Universal Love How did you become a Collingwood supporter?

IVe told this story on the introductions board but i will tell it again. My father was an immigrant and first moved to Hawthorn in 1960, and barracked for them for that reason. He tried to bring me up a Hawthorn supporter, but when I was 6 or so i was at school eating a Jiffy donut out of a Jiffy donut packet which had a list of the most successful clubs. Collingwood had won the most premierships at the time, and I was impressed, i was also friends with a kid who was a Pies supporter, and he convinced me Peter Mckenna had kicked 97 goals out of 99 the previous week, which sounded like a lot, and i was hooked. Ive since struggled to see 2 premierships and about 15 heartbreaks while my stupid dads team wins every second year. I wouldn't have it any other way though Love the pies!

Great story. Best. Username. Ever.

My Dad Supported Collingwood so I did as well

Though not came a Big Fan of Collingwood and Following us until 2002 when I went to 1 Game that year vs Saints late in the Season. Then Watching the last few minutes vs Port in the QF. That was the 1st Time I ever Remember switching Channels to the Footy.

Came a Big Fan and Going to Game Reguraly in 2005 after my Grandfather who I was very Close with Died the year Before. So I started going to games in RD 8 vs Richmond.

Never went as a Kid as my Dad had Stopped going to Games and My Parents did not let me go to games by myself until I was 20

I grew up in Geelong. My Father supported Collingwood in a half hearted sort of way. When I was very young my brother was incredibly ill and spent the first five or so years on and off at the RCH in Melbourne. I didn't get to see much of either parent, particularly Dad who worked for a local hardware supplier as a "traveller." I think this drove me to my passionate support of Collingwood - seeking some connection with Dad. I remember him taking me to a game at Geelong when I was 4 . We stood at the river end beneath the old scoreboard on the dirt hill- we lasted maybe a quarter before I got tired. I couldn;t see anything unless he lifted me up. A couple of years later he and some neighbors took me to see Coll V Gee at Victoria PArk. This was the day it all became real for me. Mckenna kicked a couple of magic goals including one that seemed to be from the center of the ground. I remember the crowd throwing their hats in the air when he kicked it.
I remember 1970 half time and saying to Dad it looks like the drought is over. He looked down wisely at me and said "there's still a long way to go."
The rest burns and kept burning until 1990
I didn't learn to hate Carlton until 1979.
I hated Geelong from the day after we lost the Grand Final in 1970 - every neighbour, every school mate, every damn relative wanted to tease me about the pies. I have never forgotten. Never will

Collingwood was my Dad's team. Whenever he got stuff for me, it was always Collingwood and I really never thought of any other club. I still have his scarf and I won't get a new one.

Born into a Carlton family unfortunately, but luckily lived next door to a mad Collingwood supporting family who converted my brother and I over to the Black & White side of the force when I was 4 years old. So since 1979 Collingwood is the only side for me and my own family.

If any one of my kids ever decide to follow another side, they'll need to find new homes too.
They've both been members since before they were born.

i could hear the crowd from Victoria Park at home as a little feller in the early 60's.... the roar was just WOW!!!
when i was big enough to climb the fence and cross the old Alexander Parade to get to the ground because the local big kids told me that the gates were open at three quarter time... i went to The Yarra Falls End being the closest gate to home, under the scoreboard, was transfixed, and thus began a love affair that has never waned... and damn, i miss Victoria Park...

Great thread this, really enjoying reading it. It reinforces why Collingwood fans are my kind of people despite our varying backgrounds and differences of opinion from time to time. Our passion for this club unites us.

My Grandfather was born in collingwood the oldest of 10 all born there, my great grandfather came to Collingwood from around Ballarat in the 1880's, before that they were some of the earliest Italian migrants to Australia for the Vic gold rush in the 1850's

I have a photo of my Grandfather on a trip to Tassie in 1929 with the whole team -Coventrys, McHale, etc etc , i went to my first game at Vic Park in the early 1970's in the members stand, my Grandfather owned pubs, sly grogged and was a SP bookie in Collingwood, my father as a kid was a cockatoo for two up games around the streets of Collingwood that various family and friends ran, they all got done at various times by the local constabulary, they were actually good people but at times Slygrogging, sp booking etc was the only way to make a living, particularly in the 1930's.

Most members of my family, my grandfathers brother and sisters and spouses were all at one stage involved in the boot clicking industry around Collingwood.

I barrack for Collingwood because it is in my DNA.

Pies have been my team since 1988. Grew up playing footy in Canberra in the late 80's and through the 90's, my team wore the black and white stripes (those old woollen jumpers that were horrible on hot days).

My youngest brother (under my influence) is also a Pies man.

If I may,
I find Greeks by and large follow Collingwood, I wouldn't be surprised the % of Greek Collingwood is even higher than % of supporters who are magpies.
Proving besides delicious food, support of Collingwood is A one!

With the greats like the Pannams and Richards having Greek blood in their veins and from very early days it surprises me that all Greeks don't barrack for collingwood.

Pies have been my team since 1988. Grew up playing footy in Canberra in the late 80's and through the 90's, my team wore the black and white stripes (those old woollen jumpers that were horrible on hot days).

West Canberra ?.

Played Canberra league around the same time. Played for Eastlake and Tuggernong Lions back then.

My best mate played years of good football for Eastlake and was, and still might be, the games record holder for the club. Some good footballers played in Canberra back then.

Played Canberra league around the same time. Played for Eastlake and Tuggernong Lions back then.

My best mate played years of good football for Eastlake and was, and still might be, the games record holder for the club. Some good footballers played in Canberra back then.

I am a old West Canberra boy, i remember when Tuggers had a actual clubhouse of there own.

Eastlake for mine was a cops and robbers club, playing the boys from down the Narrabundah causeway in juniors was interesting to say the least.

My story is quite different from everyone. I am a Chinese guy and I came to Melbourne in 2009 to go to high school. It was a sunday afternoon game between Carlton and us in 2010. I have never heard of footy before and I was amazed to see so many people around MCG. I asked my best local mate about it and he explained everything and he told me he is a Collingwood supporter. He also said that we are a very good side. I decided to attend the friday night game between Geelong and us, at that time, the teams were sitting at 1st and 2nd. I said to myself I would support the team who won that game, however, I just cannot stop cheer for Collingwood. I think I just fall in love with Collingwood at that time. Although we lost that game, I still chose to support Collingwood instead of Geelong. Since then I went to all the match except Grand final during 2010 season. It was a year to remember as the team I followed never won any premiership before 2010. I have been a Collingwood member since 2011 and I think that Collingwood is one of the factor that I decide to stay in this wonderful city for rest of my life.

Primary School in the Northern Suburbs had brown & gold colours.

My older brother in turn chose the Hawks for a couple weeks (maybe that's why I am accused of being a closet Hawks supporter? :p) and then peer group pressure took over and the rest is history.

I tell my kids they have no choice about which football team they will follow for the rest of their life.
They are all mad Pie supporters, even my daughter teases her mum about following Fitzroy (Lions) :D
I have trained them well.

I am a old West Canberra boy, i remember when Tuggers had a actual clubhouse of there own.

Eastlake for mine was a cops and robbers club, playing the boys from down the Narrabundah causeway in juniors was interesting to say the least.
Yep, plenty of coppers for sure and they were a strong club back then. I was playing juniors than around the same time Aaron Hammill was at Tuggers. Was spewing we moved out of the Eastlake zone and ended up playing for Tuggers, although we did take 2 premierships in my first 2 years there.

My family are Richmond and Carlton supporters and are nuts.
I was too young to remember what turned me to the pies. All I can remember is the feeling of awe at the sight of Thompson McKenna Price and the Richardson brothers.
I wondered what it would be like to sit in the Sherrin stand or social club and what it would be like if Collingwood ever won a flag.
Collingwood and the game have given me enormous pleasure through out a fairly traumatic life and I'm glad my son is a pies man even though he's not a huge footy fan.

My family are Richmond and Carlton supporters and are nuts.
I was too young to remember what turned me to the pies. All I can remember is the feeling of awe at the sight of Thompson McKenna Price and the Richardson brothers.
I wondered what it would be like to sit in the Sherrin stand or social club and what it would be like if Collingwood ever won a flag.
Collingwood and the game have given me enormous pleasure through out a fairly traumatic life and I'm glad my son is a pies man even though he's not a huge footy fan.
Add in Tuddenham, Greening and Jeff Clifton

Universal Love How did you become a Collingwood supporter?