The Bomb

Dec 17, 2010
Which young player do you think would make the best captain (not from your own club), I think Dangerfield from Adelaide and select the club he plays for in the poll.
I picked Dangerfield because he is just so strong and has a unique ability to lift his team when needed, has leader written all over him.

• Banned
Reason I did not put Gold Coast in is because there young guns have not played in the AFL yet.
next year I will definatly as they will be a big part of the comp.
cheers The Bomb.

Surely you should at least put up a list of prospective captains for each club.

You might think Hurley is our next captain, but Melksham, Pears or anyone else could be other peoples choice.

Poor poll

North Melbourne with Cunnington

Interesting you nominate Cunners.

I reckon Spitta Swallow will be our next captain (and a great one at that). After him Ziebell gets talked about a lot but I reckon this year Cunners will have a ripper. Both have the qualities required for a captain.

I wonder if people will start accepting we are a team when we start beating them next year :)

There are self appointed intellectually arrogant types who claim non Vic clubs are franchises whilst the 1900s style clubs are in some way real.

Be sure the Suns first year will be unreal, & the apologists will be think on the ground, albeit congregated in one geographic area of the country.

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

From the tiges, Martin while an important player doesn't strike me as "captain". From our point of view our best young leader is Cotchin by far. Everyone who's spoken about him, coaches, a few commentators who have seen him, Richo as a boundary rider, have all reported he's an outstanding leader around the club. He'l be our captain from 2012 I reckon.

Elsewhere, probably Joel Selwood is the standout. Just looks like a leader on the field and has so from a young age.

Jack Grimes.

Russell for us.
From our point of view our best young leader is Cotchin by far. Everyone who's spoken about him, coaches, a few commentators who have seen him, Richo as a boundary rider, have all reported he's an outstanding leader around the club. He'l be our captain from 2012 I reckon.
Conca might be a challenger for the captaincy at Richmond.

Reports suggest he's a leader and a solid character.

Conca was studying commerce and psychology this year, so he's no halfwit.

Was VC of WA.

Jack Grimes.

Russell for us.

Conca might be a challenger for the captaincy at Richmond.

Reports suggest he's a leader and a solid character.

Conca was studying commerce and psychology this year, so he's no halfwit.

Was VC of WA.

Please don't go there before Conca has played a game.

Myers was spoken in the same way - And he struggles to play regular senior footy after 3 years.

Surely you should at least put up a list of prospective captains for each club.

You might think Hurley is our next captain, but Melksham, Pears or anyone else could be other peoples choice.

Poor poll

I'd actually have Zaka as our best future captain prospect atm.

Agreed, terrible poll.

From afar Dustin Martin looks an outstanding candidate.
If he didn't play with Trent Cotchin he would be a candidate, but I don't think he is the captain type TBH.
Cotchin is nearly a lock to take the reigns from Newman as captain.