How much hurt are you feeling right now?

Grow up... It's just a game. Of course I'm shattered... I'm not going to be depressed about it for the next few days though. There is nothing I could've done to change the result on the weekend.

Don't let your inability to deal with the loss make you attack me because you're upset.

Many of us have an inability to deal with this loss. I certainly am going to remember this for the rest of my days. The record books will all remind us of this, and 'Doing a Geelong' will be now a vernacular for a Grand Final loss for a side that dominated the season such as we did.

One paradox for me, and this is a serious point, we have Jeff Kennett as president of Hawthorn, as well as director of Beyond Blue. For a bloke like me, who has got a lot of troubles (mostly financially inflicted) footy is an escapism from some of this shit. Losing to Hawthorn of all sides (see my thread 30 years of Hawk torment) just tears me up. Hurts me to tears actually. The fact they win always in Grand Finals. They have won their last 4 Grannies, we are 1-5 from our last 6. Hawthorn come from tanksville in 2004-5 to sweep us over in one fell swoop, our genuine, non tanking rebuild. Morally, in all good grace it shouldn't go like this. But it has. To the victors go the spoils, and Hawthorn have done it again at our expense.

Just for a short window i hoped WE'D be the side doing this. Maybe we will next season. But for all the joy, the thrills of a 23-2 season giving us, that's the crushing thing. No side has ever lost a flag having three more wins than anyone else. This season will be a monument to lost opportunity. And there is nothing that can be done about it, until we reach next year's Grand Final. I can only pray we do.

It could be worse....

Imagine if it was the Pies instead of us :rolleyes:

Nobody invited you to our wake. And Collingwood have at least hurt as much as we have in the last 50 years. Your bunch just get in there and win, all the bloody time. It makes us sick. Enjoy your flag, and begone!:thumbsdown:

Many of us have an inability to deal with this loss. I certainly am going to remember this for the rest of my days. The record books will all remind us of this, and 'Doing a Geelong' will be now a vernacular for a Grand Final loss for a side that dominated the season such as we did.

One paradox for me, and this is a serious point, we have Jeff Kennett as president of Hawthorn, as well as director of Beyond Blue. For a bloke like me, who has got a lot of troubles (mostly financially inflicted) footy is an escapism from some of this shit. Losing to Hawthorn of all sides (see my thread 30 years of Hawk torment) just tears me up. Hurts me to tears actually. The fact they win always in Grand Finals. They have won their last 4 Grannies, we are 1-5 from our last 6. Hawthorn come from tanksville in 2004-5 to sweep us over in one fell swoop, our genuine, non tanking rebuild. Morally, in all good grace it shouldn't go like this. But it has. To the victors go the spoils, and Hawthorn have done it again at our expense.

Just for a short window i hoped WE'D be the side doing this. Maybe we will next season. But for all the joy, the thrills of a 23-2 season giving us, that's the crushing thing. No side has ever lost a flag having three more wins than anyone else. This season will be a monument to lost opportunity. And there is nothing that can be done about it, until we reach next year's Grand Final. I can only pray we do.

Catsace, you keep banging on about this 23-2 record and how big chokers we are. I actually don't stats tell the full story though. Despite finishing so far in front, Hawthorn were clearly a very good team and and we're going to challenge us. Most footy experts probably picked Geelong out of habit but I bet everyone thought Hawthorn were a show and we'd have to play well to beat them.

We should have won, but I think it was always going to close. Buddy didnt even have a big day and they still beat us.

Catsace, you keep banging on about this 23-2 record and how big chokers we are. I actually don't stats tell the full story though. Despite finishing so far in front, Hawthorn were clearly a very good team and and we're going to challenge us. Most footy experts probably picked Geelong out of habit but I bet everyone thought Hawthorn were a show and we'd have to play well to beat them.

We should have won, but I think it was always going to close. Buddy didnt even have a big day and they still beat us.

I know Hawthorn are a good side. God, i of all people know that. I know that since 1977 they have won 39 of the last 57 clashes. We are simply their bitches.

It only goes to serve, that despite just three goals to Roughead and Franklin, despite a moderate game to Mitchell, we lost. It was sort of the opposite sort of result to 1992's game, with a similar points scoreline. That game saw an amazing 4 goalkickers for the Eagles, yet they scored 16 of them, Hawthorn had 13 goalkickers. They shared the goals in a way unique to their structure all year.

I also admit we didn't play well, but from a hurt perspective, that's what is most crushing. We did play well all year, bar the final hurdle. To our nemesis side. That's why it hurts so much, and as Stone Cold Steve Austin would say....'there's not a damned thing we can do about it'.

At least until 2009.

Sittin' here feelin' lousy myself but totally have lost it with some of the crap that I've heard today pm spme of the other pages....12 mths ago we were all slapping backs now we're all turning on the GREATEST CLUB OF ALL......Go Cats...I know we all had a shit day but like all of you I bloody love these blokes...Rain, Tears and Shine!!! Don't worry we will be back!!

user_online.gif
progress.gif

I'm gutted, my hangover's nearly gone and I feel empty and numb. I texted the few Hawks supporters I knew and congratulated them at the end of the game, and to be fair they were all pretty cool about it. It's the feeling of shame that gets to me I reckon. I never thought I'd see a premiership and appreciate what the lads did in 2007, but for their sakes I wish they'd been able to pull this one off. Stokes is one of my favourite players and it just stung really badly watching him get flogged....

I know there's next year, but we almost had something special and we dropped it. This is going to hurt for a long time.

I'm gutted, my hangover's nearly gone and I feel empty and numb. I texted the few Hawks supporters I knew and congratulated them at the end of the game, and to be fair they were all pretty cool about it. It's the feeling of shame that gets to me I reckon. I never thought I'd see a premiership and appreciate what the lads did in 2007, but for their sakes I wish they'd been able to pull this one off. Stokes is one of my favourite players and it just stung really badly watching him get flogged....

I know there's next year, but we almost had something special and we dropped it. This is going to hurt for a long time.

Chin up and don't you worry mate, we may not have gone back to back but another success won't be far away, this is a gun squad we have, and they are still young enough to be dominant for a few years yet.

keep the faith, it will be repayed again:thumbsu:

I think it really struck home at the ground yesterday. Buddy kicked that goal in the last, I grabbed my bag, and went down the stairs to the Olympic Stand bar, under Q53 and 54. There, I met a bloke and his girlfriend, who were distraught, and had a beer with them. I met another couple of girls who were crying. But overall, the two most powerful things were:

- me with my head in my hands at the bar after the siren, when a random bloke came up and put his hand on my back. I looked up, he had the hoops on, and we just nodded and moved on.

- and an older bloke, must have been mid 50's, lip quivering at the sight of what we were throwing away. The pain in that bloke's face isn't something I'll forget easily, and best summed up what I felt some time after.

I was in utter shock at the ground. It was like being at a funeral.

I thought I'd be devastated, but I'm not. The best thing about sports is that there is always another challenge, and meeting the challenge is what makes it interesting and what makes sports (and even humanity) so great to be a part of, even as a fan.

Go CATS!

I'm a mad Hawthorn supporter but you have to realise that our club has also gone through pain. How do you think it felt losing 3 out of 4 Grand Finals from 84-87? How do you think it felt at the end of 1996 when we were nearly gone?

What you have gone through is merely a hiccup. The challenge for your club is to push on and continue your dynasty. Hawthorn 83-91 won 5, lost an elimination final and lost 3 GFs. You just can't win them all to be a power. Brisbane also in 04 is an example. You must take it now, it is part of your development.

I'm a mad Hawthorn supporter but you have to realise that our club has also gone through pain. How do you think it felt losing 3 out of 4 Grand Finals from 84-87? How do you think it felt at the end of 1996 when we were nearly gone?

What you have gone through is merely a hiccup. The challenge for your club is to push on and continue your dynasty. Hawthorn 83-91 won 5, lost an elimination final and lost 3 GFs. You just can't win them all to be a power. Brisbane also in 04 is an example. You must take it now, it is part of your development.

Yes true. And you would therefore know how hard it is at this time.

Please allow us to grieve in peace.

I texted my congratulations to the hawks supporters and thought i would feel better.
I told myself that it's just a game and not the end of the world and thought i would feel better.
I got drunk for 2 days and thought i would feel better.
Didn't read the Sunday paper for the first time in years and thought i would feel better.
Now im at work hungover, tired and it's all sinking in. I read every post on this thread and i'm trying really hard not to burst into tears. I feel empty, angry, cheated, confused and lost......... I could go to bed and stay there a week.
Football is an emotional game and it's going to take a while to get over this but i'll still renew my membership and support the greatest team of all.
It's just that round 1 next season seems so far away right now.....:(

I actually feel OK today. Spend all of Saturday night and yesterday crying (including at a pub on Saturday night!) and got about half an hour sleep on Saturday because every time I started to drift off I had visions of Ottens running into an open goal and missing.

Think I've gotten all of the tears out of my system. Everybody at work has been really nice to me today, including the Hawks supporters. Guess they're repaying the decency I showed after last year's grand final and last week when I kept telling the Hawk supporters they were a real shot against us (cue: "no way, we'll get done by eight goals.")

To be completely honest, I felt worse after the 2005 semi final. That night, I tried to sleep wondering if I would ever see a premiership.

All I'm focussed on now is seeing how our great team responds next year. I hope they don't drop their heads and lose focus. I hope we realise what an opportunity we've missed and that we're capable of winning it in 2009.

What SMS's have people received?

I've copped a lot of 'go hawks' (from non hawks people)

But I have a mate who is a dead set one eyed pies supporter.
He sent me this last night

"I'm still not happy jan"

To which I asked why

he said "right now I would rather the cats win 09 than the pies"

nice.

I've pretty much recovered from the loss. The memory will last until the next grand final though. I'm looking forward to '09. And I think the win will be worth the wait if we can get the hawks back in another grand final matchup, denying them back to back.

Being a sore loser is helping me recover too ;p
It's fun hanging crap on hawks supporters.

Here's a cute story.. On Saturday night I witnessed a group of youths walking around Geelong popping cats balloons that shops had setup, hitting windows with cats memorabilia in them and singing hawthorn songs. Running them over would have done them a favour.

I forked out a ******ed amount of cash to a scalper to be apart of the day. By the end of it I felt cheated.

On Sunday I felt like I'd been kicked in the guts and sat in dark room sinking beers. Now I feel seedy and bitterly disappointed.

The worst thing is I'll be reminded of the loss every time I have to eat beans and porriage for tea for the next 2 weeks cause I blew all my cash on a ticket.

Hey Geelong supporters.

Just wanted to say commiserations, I was actually hoping you would beat the Hawks.

As a Port supporter who watched his team lose last year's grand final to the Cats, I know what you are going through, though I imagine it would not be as painful as what you are feeling now. Sure a 119 point loss is bad, but halfway through the third quarter, when your team is playing like a joke, and your phone is going off constantly with around 150 messages messages and even your Collingwood-supporter wife is giving you shit and laughing, all you can do is laugh, which is what I did. I don't think it is nearly as bad as being red hot favourites to win back to back only to see it flushed down the toilet in a half of footy. Same thing happened to Essendon in 2001.

All you can do is wait until next year's finals' series. I think you are good enough to win it next year. I suspect in 10 years time, when everyone looks back, they will see Hawthorn's 2008 premiership sandwiched in between Geelong's 2 or 3 premierships.

But as Hird said to the Essendon fans after the 2001 grand final, this is one you've got to live with.

Walked around the house yesterday aimlessly, didnt know what to say or what to think, today i would guess i did a total of 2 hours work out of the 8 1/2 i was there. Its just an emptyness, i know it cant be filled, the only thing i/we can do is get behind the club and just hope next year isnt too far away, we need redemption and we need it quickly, bring on '09.

How much hurt are you feeling right now?