STARSHIPTROOPER

Suspended
Jan 25, 2004
In anticipation
BULLDOGS
The man is really the best in the Business.

In 99 we chose

Murph @ 13
Guido @ 32
Wiggo @ 35
Mitch @ 37
Gil @ 43
Shaggy @ 66

We Chose
Contessa & Fuller as rookies

We didnt choose
Brad Green went at 19
Cameron Ling went at 38
Cameron Moooney went at 53
Paul Wheatly At 20
Mathew Whelan at 50
Cameron Bruce at 64 thats right 64
Brett Guerra at 28
Mathew Bishop at 42
Ryan O keefe at 56

Rookies included Rioli, Kirk, Kent Kingsley

I ll take Green, Ling, Mooney,Bruce,Rioli and Whelan in front of the duds we got.

CLAYTON IS OVER RATED !!!

Originally posted by STARSHIPTROOPER
Murph @ 13
Guido @ 32
Wiggo @ 35
Mitch @ 37
Gil @ 43
Shaggy @ 66

I ll take Green, Ling, Mooney,Bruce,Rioli and Whelan in front of the duds we got.

Murphy is a dud?

Mitch is a dud?

Guido is a dud?

Is your definition of a dud "players with genuine skill and hardness at the footy who all re-signed last year when they could easily have deserted us for the SEVERAL clubs that were showing genuine interest in them"?

• Banned
Re: Re: I am sorry Scott I got it wrong

Originally posted by Leon
Murphy is a dud?

Mitch is a dud?

Guido is a dud?

Is your definition of a dud "players with genuine skill and hardness at the footy who all re-signed last year when they could easily have deserted us for the SEVERAL clubs that were showing genuine interest in them"?

Murphy a dramatic underacheiver
Hahn and honest goer with disposal limitations
Guido moderate performer never reaches great heights. Has many more bad games than good.
Only plays well when opposition let him by not manning up.

All duds compared to what we could have had.

Re: Re: Re: I am sorry Scott I got it wrong

Murphy a dramatic underacheiver
Hahn and honest goer with disposal limitations
Guido moderate performer never reaches great heights. Has many more bad games than good.
Only plays well when opposition let him by not manning up.

All duds compared to what we could have had.

So because better players are taken after you, that makes you a dud? How on earth is someone meant to pick best player possibly available with every pick in hindsight? For every player picked after them that has been better, there have been another 60 who haven't.

1999 was a very good draft for us, you're a ****en tool mate.

We didnt choose
Brad Green went at 19
Cameron Ling went at 38
Paul Wheatly At 20
Mathew Whelan at 50
Brett Guerra at 28
Mathew Bishop at 42
Ryan O keefe at 56
Have a look at their draft positions - the only way to have picked up Green, Wheatley or Guerra would be to have selected one of them at 13 - if you think passing on Murphy for one of them is good recruiting, you're a dingbat.

You have a habit of glorifying opposition players - if the tables were reversed, I reckon you'd be saying the exact same thing about our blokes - "our honest goer Wheelan before that young Essendon gun Giansiracusa ... what the hell was Clayton thinking!?!"

From a club V club perspective, we came out of that draft among the top 3, and in the long term will probably be the clear cut winners. Going into a draft with only one selection in the top 30, what more do you friggen expect?

You want someone to blame for our current on field plight - point the finger at the buffoons in charge of managing our list over the past 10 years.

Clayton is a very good recruiter but perhaps not as great as some think.
However poor coaching is the main reason why some of our young recruits have not progressed as well as we would have hoped.
Spotting talent is one thing , good management is another.
More of the blame lies with the coaches and management of players.

We didnt choose
Brad Green went at 19
Cameron Ling went at 38
Paul Wheatly At 20
Mathew Whelan at 50
Brett Guerra at 28
Mathew Bishop at 42
Ryan O keefe at 56

Brad Green has only just made his mark this year, before that he had been playing in a forward pocket.
Lets see how he goes under closer scrutiny in the years to come.

Cameron Ling is a great pick up, would be an ideal player for us.

Cameron Mooney was almost delisted before this year!
Wheatley hardly in the mould of "our duds" as you described them.

Bruce was initially on the rookie list, yes he has been a great pick up.
However, Im more than happy to have picked up a full back at pick 70 of recent times.

Your opinions change like the wind. First you bag the coach then you back off and bag the players, which one is it???
One week we win, you state how well we played and bag others who do not give the team credit for winning.
The next week when the team loses, you agree with the baggers of the previous week.
Either you have more then one person posting under your name or you are a schizophrenic !

Bit harsh Starship.

I think your focusing on the wrong draft. Our number 10 selections in 2000 and 2001 were poor. Two light weight outside running players in McMahon and Power. That's were Clayton has aired and even bind freddy can see that.

p.s. Out of your 1999 list, I'd take Cameron Bruce any day, especially at 64. I also watch a bit of melbourne games and the guy is pure silk with the ball. Reads well, disposes well.

Where's progrocker when you need backup?

West was also useless against the Saints and should learn how to ruck.
Grant needs to join the footy show regulars just so he can speak rubbish more often.

Bugger-we missed Luke Livingstone as well!

We didnt choose
Brad Green went at 19
Cameron Ling went at 38
Paul Wheatly At 20
Mathew Whelan at 50
Brett Guerra at 28
Mathew Bishop at 42
Ryan O keefe at 56

Yeah, right on. How did we miss Bishop - twice. Maybe we could still have got him as part of the Eagleton trade? He would be handy, playing at Werribee. And Guerra, has taken five years to play consistenly, in a team where he gets the small defender who is not good enough to take Milne. Teams won't be caught out by him second time around. And Mooney - finally strings a few games together after how many seasons????

It's been said before, but in comparison, how "over-rated" were the recruiters that missed Grant at 105 in the late 80s, or Hird, Kemp, etc in the same era.

As for Hahn's disposal limitations, maybe it was someone else who kicked goals several times this year from outside 50m on the run - the two against West Coast immediately spring to mind. Apart from the fact that he is an inside physical midfielder, who has also shown he can play forward and kick goals, and play back as well as he did at the start of his career. Hahn may have limitations, but his positives are fairly handy.

Damian Cupido (6), Danny Roach (7), Aaron Fiora (3), Paul Koulouriotis (12), Caydn Beetham (9), and Darren Glass (11)

All taken before Murphy in the 1999 draft. None have been as good, some have been delisted. You would therefore have to suggest that Clayton did a better job than those recruiters up to this point.

Ezra Poyas (22), Scott Homewood (39), Ezra Bray (17), Andrew Mills (52), Murray Pitts (54), Scott Stevens (21), Leon Davis (34), Rhyce Shaw (18 - f/s), Ben Cunningham (49), Clayton Lasscock (53), Michael J. Clark (42), Ricky O'Loughlin (51)

All of the above were taken before one of our players who has since gone on to do more. And these are just a few examples. Many of these players (and some were taken by Melbourne and Geelong - two of the clubs you highlighted as having done better than us) have been delisted, some will be soon, and there are plenty more examples.

In any given draft, there are plenty of mistakes and every club makes one that will come back to bite them on the backside. In our case, there are two or three good players we could have taken but didn't, but the people responsible for drafting the above would kill to be able to swap those selections for the ones we ended up making.

Easy to make someone look bad with (very) selective information, but Clayton held up VERY well in this draft.

In 99 we chose

Murph @ 13
Guido @ 32
Wiggo @ 35
Mitch @ 37
Gil @ 43
Shaggy @ 66

We Chose
Contessa & Fuller as rookies

We didnt choose
Brad Green went at 19
Cameron Ling went at 38
Paul Wheatly At 20
Mathew Whelan at 50
Brett Guerra at 28
Mathew Bishop at 42
Ryan O keefe at 56

There are three possible explanations for this post.

1) It is a p*sstake
2) STARSHIPTROOPER is really wrennyboy in disguise
3) STARSHIPTROOPER is a d*ckhead

Hindsight is a wonderful thing, try using it for Tattslotto numbers.

How did every other club go in that draft?

Ade - Rhett Biglands @ 36 (Crows 1st pick); Justin Cicolella @ 65
Bris - Damien Cupido @ 6
Carl - Richard Kelly @ 60 (Carl 1st pick)
Coll - Danny Roach @ 7
Ess - David Hille @ 40 (Dons 1st pick), Marcus Pickett @ 45
Fre - Haselby, Pavlich & Brown @ 2, 4 & 5, however, Adam Butler @ 46 (Freo's next pick)
Gee - The best group of the lot (Corey, Ling, Enright, Chapman) but also: David Spriggs @ 15, Ezra Bray @ 17, Daniel Foster @ 23
Haw - Luke McPharlin @ 10, Brett Johnson @ 25, Tim Clarke @ 33.
Melb - Paul Wheatly @ 20
NM - Clayton Lasscock @ 53 (North's 1st pick, not Cameron Mooney)
PA - Paul Koulouriotis @ 12
Rich - Aaron Fiora @ 3, Ezra Poyas @ 22, Scott Homewood @ 39.
STK - Cadyn Beetham @ 9
Syd - Scott Stevens @ 21 (Swans 1st pick)
WCE - Darren Glass @ 11, Travis Gaspar @ 14.

Every club has drafting disasters every year, it's the nature of trying to pick kids.

Of the 99 draft Freo got 3 good players in the 1st 5 picks and Geelong did well (part of the reason they are doing well now) but our group is at least the equal of the rest.

Re: Re: Re: Re: I am sorry Scott I got it wrong

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
So because better players are taken after you, that makes you a dud? How on earth is someone meant to pick best player possibly available with every pick in hindsight? For every player picked after them that has been better, there have been another 60 who haven't.

1999 was a very good draft for us, you're a ****en tool mate.

A **** weak reply from a light weight.
Well smart arse why do we not win if we have such a good list. Oh yes I forgot its Rhodes fault.

Originally posted by scooter600x
There are three possible explanations for this post.

1) It is a p*sstake
2) STARSHIPTROOPER is really wrennyboy in disguise
3) STARSHIPTROOPER is a d*ckhead

Hindsight is a wonderful thing, try using it for Tattslotto numbers.

How did every other club go in that draft?

Ade - Rhett Biglands @ 36 (Crows 1st pick); Justin Cicolella @ 65
Bris - Damien Cupido @ 6
Carl - Richard Kelly @ 60 (Carl 1st pick)
Coll - Danny Roach @ 7
Ess - David Hille @ 40 (Dons 1st pick), Marcus Pickett @ 45
Fre - Haselby, Pavlich & Brown @ 2, 4 & 5, however, Adam Butler @ 46 (Freo's next pick)
Gee - The best group of the lot (Corey, Ling, Enright, Chapman) but also: David Spriggs @ 15, Ezra Bray @ 17, Daniel Foster @ 23
Haw - Luke McPharlin @ 10, Brett Johnson @ 25, Tim Clarke @ 33.

So you justify our errors by pointing to other clubs failures. What a success in life you must be.
We should only be interested in the absolute success at our club. Justifying poor results in light of others failing is what is endemically wrong with the club "we can be mediocre because others are". You my friend are ordinary.

Melb - Paul Wheatly @ 20
NM - Clayton Lasscock @ 53 (North's 1st pick, not Cameron Mooney)
PA - Paul Koulouriotis @ 12
Rich - Aaron Fiora @ 3, Ezra Poyas @ 22, Scott Homewood @ 39.
STK - Cadyn Beetham @ 9
Syd - Scott Stevens @ 21 (Swans 1st pick)
WCE - Darren Glass @ 11, Travis Gaspar @ 14.

Every club has drafting disasters every year, it's the nature of trying to pick kids.

Of the 99 draft Freo got 3 good players in the 1st 5 picks and Geelong did well (part of the reason they are doing well now) but our group is at least the equal of the rest.

Originally posted by localyokel
Here was I thinking that this thread was some sort of apology for this bit of genius;

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=107591&highlight=reinvent

I think that maybe you should find yourself a team with a decent recruiter. Make sure the door doesnt hit you on the arse on the way out.

Why dont you pull the thread if you dont like what I have to say. Thats your usual form, I am sure that you must have been bullied as a kid or your just a sook.

Originally posted by Westy_Boy
Have a look at their draft positions - the only way to have picked up Green, Wheatley or Guerra would be to have selected one of them at 13 - if you think passing on Murphy for one of them is good recruiting, you're a dingbat.

You have a habit of glorifying opposition players - if the tables were reversed, I reckon you'd be saying the exact same thing about our blokes - "our honest goer Wheelan before that young Essendon gun Giansiracusa ... what the hell was Clayton thinking!?!"

From a club V club perspective, we came out of that draft among the top 3, and in the long term will probably be the clear cut winners. Going into a draft with only one selection in the top 30, what more do you friggen expect?

You want someone to blame for our current on field plight - point the finger at the buffoons in charge of managing our list over the past 10 years.

Green is better than Murphy in my view and has actually won games of his own boot. Clayton has been on the job for 5 of those years and delivered little. Gia is a an average at best player.

Originally posted by desipura
We didnt choose
Brad Green went at 19
Cameron Ling went at 38
Paul Wheatly At 20
Mathew Whelan at 50
Brett Guerra at 28
Mathew Bishop at 42
Ryan O keefe at 56

Brad Green has only just made his mark this year, before that he had been playing in a forward pocket.
Lets see how he goes under closer scrutiny in the years to come.

Cameron Ling is a great pick up, would be an ideal player for us.

Cameron Mooney was almost delisted before this year!
Wheatley hardly in the mould of "our duds" as you described them.

Bruce was initially on the rookie list, yes he has been a great pick up.
However, Im more than happy to have picked up a full back at pick 70 of recent times.

Your opinions change like the wind. First you bag the coach then you back off and bag the players, which one is it???
One week we win, you state how well we played and bag others who do not give the team credit for winning.
The next week when the team loses, you agree with the baggers of the previous week.
Either you have more then one person posting under your name or you are a schizophrenic !

Giving credit when credit is due and being critical when I feel it is warranted is not a dual pesonality trait. It is telling straight without blindly following the sheep around. And there are many sheep on this board.

I am sorry Scott I got it wrong