Hume FL

Found this on the Wagga sight thought it may be of interest as we dont hear much about the Osborne cats. Has anyone heard of this Ash Dickenberg ?

Heard Big George is set to join his mate Jiffy at TRYC and Ash Dickenberg moving to Albury and set to join the mighty Osborne Cats.

Big George is Carroll the pie eater from Ganmain who played at Lockhart a few years back and played in Rivcoll's flag with Matt 'Jiffy' Carroll. I think Dickenberg is a utility/midfielder from TRYC aswell. Been there a few years now I think.

Found this on the Wagga sight thought it may be of interest as we dont hear much about the Osborne cats. Has anyone heard of this Ash Dickenberg ?

Heard Big George is set to join his mate Jiffy at TRYC and Ash Dickenberg moving to Albury and set to join the mighty Osborne Cats.

Ash is a former Berrigan Boy (a while ago now) and a hard nut, has played for NSW rep teams and would be a asset to any club

Great news to get Hardy back. You need to be a star to win a league medal and Yarrawonga chased him very hard after the 2006 season (and by all reports had him until he went back home).
Rennie only lost half a dozen from the team that made the 2006 preliminary final, but they were six of their best eight or nine - hence the dramatic drop.
You're right about the Hoppers needing Hardy to bring a car load of stars with him, but they're not as far behind as most winless teams in history.

How will Rennie (and the other ex-CDFL teams) compete with the clubs in the Hume League with the $60K, $70K, $80K & $90K budgets ?? Can't see them generating enough income to hang in there too long.

I don't think the CDFL Clubs can compete with those sort of budgets over a sustained period of years straight runner.

I have no idea where Billabong are getting their alleged substantial amounts money - if it's from good harvests of past years then they're in strife. CDHBU are spending a bit too but they have a large rural district plus a bit of Corowa behind them - while they are winning and successful they have the best chance of consistent (relative) success. Rennie have about half the $ of the power clubs which they can generate consistently - they'll struggle to win a comp paying half of the others though. Coly have bugger all $ and depend on a good bunch of locals sticking about (too far for them to play for anyone else) - they'll be at Rennie's level.

One would hope that they (the officials) have another crack at forming a comp along the border for 2009 to compliment the old CDFL teams and some weaker Hume and Picola Clubs.

And by the way, there's plenty of Hume League Clubs who can't consistently compete year in year out with the big budget clubs either. Don't presume that all Hume Clubs are superior to the CDFL Clubs.

I don't think the CDFL Clubs can compete with those sort of budgets over a sustained period of years straight runner.

I have no idea where Billabong are getting their alleged substantial amounts money - if it's from good harvests of past years then they're in strife. CDHBU are spending a bit too but they have a large rural district plus a bit of Corowa behind them - while they are winning and successful they have the best chance of consistent (relative) success. Rennie have about half the $ of the power clubs which they can generate consistently - they'll struggle to win a comp paying half of the others though. Coly have bugger all $ and depend on a good bunch of locals sticking about (too far for them to play for anyone else) - they'll be at Rennie's level.

One would hope that they (the officials) have another crack at forming a comp along the border for 2009 to compliment the old CDFL teams and some weaker Hume and Picola Clubs.

And by the way, there's plenty of Hume League Clubs who can't consistently compete year in year out with the big budget clubs either. Don't presume that all Hume Clubs are superior to the CDFL Clubs.

I would say you're pretty close to being on the money Doobie.
However, Coleambally's successes in the Coreen league often come down to people underrating their locals because they don't often play at higher levels - they're just happy to stay at home. A few have played successfully at Griffith though. Any one that underrates them will get burned.

And superior is not a word I believe you can use in country footy, unless you are referring to something like culture. Spending more money doesn't make you superior.

It should be a great season and it will be interesting to see how it pans out.

Good call 6uldv8, have since spoken to some rand/walb boy's & it all came back to $$$ as it always does and stepping up to the next level in coaching. Osborne has gone to Wagunyah does anyone know where Occa Dickins has gone???

occa is gonna run around with wagunyah, been told they looking to get 8-10 games out of him and put him on a flank somewhere, let him use his skills without getting crunched all the time.
hopefully with the reshuffle in the boardroom at rand/wab the $$$ won't go missing as they have been in recent years, then they will be able to spend it on some players and stick with them for more than one season.:thumbsu:

I would say you're pretty close to being on the money Doobie.
However, Coleambally's successes in the Coreen league often come down to people underrating their locals because they don't often play at higher levels - they're just happy to stay at home. A few have played successfully at Griffith though. Any one that underrates them will get burned.

And superior is not a word I believe you can use in country footy, unless you are referring to something like culture. Spending more money doesn't make you superior.

It should be a great season and it will be interesting to see how it pans out.

Coly are always competitive as they have good local boys who love playing for the town and club. I've been involved in local footy for a while now and can never remember them being down the bottom of the ladder. They tend to pay the coach and that's it. Pity a few more clubs couldn't follow their lead in that respect.

Superior is not a word I like either but a few posts in recent months on this site from Hume people indicate that they feel the comp and their clubs are superior to the CDFL. Would be interesting to see how some of them aim up without the $. I think the CDFL clubs will do well.

I guess the ladder at the end of the year is the only thing that will be an accurate guide to how the new clubs will fare. Just concerned that they will end up like BB & MM, & not in the race at all My early prediction:
Culcairn
Jindera
Osborne
Howlong
Walla
Holbrook
Henty
Lockhart
Rand/Walb
The Alphabet
Coleambally
Billabong
BB Saints
Rennie
Murray Magpies

Superior is not a word I like either but a few posts in recent months on this site from Hume people indicate that they feel the comp and their clubs are superior to the CDFL. Would be interesting to see how some of them aim up without the $. I think the CDFL clubs will do well.

My thoughts exactly mate. We shall see.

I guess the ladder at the end of the year is the only thing that will be an accurate guide to how the new clubs will fare. Just concerned that they will end up like BB & MM, & not in the race at all My early prediction:
Culcairn
Jindera
Osborne
Howlong
Walla
Holbrook
Henty
Lockhart
Rand/Walb
The Alphabet
Coleambally
Billabong
BB Saints
Rennie
Murray Magpies
My thoughts are that CDHBU will be fairly handy and billabong will be competitive they have to be with the players they have picked up as for the others i dont no bugger all about them so here goes.
Culcairn(then daylight)
Howlong(they will be ok dont worry)
Jindera(have to surely)
Osborne(Getting on abit)
CDHBU(Have got some genuine stars)
Holbrook(going along quietly got some quality out of albury)
Lockhart(same as above)
Walla(To many suspect injuries returning)
Billabong Crows ( If they play like they did in GF see ya in 09)
Rand Wal( Lost a heap got gilson)
Colly( To far)
Henty( could be wrong but gossip mill suggest turmoil)
murry mag ( say no more)
bb saints ( to far back from the pack)
rennie ( pull the pin boys save the kanga but as previous thread suggest going to have a crack)
but i aint bruce mac only what one fat retired bloke reckons seeya:thumbsu:

My thoughts are that CDHBU will be fairly handy and billabong will be competitive they have to be with the players they have picked up as for the others i dont no bugger all about them so here goes.
Culcairn(then daylight)
Howlong(they will be ok dont worry)
Jindera(have to surely)
Osborne(Getting on abit)
CDHBU(Have got some genuine stars)
Holbrook(going along quietly got some quality out of albury)
Lockhart(same as above)
Walla(To many suspect injuries returning)
Billabong Crows ( If they play like they did in GF see ya in 09)
Rand Wal( Lost a heap got gilson)
Colly( To far)
Henty( could be wrong but gossip mill suggest turmoil)
murry mag ( say no more)
bb saints ( to far back from the pack)
rennie ( pull the pin boys save the kanga but as previous thread suggest going to have a crack)
but i aint bruce mac only what one fat retired bloke reckons seeya:thumbsu:
Two more are confirmed to have left Howlong, Mick Nixon & Gordon Anderson.

i dont think the gap between culcairn ans jindera will be as far apart as you think. with the two games i saw this year i think jindera match up very well with them and wouldnt be suprised if they got up and won. With a forward line of castles, hilton, callanan,griffiths,scott and garland they are going to kick very winnable scores

Just keep writing us off Albert Park.
We like that.

And no one can use the reason of travel to rule out Coleambally - that is in fact their biggest advantage. Travelling doesn't bother them and they play very well at home on a small ground against opposition that aren't used to that drive.

Sounds like Culcairn and Jindera are the ones to beat with huge chequebooks scoring them a host of OandM players.
As for the rest of the Hume clubs, I admit I have no idea.

Just keep writing us off Albert Park.
We like that.

And no one can use the reason of travel to rule out Coleambally - that is in fact their biggest advantage. Travelling doesn't bother them and they play very well at home on a small ground against opposition that aren't used to that drive.

Sounds like Culcairn and Jindera are the ones to beat with huge chequebooks scoring them a host of OandM players.
As for the rest of the Hume clubs, I admit I have no idea.

It's just my opinion that the ex-CDFL clubs will not be competitive against all bar the bottom few of Hume League clubs, having watched a bit of CDFL, HFL, TDFL & O&MFL footy over the last few years. You admit you have no idea, but put your ladder prediction up and we'll compare predictions at the end of the season. I hope I'm wrong and that all the clubs are successful, I just don't think that that will be the case. Magpies have lost 4 of their best 5 players so far, so I can't see them being too good & BB Saints seem to have picked up no-one.

You twist my words. I said I had no idea about the Hume league clubs, not that I have no idea full stop.

Ok, and probably with bias, but not necessarily in order.

Top 4 - United Power, Culcairn, Jindera, Osborne
No.5-12 - Howlong, Henty, Billabong, Walla, Coleambally, Lockhart, Holbrook, Rand-Walbundrie
No.13-15 - Rennie, BB Saints, Murray Magpies

i dont think the gap between culcairn ans jindera will be as far apart as you think. with the two games i saw this year i think jindera match up very well with them and wouldnt be suprised if they got up and won. With a forward line of castles, hilton, callanan,griffiths,scott and garland they are going to kick very winnable scores

Would have to agree with you. Both teams have obviously recruited very well, but word is Culcairn has suffered heavier losses through retirements & work commitments. Wasnt much between them last year.

havent heard much about the work commitments stuff but only lost a couple through retirements have recruited a lot of local boys back i think. Doubt they could afford any others from the outside, I know they offered Mark Hilton a wod of cash but good luck to them. I still think Jindera will have the edge over them.

Mal Douglas (Osborne) has signed with Norwood, in the SANFL.

Has anyone seen him play, and how would you rate him ?

Mal Douglas (Osborne) has signed with Norwood, in the SANFL.

Has anyone seen him play, and how would you rate him ?
yeah legs, seen him play a few times.quality young player,great skills both sides of the body and super quick.he is very thinly built and probably needs to put on a good 10-15 kg.still goes in pretty hard for his size.reckon he is going to be a top class player in a few years time.great pick up for any club.

Thanks NETGEAR.

He's obviously made a big impression here, and we'll see how quickly he develops.

Did he play in this year's senior G/F ?

Does anyone know the names of the Murray Magpies that have left to join Thurgoona?????
The names i was told about are lucas Mellier, Chris Barker, Corey and Jordan Miller and possibly Brad Sutcliffe. not 100% sure how true all of this is but knowing the quality of the above Magpies in a lot of trouble if it is true