How long until the AFL sabotage Geelong?

Sportman1987

Suspended
May 19, 2007
Canberra
The truth is we're simply too good. The finals series this year has been a borefest, illustrated by pitiful attendences. But the other clubs really can't be blamed. Who wants to go out and watch a bunch of losers play off for second place? Noone, that's who.

And with or young list, it could be like this for years. All non Geelong games are redundant, just a formality and meaningless showpiece while everyone waits for the mighty cats to win again. And again. And again.

Fans are already bitter and jealous of our dynasty, what happens in 3 years time? They'll be crying into their scarfes and the TV's will be turned off. It's bad for the AFL. I think it's only a matter of time before they step in and cheat for the other teams. You can actually already see it happening judging by the last few weeks umpiring. One thing is for sure our next loss won't be due to lack of talent but a rigged loss for the good of the competition

The truth is we're simply too good. The finals series this year has been a borefest, illustrated by pitiful attendences. But the other clubs really can't be blamed. Who wants to go out and watch a bunch of losers play off for second place? Noone, that's who.

And with or young list, it could be like this for years. All non Geelong games are redundant, just a formality and meaningless showpiece while everyone waits for the mighty cats to win again. And again. And again.

Fans are already bitter and jealous of our dynasty, what happens in 3 years time? They'll be crying into their scarfes and the TV's will be turned off. It's bad for the AFL. I think it's only a matter of time before they step in and cheat for the other teams. You can actually already see it happening judging by the last few weeks umpiring. One thing is for sure our next loss won't be due to lack of talent but a rigged loss for the good of the competition

unbelievable

Best crowd of week one was 77k to see the mob that's about to wipe that smile off your face in a fortnight's time.

The only boring thing in these finals is the oompa loompa brigade and their cherry-picking backmen.

It's bad for the AFL. I think it's only a matter of time before they step in and cheat for the other teams. You can actually already see it happening judging by the last few weeks umpiring. One thing is for sure our next loss won't be due to lack of talent but a rigged loss for the good of the competition

This is complete bull.

1. The AFL won't cheat for the other teams - they've already made their move with the changes to the f/s rule.

2. I thought geelong wins more free kicks than any other team? A geelong supporter complaining about umpiring is akin to bill gates crying poor.

3. There will be no rigged loss. They will be beaten fair and square.

History shows, the AFL system is set up and designed for teams to be at the top for no longer then 3 -4 years. With success brings higher salaries, and lower draft picks.

Enjoy it while it lasts.

Most free kicks in 2008: Geelong

Ridiculous free kick after a goal had been kicked, gifting the team another goal: Geelong

I used to like Geelong. It's f**kwits like the OP who make me dislike them now, and I am not alone. There are plenty of other people who really dislike Geelong now because of, unfortunately for them, a percentage of supporters who have no grace, no class, no sportsmanship.

Hawthorn will have a LOT of temporary supporters in two weeks time.

Fans are already bitter and jealous of our dynasty, what happens in 3 years time?

Little quote for you, from Leigh Matthews. I'm tipping he knows a little bit more about footy, and especially dynasties, than you do there Wankman:

“As always with premiership teams in the modern era, people are talking of dynasties. They’ll discover that dynasties happen in retrospect not in advance.”

(pinched from Warwick's signature)

I really hope your being sarcastic, this is the exact reason Geelong fans are being labelled arrogant. While i am confident, as im sure hawthorn fans are of there chances, lets just wait and see what happens before writing threads like this

Most free kicks in 2008: Geelong

Ridiculous free kick after a goal had been kicked, gifting the team another goal: Geelong

I used to like Geelong. It's f**kwits like the OP who make me dislike them now, and I am not alone. There are plenty of other people who really dislike Geelong now because of, unfortunately for them, a percentage of supporters who have no grace, no class, no sportsmanship.

Hawthorn will have a LOT of temporary supporters in two weeks time.

Mate you're not telling me that Shotta and friends wouldn't give the OP'er a run for his money are you? I think the flog count is pretty even on either side of the fence, with a couple of Legendary Status Flogs each.

little quote for you, from leigh matthews. I'm tipping he knows a little bit more about footy, and especially dynasties, than you do there wankman:

“as always with premiership teams in the modern era, people are talking of dynasties. They’ll discover that dynasties happen in retrospect not in advance.”

(pinched from warwick's signature)

haha wankman.... That belongs in the fart well thread.

Mate you're not telling me that Shotta and friends wouldn't give the OP'er a run for his money are you? I think the flog count is pretty even on either side of the fence, with a couple of Legendary Status Flogs each.

I guess the difference b/w the Geelong fans who are coming across as arrogant and the Hawthorn ones who are the same is that Geelong are regarded as (and probably are) the best team in the comp. When you're on top, I think it's an Australian standard to expect a bit of class about it. We even trash our own Olympians when they win without class, or grace. Yet, if the team/player is NOT on top, we allow a bit of cheek, because that's kind of what Australians are: a nation very good at pretty much everything, but pretty much always in the shadow of bigger entities. So, we probably identify with the team who are trying to defeat the bigger team, and we allow it as a result. We find it tough to identify with a dominant team, because for us it's like identifying with the U.S., we just can't do it. We exist, on the sporting scene, to be the best. Australian's crave being the best. But, because of our relative size (obviously, population wise) we are very nearly the best at a lot of things but not quite there. Sports we are the best at tend to be ones the Americans don't play, like cricket. Think of how badly we want our swimmers to knock off the Yanks in the Olympics. F**k the Brits and the rest, we want to beat the Americans. Always, and in all things. And that is heightened when the Americans are so smug and arrogant when they win. Remember that bullshit the Americans went on with pre the Atlanta olympics, where they said they would "smash us like guitars"? How sweet was it seeing the Aussies knock them off. It's ingrained in our culture, most certainly partly to do with the fact that we are in origins a convict nation, that we want to beat the "authority" or the big fish. It's part of what we are.

So, Geelong currently have the mantle. They are the big fish. Therefore, when supporters start acting smug and arrogant, intrinsically they remind us of the Americans, and the authorities, who we've always strived to defeat. Australian's MUST be gracious in victory, and MUST display nothing but class in victory, else the Australian public will not accept them. The current Australian cricket team is a great example. Post Steve Waugh, they have been too arrogant, and Australians have not responded well. Ricky Ponting is not a popular captain. He struggles in Steve Waugh's long shadow, sure, but the lack of grace and class this team displays clearly rubs the public the wrong way. And that's a hard thing to do, because we generally love our cricket team.

So, sorry for the long, rambling post, but I think that's why the Geelong arrogance is less acceptable than any other, because we expect grace and class in victory, and we don't tolerate arrogance, but we do tolerate a bit of cheek in the underdog, because it's the Australian thing to do.

Don't stress. Arrogance is bliss.

If we were looking as comfortable as the cats, I'd be talking us up to. And you know what? I'll f**king talk us up anyway!

The Hawks will win the next 5 flags and just as what happened in the 80s, the AFL will have to completely overhaul the league to prevent another Hawthorn dynasty. Buddy has 12 years of dominant/good football ahead of him, Hodge has about 8, Mitchell 7, Roughy has 12 and it doesn't get much worse than that. Hawthorn is the club every other club wants to be as we don't cheat, our uniforms are the best, we have the best list, the best coach, the best facilities, we are more profitable than any other club and our theme songs just shits excellence.

I guess the difference b/w the Geelong fans who are coming across as arrogant and the Hawthorn ones who are the same is that Geelong are regarded as (and probably are) the best team in the comp. When you're on top, I think it's an Australian standard to expect a bit of class about it. We even trash our own Olympians when they win without class, or grace. Yet, if the team/player is NOT on top, we allow a bit of cheek, because that's kind of what Australians are: a nation very good at pretty much everything, but pretty much always in the shadow of bigger entities. So, we probably identify with the team who are trying to defeat the bigger team, and we allow it as a result. We find it tough to identify with a dominant team, because for us it's like identifying with the U.S., we just can't do it. We exist, on the sporting scene, to be the best. Australian's crave being the best. But, because of our relative size (obviously, population wise) we are very nearly the best at a lot of things but not quite there. Sports we are the best at tend to be ones the Americans don't play, like cricket. Think of how badly we want our swimmers to knock off the Yanks in the Olympics. F**k the Brits and the rest, we want to beat the Americans. Always, and in all things. And that is heightened when the Americans are so smug and arrogant when they win. Remember that bullshit the Americans went on with pre the Atlanta olympics, where they said they would "smash us like guitars"? How sweet was it seeing the Aussies knock them off. It's ingrained in our culture, most certainly partly to do with the fact that we are in origins a convict nation, that we want to beat the "authority" or the big fish. It's part of what we are.

So, Geelong currently have the mantle. They are the big fish. Therefore, when supporters start acting smug and arrogant, intrinsically they remind us of the Americans, and the authorities, who we've always strived to defeat. Australian's MUST be gracious in victory, and MUST display nothing but class in victory, else the Australian public will not accept them. The current Australian cricket team is a great example. Post Steve Waugh, they have been too arrogant, and Australians have not responded well. Ricky Ponting is not a popular captain. He struggles in Steve Waugh's long shadow, sure, but the lack of grace and class this team displays clearly rubs the public the wrong way. And that's a hard thing to do, because we generally love our cricket team.

So, sorry for the long, rambling post, but I think that's why the Geelong arrogance is less acceptable than any other, because we expect grace and class in victory, and we don't tolerate arrogance, but we do tolerate a bit of cheek in the underdog, because it's the Australian thing to do.

That actually makes a lot of sense. So why do you persist with all your other crap that you write that you pull straight out of you arse?

It clearly shows that when you want you can come up with something thats mature and not just a cheap shot at other clubs. Id go with this option in the future instead of past posts and threads, but somehow i doubt you will:D

That actually makes a lot of sense. So why do you persist with all your other crap that you write that you pull straight out of you arse?

It clearly shows that when you want you can come up with something thats mature and not just a cheap shot at other clubs. Id go with this option in the future instead of past posts and threads, but somehow i doubt you will:D

What do you mean? Geelong are shit and the AFL is cheating for them and Geelong wouldn't have made the 8 if it weren't for cheating umpires and Carlton should be in prison and and and and...

Very good points in your long post Duritz, (as opposed to your trolling!) but l think you must allow for context somewhat. Across on the main boards etc sure you are dead right. But in Bay13 different moral standards or goals seem to apply...

Across on the main boards etc sure you are dead right. But in Bay13 different moral standards or goals seem to apply...

Nah I don't think so... I think we actually have the same standards in both places, just on this board we are allowed to be schoolboys, whereas on the others we are adults. Behind it all, though, we still have the same expectations on both boards. It's intrinsic to our nature as Australians, therefore how can we not?

Well l think asking for grace on Bay 13 is like begging at the Vatican but its a noble goal.

Interestingly enough l think the Geelong players and club have conducted themselves exceedingly well over the past 18 months of success. Prime example being their humble celebrations upon receiving the cup as compared with the Eagles etc.

Geelong>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>America

Geelong will get two injuries next week :p
..Dont beleive me? I was right about Prismal..So im guessing it'll be Stevie.Jay or Gayblett. :)

Don't stress. Arrogance is bliss.

If we were looking as comfortable as the cats, I'd be talking us up to. And you know what? I'll f**king talk us up anyway!

The Hawks will win the next 5 flags:Dand just as what happened in the 80s, the AFL will have to completely overhaul the league to prevent another Hawthorn dynasty. Buddy has 12 years of dominant/good football ahead of him, Hodge has about 8, Mitchell 7, Roughy has 12 and it doesn't get much worse than that. Hawthorn is the club every other club wants to be as we don't cheat, our uniforms are the best :D, we have the best list, the best coach:D, the best facilities:D, we are more profitable than any other club and our theme songs just shits excellence:D.

HEY Neville f'ing Bartos:

"LOOK AT ME!! LOOK AT ME!" - Who the hell spat in your test tube?

When you get flogged in two weeks time you're gonna go running back to the housing estate in tears with all the other Tassie flogs around these boards and have a circle jerk around Kennedy's coat.

Fans are already bitter and jealous of our dynasty, what happens in 3 years time? n
jealous no way sick of you lot shoving down our throats that you are this that or the other etc etc etc eg geelongcrazy_26 .

a book that came out saying greatest team of all ahhh no that was the first final in 44 yrs i would put lions and pies and bombers and hawks as greater teams then cats other teams can add to that if you want to as i don't know all your states

HEY Neville f'ing Bartos:

"LOOK AT ME!! LOOK AT ME!" - Who the hell spat in your test tube?

When you get flogged in two weeks time you're gonna go running back to the housing estate in tears with all the other Tassie flogs around these boards and have a circle jerk around Kennedy's coat.

Hahaha, you just don't realise how out of place you are in Bay13... If this was a real place you'd be robbed, beaten up, r*ped by a bunch of fat chicks and pooed on by a stray dog in your first 5 mins since arrival

How long until the AFL sabotage Geelong?