How are Saints and Pies fans holding up?

Last Saturday was without a doubt the most draining day of my life! Was uncontrollibly shaking for the whole last quarter and I just stared into space for 10min after the siren went and only moved because the weather turned on its head and literally blew everyone out of the stadium! (That was biblical stuff)

Struggled for hours to hang my hat on to anything to reconcile the result until my cousin reminded me that the game was as good as lost at halftime, the Pies had all the momentum, we had atleast 6 players all down for the entire game and an injured player on the bench for 2 1/2 qtrs (our best ruckman at that) and yet we still managed a draw out of it all. That gave me a lot of confidence for this Saturday.

I believe the teams picked this week will be a massive factor because everything else being equal, the fresher team will prevail imo.

Carn the mighty Saaaaaints!!! :eek:

I always thought watching my team play the GF would be the best thing ever. But I felt physically ill for the entire game. Heart racing & stomach churning for 2 1/2 hours is just not cool, and certainly cant be healthy. I couldn't even appreciate the game for what it was in that last quarter, until i watched the replay.

Not looking forward to feeling like that again. I might just try to enjoy it, and what will happen will happen. If the pies happen to win, I will celebrate hard.

On a side note, it just does not feel like grand final week to me. Feels like the season is over, even though i'm going to watch them again this week. Even the media has died down on the GF with the Hird, Thompson & Gazza stories. I just hope the excitement comes back by Friday night & Saturday morning. I'm sure it will!

I'm a bit toey. It comes into my mind a fair bit. I'm confident but I feel it will be close again. StKilda are a tough side, I think we can out last them, but again, it will be hard. Naturally I will be dissapointed if we lose but will understand the joy for the saints supporters if they win it. I know a lot of fair dinkum Saints supporters & know how much it means to them. The tossers who have tried to just stir shit against Collingwood last & this week can all get stuffed, just like the losers they & their clubs are. Go Pies.

Happy to be alive. We blew last week then prevented a loss at the last minute. I am sure Saints supporters feel the same sence of a mixture of a missed chance and retrieving a loss from last week.

This week is open to all possibilities. I am confident and pessimistic at the same time

Thought Saints were fantastic last week as were our mob. There will be an affinity felt betwwen supporters on Sat even though one will be devestated by loss. This will be even more so if its close again.

Win or lose I will be tipping my hat to Saints players as well as Pies on Sat night

This is a total contradiction that makes no sense whatsoever...

... and I feel exactly the same way... :D

Terrible, most nervous if even been. More Sh!ts in a week than I ever remember.

Reality is the side that loses has lost by less than one point and thats something the losing team and their passionate supporters will carry forever. It will be the one that got away and lets face it both our clubs have a pretty more history(at least in most of our life times) and have had some heartbreak.

If we don't win on saturday the pressure will be even greater next time around.

I hate this week and just want 2.30 on saturday to arrive.

Anyone know a good therapist?? I think I have a problem.

Reality is the side that loses has lost by less than one point and thats something the losing team and their passionate supporters will carry forever. It will be the one that got away and lets face it both our clubs have a pretty more history(at least in most of our life times) and have had some heartbreak.

I'll come with you, maybe we'll get a two for one discount?

I've been really calm until today - the game last week was amazing to be at, and I've just recovered from the shock back into active must-win mode.

The winner will be doubly happy because it's been twice as hard to win, and the loser no doubt doubly gutted. Football was the winner last week and no-one lost, won't be the same this week.

Work is over today, slightly more productive than last week but as soon as the selections come in this arvo that wouldve been it for my ability to concentrate.

After the sainters first half I am stoked we get another chance this week!

go saints :thumbsu:

Absolutely loving it:thumbsu:

It's not as if I have any control over what happens on Saturday so all I can do is embrace the fact I get to see my side (a success starved one at that) play in its second grand final in 2 weeks:thumbsu:

What more could a fan ask for? (other than a flag of course, but hopefully I get both)

then you might realize how much pressure is on us atm and the fact that we have been waiting longer for a flag...this is one that the Saints must win.

Flat as and still struggling to get going. Never beleived the odds on offer were a reflection of our chances so I feel like we blew it to be honest and question whether we can get back up to win it.

Last week was awesome, nervous, excited all at once but this week I am just struggling big time.

At least Lionel Richie will fire me up :rolleyes:

then you might realize how much pressure is on us atm and the fact that we have been waiting longer for a flag...this is one that the Saints must win.

You reckon it is any better for the Pies? Our record of choking means that if we do not win another generation of young footballers will be scared with the same wounds.

Your reasons are different and valid but we are under the same pressure.

You reckon it is any better for the Pies? Our record of choking means that if we do not win another generation of young footballers will be scared with the same wounds.

Your reasons are different and valid but we are under the same pressure.

can you remember 1990 ? were you there ? if so you are not under the same pressure.
pretty obvious i would have thought.

Pleading with the footy gods.

This will be my first Grand Final attended, and I want us to win this one so damn much, so I can say "I saw the Saints win their second flag after a drawn Grand Final replay"

I know alot of people are in this boat, but still... :eek:

can you remember 1990 ? were you there ? if so you are not under the same pressure.
pretty obvious i would have thought.

We are the biggest, most powerful Vic club in every way excpet the one that matters most. We fail in GF's time and again and as a result are derided by the rest of the footy public. We are always under enoumous pressure.

that isn't the only reason, you only have to read your first part to realise that .

The loss for us last year and only one flag far outweighs any perceived pressure you think you maybe under and this is not even taking into account the pressure of knowing how derided we will be if we allowed your mob to win a flag..ess supporters will be praying we pass the mantle on.

It's not as if I have any control over what happens on Saturday so all I can do is embrace the fact I get to see my side (a success starved one at that) play in its second grand final in 2 weeks:thumbsu:

What more could a fan ask for? (other than a flag of course, but hopefully I get both)

Pretty much this.

Nothing I can do to alter anything (that's legal) so enjoying that there's another game on this week, enjoying that my teams a part of it with a 50-50 chance to then bring home a flag upon which I will either be despondent or bouncing off the goddamn walls come Saturday.

All I can do is cheer on the boys and abuse the TV when it doesn't come off. :p

generally sorry for saints supporters but not this jerk. doubt we'll see him again. disappeared for 2 months after last time we beat them:D

Mate you have to add "Lenny Demolishes Swan" with this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMmUPIjNGQM
would be great.

that isn't the only reason, you only have to read your first part to realise that .

The loss for us last year and only one flag far outweighs any perceived pressure you think you maybe under and this is not even taking into account the pressure of knowing how derided we will be if we allowed your mob to win a flag..ess supporters will be praying we pass the mantle on.
Fortuitous words here!! the bomber indeed must be pleased that they are no longer the ones who let us win. Put up a better fight too! Where is the Fireman. 20,000 posts and now nothing?? must be messed up by our win!

How are Saints and Pies fans holding up?