Roast Highly regarded players whose legacy has been ruined by their media careers

Dhoni Dakurri

Oct 18, 2016
Cameron Ling
Matthew Pavlich
Kane Cornes

The list goes on….

Not much of a fan of Ben Dixon, can’t quite figure out why 🤔.....I’ve got an opposite one too, Justin Leppitsch....Have really enjoyed his work on SEN & Channel 7 this year.

Kane cornes is the obvious one for me. That guy is completely unbearable and spouts off the dumbest shit constantly for clicks. He actively makes everything he's involved in unwatchable. Nathan Brown to a point as well for those annoying betting segments that make him look pretty terrible. Everyone else I can kind of deal with, even if they are a bit annoying.

Tony Shaw lost a lot of respect after constantly bagging Collingwood during MMs days, ended up being a rent a quote, and he was always open for business, then listening to him on Fox, damn, he is simply the worst, no one comes close.

I don’t mind Ling TBH, he’s no more cringy than Darcy, Kornes is employed by Crocmedia to stir, he’s Hutchie’s bitch, and seriously, was his career that good anyway? If anything his media drivel has kept his name alive.

Tony Shaw lost a lot of respect after constantly bagging Collingwood during MMs days, ended up being a rent a quote, and he was always open for business, then listening to him on Fox, damn, he is simply the worst, no one comes close.

I don’t mind Ling TBH, he’s no more cringy than Darcy, Kornes is employed by Crocmedia to stir, he’s Hutchie’s b*tch, and seriously, was his career that good anyway? If anything his media drivel has kept his name alive.
Shaw is as dumb as a box of hammers

incredible that’s he’s had such a long career in media ..mind boggling actually

and for Christ sake will some mod please delete the poo posts

Absolutely disgusting

Cameron Ling
Matthew Pavlich
Kane Cornes

The list goes on….
What wrong with Pavlich?

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

Cooney is the worst. Purely because of how dumb and unarticulate he is

Dixon, but we he ever a highly regarded player?

Nathan Brown another terrible performer in the media

I would almost put Lloty in here too. He is not to bad in the media but his Essendon bias can be unbearable. If he could tone that down he would be pretty good

Brownless. His drunk, dickhead persona stopped being funny a long time ago now it's just down right embaressing.

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

This thread begins and ends with Dane Swan.

Cameron Ling
Matthew Pavlich
Kane Cornes

The list goes on….

You're showing your bias with Pavlich there I think mate.

Ling is an interesting one - can't stand him on TV, not sure if it's a character thing that they're made to put on as part of the team or something. Up there with Darcy in terms of unbearableness.
Listening to Ling on the radio it's like a different person, tends to have interesting things to say and isn't the sycophantic pile of cringe you get on Friday night. I had to double check that it was him.

Another vote for Nathan Brown too, what a shit way to make a buck.

Not much of a fan of Ben Dixon, can’t quite figure out why 🤔....
Dixon who came out swinging and savaged anyone who dare question that Clarkson wouldn't coach in 2022?
Next minute...

Past players who build a media career solely on being a character or playing a clown often end up being remembered as much or more for that persona than for how good they were on the footy field.

Most notably for me would be Doug Hawkins. Doug did very well for himself for years playing the clown role on The Footy Show and with his sportsman's night routine, and good luck to him for it.
But before that he was a genuinely elite player in the 80's / early 90's (as in top few in the league at his peak).
Yet those not old enough to remember just how great he was as a player would think of him only as that lovable larrikin / clown they saw in the media.

Similarly Bill Brownless was a very good player for years, but is now far better known by most as the fat frothie drinking 'funny man' (highly debatable imo) they have seen in the media. Now, I'm sure that persona has made him far more money than his playing career did, and he may not care less what anyone thinks of him let alone anonymous posters on a forum. But it has certainly diminished the memory of his talent as a player.

Kane cornes is the obvious one for me. That guy is completely unbearable and spouts off the dumbest sh*t constantly for clicks. He actively makes everything he's involved in unwatchable. Nathan Brown to a point as well for those annoying betting segments that make him look pretty terrible. Everyone else I can kind of deal with, even if they are a bit annoying.
This is it for me. Seems like Cornes takes the most oppositional view on just about everything, but then cranks it up to 11 as well. I think Luke Beveridge was somewhat on the money in his criticism.

Nathan Brown comes across as talentless, and spruiking gambling is the only job in media street that he could get. I hope he’s not proud of himself.

Sam Newman comes to mind, highly regarded ruckman apparently, just a tosser on tv/heraldsun but has a loyal following for some reason.....
People seem to think he's our Charles Barkley, he's not though.

Roast Highly regarded players whose legacy has been ruined by their media careers