find out about players first sure you must have locals but really there isnt much coming out of the locals from past experience there is to much putting in there noses from the top right thru the committee it must really be embarrassing the hdfl by the results especially that region of epsom/huntly are expanding so really until there is a change of guard out there and maybe get some fresh people into run the club with a bit of foresight i for one would help in any way

hpvectra please keep your eye out for the date of Huntly's AGM, you are more than welcome to help out.
From the outside looking in you seem to be judging Huntly as a whole club on the performance of the Senior side only, yes it is very disappointing how they have performed but the fact is they currently do not have the money,the seniors are also missing their full forward, CHF, CHB and premier on baller.Other important issues, like the finances of the club, are very sound, the netballers are successful, the thirds are going well, reserves are o/k and all the new facility improvements like lights, new toilet block, gym etc are paid for in full by the hard work of the club volunteers you would replace but I do totally agree that the improvement of the Seniors is urgently overdue.

Okay Teddy,Not only you have idea's
Here is idea Huntly can think about. Go to your local school and have a talk to the teachers about getting the year 6 pupils to do a project on
Huntly Football Club web site.This will inprove your web site and also give the pupils experince.This could bring outsider's to the Club:)

Still giving bright ideas
Remember the bright idea you came up with when we were about 7
Washing your dads car, that was alright.Till you had this idea to wash the inside with the hose going through the side window for about 5 min.
Not good.
I see you keep putting your opinion forward
Catch up with you soon:D:D

Still giving bright ideas
Remember the bright idea you came up with when we were about 7
Washing your dads car, that was alright.Till you had this idea to wash the inside with the hose going through the side window for about 5 min.
Not good.
I see you keep putting your opinion forward
Catch up with you soon:D:D

NO more secret's thanks very much
We only talke local football,Get back to the Northern FL were you belong....
Let me know how D Smith is going at West Preston, I know he got 2 weeks for striking..
HO ROO:thumbsu:

some good games again this week coming fellas
- mounts and doona's boys
-the cote travel to the zoo
-hills to elmore
and locky have the job of travellin to colby

could open up the season for a few clubs as far as ladder possies go.

and since we are at the half way mark, or just past lets get a few of the regulars opinions on

- who will take home the flag?
- who will they beat?
- who will take home same cheatley
- and the seconds and thirds medals? ( there names cant come to mind)
- goal kicking?
- best player under 20 in the comp?
- biggest story to come out of the league?
- headline we might see?

boys and, girls, what is everyones thoughts on having a rookie of the year? i know north central do it. is it worthy of some thought, do you think??

-the holy grail-the bloods
-silver medal-colbo
-the cheatley medal-A.[icing on the cake]Grant
-the magoos and king henry the turds.........cant comment
-the most majors- the columbian drug lord himself spika
-best teenager-featherstone or wright
-the league story-elmore to win the trophy and bluey southcombe not to send them broke to acheive success:thumbsu:
-headlines to watch for-Huntly to win 4 priemership points that does not include the league bye and the bfl to fold and return all the heathcote players they have poached over the years.:D

andy. how are he demons going with their new lease of life after walshy and how have they taken to the ex bomber bart

Anyone wanna try for a interleague side? pretty hard to pick, from LBU I think Sam Newth is in good touch as always and Nat O'Brien is in sensational form. Also under-rated backman Dan "D.A" Andrews wouldnt be far off. Who thinks would make it in for their club? (I reckon Bongy would of made it had he played the whole year)

From our blokes you could not go past Trev Douglas, Cam Carter, Zac East and Matt Johno and i reckon a roughy would be Cam Ross. He has been superb in the ruck. I am biased but there would surely be others that would deserve a spot but they are te obvious ones. I would like to play :D:D:D

Just on Huntly.

When I was involved with the junior football league, and the Huntly Junior Footy Club, we couldn't even get a senior player to come and take the kids for training or watch a game. Most of them wouldn't have even been able to name one senior Huntly FC player.

That is where it all starts. I remember when I was a kid, I used to look up to the guys playing seniors and want to play in the seniors one day at my club.

Unfortunately, and it doesn't look like it has changed much, the senior Huntly FC don't give a stuff about the junior Huntly FC.

That's a fair comment Emu, I don't think too much has changed. The senior club members that have kids playing are a great bunch, as for the senior club members and players that don't have kids playing, well I'm not sure there are any as I haven't seen em and I been hangin around the juniors for a few years. Fantom thinks that if you take the seniors to the juniors then the juniors may just become seniors one day.

Fantom:thumbsu::thumbsu:

andy. how are he demons going with their new lease of life after walshy and how have they taken to the ex bomber bart

I aint Andy ghost but I couldnt help but comment. As a supporter of the Hillies what I have seen in recent times is a massive improvement on field from all at the Bartcave, and don't be surprised if there be a few more upsets:D:D

Fantom :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Bore it up em hillies

As long as ya's r cheering on Broadford I'm right behind it - couldn't have the Heathcote boys present after recent posts, they may turn on each other and settle some arguments, as may the Elmore and Mounts lads!!!

Whats happened to our minister for good times HJ32 or any of the Colbo lads in fact. I have been told they are keeping a lid on things but fair dinmkun lads ya's r taking it a bit serious :D

What a great Idea having a marquee at the GF...
Just one thing Doona,Could you be MC on the day because you would have nothing else to do on GF day HA HA....
Maybe on the day you could present personality of the year for BigFooty..
How would vote for personality of the year, come up some suggestions Doona...:D

What a great Idea having a marquee at the GF...
Just one thing Doona,Could you be MC on the day because you would have nothing else to do on GF day HA HA....
Maybe on the day you could present personality of the year for BigFooty..
How would vote for personality of the year, come up some suggestions Doona...:D

If for some disappointing reason I do become available during the late game can I please have until 2.30pm off as Im hope for the efforts both our ressies and 3rds have put in to date they can reach the play off in the respective grades.

Bloodhound perhaps for personality of the year - woulda had HJ32 but the Colbo blokes are trying their best to do the Geelong "Keep a lid on it" and have gone AWOL , or maybe those few cameo's from Leon Daies or whoever it was you clashed with Big Ump a month or so ago

If for some disappointing reason I do become available during the late game can I please have until 2.30pm off as Im hope for the efforts both our ressies and 3rds have put in to date they can reach the play off in the respective grades.

Bloodhound perhaps for personality of the year - woulda had HJ32 but the Colbo blokes are trying their best to do the Geelong "Keep a lid on it" and have gone AWOL , or maybe those few cameo's from Leon Daies or whoever it was you clashed with Big Ump a month or so ago

How's this Doona IF you make it, the GF for some strange reason..
We can set the marquee up near the coachs box...
Being a good man as you are,you could be coach and MC at the same time:thumbsu::thumbsu:

As flattered as I am mate I think you are going to cop a fair bit of flak for that but remind me to slip you that $50 if we play you blokes again this year!!

My pick would be the tibbernator for the rumours, gillabey (if thats the spelling) for his rex hunt like footy previews and your good self doona for keeping it real.

Interleague candidates from Elmore for me would be. J Schubert, B Westley, R Hayes, A Grant and I kay I could go on but they have been our standouts for me this year.

Heartbreak!

AFTER leading by 54 points at quarter time, Broadford’s senior footballers were mown down term by term to record a heartbreaking one-point loss against Elmore on Saturday.
Elmore is a genuine premiership contender, and it took some courageous coaching by Broadford’s Chris Nolan to give his side the best chance.
In the first term, Nolan virtually changed his whole setup in the midfield and forward line.
John Taylor, who is leading the Heathcote District Football League’s goalkicking, was sent into the centre; John Rowe, one of the Roos’ best on-ballers, was pushed across half back; while gun midfielders Chris Dunne and Daniel Fletcher were rotated between full-forward and the middle.
It was a move that paid big dividends early for the Roos. Taylor had first quarter disposals; Rowe touched the footy nine times; while Dunne and Fletcher shared five goals in the first term.
Holding a 54-point lead at the first break, Roos supporters were excited, eyeing off a season defining victory and a tighter grip on fifth place – booking at least one match in September.
However, Elmore coach Tony Southcombe had other ideas.
The former Carlton forward gave his players a lashing at the huddle, determined to inspire the players to turn around the match.
Although there was a breeze towards the northern end of Harley Hammond Reserve, it would have only been worth two or three goals at a maximum. Perhaps the psychological benefits of kicking to that end made the difference.
While the Bloods looked raring to go in the second term, Broadford appeared to be controlling their attacks quite well from half-back.
That was until the Roos’ side was virtually shot to pieces after Fletcher was taken to hospital following an accidental knock to the head, and Alwin Neilson left the ground with neck soreness, leaving Broadford with a two-man interchange for the remainder of the contest.
Following those incidents, the game took a much different complexion, as Elmore stars Andy Grant, Justin Schubert and Brian Westley began to impact on the game.
By half time the Bloods had sliced Broadford’s lead back to just 27 points.
Elmore’s confidence grew as they started to win the ball from the stoppages and running players Joe Cavallaro, Rick Smith and David Fevaleaki got their tails up.
Aaron Debbatista, a new comer to the Bloods this season, was also able to curtail the influence of the dangerous Dunne somewhat and by the final break the Bloods had squeezed their way back to be within eight points.
The last quarter proved to be a fitting final chapter to an epic battle as the Roos refused to buckle with lion hearted ruckman Grant Wearne combining with creative pair Eddie Neilsen and Michael Edwards to set up opportunities for Broadford.
Unfortunately for Roo fans it was a term of missed chances as they added 1.5, while Elmore produced 3.2 in the final stanza.
CONTROVERSY
With just 25 seconds to go, Broadford’s Drew James was awarded a free kick on centre wing. Up the field, Chris Dunne had the ball and bolted towards goal before hitting teammate Trent Fisher with a perfect pass, leaving him just 25 metres from goal.
However, the umpires ruled that there was no advantage, and the ball was called back to James. Seconds later the siren blew with Elmore holding a one-point lead.
Elmore had just pulled off a great escape, a story the Bloods’ players will no doubt tell their grandchildren one day.
An obviously disappointed coach, Nolan said his players lost the game mentally.
“Maybe I’m doing something wrong as it’s the third time this year it’s happened. Footy’s an emotional game and I don’t think the whole 22 get emotionally involved to the standard senior footy demands,” he said.
“When we were 54 points up, we had them. We were a goal off breaking them, yet I honestly don’t think the entire group believed it.”
“On the other side of coin, Elmore still believed they could win the match, that’s the difference when you come up against quality sides – belief,” he said.
In a game where 62 free kicks were paid (32-30 Broadford’s way), Nolan considers the game struggled to flow for the full duration.
Once again it was another game let slip for Broadford.
The Roos are on the improve and look to be capable finalists, but there are clearly some issues that need to sink through to the players.
In three games this season (North Bendigo, Colbinabbin and Elmore), Broadford has been in winning positions, only to fall away to be beaten in the final quarter.
Mental lapses in those matches could be the difference between the Roos occupying third position on the ladder, or fifth, now.
“Our improvement since round one means we are good enough to match it with the best. But until we do we have not improved enough. Commendable losses are not acceptable,” Nolan said.

Hi there boys. Boss is away not much to do at work so i thought i'd put together a "mock" cheatley medal. Using the very flawed system of giving 3 votes to the player named best on the HDFL site, 2 votes to the best in the losing side and 1 vote to the 2nd best player in the winning side. However if the winning margin was over 10 goals all votes went to the winning side. Here are the results as of round 11

Lock 12 votes
Jacobs 10
Fletcher 9
Sawyer 9
Featherstone 9
Kay 9
Hayes 9
Douglas 8
McCleary 7
Carter 7
Shubert 7

Very rough system i know. First thoughts are where is Dunne, Grant, Morris, etc. Well that took up some of my day thanks lads.

i think that the club is looking at finishing this year before making any decisions with coaches and what not, there is still a long way to go in the year. the main focus is getting numbers on the ground due the unfortunate injuries that have occured this. On saturday we had 18 players out injuried or unavailable one of which was the axe who was down in melbourne. Saturday was very dissapointing in both matches but it was good to see the thirds having a good win even with them struggling for numbers taking up some of the under 14's. the focus is now on this week colbo and trying to get players back from injury and then play football. hopefully we will see the likes of bongiovanni back in the coming weeks he will be a big inclusion and will hopefully make some difference. We had Randall back last week which was good to see. Baldwin should not be to far off not sure on henshall. ireland will still be a few weeks.

It was good to see this week not as many injuries with only one senior player going to x rays today.

From what i hear l.b.u are now on rashions when it comes to taping after cal"the lesser"randall made a come back on the weekend,having every inch of his body taped and double on his knee.what a w***er. baldwin has dissapeared from the face of the earth,probably being probed as i type. ireland will not play again this season,either will jason collins who re-injured his knee. another big loss for the cats.
on happy news, marque at the gf is a "supoib" idea. as long as it is close to the bar farva is happy. and as long as there is a bbq nesko will be happy. :D

CONTROVERSY
With just 25 seconds to go, Broadford’s Drew James was awarded a free kick on centre wing. Up the field, Chris Dunne had the ball and bolted towards goal before hitting teammate Trent Fisher with a perfect pass, leaving him just 25 metres from goal.
However, the umpires ruled that there was no advantage, and the ball was called back to James. Seconds later the siren blew with Elmore holding a one-point lead.

The bloke playing on James had stopped at that stage having heard the umpire blow his whistle to bring the ball back (I think he'd blown it twice?). He didn't want to follow through with the spoil (being a chance he could give away a free kick) and pulled out of spoiling the contest. I guess it would have been controversial for Elmore had the umps gone on to pay it a mark after having tried to call the ball back to the wing ...

Very true Santoz, woulda been just as cruel for the Bloods :thumbsu:

I'm not sticking up for either side here Santoz, it would've been controversial either way the decision went. But, how often do you see it when an umpire blows his whistle once or twice, the ball spills free and the the attacking side run onto the ball and the advantage rule is paid.

It wasn't a great display by the men in orange on the day, they continually wanted their fifteen seconds in the limelight throughout the entire contest. I believe thye simply awarded to many free kicks for the day. In the end, players to to concerned about being pinned for holding to the ball when they picked it off the ground, that wild kicks around the centre of the ground was the best form of attack.

From our blokes you could not go past Trev Douglas, Cam Carter, Zac East and Matt Johno and i reckon a roughy would be Cam Ross. He has been superb in the ruck. I am biased but there would surely be others that would deserve a spot but they are te obvious ones. I would like to play :D:D:D

Geez rooots i reckon Benny McClearly would be one of the first players picked in such a side going on his form thus far this season!

On Huntly guys i was involved there a long time ago when they changed from Provincial to Huntly.When i came on board they had won one game in 2 years we turned that around and won 11 games both years i was there. We had coaching clinics at the local school and my wife started the netball of there.Also cleaned out the older players from the reserves side to give a clear path for the juniors to come through but unfortunatley made a few enemies in doing that and wa s given the heave ho 5 games into the 3rd season.Club doesnt seem to have improved since .

Have followed them from a distance but cant see any improvement in the near future hope im wrong but doesnt seem to have a wining culture.

:thumbsu:
Heartbreak!

AFTER leading by 54 points at quarter time, Broadford’s senior footballers were mown down term by term to record a heartbreaking one-point loss against Elmore on Saturday.
Elmore is a genuine premiership contender, and it took some courageous coaching by Broadford’s Chris Nolan to give his side the best chance.
In the first term, Nolan virtually changed his whole setup in the midfield and forward line.
John Taylor, who is leading the Heathcote District Football League’s goalkicking, was sent into the centre; John Rowe, one of the Roos’ best on-ballers, was pushed across half back; while gun midfielders Chris Dunne and Daniel Fletcher were rotated between full-forward and the middle.
It was a move that paid big dividends early for the Roos. Taylor had first quarter disposals; Rowe touched the footy nine times; while Dunne and Fletcher shared five goals in the first term.
Holding a 54-point lead at the first break, Roos supporters were excited, eyeing off a season defining victory and a tighter grip on fifth place – booking at least one match in September.
However, Elmore coach Tony Southcombe had other ideas.
The former Carlton forward gave his players a lashing at the huddle, determined to inspire the players to turn around the match.
Although there was a breeze towards the northern end of Harley Hammond Reserve, it would have only been worth two or three goals at a maximum. Perhaps the psychological benefits of kicking to that end made the difference.
While the Bloods looked raring to go in the second term, Broadford appeared to be controlling their attacks quite well from half-back.
That was until the Roos’ side was virtually shot to pieces after Fletcher was taken to hospital following an accidental knock to the head, and Alwin Neilson left the ground with neck soreness, leaving Broadford with a two-man interchange for the remainder of the contest.
Following those incidents, the game took a much different complexion, as Elmore stars Andy Grant, Justin Schubert and Brian Westley began to impact on the game.
By half time the Bloods had sliced Broadford’s lead back to just 27 points.
Elmore’s confidence grew as they started to win the ball from the stoppages and running players Joe Cavallaro, Rick Smith and David Fevaleaki got their tails up.
Aaron Debbatista, a new comer to the Bloods this season, was also able to curtail the influence of the dangerous Dunne somewhat and by the final break the Bloods had squeezed their way back to be within eight points.
The last quarter proved to be a fitting final chapter to an epic battle as the Roos refused to buckle with lion hearted ruckman Grant Wearne combining with creative pair Eddie Neilsen and Michael Edwards to set up opportunities for Broadford.
Unfortunately for Roo fans it was a term of missed chances as they added 1.5, while Elmore produced 3.2 in the final stanza.
CONTROVERSY
Elmore had just pulled off a great escape, a story the Bloods’ players will no doubt tell their grandchildren one day.
An obviously disappointed coach, Nolan said his players lost the game mentally.
“Maybe I’m doing something wrong as it’s the third time this year it’s happened. Footy’s an emotional game and I don’t think the whole 22 get emotionally involved to the standard senior footy demands,” he said.
“When we were 54 points up, we had them. We were a goal off breaking them, yet I honestly don’t think the entire group believed it.”
“On the other side of coin, Elmore still believed they could win the match, that’s the difference when you come up against quality sides – belief,” he said.
In a game where 62 free kicks were paid (32-30 Broadford’s way), Nolan considers the game struggled to flow for the full duration.
Once again it was another game let slip for Broadford.
The Roos are on the improve and look to be capable finalists, but there are clearly some issues that need to sink through to the players.
In three games this season (North Bendigo, Colbinabbin and Elmore), Broadford has been in winning positions, only to fall away to be beaten in the final quarter.
Mental lapses in those matches could be the difference between the Roos occupying third position on the ladder, or fifth, now.
“Our improvement since round one means we are good enough to match it with the best. But until we do we have not improved enough. Commendable losses are not acceptable,” Nolan said.

Matt,,,,,,,,,,,what do we say....look out Mike Sheehan if we all had a run down on every match like that i could save myself a $1.10 everyday. Bendigo addy get stuffed......bring on the nicholls news,,,,,,keep up the good work:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Now i know Mr Troy 'Chaulky' Auld is a very tallented man, but how does he do it all, how does see enough of every game in the hdfl to give a weekly run down on every game... and then still manage to don the number 2 jumper for Stanhope in the Kyabram district league

Having participated in sport previously along with being responsible for news coverage you build yourself up a reliable network of contacts and it aint that hard - I reckon the bloke does a fantastic job in promoting the HDFL and if he still has the time to represent his beloved Stanhope Footy Club then his time management skills must be brilliant also :thumbsu: :thumbsu: