I am now officially writing off the careers of Selwood and Copeland

You are surely pulling the piss?

Bushy was a shining light last season. And his work during 01-04 period is underrated given the players surrounding him.

Selwood has occasionally shown a little bit, but in 20 years time, he will be forgotten in comparison to Copeland.

I'm sorry Homer, we all understand your home-town loyalty to Bushy, but he has surely reached the end of his road. The fact is that whilst his dedication can't be questioned he is now too slow to play at AFL level, and he has become a liability in defence who is being exploited by the opposition.

Having said that, he has had a great career and will be fondly remembered by all Lions fans.

Grim it is the truth, in my eyes their careers are effectively over, i could name 10 local footballers that are better players than both of these guys (no disrespect to Copeland) i will start with D.White!

You could name 10 local footballers but then name a Brisbane Lions legend:confused:.

I know he is a local footballer but to class him as one is a bit harsh on Selwood and Copeland for the point of this argument.

Lillico
Abbey
Payne
Bail
Zorco
Alleway
Backwell
Shelton
Kenna
Gough

there are ten players that are easily better players than selwood

this is really depressing to read about. I know many of yous know that im a big fan on selwood and been branded a 'school girl crush', but i do see the potential and have actually witnessed what he can do and for his sake i hope he shows it again.
Bushy on the other hand...

i actually agree with you.

I DONT think selwood has been in our worst 10 players against Melbourne and Essendon...

some criticisms of his game this year have been warranted, but i don't think the last 2 games fall in that category.

Using Selwood as a scapegoat for the woeful fortnight we've had is a bit short sighted.

I am not saying they should play afl. i am saying they are better players than t.selwood

I think we are going to have to agree to disagree on this one.

Personally I think there has been a lot worse performances then Selwood this year and I would be very disappointed if they de-listed him at seasons end. Or even traded him. I think he can be the very vital Tagging mid-fielder we need in a rise back up the ladder.

At a time like this we don't need moderators we need skills coaches and recruiters who can pick blokes who can kick the footy properly!

We are officially the worst team by footy that i have ever seen in the AFL/VFL i implore Lethal to show the 89 grand final and say to our players that if you want to be in our team you must be able to kick the footy, see this successful Hawthorn team, there wasn't one player that couldn't kick the footy properly, then show our 3 peat dvds and say, if you want to play in a premiership team you must be able to hit your targets, see there isn't anyone in these teams that couldn't kick the ball properly. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I dunno, I might be getting old & fuzzy, but I think I can remember, through my fuzziness, Lynchy spraying shots on goal, left right & center. I can remember games at the Gabba where we were absolutely woefull. I can remember a time when we used to play interstate and very seldom won. I can remember a time when we had not won at the "G" that we were never going to win there according to some.

But shit, I might be wrong, my memory is a bit fuzzy. Maybe we were always the perfect team back in those days and I just can't remember it.

I am not saying they should play afl. i am saying they are better players than t.selwood

Don't beat yourself up acuguy, you are not alone in your thoughts.

Agree on both statements, Selwood has never been good enough, Copeland has had his day.

Elevate anyone from the 2's that shows passion and drive, it certainly couldn't hurt.

Blind Freddy can see that Notting no longer has what it takes to play. He started his season well but has dropped off so badly questions need to be asked.

hi guys i agree that the thread players are bad and must be axed i would give notting a huge bake but not drop him as he has been consistent the last few years. the one that i am really concerned about is adcock how many bloody times can he exaggerate free kicks he goes down like he has been shot and don't even start me about his woeful disposal he missed power who was 3 metres away with a hand ball by a week. grrrr get him outta the guts and put him in the backline again.

Blind Freddy can see that Notting no longer has what it takes to play. He started his season well but has dropped off so badly questions need to be asked.

:eek: Freddy, can you confirm that you see this as well?

Just my opinion, but i reckon the Lions seem to be not using their best players in their best positions. I may be speaking from my Supercoach side's perspective, but surely Jed Adcock and Josh Drummond, two highly skilled players with excellent disposal skills, should be used more offensively through the midfield rather than forced to play lock-down/defensive roles in the backline, while lesser skilled players seem to get the bulk of the ball. It's like in 2005-6 when Cameron Ling assumed the role of the main ball-carrier and inside 50 player from midfield, but his high loft-wedge style kicks were not particularly effective in hitting forward targets. Now we have Ablett, Bartel and the like doing the passing, and the side is doing much better.

Get Adcock and Drummond into the action, and leave the scrubbers like the Selwoods, Copelands and others who are not Black or Power to do the grunt defensive work.

Thanks for the support Catsace but you have a couple of misconceptions. Adcock has been in the midfield all year but the consensious is that he has been carrying an injury this year.

Drummond has been tried in the midfield before but he is at his best when he is playing the quarterback role at the back. He disposal tends to fall away under pressure and his running ability is not fantastic.

I don't think I have ever been so frustrated every time I see a particular player get the footy as I am with Selwood, if he is still with the Lions at the end of 2008 I will be bitterly dissapointed with the lions list management.

If Adcock is injured, I would want him rested rather than playing this season, I'd hate to see his career shortened :(.

I probably wouldn't pick Selwood as being the player that's letting our team down the most.

Can people give me reasons/examples of why they hate/dislike Selwood.

[quote=thecubs08;11693592]hi guys i agree that the thread players are bad and must be axed i would give notting a huge bake but not drop him as he has been consistent the last few years.

The one bloke I drop my policy of "non-bagging" for is Timmy. OK, at his best he is a good runner through midfield with the occasional 50m goal on the run.

But he seems to be the only player exempt from the Matthews must tackle hard philosophy, never picks up a man, and seems to have carte blanche to do his own thing through the midfield with no personal responsibility whatsoever. Nevertheless, week after week [this week included] he miraculously appears among the best players. Now either he has incriminating photos or he is doing as the coaches want him to do, so fair enough.

IMO at his stage of career he should be setting an example to the second-tier players, who to my eye have not come on as they should have. And perhaps why should they, when they see a senior player permitted licence to do whatever.

I agree Tassie4ever that Notting is playing well below his best (ie. last year). It's always difficult though when you have a player who is underperforming but still in your best 22. Do you drop that player (like Lyon did with Dal Santo) or do you just keep playing him?

If we are relying on a tagging midfielder to "move back up the ladder" we are really struggling.

Yes we need guys who can play defensive roles, but you can't have 14 players in the team that regularly get under 10-12 possessions.

I think we need one tagger like every club does, and I believe Selwood can fill that roll well.

I think part of our improvement is we need to get players averaging more possessions then the 10-12 also we need to improve our effectiveness rate again.

Earlier in the year we were making teams pay for there errors. On Saturday night we didn't do that except for the start of the 3rd quarter and when we did we blew them away. That was the most frustrating part about Saturday for me, we showed in 10 minutes how good we are, did nothing for the other 90 mins.

I agree Tassie4ever that Notting is playing well below his best (ie. last year). It's always difficult though when you have a player who is underperforming but still in your best 22. Do you drop that player (like Lyon did with Dal Santo) or do you just keep playing him?[/quote]

Form is one thing, and it will vary throughout a long season. That, anyone can assess and we move on, good times, bad times etc. Where I have a real problem with Notting is that I think that over a long period he deliberately avoids responsibility- I know, that's a big call, but I often point out to my adjoining seat holders how he attempts to run behind an opoosing defender from the kickouts, how he will avoid heavy body on body, won't chase, won't man up.

OK, that's the sort of player he is, and in the premiership years he was either carried by the hard nuts or struggled for a game. My point is that now, it's pay back time, time to set an example for the mid rankers, use his status as a senior player. Maybe he could use Rischa as a role model- good form, bad form , he puts in- then again, Notting has a few years on this bloke, and perhaps it should be the other way around, and this is my point.

I dunno, I might be getting old & fuzzy, but I think I can remember, through my fuzziness, Lynchy spraying shots on goal, left right & center. I can remember games at the Gabba where we were absolutely woefull. I can remember a time when we used to play interstate and very seldom won. I can remember a time when we had not won at the "G" that we were never going to win there according to some.

But shit, I might be wrong, my memory is a bit fuzzy. Maybe we were always the perfect team back in those days and I just can't remember it.
Yes crimso, it's funny what selective memory can do.

I was reading yesterday's paper and Champion Data stats show Selwood having 5 possessions (all kicks) and making 3 critical errors!! I realise that he doesn't always play that badly but I really think that he needs a run in the 2s to show the squad that underperforming will not be tolerated. But I spose if they were going to make a stand then we'd have to make about 18 changes, as pretty much everyone underperformed on Sat night...

I am now officially writing off the careers of Selwood and Copeland