If we don't get a decent KP during the trade period......

Rocco Jones

Jun 4, 2002
Bulldogs
and Tom Williams somehow stays fit, I think we should play him forward.

We have Lake and Morris down back. Dale's record against quality forward KP is at the very least decent. He regularly has beat/kept quiet the likes of Fev, Pav, Mooney and Riewoldt and it frees up Lake to be an offensively tall defender (a bit like Taylor and Scarlett at the Cats). The emergence of Addison and Callan, as well as the improving Hargrave, gives us more options for the medium/smalls that Morris has often played on.

Having Morris play 'tall' down back most weeks isn't ideal but imo it beats not having a decent tall forward.

I would also use Stephen Tiller as a swing man, playing him down back to free up Morris to play on a smaller opponent depending on the match ups. I think Tiller can be decent up forward with the growing importance on forwards offering defensive pressure.

I think having Williams and Tiller gain experience playing forward will help our flexibility moving forward as far as matching up against and stretching teams is concerned.

But our "A" backline next year will definitely contain all three of Williams, Lake and Morris. Having Williams back there highlights how good Hargrave and Morris can be when they don't have to punch above their weight.

We can't have Williams up forward, Franklin showed in the finals why we needed him down back.

What?

1- No one would have stopped Franklin on that night with the delivery he was receiving.

2- When Buddy is on, he is on. No one stops him

3- Have a look at the goals Buddy kicked. The majority were due to amazing ground level work rather than his height.

The Hawks have just won a flag and how many 'talls' do they play down back?

What?

1- No one would have stopped Franklin on that night with the delivery he was receiving.

2- When Buddy is on, he is on. No one stops him

3- Have a look at the goals Buddy kicked. The majority were due to amazing ground level work rather than his height.

The Hawks have just won a flag and how many 'talls' do they play down back?

Seriously come on, Williams matches Franklin in every department.

Franklin pushed Morris around all night, he wouldn't of had the same luxury against Williams.

But our "A" backline next year will definitely contain all three of Williams, Lake and Morris. Having Williams back there highlights how good Hargrave and Morris can be when they don't have to punch above their weight.

Definitely agree with you about Hargrave, he is MUCH better when he isn't playing on talls, we can never have him punching above his weight again. But Dale?

I think Morris' biggest flogging this year was actually against Johnson at Geelong. His record against KP forwards is pretty good but people are simple. If a smaller defender gets a bag kicked on him by a KP it's more obvious than if the same happened to a taller defender. Morris is about Hudghton's height and I think he can definitely do a similar job most weeks.

Not being rude but I know I have to keep it simple for the masses on here.

Playing Morris 'tall' down back isn't ideal but it's like robbing Peter $5 to pay Paul $10 imo.

I agree. Personally I'd like to see Everitt become a forward. Perfect size for a FF around that 192cm area, confident over head, great foot nouse(knows where to run), long kick and accurate enough. Will fill out like a beauty as well.

Totally agree. I like you Butane, you aren't all stupid in the head like most of the fold around these parts. Ironically, the stupid in the head thing means they think the Dogs are a good option, so all good.

Exactly. It's a changing game, I think you can definitely get away with only 1 genuine tall defender these days but life's very difficult if you have 0 tall forwards.

Morris 190cm
Lake 194cm
Williams 196cm
----------------
Franklin 196cm
Roughead 193cm

Clearly going up against the premiership team, you need Williams & Lake on there best forwards.

And then Morris could play a better role, and shut down Mark Williams.

and Tom Williams somehow stays fit, I think we should play him forward.

We have Lake and Morris down back. Dale's record against quality forward KP is at the very least decent. He regularly has beat/kept quiet the likes of Fev, Pav, Mooney and Riewoldt and it frees up Lake to be an offensively tall defender (a bit like Taylor and Scarlett at the Cats). The emergence of Addison and Callan, as well as the improving Hargrave, gives us more options for the medium/smalls that Morris has often played on.

Having Morris play 'tall' down back most weeks isn't ideal but imo it beats not having a decent tall forward.

I would also use Stephen Tiller as a swing man, playing him down back to free up Morris to play on a smaller opponent depending on the match ups. I think Tiller can be decent up forward with the growing importance on forwards offering defensive pressure.

I agree with you that we should try something different. Whether it is Tiller, Williams,Skipper or someone else, we should be looking to develop a forward until Grant and Boumann are ready.Minson was handy and tried hard but we really need to improve next year in that area.

Lets hope the coaching staff puts a bit of thought into it and develops some alternative strategies. I got the impression that this year plan A was Minson and we didn't have much of a plan B with regards to tall forwards.

I agree. Personally I'd like to see Everitt become a forward. Perfect size for a FF around that 192cm area, confident over head, great foot nouse(knows where to run), long kick and accurate enough. Will fill out like a beauty as well.

That would cause a stir in my pants.

Definitely agree with you about Hargrave, he is MUCH better when he isn't playing on talls, we can never have him punching above his weight again. But Dale?

I think Morris' biggest flogging this year was actually against Johnson at Geelong. His record against KP forwards is pretty good but people are simple. If a smaller defender gets a bag kicked on him by a KP it's more obvious than if the same happened to a taller defender. Morris is about Hudghton's height and I think he can definitely do a similar job most weeks.

Getting a flogging from Steve Johnson isn't anyting out of the ordinary though, but I can see what you are getting at.

Like I said, if we can maintain a level of flexibility with our match ups down back and maybe stretch the odd team by throwing a Tiller and a Williams up forward then all power to us.

Morris 190cm
Lake 194cm
Williams 196cm
----------------
Franklin 196cm
Roughead 193cm

Clearly going up against the premiership team, you need Williams & Lake on there best forwards.

And then Morris could play a better role, and shut down Mark Williams.

I know it's blasphemous on these boards but **** me do we overrate Williams' performance on Buddy in Tassie. Don't get me wrong it was decent but Buddy kicked 5 goals on him without any service from his midfield. We smashed them. Our fans make out like Buddy was prepared to get a tat saying 'I am Tommy biatch' over his heart. If Tommy was playing agains the Hawks week 1, Buddy would have eaten him.

Just look at Morris' performances against talls. He has been very strong against Pav, Fev, Mooney and Riewoldt.

Once again ideally I would have Williams down back but we have no talls forward. To beat a side like Hawthorn we can't rely on an aging Johnno or Welsh playing as our deep go to forward.

Put it this way. Would you rather Morris play tall down back (which he definitely has a decent record doing) or Welsh/Johnno/Some mongo tall we get from another side playing as our deep forward option?

Getting a flogging from Steve Johnson isn't anyting out of the ordinary though, but I can see what you are getting at.

Like I said, if we can maintain a level of flexibility with our match ups down back and maybe stretch the odd team by throwing a Tiller and a Williams up forward then all power to us.

No doubt, Stevie J is the best small forward in the comp imho.

If you have a look at Dale's record against smalls and talls I think you will find it's at least comparable. Imho he would be a lot more useful playing on talls, with Tiller coming down back whenever match ups suit.

I'd go a little further with Everitt and say - He's such a good ****ing fit for a forward it leaves me dumbfounded why it hasn't been tried and even more surprised nobody here ever suggests it. He can't get a game as a back man, he's young and has all the attributes. Why don't we ****ing try? WHY?!

Mate, the more I think about it the more I agree. It's like a player gets pigeon holed by the coaching staff early on and are hard pressed to budge on their views. I mean, surely, we're screaming out for a tall forward, couldn't hurt to try could it?

What is there to suggest that Williams can be a good forward? Being a good forward is a lot more difficult then being a good defender. Let Williams prove himself consistently as a good CHB first

I'd go a little further with Everitt and say - He's such a good ****ing fit for a forward it leaves me dumbfounded why it hasn't been tried and even more surprised nobody here ever suggests it. He can't get a game as a back man, he's young and has all the attributes. Why don't we ****ing try? WHY?!

I agree, the games he played down back he really struggled as he tended to panic and started to worry to much about his man and didn't keep eye on ball which left him lost. I think ideally he is best suited playing on wing or running off half back craeting play, but he certainly has attributes to become a good forward option, certainly worth trying at least if no options present themselves in trade which now seems likely.

I understand the thought process. IMO we should leave him back. Try Everitt up front, and hope Grant comes on up front.

That's enough tall timber to bandy around.

Either way, for the first time in a very long time we seem to have, what would appear to be, decent options for some key defensive and forward spots.

Williams should be flexible enough to play either back or forward, given our situation he should be groomed for CHF next season. Minson to improve as a Menacing FF. Would love to see Grant play for the dogs early next year.

Do you think he has the footy nous to play up forward? He never played much footy as a juniour and he would have to be taught where and how to lead ect. Good thing is he's young and this can be taught. He has all the attributes physically to be the big gorrilla up forward we all desire. IMO though Everitt has to improve to free Williams up, without Tommy we still seem a bit small down back but if Everitt can take the second or third tall id let Williams develop into a forward.

I believe we will need to cover this by rotating Williams and Lake depending on match ups.
Lake has potential to play forward if not required in the backline and he reads the play better than Tiller.
I also believe that Minson can be a big improver, and anything we get from Grant and Boumann could make our forwards very dangerous while having a very solid backline.

If we don't get a decent KP during the trade period......