HFF_07's Rookie Draft preview [update: added profiles]

Rory Laird from West Adelaide and Brendan Lee from East Perth will be training with us.

Brendan Lee is a good hard midfielder exactly what i would like more of.

http://www.wafl.com.au/players/view/1196

Here are his stats in the WAFL, an accumulator type maybe a bit to similar to Howlett, could be a good midfield tagger.

Some said he was the best WAFL player this year, most say his year was only behind Blackwells so he had a great year.

Brendan Lee is a good hard midfielder exactly what i would like more of.

http://www.wafl.com.au/players/view/1196

Here are his stats in the WAFL, an accumulator type maybe a bit to similar to Howlett, could be a good midfield tagger.

Some said he was the best WAFL player this year, most say his year was only behind Blackwells so he had a great year.

Just to expand on the above, lee doesnt have massive legspeed, has a decent taknk however and over the past 18 months at league level has become one of the top midfielders in the wafl.
Has good hands and is normally really creative, gets in and under packs and feeds the ball out well on most occasions, reasonable by foot but he wont kick many goals from outside 50metres.
Takes a good mark for his size and he can play as a forward also as knows where to go to get the crumbs.
Prime example of hard work paying off and if given a chance wont let anyone down.

Just to expand on the above, lee doesnt have massive legspeed, has a decent taknk however and over the past 18 months at league level has become one of the top midfielders in the wafl.
Has good hands and is normally really creative, gets in and under packs and feeds the ball out well on most occasions, reasonable by foot but he wont kick many goals from outside 50metres.
Takes a good mark for his size and he can play as a forward also as knows where to go to get the crumbs.
Prime example of hard work paying off and if given a chance wont let anyone down.

Pretty much agree with everything here. Definitely lacks leg speed but makes up for this with his ability to win the contested ball so often. One thing I'm sure he'd love to improve is his ability to kick goals, for example only kicking 2 goals from 24 games this year, although this could be due to handballing a lot more than kicking (even though his foot skills are satisfactory).

If he gets picked up and doesn't make it, it sure won't be from a lack of effort.

I think his best chance to make it at AFL level (ag: become a good afl player and locked into a side) would be as a tagger. Really competitive type, hates to lose and you know he will give 100% every time he walks on the park. Similar traits to Liam Picken. May not be the most talented runner speed wise, nor have the best kick but hunger for the contest makes up for it.

A.Day anyone know much about him, training with the dons. Searched a bit up on him, weight 96kg and stands at 190cm is a rebounding defender and can play on talls and smalls. Goes with how we recruited last year with Ross, Davis, Heppell, Hibberd ect

First thing i thought was he weighs alot. Been having one on one contest against Crameri and Ryder at training, would be an interesting contest between him and Crameri i would imagine.

Anyone know much more, apparently couldnt make the 2009 glenelg side, is 22 years old.

Might of been said before but according to the AFL website Long has nominated for the preseason draft, from memory we dont have a preseason pick so it must mean we have given no guarantees to draft him, but I doubt anyone will take him

Pretty sure nominate for both drafts if you do in fact 'nominate', as some players were/are not on 'that' list of full nominations on the DraftTracker list.

Aaron Day
Age 22
Defender
Height (cm): 190
Weight (kg): 93
Total Games: 34
Total Goals: 10

2011 premiership with Woodville-West Torrens
Two reserves premierships with Glenelg

It has come to my attention that we need a KPF that is a more mature than an 18 year old 20-22 ~ so in 2-3 years they can be playing their best footy when essendon are.

We have Gumbleton (cant rely on him)
Joe D (is he a lock, do we have him? wont be having an impact in just 2 years after being drafted)
Carlisle (I prefer him down back)
Hurley (Back or forward, i like him as a forward but i still have GWS in the back of my head)

If we lost Hurley we would be doomed, even if we keep him we dont have the stocks. So we need to stock up in this area.

HFF, you got any 20-24 year old got KPF's that you know of that you like in the draft?

It has come to my attention that we need a KPF that is a more mature than an 18 year old 20-22 ~ so in 2-3 years they can be playing their best footy when essendon are.

We have Gumbleton (cant rely on him)
Joe D (is he a lock, do we have him? wont be having an impact in just 2 years after being drafted)
Carlisle (I prefer him down back)
Hurley (Back or forward, i like him as a forward but i still have GWS in the back of my head)

If we lost Hurley we would be doomed, even if we keep him we dont have the stocks. So we need to stock up in this area.

HFF, you got any 20-24 year old got KPF's that you know of that you like in the draft?

I thought we were pretty good for forwards, as Mentioned, we already have Hurley, Carlisle, Gumbleton and J.Daniher as forwards, with only Hooker, Pears and Fletcher our key defenders.

Looking at that, could we even surprise and take two KPP's in this years rookie draft?

As for mature forwards, I have a couple in mind.

Haydn Busher (Perth) who averaged over a goal a game playing in the league side as the main man, he also averaged over 6 marks a game showing his ability in the air. He transformed himself from Colts Team of the year CHB to one of the most promising forwards in 2nd tier football.
Watch this space but Chris25 has been his biggest fan for a couple of years now, after finally holding down a permanent 22 spot in the league side, this could be his year.

Another tall forward prospect who was hot on the radar for many clubs last year. 22 year old, 200cm Port Melbourne forward Callum Sinclair.

He had an indifferent 2011 after injury curtailed his pre season. Having come back through reserves level, sinclair was a consistent goal kicker but was wittled away after some key Borough players came back.

His strong clean hands highlighted with a second placing in the clean hands testing at Draft Camp. At 200cm, Sinclair has been able to go into the ruck with great success. More suited to a CHF role, Sinclair has the ability to play 1:1 as his motor and speed for a big man are actually very good.

I was hot on the heels for us to bring in Sinclair as a mature aged rookie last year, but we picked up the Bogan from Lake Boga instead.

One player I am really, really likeing is Rhys Waters, medium midfielder/forward who produced some stunning numbers at Colts level.

Averaged 20 disposals and 2 goals a game and then went up to the League side and he held his own, averaging 16 possessions and a goal a game, all that as an 18 year old.

Strong overhead, and ellusive in traffic, Waters is a real smoky in my eyes, one worth taking.

I thought we were pretty good for forwards, as Mentioned, we already have Hurley, Carlisle, Gumbleton and J.Daniher as forwards, with only Hooker, Pears and Fletcher our key defenders.

Looking at that, could we even surprise and take two KPP's in this years rookie draft?

As for mature forwards, I have a couple in mind.

Haydn Busher (Perth) who averaged over a goal a game playing in the league side as the main man, he also averaged over 6 marks a game showing his ability in the air. He transformed himself from Colts Team of the year CHB to one of the most promising forwards in 2nd tier football.
Watch this space but Chris25 has been his biggest fan for a couple of years now, after finally holding down a permanent 22 spot in the league side, this could be his year.

Another tall forward prospect who was hot on the radar for many clubs last year. 22 year old, 200cm Port Melbourne forward Callum Sinclair.

He had an indifferent 2011 after injury curtailed his pre season. Having come back through reserves level, sinclair was a consistent goal kicker but was wittled away after some key Borough players came back.

His strong clean hands highlighted with a second placing in the clean hands testing at Draft Camp. At 200cm, Sinclair has been able to go into the ruck with great success. More suited to a CHF role, Sinclair has the ability to play 1:1 as his motor and speed for a big man are actually very good.

I was hot on the heels for us to bring in Sinclair as a mature aged rookie last year, but we picked up the Bogan from Lake Boga instead.

One player I am really, really likeing is Rhys Waters, medium midfielder/forward who produced some stunning numbers at Colts level.

Averaged 20 disposals and 2 goals a game and then went up to the League side and he held his own, averaging 16 possessions and a goal a game, all that as an 18 year old.

Strong overhead, and ellusive in traffic, Waters is a real smoky in my eyes, one worth taking.

I know Busher and Waters pretty well. Played against Busher a few times.

Im not a fan and hes way to undersized to hold a KP post at AFL level, unless he has grown alot in the past year which i doubt because he was the biggest built kid running around in the colts. The reason he didnt get drafted in 2009 still remains the same, size.

Waters not a KPF that im talking about, more a midfielder. Saw his league debut and was really impressed than didnt hear anything about him getting drafted and i thought he would be a shoe it. Types like him, dont usually get picked up unless they have another really good year in league. Plenty have shown more or as much as him in league A.Black, K.Yu ect and been no chance of being picked up. Even Elari, Collica, Garlett, Florio ect. A weak draft may work in his favour.

I see our key backs as Pears, Hooker, Carlisle, Myers (very capable when required) as our tall backs. I guess its pretty equal to that of our key forwards although im in the spot of Gumby (optimistic to play another game, could be last year). As i said we dont have Joe D just yet and i guess he will be groomed to fill a ruck role left by Hille, because our rucks are so light on. I sit on the side of the fence that prefers Carlisle as a back. You cant not think that Hurley will get the kitchen sink thrown at him by GWS aswell.

Lets just give a hypothetical, Hurley goes to GWS (Gumby and Hille) play 2012 as last year. Who are our forwards?

You have to plan for the worse and the club will know that.

Isnt this why we might recruit Matt Little as insurance? We also have Steinberg? I think our forward line has Option A, B, C and D if we recruit Matt Little.

I prefer Carlisle Forward.

Isnt this why we might recruit Matt Little as insurance? We also have Steinberg? I think our forward line has Option A, B, C and D if we recruit Matt Little.

I prefer Carlisle Forward.
How tall is Little?

Forgot about Steinberg but i think he will be more Crameri like and may not even make it.

I guess we are pretty well stocked now if we got Joe D and Steinberg comes on.

How tall is Little?

Forgot about Steinberg but i think he will be more Crameri like and may not even make it.

I guess we are pretty well stocked now if we got Joe D and Steinberg comes on.
Little is 187cm.

I reckon Steinberg will be a gun.

draft movements this tues

has any one any idea what hirdys going to do on tues....are we selecting in draft or just rookies.....and names touted...would appreciate some feedback....a lil smokey for me would be the brother of scott pendlebury....any thoughts?

Re: draft movements this tues

MYles sewell!
Can't believe he hasn't been drafted yet.
Will win the Rising Star round one.
Mark my words.

Have heard Jason Williams (Calder Cannons) is training with us..

Was considered a near 1st round pick for his first TAC season but struggled to back it up due to injury and form..

Be surprised if he doesn't get picked up considering his natural athleticism..

Was considered a near 1st round pick for his first TAC season but struggled to back it up due to injury and form..

Cousin of Mark Williams. (ex Hawk and Bomber player)

Good player, lacks a yard but his anticipation and ability to read the play is first class. Can be used as a running half back flanker or wingman.

MYles sewell!
Can't believe he hasn't been drafted yet.
Will win the Rising Star round one.
Mark my words.

Considering he is about 23/24 I wouldn't put much stock in your word as he is too old to be eligible.

He has been overlooked by everyone several times for a reason. If anyone hought he had something to offer he would have been snapped up by now.

I'd like to know more about Brendan Lee, and the kid from South Australia that is training with us (forgot his name though.)

Hird said in an interview after the draft we are likely to go for more mature players in the Rookie draft.

HFF_07's Rookie Draft preview [update: added profiles]