Honestly??? Brennan Stack??? HOW????? WHY??

Re: The Stack "Attack"

You miss the point.

This bloke CONTINUALLY shirks contests and contact and has done all season.

At the aforementioned clubs, it would not be accepted. The player in question would have zero respect and not getting a game.

At ours, both internally and externally, it appears to be.

And it gives me the bloody shits.

I wouldn't worry to much about explaining as he/she will just go the opposite no matter what you say. If you criticises or critique a player MF is not logical. I doubt the person even goes to games.

Agreed. The HS stats show Stack had 80% efficiency too for his 15 touches.. one of our higher numbers.

Boyd, on the other hand, had 47% efficiency for his 36. Despite Boyd's being under greater pressure, a similar in an under player in Libba managed 80% for his 20 touches.

Someone should start a thread bashing the Stack bashers.. 95% of them are ill-informed i reckon.

On the contesting point - what's the point contesting when it means you will be caught out of position / off your feet if the player marks the ball / brings it to ground? Are the bashers able to consider that there is a reason players don't always contest?

How and why are we ill informed? I said when Stack had the ball he did ok with it, happy to admit that but that is not the problem, the problem is he always gets it out by himself, has no defensive idea on how to man up one on one in a marking contest and is soft as was shown up Saturday night.
If anyone believes that is an ok way to play footy then you are happy to accept we will be rebuilding for another thirty years as we have been for the last thirty.

As far is contesting is concerned, he had to contest that marking contest, no question, he looked at what was coming and chose not to put his body on the line, wasn't a matter of being out of position etc, he chose not to contest and that is inexcusable whether you are playing AFL or the Buln Buln magoo's.

For the blokes who are happy to accept that and say he is improving I for one don't want you supporting the bulldogs because that is supporting us being mediocre for a very long time!

How and why are we ill informed? I said when Stack had the ball he did ok with it, happy to admit that but that is not the problem, the problem is he always gets it out by himself, has no defensive idea on how to man up one on one in a marking contest and is soft as was shown up Saturday night.
If anyone believes that is an ok way to play footy then you are happy to accept we will be rebuilding for another thirty years as we have been for the last thirty.

As far is contesting is concerned, he had to contest that marking contest, no question, he looked at what was coming and chose not to put his body on the line, wasn't a matter of being out of position etc, he chose not to contest and that is inexcusable whether you are playing AFL or the Buln Buln magoo's.

For the blokes who are happy to accept that and say he is improving I for one don't want you supporting the bulldogs because that is supporting us being mediocre for a very long time!

Boof, your making the assumption that this person knows something about football. Most likely they have never played. Probably watched it on TV and could be 10 years old for all we know.

Are the bashers able to consider that there is a reason players don't always contest?

No you don't, but you do get better. Not every player has to have amazing courage.

While I'm not a Stack basher, I disagree vehemetly with these two comments.

Anyone who plays knows that when it's your turn to go, you go.

Unnamed1- If you are in the vicinity of an opponent about to take a mark, you do everything you can to make a contest. Stack was close enough to make a contest but didn't. If he was a little further away you could make an allowance that he was restricting the play to make sure that Hille couldn't play on.

HBG- One thing about the Western Bulldogs is that we have built a reputation in the past of having players who always put their body on the line. As I said before, when it's your turn to go, you go.

Stack made these errors, so he can be criticized on them. I don't agree with people labelling him an outright spud who doesn't do anything productive, but he definitely has limitations.

as i've said before this thread probably wouldn't exist if Stack played better and showed us there is a future.

I'll put a different point forward. Of all the troubles we have had this season, mainly with our backline. Stack should have been the guy to step up and make a spot for himself. After failing to do this i don't see how he can do it in the future. Yes, he is still young and inexperienced but he was in the position to do this more so than other players. Markovic showed us more in the same amount of games and Stack should be well a head of him. Look at Dal, Jones, Howard... Stack should be ahead of them.

As a member i would expect him to come in and play for his life. If we don't expect this we will continue to go nowhere. I don't think that it is to much to ask.

This.

Abso-bloody-lutely.

I don't remember the incident, but if true he should have put his body on the line. But don't all players make mistakes? It seems supporters like to pick on one player because they saw one mistake and then make that player a scapegoat. Yet anything good they do is dismissed.

We have seen on this board the Hargrave bashers, the Eagleton bashers, the Gia bashers over the years. Even last year when Gia was our second highest goal kicker and our best goal assist player, we had calls for his head.

Stack has been used as a scapegoat by supporters due to a couple of errors he made in a few games. I can easily point out errors from every single player, but its a high pressure game and easy to make errors. Overall Stack HAS improved as he gains confidence and experience and if posters fail to see that then they need to take their blinkers off. He is an average player doing the job he has been asked to do and threads like this serve no purpose.

Boof, your making the assumption that this person knows something about football. Most likely they have never played. Probably watched it on TV and could be 10 years old for all we know.
Since we are making assumptions I would think you are the type that goes to games to bag out our players, who sits there and waits for Stack to make an error so you can come on here and get on your high horse.
It seems you think you are the type that knows more about football than anyone else.
MF makes some valid points and your rebuttal is he/she never played football and could be 10 years old. If he/she is 10 years old it's good to see he/she has a lot more common sense than you do.

Since we are making assumptions I would think you are the type that goes to games to bag out our players, who sits there and waits for Stack to make an error so you can come on here and get on your high horse.
It seems you think you are the type that knows more about football than anyone else.
MF makes some valid points and your rebuttal is he/she never played football and could be 10 years old. If he/she is 10 years old it's good to see he/she has a lot more common sense than you do.

I did not give a rebuttal. I was commenting on another post which was a rebuttal. As I said we have no idea your back ground or knowledge and that is my point. Therefore we should not take the opinions of others to seriously. Unlike yourself.

Nice little dig at the end, you can't help yourself. You said MF is not logical, doubts MF go to games, most likely MF has never played football. They are all assumptions whether you put 'doubts' or 'most likely' in or not. Let's see what not so subtle dig you can put in your post this time.

As for Stack he should play the rest of the year,if he show's some promise great, if not what have we lost? Results of games aren't the be all and end all for us at the moment.

I don't remember the incident, but if true he should have put his body on the line. But don't all players make mistakes? It seems supporters like to pick on one player because they saw one mistake and then make that player a scapegoat. Yet anything good they do is dismissed.

Overall he was OK. But putting your body on the line is not a mistake it is mandatory. This is the key factor in winning finals and what makes an average team or a very good team. Personally I will mostly dismiss mistakes if the person is doing the right thing by the team. Hence certain players efforts not quite being were they should be being the most common players copping a blast from supporters. You call it scapegoating but I call it the list of players who need to be consistent in there efforts.

Stack has been used as a scapegoat by supporters due to a couple of errors he made in a few games. I can easily point out errors from every single player, but its a high pressure game and easy to make errors. Overall Stack HAS improved as he gains confidence and experience and if posters fail to see that then they need to take their blinkers off. He is an average player doing the job he has been asked to do and threads like this serve no purpose.

Should all threads be positive? I would hardly see a point in having totally positive threads. We want to improve and discussing players that may not take the club forward is not an issue really. I really don't understand why you read them. I would have thought they just cheese you off and therefore you would avoid reading them.

Nice little dig at the end, you can't help yourself. You said MF is not logical, doubts MF go to games, most likely MF has never played football. They are all assumptions whether you put 'doubts' or 'most likely' in or not. Let's see what not so subtle dig you can put in your post this time.

As for Stack he should play the rest of the year,if he show's some promise great, if not what have we lost? Results of games aren't the be all and end all for us at the moment.

MF is a big boy and can stick up for himself. Or is he? Stack is a real issue that goes to the heart of our recruiting and development at the club. In the 5 years Stack has played I am yet to see him have a break out game at any level. Now I have no issue in bringing in and playing players at the top level but I am afraid that after a 100 odd games at VFL level we must see that he is not getting any better. I have no issue with Stack other than he is being selected when he does not deserve to be. Its stinks of desperation. We are so desperate for a player to make it we will play him regardless of form. Another example is DJ. He constantly butchers the ball at VFL level are we surprised when he does it at AFL level. I am not. Therefore it is no surprise to me that Stack is average to poor at AFL level when that is what he is at VFL. Dahlhaus is a prime example of the opposite. The bloke basically kicked the door down to play as his form at VFL level was very good hence the calls to select him by supporters. Don't remember anyone calling for Stack. The frustration for me is the selection in the first place. Even more frustrating for me the none selection of Ves who has been playing fairly well and deserve a go yet is over looked.

Until Stack plays in the best consistently at VFL level I don't want him in the side.

The whole Stack bashing thing is getting pretty ugly and unsportsmanlike . Sure he has his limitations but so have other players from the day dot.
I have never heard him come out and say im the toughest im the best maybe hes doing the best with what hes got.Any one who plays footy at any grade has some courage some more than others.If players are getting a game that shouldnt then blame the match commitee.

While I'm not a Stack basher, I disagree vehemetly with these two comments.

Anyone who plays knows that when it's your turn to go, you go.

HBG- One thing about the Western Bulldogs is that we have built a reputation in the past of having players who always put their body on the line. As I said before, when it's your turn to go, you go.

Stack made these errors, so he can be criticized on them. I don't agree with people labelling him an outright spud who doesn't do anything productive, but he definitely has limitations.

Absolutly. I agree with you, when you have to go, you go. I play and I'd like to think that I put my head over the ball when required. There are a few dogs fans on here that I play with that would vouch for me (I'd hope!)

However, I play with some seriously talented blokes who aren't all that courageous. All I am saying is that not every player has to have amazing courage. It is not something that you can learn.

We have seen on this board the Hargrave bashers, the Eagleton bashers, the Gia bashers over the years. Even last year when Gia was our second highest goal kicker and our best goal assist player, we had calls for his head.

If you don't remember the incident MF how can you say we are being harse on him??? He has made more than a couple of errors in a couple of games. Can you also explain how he is doing his job if he keeps getting beaten one on one in the back line and won't go third man up? He has played 20 odd games in five years, wouldn't be on the list anywhere else and shouldn't be on ours. Nothing personal it is just my opinion and that is what forums and threads are all about.

Nothing personal it is just my opinion and that is what forums and threads are all about.

What I don't like is posters picking on the same players over and over. Stack is the new Eagleton, Gia etc

As I said I can pick holes in every player. How about glass half full instead of constant empty all the bloody time.

With all due respect.

The glass has been "half-empty" for nigh on 60 bloody years.

Forgive those of us whose patience is wearing thin and expect more from those paid a bloody fortune (and Stack would be on, let's imagine, $150k a season - bloody good money whoever you are) and who we "bash" when they continally serve up sub-par performances.

Mate - if I was on $150k and just "tried my best", I'd be out the door quick bloody smart.

Why then do we allow these blokes to get by with little to no scrutiny or criticism?

After all - it is you and I paying their wages, isn't it?!?

With all due respect.

The glass has been "half-empty" for nigh on 60 bloody years.

Forgive those of us whose patience is wearing thin and expect more from those paid a bloody fortune (and Stack would be on, let's imagine, $150k a season - bloody good money whoever you are) and who we "bash" when they continally serve up sub-par performances.

Mate - if I was on $150k and just "tried my best", I'd be out the door quick bloody smart.

Why then do we allow these blokes to get by with little to no scrutiny or criticism?

After all - it is you and I paying their wages, isn't it?!?

Well pick on the team and not scapegoats. Stack is not the only one playing.

Wood virtually cost us the game last week but who actually criticized him?

Honestly??? Brennan Stack??? HOW????? WHY??