I can finally see why we arnt rated

Richmond always have those two to three games that cause mass media orgasms before they fall on their faces.
What's going on here lamenting a 14 point win because it is not better than a 1 point loss?

Insanity.

This is just a single point in isolation. I wouldn't take Sydney's loss against Richmond as something meaningful.

But the poster I quoted was saying that premiership contenders should belt lesser teams.

Sydney are clearly a contender who lost to a team who to that point had been cack.

What’s the concern guys? Check this out…

Sides to have started 8-0, their percentage after 8 wins and final ladder position

1908 – Carlton 197.1 – Premiers
1920 – Richmond 142.0 – Premiers
1924 – Fitzroy 130.4 – 3rd
1928 – Melbourne 129.1 – 3rd
1929 – Collingwood 169.6 – Premiers
1932 – South Melbourne 125.8 – 4th
1936 – South Melbourne 150.5 – Runners-up
1936 – Collingwood 145.9 – Premiers
1937 – Melbourne 146.1 – 3rd
1942 – Essendon 148.1 – Premiers
1943 – Essendon 125.3 – Runners-up
1946 – Footscray 133.6 – 4th
1953 – Geelong 177.9 – Runners-up
1955 – Melbourne 150.8 – Premiers
1956 – Melbourne 150.6 – Premiers
1959 – Carlton 135.0 – 3rd
1965 – Melbourne 126.4 – 7th
1966 – St.Kilda 177.4 – Premiers
1970 – Collingwood 138.0 – Runners-up
1978 – North Melbourne 141.2 – Runners-up
1991 – West Coast 203.0 – Runners-up
2000 – Essendon 161.3 – Premiers
2001 – Hawthorn 135.2 – 4th
2004 – St.Kilda 147.9 – 3rd
2005 – West Coast 143.6 – Runners-up
2008 – Geelong 144.4 – Runners-up
2008 – Hawthorn 140.1 – Premiers
2009 – St.Kilda 195.3 – Runners-up
2009 – Geelong 161.6 – Premiers
2011 – Geelong 138.3 – Premiers
2015 – Fremantle 155.3 – 3rd
2016 – North Melbourne 122.9 - ???

So we’re the 32nd team in the history of the VFL/AFL to start 8-0, but we’ve just set the new record for the one to do it with the worst percentage. BUT in a 22 game season (1970 onwards) it’s happened 13 times and only 3 missed the Grand Final, all of whom lost Preliminary Finals. Better start lining up now I reckon.

Sides to have started 8-0, their percentage after 8 wins and final ladder position

So we’re the 32nd team in the history of the VFL/AFL to start 8-0, but we’ve just set the new record for the one to do it with the worst percentage. BUT in a 22 game season (1970 onwards) it’s happened 13 times and only 3 missed the Grand Final, all of whom lost Preliminary Finals. Better start lining up now I reckon.
Looking forward to the stats for 9-0

Yes but Fitzroy had a better percentage than us and where are they now? Bad signs I say.

I'm glad someone has spoken up. Ive been getting more and more down every week as we only just scrape to win. Just plain lucky I reckon against crows, demons, dogs, saints and now bombers. Probably should be 3-5.

I doubt if we will win more than another few games for the year. If we weren't 8-0 Id say time to start tanking and look to 2017.

Very down at present.
Geez you would be the life of the party.

Agreed with most except the West Coast bit, they are the definition of flat track bullies ATM.

People seem to forget we play our best footy in the 2nd half of the year.
This is the issue, maybe.

Happy with our w-l record (obviously) but not inspired by our form. In this instance, by form I'm talking about how well we're playing, regardless of ladder position. Numerically, %age may possibly be indicative.

Which is no cause for worry or alarm IF we can actually pick up the pace when needed in this difficult mid-season patch and in the latter part of the season.

Has it occured to you that Mr Despondent may be a pisstake account? Perfect name.
Fair point. This thread would be a whole lot more informative if I could tell who was taking the piss and who was weak as piss.

This season isn't like recent seasons. Load on the players over the course of the season has increased substantially. It might just be that the wisest thing is to keep those petrol tickets stashed away. But the thing is, we are 8-0. April ****ing premiers. And we haven't spent more than we needed to. We might have gotten a bit lucky, but to quote bukowski, that counts too.

Here's what matters in football:

Winning games
Winning finals
Apparently it doesn't matter. You have to look good doing it; so in the spirit of not calling out people for being latte sipping flogs, let us recruit Trent of the hairdo and 30+ possessions.

Then we can all get back to the Sack Scott threats, Arjen can call for Gibson to be dropped weekly and some flog can complain about the lumbering hulk who has played less than 50 games with bad hair to be a waste of space.

I get to see one actual streamed game live, and all I read is how shit we are and 8-0 means nothing.

The sheer ****wittey around here is Carltonesque.

I rate the tigers as being 30 times better than the bombers.

Do me a favor, and watch a Sydney game and see how they go about their business.

Sent from my HTC 2PS6200 using Tapatalk
I watched Sydney fall in against an injury ravaged Brisbane at the Gabba. Extremely lucky,helped by umpiring error. GWS win excellent others not so much.

Apparently it doesn't matter. You have to look good doing it; so in the spirit of not calling out people for being latte sipping flogs, let us recruit Trent of the hairdo and 30+ possessions.

Then we can all get back to the Sack Scott threats, Arjen can call for Gibson to be dropped weekly and some flog can complain about the lumbering hulk who has played less than 50 games with bad hair to be a waste of space.

I get to see one actual streamed game live, and all I read is how shit we are and 8-0 means nothing.

The sheer *******tey around here is Carltonesque.

Have I missed something? I thought he'd been doing that weekly for a very long time.

ive been to enough games where we led and lost in the last few minutes to last a lifetime. I would rather win every game ugly and by 1 point than lose again including the grand final. I expect even if we won the flag the flogs in the media would say we fell over the line against an injured undermanned team. Eff that just give me the CUP thanks !

C. U. P. I wanna c-u- oh my Lord ...

Hey Marstermind, there has been a bit of press about our best start since 1978, we went 8-0 losing to Carlton in round 9.

Should we roll the Blues this weekend, when was the last time we went 9-0?

Why do you say that? You remind me of when I go to counsiling my psychic tells me to cheer up but I say to him how can I cheer up when I worry every week whether the northerners will loose or not.

Its like when I go to my Doc and he tells me to give up Booze, sugar and fatty foods.. I ask him will that make me live any longer ?. he tells me no, it will just seem like it

I don't post a lot but I read many of your comments throughout the week with interest pre/post game as I am a keen North supporter, and I'd like to add my thoughts on being "rated": As North people most of us are used to not being rated but at 8-0 I find it rather amusing that Adelaide and the Western Bulldogs are still the "real deal" even though we have knocked them off this year, however I am not surprised. In my opinion the Crows are nowhere near the real deal and the Dogs aren't far off but we have them covered for now but i digress. I think that the media and footy public in general love an up and coming team with flair and young stars, not older teams with strict discipline and solidarity throughout the team. North are the most even team in the competition by a mile and with the defensive strategies that have been put in place this year, we will not be soundly beaten this year. They are an extremely professional team; they look like they will not be phased by whoever they are playing and the system should work against the top sides (IMO Sydney, Geelong, Hawthorn). Yes, the last two weeks may not reflect the above but let's be honest, the weekends game especially was a farce from the get go - we didn't field anywhere near our best team. It's easy to get caught up in the emotion of football and this is what the public/media do, hence the fascination with some of these other "real deal" teams.

I can finally see why we arnt rated