Archie Umpire

Rookie
Sep 1, 2008
Liverpool
Anyone notice that Chris Dudd was given 5 votes(BOG) by Rod Nicholson(Tool) in the herald sun on the weekend. What utter rubbish.was not in the top 6 players imo, & from some blues supporters i know. Swanny was 6 votes clear before Round 21 but now is only 1 clear. Once again the crap us at Collingwood have to put up with. no doubt they will screw Swanny over in the last round. Cheating Scumbags!!

Yeah i saw that...

For Swanny's sake i hope he can get up, i doubt juddy will poll any votes against Adelaide as they in recent times have had his measure...

In the Age he is 3 votes behind, so good luck to him...

I wouldn't mind 30,000 big ones :)

Sorry, but it's in Judd's contract that he has to win atleast one award each year.:p

Yeah, don't you know Dick(head) Pratt payed off all the newspapers so that this cause in the contract would be fulfilled.

Not one radio station even gave Judd votes on the weekend, kind of strange indeed.

At least we know the umpires can't be bought and that the Brownlow medal is a fair and impartial event voted upon by the most esteemed representatives of the fine officialdom in our game.;)

The media's infatuation with Judd is positively sickening, this guy rides upon the biggest wave of hype, and it's increased tenfold ever since he came to Victoria. The practice match he played at the beginning of 08 in front of 10,000 Carltank airheads where he was cheered loudly for every dinky little handball he completed was a perfect illustration of the ridiculous overstatement of everything he does on a football field.

There is no doubt in my mind that he is a great player, but it the way that commentators go out of their way to avoid criticising him, or drawing attention to his mistakes just defies belief.

Yeah, I noticed. As if a lot of people in the media actually know how to judge the perfomance of players. Nicholson giving Judd the five was a joke. Both Murphy and Gibbs played better than him on the day. Even giving him three votes would have been a stretch with Fevola's performance.

I have nothing against Judd, but I can't stand the media's infatuation with putting him on a pedestal above other players when he doesn't deserve it. The same goes with Goodes, although to a lesser extent.

Happened a couple of weeks ago as well. He got one vote when he only got 15 disposals. I couldn't believe he got five votes Gibbs, Murphy and Fevola were clearly better then him.Doesn't matter we've got more important things to win like a premiership!

What a joke that was! Chris Judd doesnt even deserve to make the all australian side, but you know he will make it... He wont poll 16 votes in the brownlow:
Midfielders I would have before Judd
Ablett
Selwood
Montagna
Dal Santo
Hayes
Swan
Pendlebury
Didak
Murphy
Boyd
Vince
Watson

Nothing against Juddy he is arguably the best midfielder in the comp - but him getting BOG votes on the weekend vs. Melbourne was incorrect.

He got them more for is reputation than his actual game on the weekend.

FFS Marc Murphy had 37 disposals and kicked a goal and Fev kicked 7 those 2 were clearly the best for the blues.

What a joke that was! Chris Judd doesnt even deserve to make the all australian side, but you know he will make it... He wont poll 16 votes in the brownlow:
Ablett
Selwood
Montagna
Dal Santo
Hayes
Swan
Pendlebury
Didak
Murphy
Boyd
Vince
Watson

So you're saying that based on this years form you would rather have boyd, vince, dal santo & jobe before judd. i must be watching different games of footy.

i would take judd before all of the above players.

additionally massive call nicknaming him chris dudd

So you're saying that based on this years form you would rather have boyd, vince, dal santo & jobe before judd. i must be watching different games of footy.

i would take judd before all of the above players.

additionally massive call nicknaming him chris dudd

I'd have Ablett, Selwood and Didak before Judd but that is about it. I name these three because they can win games by themselves (No not literally but you know what I mean). The others surely are work horses and are phenomenal players but I'd still rather Judd's talent and work rate over every other player in that list.

The man get's so many soft frees makes you want to bite the top off your stubby. So many arse-lickers - heaven spare you if McAvaney is commentating.

So many of these commentators cleave to power, makes me want to spew.

Monday i was having a argument with a Carlton supporter saying that he didnt deserve the 5 and that Murphy and Fev were clearly better then him and not far behind was Gibbs and it was strange because Carlton supporters were backing me up

Im pretty sure he got 5 againts Port aswell which he was no where near the best and Swan has got alot of 3's and 4's when he has been BOG its a joke lets hope he does win it Judd doesnt have a very good record againt Adelaide

Ablett
Selwood
Montagna
Dal Santo
Hayes
Swan
Pendlebury
Didak
Murphy
Boyd
Vince
Watson

Haha.
There is probably only 3, maybe 4 blokes from there I would take over Judd this year purely on form, and probably only 1 I would I take if it was just overall... Though it would be a line ball call.

In a thread complaining about biased opinions I find this post a bit ironic.

Still in saying that I don't think Judd deserved the 5 in the paper, hardly matters though, I'd be much happier with a brownlow than the Herald Sun player of the year award if I was Swan.

I have no problem with judd , but billy brainless giving votes for the geelong games on the sunday footy show is a crock.steve johnson always gets votes that he did not earn, the same for ablett.

agree with this. billy brownless voted on a collingwood game and didn't give swan any votes when he was top 2 or 3 on the ground. he wants ablett to win it of course.:mad:

There is no doubt in my mind that he is a great player, but it the way that commentators go out of their way to avoid criticising him, or drawing attention to his mistakes just defies belief.
The worst example of this was when he got that blood nose and tried to play midfield but couldn't and Brucey said "the legend of Chris Judd continues to grow"

Oh that was shocking. Instead of getting blasted for not being able to play as a forward to give Eddie Betts a chop out who was forced to cover him there, he selfishly refuses to play as a forward because he can't do it.
Unbelievable.

How exactly does Judd winning a Herald Sun footy award really matter? Journos know no more of football than anyone on here, hope Judd gets it, because straight off the top of my head I can't remember who won it last year and I bet there was one of these in 1961 and no one remembers who won that either.

These awards become meaningless when the media are involved, that is why I have to laugh about the Hall of Fame with journalists on the panel, what do they know of football more than us? Nothing, there isn't Bachelor of Football Journalism at any uni in this country so all they have is a point of view.

Grand Final is the only award that counts, bar none, including the Brownlow.

That's a ridiculous call mate, i am the first to say Judd is overrated.
Absolute gun though 2nd to Ablett IMO, but still very overrated by the media and whole world..!

A 5m hand pass by Judd is the best thing anybody has ever seen, then somebody else does the same and rightfully so doesn't get a mention.

Have been watching these votes all year, my brother (blues supporter been to every game) doesn't believe it either. Couple of weeks ago best for blues were Gibbs Murphy Fev then Judd. Judd got the 5 votes when clearly Gibbs was best on by a mile who didn't get a single vote..!

Same with this weekend, would rate Both Murphy and Gibb's games better than Judds. Yet he got the 5 votes.
Bit of a nothing award but do it properly or don't do it at all..

Herald Sun Bias