Heathcote District FL

Good game to watch Doona, quick and hard at it and played like a final. Umpires had to much influence on the game with some puzzling and inconsistant decisions. Still, we need them out there for the game to work. How many goals resulted from free kicks?
Mounts would have been in trouble if the game went much longer after controlling it for the majority and not capitalising on the scoreboard.

No i could not, I will tell u why and also why the other side's in the HDFL won.

Nth Bendigo..........Won BECAUSE Heathcote have got to many injuries, 2 more yesterday Jess & Saunders before half time

Elmore..................Won BECAUSE they are paying good money for the wright players to be a good side

Mt Pleasant............Won BECAUSE their experience would have got them over the line

Colbo.....................Won BECAUSE they also are paying good money out to put a good side on the ground every week

How is that Desmond TU TU like it or lump it this is my opinion:D:D

WHAT A w***er....

Oddly enough you mention why the other teams won, but you failed to mention why North won. I did not see you put B'fords loss was because of anything. Maybe you should acknowledge that they won because they are actually proving to be the true underdog and may deserve just a smidge more respect than most have paid them this year. Obviously that club has done something right because without money they have put in honest work. Good old fashioned work. And remember the players that are consistantly going well are players that returned to the club this year. Says a fair bit about them actually, So good on them, I hope their fortune continues!

The reason north won is because they were first to the ball in the third quarter and should of been at least 6 goals up at three quarter time. Heathcote were going at the ball with one hand in hardball situations and did not want to work hard. North were the better side after 1/4 time.

Doona, I think u have started something with the idea of a Big Footy Marquee at the GF.
A few people have asked me is it going ahead, and asked me to pass on some ideas for the people connected with Big Footy to do on GF day.

(1) A longest kick between the Big Footy people at half time of the 1st
(2) A 50 meter sprint not a 100 meters at half time of the 2s
(3) A goal shot out half time of the 3rds
(4) Who can drink the most cans over the day
(4) Can anyone beat RWB recould of 35 dim sims in 10min:D

Think I'll spend the day scoring there Ump. No real chance or competing in any of the abovementioned.

Great to see Doona fly the flag for his boys after another shattering defeat. You could have heard a pin drop back at the social club when the big fella called for unity after some uneccessary comments were fired over the fence by a few Broadford people on Saturday.

As someone in the know each Saturday, these guys had no idea how stretched we were due to injury, yet questioned blokes endeavour or attack at the pill which just isn't on, especially within earshot of many of the senior players and their team mates.

Everyone keeps saying how good a job he's done thus far, but Doona knows anything less than finals is a failure such is the standard he sets himself and I guarantee he is feeling the pressure more than anyone at present.

2 combined losses of 6 pts to last years grand finallists is nothing to sneeze at and with a growing injury list it's crunch time. "Football doesn't build character it reveals it" is one of Doona's key motto's in the rooms. Time to see who's gunna sink or swim and whether or not the Roos supporters can get us up for a big win at home against North.

Déjà vu for Roos

ANOTHER week, another narrow loss for Broadford.
Against Heathcote District Football League powerhouse Mount Pleasant, the Roos fell short by five points on Saturday.
At Tooleen, it took a courageous effort from Broadford to stay in the contest, let alone get close to winning.
Injuries plagued the side, with Tom Webster, Sam Taylor, Bill Neilson and John Taylor all breaking down.
Webster left the field early with an ankle injury and didn’t return, Neilson broke his hand, Sam Taylor was unable to participate in the second half due to a calf injury, and John Taylor played much of the game on one leg after hurting his quadriceps.
Despite the long list of injuries, the Roos pushed Mounts all the way.A late charge almost saw the visitors upset the reigning premiers.
Trailing by 19 points at three-quarter-time, Broadford defied the odds and made a bold bid for victory.
After starring in defence all day, Brent Littlewood floated forward late in the game to help the Roos’ cause and it looked as if the visitors were going to cause an upset.
But once again, time was not on Broadford’s side.
By the time the Roos kicked the goal to put them within five points, there was just eight seconds remaining.
For a side riddled with injuries, the comeback was remarkable.
Once again, the midfield combination of Chris Dunne, John Rowe and Grant Wearne (ruck) proved to be unstoppable, while Adrian Wilson’s influence on the wing was second to none.
Gun Mounts midfielder Cam Carter ran riot in the first quarter with three majors, but was well held by youngsters Justin Webb and Liam Collier for the remainder of the match.
Star Broadford forward John Taylor was also lively early with three goals, but his injury restricted his impact as the game continued.
Strangely, Mount Pleasant’s best player was listed as Taylor’s opponent Luke Bennett. Perhaps they should have awarded it to his quadriceps injury.
Obviously disappointed with the loss, Broadford coach Chris Nolan was quick to encourage his players.
“It’s a credit to the blokes out there who fought it out. It was a courageous effort to perform like that against a genuine premiership contender,” he said.
Nolan said the club had to keep pulling together and stay united, despite a couple of narrow losses in the last fortnight.
He believed that everyone, including supporters, committee members, Under 17 and reserves players needed to stick together.
This Saturday the Roos host North Bendigo, a side that has a poor travelling record. A win will secure Broadford’s spot in the top-five for another week.
It is likely that the players who were injured against Mount Pleasant will not play this weekend, making selection tomorrow night (Thursday) a difficult task for Nolan and his support staff.

Déjà vu for Roos

ANOTHER week, another narrow loss for Broadford.
Against Heathcote District Football League powerhouse Mount Pleasant, the Roos fell short by five points on Saturday.
At Tooleen, it took a courageous effort from Broadford to stay in the contest, let alone get close to winning.
Injuries plagued the side, with Tom Webster, Sam Taylor, Bill Neilson and John Taylor all breaking down.
Webster left the field early with an ankle injury and didn’t return, Neilson broke his hand, Sam Taylor was unable to participate in the second half due to a calf injury, and John Taylor played much of the game on one leg after hurting his quadriceps.
Despite the long list of injuries, the Roos pushed Mounts all the way.A late charge almost saw the visitors upset the reigning premiers.
Trailing by 19 points at three-quarter-time, Broadford defied the odds and made a bold bid for victory.
After starring in defence all day, Brent Littlewood floated forward late in the game to help the Roos’ cause and it looked as if the visitors were going to cause an upset.
But once again, time was not on Broadford’s side.
By the time the Roos kicked the goal to put them within five points, there was just eight seconds remaining.
For a side riddled with injuries, the comeback was remarkable.
Once again, the midfield combination of Chris Dunne, John Rowe and Grant Wearne (ruck) proved to be unstoppable, while Adrian Wilson’s influence on the wing was second to none.
Gun Mounts midfielder Cam Carter ran riot in the first quarter with three majors, but was well held by youngsters Justin Webb and Liam Collier for the remainder of the match.
Star Broadford forward John Taylor was also lively early with three goals, but his injury restricted his impact as the game continued.
Strangely, Mount Pleasant’s best player was listed as Taylor’s opponent Luke Bennett. Perhaps they should have awarded it to his quadriceps injury.
Obviously disappointed with the loss, Broadford coach Chris Nolan was quick to encourage his players.
“It’s a credit to the blokes out there who fought it out. It was a courageous effort to perform like that against a genuine premiership contender,” he said.
Nolan said the club had to keep pulling together and stay united, despite a couple of narrow losses in the last fortnight.
He believed that everyone, including supporters, committee members, Under 17 and reserves players needed to stick together.
This Saturday the Roos host North Bendigo, a side that has a poor travelling record. A win will secure Broadford’s spot in the top-five for another week.
It is likely that the players who were injured against Mount Pleasant will not play this weekend, making selection tomorrow night (Thursday) a difficult task for Nolan and his support staff.

Did you get to the game at all Matt. If you had you may have noticed that Taylors opponent, ME, suffered a leg injury early in the piece as well, so i would say that we were both fairly evenly matched. To say that his leg injury is the reason that i was able to hold him after quarter time is a joke.

Also if we want to get really picky about it we could mention that 2 of his goals came whilst playing at CHF and on another opponent, so in 3 and a half quarters i managed to hold him to one goal.

Get it right or don't write it :thumbsdown:

Roota out!

Did you get to the game at all Matt. If you had you may have noticed that Taylors opponent, ME, suffered a leg injury early in the piece as well, so i would say that we were both fairly evenly matched. To say that his leg injury is the reason that i was able to hold him after quarter time is a joke.

Also if we want to get really picky about it we could mention that 2 of his goals came whilst playing at CHF and on another opponent, so in 3 and a half quarters i managed to hold him to one goal.

Roota out!
You don't believe everything you read in the paper Roota do you? Just a piece of journalism Matt, Taylor stayed out on the ground and therefore, injured or not, becomes fair game for someone to get it over him.

Roota out!

That's not the point I was making Luke. I was not at the ground, I'll put my hand up and say that, but I've spoken to three people at the game, and they didn't think you were best on ground. It is impossible to know how many goals Taylor would have booted if he didn't get injured. Likewise for you. JT won't play this weekend. The idea to leave him on the ground was obviously a ploy to make a key defender accountable. Whether it worked or not I don't know. But if you were given best on by your club for keeping Tayls quiet, then that is joke.

Do you think you were the best player on the field?

That's not the point I was making Luke. I was not at the ground, I'll put my hand up and say that, but I've spoken to three people at the game, and they didn't think you were best on ground. It is impossible to know how many goals Taylor would have booted if he didn't get injured. Likewise for you. JT won't play this weekend. The idea to leave him on the ground was obviously a ploy to take a key defender out of the game.

Do you think you were the best player on the field?

Nope definitley not, i would have thought that Carter, Douglas and Ben McCleary were the best for us. If the idea of him staying out on the ground was to take a defender out of the game why did the keep kicking the bloody pill to him. From reading your article it is clear that you think that his injury is the only reason why he didn't kick any more goals which i believe is incorrect. We were both on one leg for the same amount of time and not once did he beat me in a one on one contest. I suggest you ask a few more people at the game and maybe even the man himself. My reason for these posts is because i have copped a fair bit of crap on this site since joining the league and finally i reckon i may have done alright and someone puts it down to injury to the other bloke

I hope his injury comes good soon as he is a really good player and a top bloke too

Nope definitley not, i would have thought that Carter, Douglas and Ben McCleary were the best for us. If the idea of him staying out on the ground was to take a defender out of the game why did the keep kicking the bloody pill to him. From reading your article it is clear that you think that his injury is the only reason why he didn't kick any more goals which i believe is incorrect. We were both on one leg for the same amount of time and not once did he beat me in a one on one contest. I suggest you ask a few more people at the game and maybe even the man himself. My reason for these posts is because i have copped a fair bit of crap on this site since joining the league and finally i reckon i may have done alright and someone puts it down to injury to the other bloke

I hope his injury comes good soon as he is a really good player and a top bloke too

Roota, I've never seen you play, and its not my style to take pot shots. I was merely making a point that whoever gives the best is ill-informed. I have no doubt you did a terrific job on Tayls, he is a class player, even on one leg.

The roos may have suffered some injuries Scotty, however the way the reserves are travelling, there is plenty of talent ready to make the step up to senior football. Maybe Doona could pin up the statement 'crisis creates opportunity' in the change rooms this week. And if he does, make sure I get a mention!

Hey Roota, good onya for sticking up for yourself. it sounds like you've been a revelation since moving into defence, and you may have found your niche.

The roos may have suffered some injuries Scotty, however the way the reserves are travelling, there is plenty of talent ready to make the step up to senior football. Maybe Doona could pin up the statement 'crisis creates opportunity' in the change rooms this week. And if he does, make sure I get a mention!

Hey Roota, good onya for sticking up for yourself. it sounds like you've been a revelation since moving into defence, and you may have found your niche.

Too many lads read our dribble on these pages mate so they'd know it wasn't one of me originals should I poach a saying from the former Seymour left armer :D

Good to see ya back mate, where are the rest of ya Colbo crew hiding???

WHAT A w***er....

What OLD PEOPLE'S HOME r u at, i will come and get u and take u to the footy. If they let u out that is,Have not heard from u for a long time.It must be a long hall way to that computer at the OLD PEOPLE'S HOME.
If you get fair dinkim about writing into Big Footy u will be up & down that hall way to the computer like a honeymooner's nightie.:)
IF NOT PULL YOUR HEAD IN :thumbsu:

Oddly enough you mention why the other teams won, but you failed to mention why North won. I did not see you put B'fords loss was because of anything. Maybe you should acknowledge that they won because they are actually proving to be the true underdog and may deserve just a smidge more respect than most have paid them this year. Obviously that club has done something right because without money they have put in honest work. Good old fashioned work. And remember the players that are consistantly going well are players that returned to the club this year. Says a fair bit about them actually, So good on them, I hope their fortune continues!

fingeronpulse, Iam down on 1 knee when i wrote this everythink u wrote is correct will u ever forgive me.:thumbsu:

I

No worries mate :thumbsu:

Don't worry Roota, I thought you were in the bst five for Mounts on Saturday, but want to know what's in the spray cans up there. You made a comeback bigger than Lazarus on saturday, hobbling off early onto to return moments later, as thought nothing was wrong. Great effort.:thumbsu:

I wish the same could be said here. For the second away game in a row went to the p1ssers at half time on the crutches and screwed up again. Water on slippery tiles (near shower blocks) and rubber crutch stops just don't go. Returned after halftime with the pen, but just wasn't myself around the bench.:D

May be out this week as well. The injuries just keep racking up.

Don't worry Roota, I thought you were in the bst five for Mounts on Saturday, but want to know what's in the spray cans up there. You made a comeback bigger than Lazarus on saturday, hobbling off early onto to return moments later, as thought nothing was wrong. Great effort.:thumbsu:

I wish the same could be said here. For the second away game in a row went to the p1ssers at half time on the crutches and screwed up again. Water on slippery tiles (near shower blocks) and rubber crutch stops just don't go. Returned after halftime with the pen, but just wasn't myself around the bench.:D

Stop whingeing about injuries, If i did not know you better i would say you are taking the piss out of me:D:D

You don't believe everything you read in the paper Roota do you? Just a piece of journalism Matt, Taylor stayed out on the ground and therefore, injured or not, becomes fair game for someone to get it over him.

That is quite well said r w + b. If your fit enough to be on the ground you should have no excuses, cop it sweet or get off the ground!!

Roota out!

Bore it up em Roota! Fantom thinks that if you hurt your leg last week it would be an extremely good idea to sit the next game out and give your leg every chance of a full recovery. Who you guys got next week by the way??:D:D

Fantom:thumbsu:

Bore it up em Hillies ;)

Bore it up em Roota! Fantom thinks that if you hurt your leg last week it would be an extremely good idea to sit the next game out and give your leg every chance of a full recovery. Who you guys got next week by the way??:D:D

Bore it up em Hillies ;)

Fantom, fill us in on Saturdays game. heard enough of all the others. I see in the Addy a few young guns performed well.Whre to from here?

:D
Bore it up em Roota! Fantom thinks that if you hurt your leg last week it would be an extremely good idea to sit the next game out and give your leg every chance of a full recovery. Who you guys got next week by the way??:D

Bore it up em Hillies ;)

Must be back to you blokes i would reckon Fantom and a big game it is after the turn around the Hillies have been able to achieve.

Looking forward to the game at Scott Street, played many a game of cricket there as a junior and also to see who i will line up on this week. Oh yeah and the beers in the rooms after the game :D :D:D

Sorry just stirring

Stop whingeing about injuries, If i did not know you better i would say you are taking the piss out of me:D:D

Not geeing u up mate, our number one stats man Wok has gone a gutser on our past two road trips and may miss this weeks crunch game thru soreness.

That is quite well said r w + b. If your fit enough to be on the ground you should have no excuses, cop it sweet or get off the ground!!

Agree whole heartedly guys, play the cards ya dealt and have faith in what's at ya disposal I say.

Very very good trainers out at Toolleen mate ;)

Bore it up em Hillies ;)

The Froffie Monster thinks that if you are on the field you are on the field fit. I have seen roota play a good game at full back this season, with his rebound footy, however i did not see saturdays game. However if he played well and was in the best good on him. Who cares if he was not number 1 on the field he was awarded it. The umpires don't always get it right! Good onya roota ta ta. get into em!:thumbsu: