How good was Sam Kekovich?

good story about Sam,

anyone heard the grumblings Sam was responsible for North missing the finals in 73?? Apparantly North only had to beat the Saints to get into the final four. Sam played such a shocker that many say he took a dive.

That's crap, I was at that game. It was played at Moorabbin, quite a few players had stagefright, and Georgie Young tore us a new a-hole.
Keka might have been a bit hot & cold that year but in no way responsible for that loss.

That's crap, I was at that game. It was played at Moorabbin, quite a few players had stagefright, and Georgie Young tore us a new a-hole.
Keka might have been a bit hot & cold that year but in no way responsible for that loss.

Agree with this. Sam was just not all that consistent. Depended a lot on whether Sally Ann Wood had performed up to expectations on the morning of the game. He came down to a job in the insurance industry from Myrtleford and my father looked after him. A fruitless exercise- had no idea and even less interest. Came to dinner a couple of times - we thought he was a god.

Michael his brother was a lovely boy and probably had the best chance of being a star - had the right body shape - taller than Sam and had application - unlike Sam. Brian his elder brother was a very good player as well but had a bad back as has been noted earlier- their father played professional soccer in Europe.

For all that Sam was my favorite player while he was there for the things he could do that others couldn't. Huge kick on the run - ran through blokes like they weren't there - could take a grab - turned matches himself.

Uncanny, in more ways than one.

AntonNewcombe1.jpg
060709_Kekovich_IC.jpg

Agree with this. Sam was just not all that consistent. Depended a lot on whether Sally Ann Wood had performed up to expectations on the morning of the game. He came down to a job in the insurance industry from Myrtleford and my father looked after him. A fruitless exercise- had no idea and even less interest. Came to dinner a couple of times - we thought he was a god.

Michael his brother was a lovely boy and probably had the best chance of being a star - had the right body shape - taller than Sam and had application - unlike Sam. Brian his elder brother was a very good player as well but had a bad back as has been noted earlier- their father played professional soccer in Europe.

For all that Sam was my favorite player while he was there for the things he could do that others couldn't. Huge kick on the run - ran through blokes like they weren't there - could take a grab - turned matches himself.

Out of interest BC, he worked with my Dad, who was a "Superintendant" (they had such important titles in those days) in insurance, at the City Mutual Life Insurance Society, located on the corner of William Street and Collins Street (the south western corner). The original, beautiful, old three story building (all polished floors and expensive old world wooden decor) and was replaced by the current one in about 1970. It had the old telephone exchange of plugs and cords to connect and direct callers. I met Sam a few times there as a very young lad, and also in the changing rooms under the old stand at Arden Street as a mascot in the 1966-1967 period. He was an "office boy" as I recall it, and I think started there at about 15 years of age. He may have been a little bit older than that though.

So that was another part of the world which Sam came down to from Myrtleford as a boy.

Also, someone made mention of Sam doing his ankle seriously in about 1969. If it was the incident I recall, it was at Essendon, and my Dad and I were alone in the visitors rooms with Sam during the match trying to get him to keep his foot in a bucket of ice. I have a clear memory of my dad saying "keep your foot in the bucket you silly big bastard". Dad loved Sam, and he was a favourite player for the both of us. I reckon he also played a pretty good game in the 1975 Grand Final (which I watched again recently).

I wasn't too happy with his stance on the Gold Coast stuff for a while there, and was very disappointed, but I believe that he has since more than redeemed himself on that score, and one thing is certain, he will always be a North man, and loves the club. Go the big "Keka".

well thats good to know, Kekka was a hero of mine in the early 70's

As I recall, a certain prima donna named Ian Robinson did us no favours that day either.

A fantastic player, even when he played a few games overweight he still made top line players look ordinary. Francis Bourke comes to mind. He was a typical Eastern European big lad who came here with gusto and certainly made the most of his "talents" in more ways than one. And a superb man.

As I recall, a certain prima donna named Ian Robinson did us no favours that day either.

Robinson and his partner in crime, smirking Kevin Smith, both hated us with a passion.

They made umpire Overland look like a North cheersquad member.

Out of interest BC, he worked with my Dad, who was a "Superintendant" (they had such important titles in those days) in insurance, at the City Mutual Life Insurance Society, located on the corner of William Street and Collins Street (the south western corner). The original, beautiful, old three story building (all polished floors and expensive old world wooden decor) and was replaced by the current one in about 1970. It had the old telephone exchange of plugs and cords to connect and direct callers. I met Sam a few times there as a very young lad, and also in the changing rooms under the old stand at Arden Street as a mascot in the 1966-1967 period. He was an "office boy" as I recall it, and I think started there at about 15 years of age. He may have been a little bit older than that though.

So that was another part of the world which Sam came down to from Myrtleford as a boy.

Also, someone made mention of Sam doing his ankle seriously in about 1969. If it was the incident I recall, it was at Essendon, and my Dad and I were alone in the visitors rooms with Sam during the match trying to get him to keep his foot in a bucket of ice. I have a clear memory of my dad saying "keep your foot in the bucket you silly big bastard". Dad loved Sam, and he was a favourite player for the both of us. I reckon he also played a pretty good game in the 1975 Grand Final (which I watched again recently).

I wasn't too happy with his stance on the Gold Coast stuff for a while there, and was very disappointed, but I believe that he has since more than redeemed himself on that score, and one thing is certain, he will always be a North man, and loves the club. Go the big "Keka".

What was your Dad's name. Seems our fathers worked together !

My Dad's name was Cyril Mier, and he was one of the "field staff" and worked there for about 27 years. If they did work together that would be amazing! My Dad had a real soft spot/admiration for one Bernie McCarthy too for what its worth. Is your Dad still with us mate?

I knew Cyril. Can see his face right now. My father was Rob Hunter. He died in August unfortunately. The Field Officers Club - that and the blackwood at City Mutual are eternal memories. Bernie was the classic great mark but shite kick haha.

Ah Keka what a guy! Probably the first time in my football following career that I thought we had a genuine weapon was when Sam came onto the scene. Other teams and their supporters seemed scared of him and knew that he could turn a game in a quarter. He was the first North player I saw kick 10 goals in a match and also starred in the first final I saw us play against Hawthorn in '74 kicking 5.

Ditto. I'm bloody glad Rossco returned too.

I'll second that TT.:thumbsu: Rosco, the complete footballer in my book. I remember the day he booted a lazy 10 against Melbourne and just happened to turn up to the Lord Jim's pub later that night with a few team mates. Girls jaws were dropping and guys were impressed. He got a bit of an ovation from the people there when it was his shout for beers. I was in North heaven and a non footy friend of mine was quite agog.

I'm glad I saw Sam play. He was my favourite North Player until he left then I switched to Denchie. He would clear those packs and heaven help any of those nancy boys from other clubs who got in his way, they didn't call him Slammin Sammy for nothing. It's a wonder he and Brent Croswell didn't send RDB to the funny farm as both were so talented but marched to a different drum. I was a tad pi$$ed off with him for a few years for not showing up for the official GF 1975 team photo. If anyone can remember the large pic that used to be on the wall upstairs bar at Arden Street will know what I mean.

He would clear those packs and heaven help any of those nancy boys from other clubs who got in his way, they didn't call him Slammin Sammy for nothing.

He would run straight over blokes Jonah Lomu style.

It's a bit hard for youngsters to fathom because improved tackling technique and rules changes mean that smaller players can bring down much bigger players these days, but take my word for it, that is what Sam would literally do. He would just steamroll blokes.

He would run straight over blokes Jonah Lomu style.

It's a bit hard for youngsters to fathom because improved tackling technique and rules changes mean that smaller players can bring down much bigger players these days, but take my word for it, that is what Sam would literally do. He would just steamroll blokes.

yeah, saw him on TV against Carlton, he went thru about 5 blokes, "I'm a steamroller baby, I'm bout to roll all over you" & he did.

I'm glad I saw Sam play. He was my favourite North Player until he left then I switched to Denchie. He would clear those packs...........

Speaking of Denchie and packs.........I chatted to him at length at the Syd Barker Medal night a couple of years ago and together we destroyed a pack of Winnie Blues outside the venue whilst discussing the glory years. Legend of a bloke is Denchie!

What, Blighty didn't attend to share the gaspers??? :D

Reminds me of a NM function I went to and a friend asked, where do we go to smoke? I looked up, spotted Blighty going outside and said "follow Mal he likes a gasper". :D

Great world today hey TT. :thumbsu:

I am mid 50's and remember him well. One of a handful of players that were absolute freaks/ match winners and yet could be exasperating. Coaches' nightmare players, both his own and opposition.

Would rate him alongside Phil Carman. Brilliant, skilled, strong, gifted, undisciplined. Being an opposition supporter, I'd go to games thinking "what sort of MOOD will Kekka be in today?". If he was on, we did not have a player that could come near him. Can't really think of a modern day equivalent, but maybe a flamboyant/inconsistent version of Pavlich.

Ah Keka what a guy! Probably the first time in my football following career that I thought we had a genuine weapon was when Sam came onto the scene. Other teams and their supporters seemed scared of him and knew that he could turn a game in a quarter. He was the first North player I saw kick 10 goals in a match and also starred in the first final I saw us play against Hawthorn in '74 kicking 5.

was that the 10 against sth melbourne at arden streetgroucho, we kicked 29 toatal that day including a couple where the sth melbourne defenders had set up a defensive soccer wall and keka just busted through.

the other funny keka story is him missing from the grand final photo. must of found another girl and a car.;)

I saw Sam play in the VFL and also the VFA when he was captain/coach of Prahran. Great skillset and always in the thick of things--never shirked a contest and relished them. I think this may have led to his early demise as a VFL player--his body took a lot of punishment.
There are a couple of Crows big men--forwards--who could take a leaf out of Sam's book about going hard at every contest.

How good was Sam Kekovich?